khaRa masala

So what do you use for khaRa masala? Which ingredients? Quanity? etc etc.

(aaj nahi to kal woh chicken mujh say nahi bachay ga :mad: )

Re: khaRa masala

onions, tomatoes, and umm u can use dhaniya too... but add that right at the end so it stays green and fresh :)

Romanov, first please elaborate on this term "khaRa masala" (standing masala?) Iss ka kya matlab hota hai.

nahi sadzzz… it’s not just the onion, tomatoe stuff. KhaRa masala is more like cooking with un-ground spices with little bit of ground essentials like salt, chilli powder (less in qty though since you’re supposed to use whole dried red chillis I believe).

Sehar, jab baRi ho jao gee to bataeiN gay. yay bachoN ka khail nahi hai. :rolleyes:

For a not so nice comment, I hope ur chicken turns out horrible! :mad: SaRR ke sawa ho javay. :mad:

oh you wish! you’ve to be a sofi or something to utter something that’d actually effect me. Let’s just face it, you’re far from one :rolleyes: tumhari bad-dua’oN ko koi lift nahi.

Roman, I always thought khara masala was when you could actually see the contents of the masala..

the unground spices (onions, tomatoes and watever else) u can add when ur bhooning the salan.. and at that time u can also add the dried up chillies (or fresh ones.. we add both).. u can get those semi-ground red chillies that look like flakes..

man, i wish i could go home and cook it up right now :yummy: im hungry now

sadzzz, pakaeiN tumharay dushman. tum mujhay hukam kia karo, meiN paka kay bhaij diya karoN ga :blush:

But you’re right. It’s when you can see most of the ingredients more separately but usually they put unground spices in there. But for onion you’re always put them first and simmer the meat with them after they are bit tender. You chop them kinda elongated.

^ umm na when ur making khara masala, you can add the onions in later.. if u add them in the start to simmer with the meat (especially chicken), they'll go all soft and mushy..

if ur making chicken, let the chicken cook in the beginning with the ground spices and ground garlic (and ginger too if u want).. and then add onions, tomatoes and all the other khara masala ingredients when bhooning..

p.s i may be completely wrong though...

sadzzz, please, the whole world can change its course to align with what you say and be Ok than having to change your stance. We’d rather change ourselves. :clown:

However, since this is a matter of scientific discovery, I’d say this, you don’t want to cook onions and meat at the same time. Onions leave their water and the meat as well. The whole watery thing combined cooking into each other does not leave that much of a pleasant aroma and taste. You want the onions to leave off their water and bit dry first and then add meat.

Plus, mushy is always good, no? :blush:

Go cook already. :rolleyes:

I havent tried this recipe but i am sure it will turn out fine.
It uses yogurt instead of tomatoes
whole dried red chillis
black pepper corns
choti ilaychi
bari ilaychi
cinnamon stick
cloves
dhanya seeds

etc etc
the usual garam masala that is plus a couple other ingredients

MQ, there was no need to utter bitterness in this thread that's oozing of onions... err.. love.

Roman, hehe :blush:

umm i guess it just depends on the way u like it. If you want to see the onions, then add them later.. adding them earlier will make them softer and part of the gravy.. and thats quite yummy too. Between, the more onions you add, the sweeter the salan tastes..

Ira, when i cook, I like to add either yoghurt or cream into the salan… it makes the gravy thicker and aaah yummier… sometimes though, adding the yoghurt makes it slightly hmm tangy. Still nice though

Ira, I'm not too sure or keen on the ilaychis (baRi or choti--donoN hee kam-bakht heiN). Last time I added baRi wali to my qeema (baRay chao say), the whole thing smelled like zarda/palao instead of qeema.

Roman then just omit the ilaychis. Good cooking is all about trial and error. Maybe I will try kharay msalay ka gosht and see how mine turns out. Wll come back to the thread when i do that.

Btw, who in the world adds ilaychis to keema??Plus anytime you use strong flavorful ingredients such as this, moderation is the key. And here i though you knew how to cook!!! :hoonh:

Roman try using dried corriander seeds (coarsely crushed), cumin seeds, crushed black pepper, crushed red pepper, crushed methi leaves. If you add a bit of yoghurt it will give the saalan a non-watery gravy which goes well with khara masaala. Add onions and tomatoes after the meat is cooked so you can still see them. I think cloves, cardamoms and cinnamon give it a qorma like taste so I avoid using them unless I'm making qorma.

Femme i think i like ur recipe better!! But i dont like the kharay kharay tomatoes and onions in any salan except bhindi! Should give your ingredients a try :D

What's with this khaRRa baitha spices. When I was in Lahore, I never knew of this karri pata, methi leaves and the bull. It is all so strong. Oh bhai, namak and laal mirch daalo aur seedha seedha khaana pakaao.