Khatti's Kitchen Korner

Re: Khatti's Kitchen Korner

Kya bataan kartay miyan...khattay burguraan???? Kya houla hogayay kya?!??

do ur male relatives use famous hyderabadi line-"kya yaaro"

this is quite used in hyderabad

^^yes, the "pure breds" (lol!) that have never touched Pakistani soil do! We have epic battles between whose Urdu is correct..the ones who stayed in Mother India, or those who migrated to KHI after partition...and throw into the mix the ones like me who are born and raised here and grew up hearing both dialects and have English as a primary language, and you've got yourself a big 'ol khatta linguistic fruit chaat!

Re: Khatti’s Kitchen Korner

Yes, please marry me. I’ll be the perfect husband, promise :blush:

awesome recipes khatti .. keep em coming ...

may aik shareef gharanay ki larki hoon…public forums may “dating-shating” nahin karti :snooty:

mujhe Maya Khan aur Subha Saweray camera crew say bahot dar lagta hai, kaheen ghar walon ko pataa chalagaya to??? aap dono rishta laykay mera ghar aajain, phir dheka jaiga…waise, jahaiz main 3 palla-pillai bachay bhi miljaingay :cb:

Interesting recipes.I have heard so much about this hyderabadi biryani but I just get the feeling the meat wont cook through,although people say it does.
I am thinking of giving your recipe a try and if I actually get to it I will for sure post a review here.Thanks for sharing...:)

Khatti, you are adorable! You sound just like my sister's in-laws - they're from Hyderabad Deccan and it's as if I hear them when I read what you type!

I made this halwa few days ago using more or less same recipe. It turns out better then expected

Nice thread. I am Hyderabadi too. Both my parents are Hyderabadi and we only cook Hyderabadi food. There is so much to Hyderabadi food then what people generally know. Do you know of Gosht ki curry (instead of yellow curry that people eat)??? I absolutely love Hyderabadi food. I make some of the stuff differently then you. Hyderabadi biryani can be tricky so I only make it when I want to experiment. I make very very good biryani.. the regular kind. In your recipe you've mentioned bhoon the gosht a little bit which is perfectly fine for someone who doesn't want to take chances on katcha gosht but generally Hyderabadi biryani (also called Katchay gosht ki biryani) is made with layering rice with absolutely raw gosht (not bhunna hua), and rice on steam.

yea, you're totally right about that! my khaloo...who is the kacha gosht ki biyani master, would NEVER bhoonafy it first...but then again, he's been making HUGE degs for 30+ years!!! LOL!!!

i have not seen gosht ki karri....imma gonna ask my khala about that one tonight!! post a pic/recipe please!!

my cousin just got engaged to a guy in chicago who is also hyderabadi, when they do tala huwa gosht, they use bone-in bakray ka meat, which would be sacriledge in my family, so yes, there are some slight variations from family to family...but IMO, hyderabadi khanaa is the best!!! Even my husband & MIL agree (they are kutchi/memon)....so my MIL doesn't cook when she stays with us, she loves my cooking...lol!

Spiral, please share your family's recipes too!!!

chaloo main private forum bana daita hoon :smiley:

*drools
I'm gonna be printing this thread for my mommy :@:

Your recipes are pretty good. I make everything the same way but with just very few differences to khatti daal (I don't add tomatoes and the khattas comes just from imli.. actually imli is what makes it authenic recipe). I make Baghairay began a little differently too. Key to good baghiray began is fresh pissay huay masalay as opposed to the ones that are few months/year old. Of course like I mentioned biryani meat is marinated in masalay and yogurt and put directly in rice to cook on dam!

My in laws are punjabi. I like their food too but nothing beats our masalay daar food :D

whats sookhi laal mirch?.. jo gol gol hoti hain? or the powder?

Def gonna try the tomato chutney and the daals. I'm not Hyderabadi, so kinda excited lol.

haan..jo gol gol dried lal mirch hain, NOT the dried powder…yahaan US main they are usually long chillis instead of the round ones back home…

Khattichic, I was so surprised to see that bhagaray baingan recipe is almost the same as a traditional recipe from maharashtra that i make a lott! We just add some gud (jaggery) in addition to the masala in your recipe, and stuff the masala in the eggplant.

It’s called bharli vangi (stuffed eggplant). Always been a favorite with my family.

Nice to know that this recipe is well known in Pakistan too!

http://www.mumbai-masala.com/maincourse/bharlivangi.html

as long as aap ka khana khaa ke potton ko potitiyan nahi lagain, we are good.

^LOL u r so funny