Khatti's Kitchen Korner

GS kay pottay/pottian mere ko bolay Hyderabadi khaana hona, isliyich may saray threadan ko aik karkay, aap logaan ko sikaataon ki khatta khatta khaana kaisa bantaa…

Innu hai anday ka halwa:

9 eggs
200 grams koya
200 grams badam (soaked, skinned and then ground)
1 tsp zafran
3 big tablespoons ghee
3/4 kilo sugar (if you’re using sweetened koya, adjust/lessen the amount of sugar used)

Save some whole almonds to sliver and use for garnish

Whisk eggs, then combine in remaining ingrediants, (except the reserved slivers) combine well.

Pour into buttered glass/pyrex dish (the type you use for cakes) and top with the slivered almonds and bake at low temp, 325 degrees, about 30–40 minutes or until halwa is puffy and set.

You can cut it into peices or serve straight out of the dish as well

Re: Khatti’s Kitchen Korner

Tamatar Ki Chutney**:

-sooki lal mirch
-karri patta
-whole garlic cloves, appx 4-6
-rai (mustard seeds)
-fresh tomotos,cut into large chunks or canned, skinless whole tomatos (if using fresh, then i’d say about 6 tomatos)

Start with some oil, about 1/4 inch in your pot…add the sooki lal mirch and rai…when it starts sputtering and popping, throw in the garlic cloves, when they start to brown slightly, add the karri patta…after it sputters, add the tomatos to the bhagaar, and give it all a good stir… lower the heat to medium and add the following to taste: salt, ground lal mirchi & haldi…cover and cook on medium heat until the liquid from the tomatos has cooked off and the oil rises to the top, appx 15-20 minutes…in our family, we tend to make our tamatar ki chutney with a chunkier consistency, so you can cook it down to your own liking…and that’s it! for dawats, i will garnish the top with halved/quartered hard boiled eggs..

Tala huwa gosht

**-**boneless beef stew meat
-chopped hara dhaniya (cilantro)
-lemon juice
-adrak lasan (ginger/garlic paste)

Cut the meat into smaller, bite size peices, put in your pot with enough water to galaafy it, a little bit of oil, salt, a heaping tbsp of adrak lasan, and a chutki of haldi. Cover, and cook on medium heat until the water has evaporated and meat is tender. Remove the lid, and turn up the heat, add a tablespoon or two more oil (you’ll essentially be stirfrying now!), ground lal mirchi to taste, and start bhoonifying it well. add the lemon juice and a good fistfull of chopped hara dhaniya…keep stirfrying it until the goshth starts to crisp and get well done. my mami’s/khalla’s tend to go real old school and add alot of oil and fry the heck out of it, but my husband and I lean towards healthier fare, so again, use your own preferences to guage doneness. I like it crispy, but still tender with a little chew

These are always served with kichri

(masoor ki daal, chaanwal, namak, haldi… start by adding tiny bit of oil to your patila, throw in thinly slice pyaaz, saute but don’t let the pyaaz brown! add your soaked rice & daal…bhoonafy it a litte…add enough water to cover over an inch…add a chutki of haldi…bring to boil, then cover and reduce heat to low, cook until water is all absorbed and steam escapes. Chanwal ko bilkul “phararay” hona!!)

Re: Khatti's Kitchen Korner

waiting for Khatti Chic ken recipe

**Bhagaray Baingan

8-10 eggplant (the small, round desi ones!)
rai (mustard seeds)
kalongi
methi seeds
7-8 karri patta leaves
3-4 harri mirchi, split length wise
salt to taste

til (sesame seeds)
2-3 tbsp grated copra (coconut
2-3 tbsp raw peanuts
adrak & lasan-appx 3 cloves
appx 1/4 c chopped onion
haldi
dhanya powder
zeera powder
lal mirchi
imli pulp

^^^all to taste…i don’t cook with exact measurements!

-Slit the eggplants into 4, not cutting all the way through, and keeping the stems intact.

Combine the til, coconut, peanuts, adrak lasan and onions in a pan and dry roast them over a slow flame till the flavours are released and the ingredients are lightly browned. Add the haldi, dhanya powder, zeera powder, lal mirchi and imli and grind it to a smooth paste using ½ cup water.

**Heat oil in a deep bottomed pan, add the rai, methi seeds and kalongi. When they crackle, add the egglant, karri patta and hari mirchi and sauté over medium heat for a couple of minutes. Remove and keep aside.
In the same pan, add the reserved copra/til paste from above and cook till the mixture leaves the sides of the pan. Add the cooked eggplant, ½ cup of water and salt and cook covered over a slow flame till the eggplant are soft.

some vocabulary from khatti's kitchen:

"khushka" plain, cooked white rice

"bhagara khana" chanwal that is cooked with oil, pyaaz, dalchini, long, zeera, sabid kali mirchi

**Khatti Dal

Again, I don’t have exact measurements, apne andazay se dalna sab kuch, depending on how many people you’re making for…

Start with masoor ki daal in your pot, with enough water to cover it by about and inch (you can always add more water to thin in out to your preferance after ghotafying it)…put in sliced tamatar (if you’re making for 4-5 people, one will be plenty), namak, one chutki haldi, and lal mirchi to taste. Cover and let it cook, I like to skim off the foam that forms…Jab daal guljai, usko khoob ghoto, this is when you can add more water to thin it out(traditionally, Khatti daal is pretty thin consistency)..When you’re done ghotafying it, it’s time to add the khatta…either imli or lemon juice…I prefer lemon juice, imli will darken the color of the daal, but is more traditionaly old school. This is also a matter of taste, but after all, it is khatti daal! Let it simmer, you’re now ready for the bhagaar..you’ll need 3-4 garlic cloves (either chopped or cut in thin slices), karri patta (4-5 leaves), sooki lal mirchi (about 5-6) and appx 2 teaspoons of zeera (the whole seeds, not ground!)

In your heated bhagaar oil, add the dried lal mirchi & zeera…when the zeera has sufficiently changed color, add the garlic & karri patta…the garlic should get lightly browned, but don’t let it burn! Once it’s all sizzled nicely, add it to your daal and that’s it!!

**Meethi Daal
No, it’s NOT sweet!!! It’s called “meethi daal” because it does not have any imli in it! Yes, we Hyedarabadis are weird. Deal with it. This is an awesome, everyday daal that goes with everything!

Start with moong ki daal. My ammi always taught me to dry roast the daal first, because “sonda-pan aata hai”…after it’s toasted a little, add water, namak, chutki of haldi and a sliced harri mirch (hear in the US, we use seranos..the long, skinny mirchis). Cover, and let it cook on medium, skimming off any foam that forms from time to time. After daal is galofied, ghot it, and then if needed, add more pani to achieve desired consistancy.

For the baghaar: thinly sliced pyaz (a good amount!) & lasan cloves (you can leave them whole, or sliced)..when it’s nice and sizzling brown, add it to your daal. Finish by garnishing with fresh hara dhanya.

**Tamatar ka kat

*Yes, we Hyderabadis love us some tamatay.
I’m going to give you the easy, shortcut recipe (my nani & dadi will kill me, but oh well!!!) since tomatos are not in season right now, and I have zero patience for peeling and de-seeding tamatar right now, I use canned tomato sauce…also, I very rarely use exact measurements, everything is by andaaza…

Start with a can the Tomato Sauce (just plain tomato sauce, like Hunt’s or some similar brand, make sure it’s not an italian flavor or basil or anyting), empty into your pot and thin it out with some water (kat should have a smooth, liquidy consistancy) or you can alternatively use the paani that imli has been soaked in, since you need to add khattaas as well…

So add the imli ka paani, adrak lasan paste (about 1tsp), namak, lal mirch, haldi & a chutki of ground zeera powder. Dry roast some copra, then grind it until very fine and add that to the kat as well. Throw in a few karri patta leaves as well…about 3-4. Other than the karri patta, you do not want anything chunky, or whole masala to show through! Let all this cook away on slow to medium heat so that all the flavors meld well together.

Once you’re satisfied with taste/texture, give it a baghar of whole zeera seeds, sooki lal mirch & lasan. Poor the sizzling baghar over the kat.

Lastly, take three hard boiled eggs, and slice them either in halves or quarters lenghtwise, and add them to kat

This just screams for some mattar chanwal!!

Kachay Goshth Ki Biryani

*Ok, full disclaimer here…I’m not a huge fan of biryani, prolly cuz it’s been shoved down my throat from the womb…lol..we have a saying in our big, obnoxious family…no rice, no paradise!! When I do make biryani for the husband and kids, it’s usually not this style…this what my mom wrote down for me when I first got married, I’ve only followed this recipe once or twice, it’s easier to just go to my nani’s/khalas house and eat it there!

*This type of biryani does not have the whole spices that you have to weed out of your rice. Also, it is not too terribly spicy…it’s a very yummy, mellow, comforting biryani…this is the closest pic I could find online, since I don’t have any random pics of biryani in my phone from family dawats…so here goes:

You can apply this to chicken or bakray ka gosht…if you’re doing gosht…i suggest adding papita to help tenderize it so that you are sure to get it cooked all the way through…

Start by mixing adrak lasan paste and salt to your chicken/gosht…you are then going to bhoonafy the meat in oil until it is no longer pink, and seared well on the outside (not worried about cooking it all the way in this step!) Set aside.

Thinly slice 1 whole onion and fry. Once it’s a nice, deep brown, remove from oil and spread it on a paper towel to dry out. Grind the fried pyaaz with harri mirchi and hara dhanya. Add this, along with elaichi powder, garam masala powder, and lal mirch powder to yougurt. Mix well and than apply it to your reserved chicken/meat.

Add some zaafran to 1 cup milk, and heat for 30 seconds in the microwave…set aside

Parboil your rice with salt, and barri elaichi/daalchini/bay leaf if desired…it’s ready to drain when a grain of rice splits into three…

We usually use one of these types of oval oven pans

Before you add your yogurt marinated meat, either spray the bottom with cooking spray, or lightly coat with oil/butter (although, a little kurchan never hurt anyone!)

Put the chicken/meat in the bottom of the pan, and then add the parboiled rice over the top. Pour on the reserved zaafran/milk.

Cover with foil before putting the lid on.

Now, you can give the “dam” a couple of different ways:

Start by preheating the oven to a very high heat, then turn it off and let the biryani sit in the oven to finish cooking…or…

let the biryani do it’s final “dam” at a very low heat (250 degrees)

And that is my family’s Kachay goshth ki biryani…I hope you guys try it and like it!

(Serve it with bhagaray baingan!!!)

Aap log Double ka meetha banate hai kya?

of course!!!

i'm trying to find my mom's recipe, i think it's in another diary....when i find it, i'll do a test run and then post the pic!!!

Thanks sooo much Khattichic! My family's also hyderabadi but because my mom mostly grew up in Pakistan, her cooking is kind of a mix of both. But I love hydro food!

Do you have a gosht biryani recipe where you prepare the salan and rice separately and dum it together? Not Khacha gosht, so I guess pukka gosht? Lol

:zobo:

Khatti, you are in the us?

^^^^ yup, born and raised Texan gal...D/FW

Cool!!

Khattey Burgers aatey hain bananey?

Ya bagharey howey fries?

thanks for sharing these recipes khattichic :k: I am loving it !

MARRY ME.

I almost drooled just reading the names. Lol