Khattak opposes operation against Taliban

This man is an idiot. Federal govt should back off and only hit back at Taliban when there are attacks else where in the country. Let PTI and its Taliban appeasers deal with terrorism in KPK.

Khattak opposes operation against Taliban - thenews.com.pk

NOWSHERA: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Pervez Khattak on Sunday said his party would oppose a military operation if the government failed to implement the resolution of the All-Party Conference regarding talks with militants. Talking to reporters here, the chief minister said that the federal government’s ‘inaction’ over what he called ‘the Taliban’s repeated offers for talks’ was a matter of concern. “The Taliban’s demands that the government show sincerity in peace talks and its independence regarding peace talks are just,” he said, assuring his government’s cooperation in case the Centre showed willingness to negotiate peace with the militants.“The federal government must make (public) the reasons of its reluctance to start peace talks and convince the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government about the validity of these reasons,” he added.

The chief minister said the government did not start peace talks after the APC which had representatives from all political parties and had mandated the federal government to engage militants in peace talks.He said an atmosphere in support of military action put a question mark on the sincerity of the federal government. “The changing mode in the country showed that the federal government is not in control of the situation and that strings were being pulled from abroad,” the chief minister said.About the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl Chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s criticism of his government, Khattak said the JUI-F chief was part of the pro-US Musharraf regime and should stop accusing others of the crime which his party had committed. “Being a supporter of the pro-US Musharraf government, the JUI-F had promoted US interests in Pakistan,” he added.

He said he would discuss all matters with the prime minister in the meeting which is scheduled for Tuesday.The chief minister said that he had taken necessary briefings from all departments and all matters would be discussed with the prime minister in the meeting. Khattak said preparations regarding the handing over of Pesco to the KP government have been made. He said he would take the prime minister into confidence on the issue. He expressed the hope that the prime minister would show sagacity and prove that he was not the prime minister of only one province or area, but of the whole country.

Re: Khattak opposes operation against Taliban

Putting up incomplete and misleading headlines is an easy way to sell news. Khattak has said that he opposes military operation if it is carried out without implementing the APC resolution. What exactly is wrong with that?

wasay gen. kiyani said only 40% success chance of operation, god forbid if operation failed phr tu peace talk bhi nhi ho sakay ga, even the sawat operation was semi successful bc our fauj is still stuck there.

yeah mei nhi keh rahi talk shows pe suna hai :chai:

Khattak is right. There is no doubt that TTP are Kharjees and must be eradicate from Pakistan as they are the biggest threat to the existence of the country in the recent decades. However, we need to keep things in perspective. We have IRA and other examples, in Islam too, dialogue is always given first preference to allow the broken arm of the Muslim chance to do repent and negotiate terms best suitable for having permanent peace for masses. The chances of on ground military operation without having enough human intelligence in the difficult terrain could lead to humiliation or even worse to make our top brass convince to do carpet bombing. End result would be mass migration from the area and more people willing to die in suicide bombings. It could become a trap which military might not be able to get out. If things go worse several attacks throughout the country is possible with ruling elites and upper class liberal first to flee the country. Thats where the vultures watching from both sides of the border can do direct or indirect intervention using UN. All the excuses of failed state would have been written on the wall by then and its going to be too late.

So asking to hold dialogue is not insanity but giving your best shot before going for war that already has uncertainty. The operations in Swat valley and North Waziristan are the best use case our military can have on the table before committing themselves.

If negotiations fail, then go all out for the survival (nobody will have a second opinion).

Option of dialog has never been rejected by anyone . Talban should be offered to accept Islam once again as they are now 'Munkareen' so MURTAD and liable to death penality . If you go in detail about them , They are illitrate extremests so no good hope for them . Khattak and JI are creating problems for Pakistan and a small gap of two three days due to strict action of security organizations against Talban , They became with new statements in favor of Talban . The Khattak is only looking for his own life and government . I didn't read any statement of Kiani on the issue however 40 % is too enough . Nations have to fight even on 0% chances . I don't think that Imran Khan will like to be counted as a traitor . If it becomes war than the whole nation should stand behind the struggle .

Governments are allowed to not follow mandate, not follow their own resolutions, not stick to an agreement they sign, political parties are allowed to backtrack from their statements.... when a politician/govt wakes in the morning from wrong side of the bed he is allowed to announce invasion of any country/party.

Nicely put.

Army is continuously carrying out remote and well targeted operations in Wazristaan, they just did one in yesterday. Yet they do not want to come out and declare 'force' as a final and definite policy. They had no problem doing that for Swat operation? And before anyone starts crying about Imran, well Imran opposed the Swat operation too, yet the army went ahead with it and owned the policy. In fact during Swat operation, it has to be said that anti American and anti Pak army sentiments were at it absolute peak. The army still did not hesitate from launching an operation, so I often wonder why army just cannot come foward again and do another Swat in every part of the country? If the army is satisfied and proud of their achievement in Swat, they should not really be shying away from using full force again, especially when majority of the country favours it?

Like you said, the way things turned out in Syria and the way all kinds of proxy wars are happening inside Afghanistan as we speak, army is not stupid enough to get trapped in their own country. It's bad enough locating rag-tags and keeping the violence to minimum. However, if the country - like Syria - becomes an international battlefiled for all world powers, then all those two penny self important writers can officially kiss the country goodbye. I mean I don't understand, your own armed forces doesn't want to commit to full fledged operation, then who are talking to? NRP's living in peaceful war free societies or USA who really wouldn't mind dropping some bombs on your country in the name of peace?

It's so easy for writers at Dawn and News sit on their rocking chairs sand type yet another horribly written, unconvincing, shallow and pointless piece of propaganda arguing 'should we or should we not' articles. I have yet to see those wrist slitters actually showing some solidarity to their armed forces, understanding the situation they are in, comprehending the complexities of the situation, acknowledging their concerns and limitations, and generally show some overall support and trust. Even if the full scale war breaks out, can Pakistan army really rely on these anti state anarchist writers to keep the public morale high?

Either produce someone liike Churchil or stop day dreaming about a bloody war. Watch more Aljazeera to see how within borders conflicts can turn the entire country into a bloodbath.

Personally I think the wars in Middle East provide us with an opportunity to get rid of this menace once for all. The jihadists from around the world are now turning towards the Middle East making our lives easier.

^ I wasn't aware that we do not have a bloodbath going on in Pakistan at the hands of Taliban. Still if we want to appease them there will only be more bloodshed. Think about the country not party.

Now a days it's easy to understand percentage posting here real ptians and good looking JI supporters (^◇^)

It is more easy to write on internet sitting in a safe country .
Struggling in Pakistan in presence of an enemy like Talban and their cheap supporters is something else .

What makes you think whatever the policy army is policy isn't inspired by the situation in Middle East and Afghanistan?

Pakistan is trying to get rid of this menace and they will be successful eventually, it's just they have realised, that just like it took 40 years to create this monster, it wont take just four days to get rid of it.

It's just embarrassing to see people of Pakistan really having no hope and support for their armed forces. Is it really shocking that I as an outsider and anti dictatorship activist has more faith in Pakistan army than most of the Pakistanis?. At one hand you guys think the army will sell the country to ugly tribal goons and on other, you think they'll win the war for you? Either they'll sell the country to liberate it, choose an option and make up your mind.

You should thank the PTIans for actually keeping this forum alive and giving something in return for you guys to cry about.

So much for calling an operation, yet a zero percentage support and understanding of your own armed forces.

Religious extremism is deeply rooted issue, what do you suggest, carpet bomb the entire country?

Sadly if anti terrorism funds weren't used on buying luxury gifts and a loony dictator not just making empty rhetorics to piss off some Mullahs instead of generally doing something to bring madarrassa under state control, we wouldn't be in this situation

Fortunately, people living in war free peaceful countries have read enough war history to know that real peace is won through clever diplomacy.

I am a comitted pacifist and I am proud of that.

Ask families of 10s of 1000 killed by Taliban what is wrong with that. Start with this…tell his family how important it is we must not go after his killers.

BBC News - Pakistan Taliban attacks: A soldier’s story

Someone really missed the word REAl
anyway I'm not here to arguing just said what I feel.

Sometimes it needs nothing but a death of a family member at the hands of mufsideen, for some people to realize that a war is being waged around us by them.

LOL at the Original Post

Corrupt Budha Lota
http://i.dawn.com/thumbnail/2014/01/52e788f3790e5.jpg
PAKISTANCM Khattak meets with PM, demands replacement of Pesco chiefKhattak also complained against the attitude of Provincial Minister of State for Water and Power Abid Sher Ali.
Published 11 hours ago

^ kash aur bhi corrupt budhay ap ko nazar atay