Kids abroad.....Question

so yesterday i was watching PTV’s drama"Barson Baad" … it was about the pakistani families living abroad and problems they are facing …especially about their kids…acha drama tha

There was this man who dint want her daughter to go out with her boy friends and stuff like that…

all you guys living abroad…do you face problems like these??? i have seen your posts…it SEEMS (to me atleast) that all of you are really nice and obedient kids …not like bigray huay bachay…and do you really call police if your parents are acting WEIRD or do you accept whatever they are saying …???

Re: Kids abroad.....Question

^ honestly i dont c it as a problem as long as parents are equal wiht their kids... far too many families (including my own) the boy has all teh freedom, no curfew and whatnot whereas they're REALLY strict with their daughters, more so than with their sons.. that's what i hav a problem with. I'm not sayin that daughters shud be allowed to do awaragardi but boys shud be held to higher standard of behavior. I have lots more to say but too tired right now :)

how do you react sara ? do you accept whatever they are asking you to do or protest or what.....?

seee these are the dramas that give wrong information to people living in Pakistan.. not everyone in the west is the way they portray it in the media.. I have seen really nice and mashaAllah very religious Muslim grls here in the USA than I have ever met any in Pakistan.. I wish I could ban those mis-leading dramas in Pakistan. Not worth watching, I tell ya. :-(

yea i know gemini....i myself know so many good , decent guys and girls ....even more religious and obedient than pakistani kids.....i think, drama producer just wants to show that what happens when two cultures are not able to amalgamate ......

there is another story in the same drama about a man and his kids who are really very obedient and nice.....

Re: Kids abroad…Question

Barbie, it’s really complicated iwth me and theres a lotta stuff that i don’t/cant go into :frowning: but ill try to explain a bit.. I hated it alot when i was a kid.. i didnt’ understand why i wasn’t allowed to do a lot of things that my brother did.. and the reasoning was that im a girl and since we’re hte ones who give birth we have to be morally superior and are under pressure to be “better”… and to be honest i still don’t agree with that, i do think it’s unfair taht i ahve to be “better” just becoz im a grl.. i believe that we are all equally accountable for our actions , in this life and in the next life..

right now as our situation is, i don’t argue with my mom much about wanting to hang out wtih friends late at night or watever… i cant do half the stuff my bro did and i won’t because it’s not worth the fight to me… its more imp for me to be on good terms with my mom than to hang out with friends who i wn’t even think of or appreciate later.. :halo:

And you know, i really hate this reputation that us girls raised here that we get.. yes i know plenty of desi/Muslim girls dating, dressing a certain way, and whatnot, and it makes me mad and sad at the same time.. they're acting in a way that gives the rest of us a bad reputation but on the other hand, why can't i do any little thing w/o being seen as giving the rest of "my kind" a bad reputation? Does that make sense :( But it makes me even more angry the guys here who talk crap about desi girls from here, as if we're all clubbing drinking sleeping-around types .. :(

:) hmmm i knew it...i had a feeling.....all you guys on GS living abroad are good bachas....

so you accept everything just becuase of your own conscience and not under pressure.....????? this is what i wanna know....

oh forget about em…their comments and attitude don really worth a penny even…

yup i've seen a few families where sons and daughters got into troubles. this friend was arrested at a party after a fight and was put into jail. he called home from the jail and asked his father to come and bail him out. father said, puter you are old enough to understand wht you've been doing and how it will land you into trouble so don't bother me anymore and sort out your own troubles. that was a good lesson for him. in the end he left his parents and now lives alone. no one wants a trouble maker.

also i know a girl who had her father arrested for forcing her to stay home after 9P.m. that was her curfew time apparently. family went back to pak a few months later and girl stayed behind. no need to tell where she is now. :p

GTG, media is biased both in west and east. if pak is portraying western society in a wrong way then western media is not far behind in labelling every 2nd muslim as a terrorist or extremist. i don't see anyone complaining about that?

actually its the opposite. its the desi-guys who gets the crap from our desi-well-mannered-darlings most of the time on this forum. i see no love lost for desi-guys. every thread open abt desi-guys is about nothing but insults and BS. for them every desi-guy is the same. if thats how its going to be then whts wrong in painting every desi-girl in the same color? it swings both ways, doesn’t it?:rolleyes:

so whose fault is there in both cases??? and is it right to leave your OWN children and thrwo them in a ditch intentionally …and MOVE BACK…is this a good solution:confused:

hmmmmmm aap bi sahi keh re ho:(

parents come to these countries for who? for give a better future to their kids. there is only so much they can do to help their kids. this guy had everything. his parents did their best to provide them with everything. they had a very balanced life. enough time for family and job. so i can’t put a finger on this guy’s parents for any apparent reason. guy was 19years old when this incident happened. his father didn’t go to help him and i’m 100% with him on not helping him. if i were his father i would have done the same thing. there is a limit for everything. and if u stay within that limit you’d have every1 on your side to help you. but once u cross that limit you know you are venturing into the unknown. is that a risk worth taking? if ur the dare-devil-type, all the best to you. i should mention again that its the son who decided to leave his parents. he was bailed out by his brother. if he thinks his parents left him for the worse in a time of need then he should also think how many time did these very parents asked him to be careful and don’t get yourself into trouble. parents can’t be with you everywhere 24/7.

SQHT.......then why is that we find so many good girls and guys aborad.....i think you and that guy were living in the same country...then why are you so different from eachother...i mean..i like your thinking..and dont like what he did to his parents and HIMSELF.....i think yeh aap ke parents thay jinho nay ap ko sikhaya ..right? kya yeh parents ka qasoor nahi hai.....??

i mean you could also get affected from bad things and environment...?? nature and nurture ..both play an imprtant role....isnt it??

Another thing I don't get is... parents come here, adn they expect their kids to NOT be influenced by the outside culture, to NOT be attracted to it adn try to have the "normal american lifestyle", they try to push the old traditions on to them, and that's what gets these kids into trouble, they rebel and start to hate everything abt their culture.. I think parents should be more strict that thier kids do the rightt hing as per Islam, instead of going by their (the parents') culture..

:clap:

flagged for later reply (its like opening a can of whupass)

come on faijee…spill your guts out here:dhimpak: