Icono, hey man, where does one get those Urdu qaedas here in the US. My parents were in Pakistan last year and they were asked to get said qaedas but they failed miserably. They were also asked to obtain those cassette kahanis that I loved when I was a kid, they did in fact bring some cassette kahanis, nothing like what I had when I was a kid, these were HORRIBLE. HELP me!! I want my kid to grow up understanding the intricacies of Urdu and in particular the desi sense of humor.
aahmad, we have those urdu qaedas at home, u can get them from any urdu bazar in pakistan, we bought them from there, each night my daugther lies next to me and reads those qaedas with me or her dad and she has almost learned the whole urdu alphabeth by heart, anyway its so fun to read with her:
there is a pic of a open egg (andha) and she sees it and says ... "andha tooth gya" or there is a pic of one leg, she asked me "doosri taangh kahan hai??"
and then points to her leg lifts it and says, "here is it" LOL
then we were doing the english qaeda, she saw a bicycle and I say, its B for Bicycle and then we come to M for Motorcycle .. she goes .. "aik aur cycle " .. kinda like rolling her eyes.
really so fun.