Khawarijees: The biggest threat to Pakistan and Islam

Re: Khawarijees: The biggest threat to Pakistan and Islam

you needed a lecture...because you were so wrong about kemlaism and secularism.....we dont have that kind of secularism in USA or Canada....lol...or do we? just be intellectually honest with yourself for a minute here ...

i have never lived in europe, so cant comment but i doubt it is that bad over there

and my plea that that kemalism is not a form of secularism? ...huh......there is no need for a plea....it is not a controversial issue...it is very well documented...

but hey if it makes you happy to blame "secularism at state level" cuz of "kemalism" , socialism, leftists, autocrats or any other type so to speak....please do so! whatever makes you happy.....it is a free forum...peace!

There is no such thing as state money. State is run by public money. So the word 'giving up' is incorrect.

Another idiotic question. You have forgotten that there is freedom by the Govt. to go to religious places of choice even in Pakistan, secular or not. You generalize and assume too much and hence the question is idiotic.

Regardless, the religious places are not paid for by the state in west and you were wrong there in your earlier post.

I have been a member of this forum since long, and I can safely say that every post of this Spock is filled with hatred against Urdu speaking porpoise, disguised in abuses of MQM.

What would you call a person who ridicules people for their dark skin?

but this really is a religious fitnah issue. And in Islamic history, people who used to do takfir on everyone AND killed other Muslims, wee called kharijis.

Pakistan is not in North America. So no, I don't need pedantic lectures or trivia. The topic of discussion was secularism in Pakistan, and even broader the secular experience within the Muslim world.

Rather than one-upmanship, please take the time to comment on some of the points I raised, or simply don't respond. But don't dare bring intellectual honesty into this when you're flailing about moving from topic to topic dodging issue after issue.

So, either bring up a reasonable point on how your attitudes towards secularism is somehow characteristically different than the takfiri attitude on other sects of Islam, or good day.

and my plea that that kemalism is not a form of secularism? ...huh......there is no need for a plea....it is not a controversial issue...it is very well documented...

Again...it's not for you to say..it is what it is.

you are new to this forum....welcome!

and yeahh, by the way, I just want to make sure that u know that mr. diwana is the most respected and well informed poster over here...he is an expert on every topic.....and yeah, everyone is an idiot except him..unless you are in agreement with him!

dont worry...you will know him very soon!!!

Even the prostitutes pay taxes and are allowed to deduct their expenses off their taxes. That does not mean state 'runs' and supports brothels by its money.

My viewpoint on secularism is very clear and i have stated it many times on this forum … i believe in state secularism. A secular state is a concept of secularism, whereby a state or country purports to be officially neutral in matters of religion…I believe when religion becomes the primary source of a country’s laws and religious authorities have civil power, members of minority communities end up being seen and treated as second class citizens.

That is why i do not believe in federal shria courts in Pakistan…

i do not believe in Objective resultion 1949 …

and I do not believe in any constitutional amendments to Pakistan’s constitution based on religious grounds

I believe in complete freedom to practice religion in private capacity as long as you are not violating country’s constitution and you are not bothering someone else by your activities.

Clear ?

Now lets get to the second point…there are no gazillion models of state secularism that you are trying to implying…that is why i gave you an example of Canada and USA…almost every western democracy has same concept of state secularism. You are the one who complained about failure of secularism in muslim world using attaurk example..not me…and i gave you my opinion that you are absolutely wrong.

so, i absolutely *dont see any moral equivalence between my *attitudes towards secularism (stated above) and takfiri attitude on other sects of Islam…state secularism is all about fairness and accommodation and takfiri attitude is all about enforcement/forcefulness…big difference. This is my opinion..if u disagree, fine..let other posters decide.

and then i said and I repeat it …hey if you become happy & satisfied by blaming “state secularism” cuz of “ataturk kemalism” , socialism, leftists, autocrats or any other type so to speak…I got no problem with it](http://www.tigernet.com/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=13323881)…if you think that the russian system or ataturk system where religion was strictly banned even in private capacity is equivalent to western state secularism, i am fine…whatever makes you happy…it is a free forum…peace!

wah wah wah....kiya logic hai...main sadqay jaoon...kaya dimagh hai!

You see mr. emeral sword,...did you notice brilliance of diwana jee

Ji Shukyiah. :blush:

If the will of the people is to have religous law, then it seems like tyrany of the minority that a secular regime would be imposed on them. The flaw with the above is that it presumes the religions being mediated with have no legal tradition. There is a world of difference in being neutral to a religion and being hostile to it by activley contradicting it, and overriding it.

Now lets get to the second point....there are no gazillion models of state secularism that you are trying to implying...that is why i gave you an example of Canada and USA...a

Simply wrong. First, no one claimed a gazillion models of secularism, but a plurality. Second, the expierence of secularism in the Muslim world was nothing like that of Canada or the USA. Or Europe for that matter. Ignoring that is foolish...pretending that there is only one modality of scularism is even more so. There are plenty of secular models where the state imposes and enforces.

Second, your ideals aside, any notion that people who disagree with you need to be sidelined and oficially removed from the polical discours is hardly accomodating, and smacks of the same takfiri/kemalist attitude. Yes, I think they're one in the same. Either one is on board with an ideology, or one is the "enemy". Go on about how fair secularism is, but the fact is, in a majority Muslim society that wants a degree of recognition of religious law encorporated into the political and legal framework, the suggestion that secularism is somehow about accomdoation and fairness seems laughable. Again, this ignores the fact that this particular religion already has a legal tradition that is active and practiced in various ways.

The problem with secularism is that it is absolutist in it's seperation from religion and state. Islam blends the two in amorphous and undefined ways. That naturally puts secularism, in a Muslim context, on the harsher side. Unless it is willing to accomdate Islamic customs, practices and norms (read: laws). But then, that's hardly secular now is it?

The bottom line is, with secularism, there is no accomodation with ANY religio-political movements. With takfiri movements, there is no accomdation with ANY OTHER religio-political movements. The implication here is that non-Takfiri movements are willing to work together, and so the old canard of "which Islam to follow" hardly applies. Second, it hardly gives secularism a leg up over the Takfiris as the dynamic with other movements is more or less the same, idoelogically. Third, if one is committed to democratic evolution rather than revolution, I will be the first to admit that I don't expect a western style secular movement to engage in violence or violent supression. The point of kemalism is,however, that i*t has happened before *to the approval of Western secular democracies. So many people much smarter than you and I that are comitted to Western secularism and democracy have already made the determination that when it comes to their pet ideology...you know...sometimes yah just gotta kill some people. No need in speaking in terms of hypotheticals. Throw in leftists and the likes, then violence is likely. So, the question of what and whose secularism is quite relevant. So finally, the question goes unanswered. What does secularism bring to the Pakistnai ntable? At best, another zero-sum ideology and another faction. In it's worst form, something that Pakistan is already plagued with.

I gather you have not heard of faith based organizations getting tax deductions.

All over this BB, so many people argue to feed grass to Lions and meat to Horses.

Good points Emerald.

There is nothing wrong about the labels. In fact Conservative as a philosophy - nothing wrong with it. Ditto Liberal.

I am just commenting on current day "conservatives". Bigoted, want religion to dictate laws, don't care for the poor, don't want to raise minimum wage. A true liberal and a true conservative would be secular. In this forum, secular has become a dirty word.

Only about 10% opposed the Iras war. Those are the true liberals (or conservatives). Those opposing the war - you will find them only among true liberals such as Chomsky Zinn Bernie Sanders. A handful od congressmen.

fine....if you think that the idea of state secularism is laughable for Muslim countries cuz "majority of the muslim society wants a degree of recognition of religious law incorporated into the political and legal framework" .... that is fine with me....what can i say except muslim countries are one of the worst when it comes to minorities protection, human rights, women rights, freedom of expression, electoral process, diversification and what not...and i know what will be your response...you will say it is because these countries do not implement religious laws and they are not muslim countries.... but I do wonder what is that magical islamic model that will handle jurisprudence, legal, electoral, and bureaucratic issues in a way which will be acceptable to all the sects?.....................

and to suggest "this ignores the fact that this particular religion already has a legal tradition that is active and practiced in various ways" *is n*aive**........which religion? you mean islam? well, if islam has that much power to implement itself , i wonder why we never had a true Islamic state in last 1300 years......all we had were kingdoms, which toyed with religion...and by the way hardcore jews and Christians think the same way about their religion.....everyone thinks his religion has this special legal tradition...afterall church was making all the calls for a very long time!

anyway, i think we have enough debate and our viewpoint is clear...you think state secularism and takfiri attitude share a moral equivalence...and that the most accommodating way is Islamic way to combine religion and state....my viewpoint is different and whole gupshup knows abt it...and why i think state secularism is accommodating even in muslim countries coz every country has a fair share of minorities ......plus state secularism induces tolerance and kills radicalization.......guppies can decide on their own.....good debate ...thx for sharing your viewpoint.... peace!

Not so fast. Almost let this one slide. You'd kindly not attribtue your thoughts or thoughts of others to me.

i'd say that first and foremost these countries are inept, and never mind anyone else, can't even provide for those who constitute their *support base. *Second, things like freedom of expression, electoral process, etc. That's idelogical clap trap and something most Muslim nations probably wouldn't want to aspire to. Equating that with success, as most muslims would define it, is a bit disengenious. You value those things...good for you. I think muslims would just be happy in a place where they could live with dignity, and affords dignity to others. A place that they can grow, engage in commerce, and live an honest life. Just for starters....

And no, I'm not going to fall into the trap of purity or authenticity. It's abundantly apparent that ideology and the laws written on the books don't mean sqaut if the people are simply not socialized to live according to the principles enshrined in them.

I, unlike you, am content with the idea of Pakistan as it is. I do not belive in the faux origins of Pakistan as some bizzaro kind of haven for Muslims, devoid of Islam. It's not flawed laws, or a harsh judiciary that's causing Pakistan grief. But it's those people who spit on the idea of Pakistan as it is written. And it's not juts the militants. It's the political parties who are deafiningly silent when their fellow Muslims and country men are blown to bits in a suburb in karachi, and busy selling if nor whoring the nation out to foreign interests. It's the clerics who stay mum when defenseless minorities are ethnically cleansed from their lands by barbarian hoardes. It's the a-holes who bleeb on about idelogical theories while mum about the feudal lords who rape,maime and exploit. Everyone is pointing fingers at everyone else. Nobody has anything to offer each other but grief. That's why I ask you...again...what does your "nice idea" have to bring to the table but more grief? Go ahead, write your nice ideas down to supplant the nice ideas already there. They'll just get ignored like all the other nice ideas.

So no, I'm not going down that path. I'm too old for it. I've heard it all by now. I'm not interested in utopian Islamic models. I for one, would simply be content if the writ of the state - a*s it is,* in all it's imperfect glory, should for once be enforced with vigor. Taught with vigor. And defended with vigor. We don't need another bloody "ism" for that.

Half-truth, this is the basis/reason for others to belong to a separate sect, otherwise no need to attach to a certain sect. As people here, are talking about Deobandis, let me tell you others' hate spreading gems, Gustakh e Rasool label for Wahabis by Brelvis, Munkir e Alhe bait label for Deobandis/Wahabis by Shia, some people from a sect abuse Sahaba(R.A) in public. So to some people it is only unacceptable when people are violent physically but, somehow it’s acceptable to spread violence through hate.
Funny those are who think that violence can be avoided by pointing fingers at others and no need to stop hate-spreading.