KHANDAAN on ARY

**There is a press conference on KHANDAAN and other two newly launched serials on ARY at ZOUK-Clifton, Karachi on 4th March. I have been invited to speak also—and I will–so will our dearest of them all—SEEMA GHAZAL ZINDABAD!!! SEEMA GHAZAL AVAAY HEE AVAY!!!:slight_smile:

***I intend to bring YOUR point on SOAPs being DESPISED, LOATHE, HATED, REBUKED in Pakistan and outside! Let’s see what they say in reply. ***

This is a forum.. everyone has the right to express whatever they want. Fahim Burney and Seema Ghazal are under heavy influence from Star Plus Drama's whether they accept it or deny it..(Seema's sari in real life is another prime example, but that's besides the point)

Watch any given drama by either two.. and u'll see more than one thing copied. No doubt she did have some nice serials.. but her serials/soaps aren't all that anymore. Fahim Burney is infatuated by Ekta Kapoor.. if they're not making third-rate copies, they're getting Indian actors/actresses to do the roles.

Indians adore our drama's and praise them.. why must our writers, directors copy them and ruin our strength (great serials)

Re: KHANDAAN on ARY

[note]Everyone has a right to express their opinion, let's not make this personal, thanks[/note]

What happens in India, their marketing oppertunities, unreal setups and screenplay and any other argument related to India are not valid.
We have our own market, our own way of making good drama, moreover we are more experienced in TV than India. So in this case some oppertunist like Berney sahab are making senior following the junior. I know ground realities as well, people do see StarPlus soaps a lot in Pakistan. But on the same side they see good serials on Geo/ARY/Hum as well. Instead of battling the Indian Soaps fever with our own and well stabished brand of drama, people like Berney and others just jumped on the band wagon and adopted Indian style. All the katchra (Dubai/Mauritius, Banglows, Benz and Saaris) that is a must in every (even serials) drama is only showing desperation of the producers to capture Indian-influenced viewers. This happens when you don't beleive in your own style and values. The stories these days are too similar that sometime its hard to keep up with the characters. The Mehndi Wale Haath, Tere Pehlo Pe and several soaps on ARY are curse on our otherwise shining heritage of drama making.

We need new writers, new directors and new actors to revive our TV. The TV elite currently appearing in every other serial is forcing people to like the ghisa pitta drama with few changes in new wrapping paper.

Some actors should retire and stay home. Shakeel, Qavi, Bushra, Moin Akhtar (in dramas), Zaheen Tahira, Badar Khaleel, Qazi Wajid, Sadia Imam and Behroz. They have passed their 'good before' date already. People are sick and tired of these, they can't even deliver a dialogue properly. jaan chor dein please hamari aur ghar bethein.

1. REALLY ? you do ?
  2. HA HA :):) that was a good one!
  3. WOW !

Before bidding goodbye--I will but cascade a very detailed note on what you say--according to your age, tajri'ba and I am glad--without venom against any particular ONE case you could have choosen to keep on talking about without rhyme or reason. Good. I appreciate your thoughts---which I do also respect.

However---as it is --- you are not from show_biz hence you would only know such things to a limited level--not deep inside on core issues which undermine the process towards what you say. Its just like I want a system change in the country. Old guards should make way for the newbies--but that doesn't happen and there are reasons---hence at showbiz its more or less the same situation and I dont even blame them for the fact that they will not be able to find a female of 60+ to do the role which Zaheen Tahira can do...not at least a bigger character role. Maybe a scene or two...which i made my first cousin of 62+ do in Humayun's JUB JUB DIL MILE as my wife...!

If you extend a gaurantee and participate by way of financial support on condition that the entire cast will be new faces and will be written by Abdul Quddus and Directed by Anwara with Camera by Safoora and locations in Vienna, Los angeles, Sydney, Cape Town and Rekyjavik-Ice Land---I swear to you there will not be an iota of disagreement by Production House because its YOUR money you are staking!

for example--you are soon to see PHIR KHO JAIEN NA on GEO soon directed and Produced by Atif Hussain. The hero is an unkown young lad who is lead opposite to Beenish Chohan (see pics in one of my threads) and he could never have become a HERO if his father had not invested a sizeable amount in the serial which was recorded in Nathiagali also.

Now I am not saying that the HERO of PKJN will fail...he can be a hit (though I highly doubt it) what i am saying is that COMMERCIALISM will not let that happen which YOU or for that matter--other viewers may want! These are the basic facts of life on showbiz in Pakistan & India. HOLLYWOOD has got out of it...now !

Have a very close look at the pic of ARY talk-Show on KHANDAAN. What do you see behind me on wall poster? MONA, MARIA, NABEEL, MUNAWWAR BHAI & QAZI !! right ! because THEY have commercial value---however OLD and HAGGARD and HORRENDOUS looking BUDHA KHOOSATT QW & MS may be...
Both the M's have a HUGE...I mean HUGE.....COMM VALUE of their looks & acting...so they deserve their place. NABEEL may not have a huge following and may hide age like Faisal & Ajazz and others by HAIR GRAFTING etc...but he is the silent partner to all Zulfi projects in Scotland--so he has got to be there!

SUCH & SIMILAR is the situation of ALL you have mentioned.

I met Bushra yesterday at a wedding. She is preparing a script these days where she herself will be the central character ! Any problems?

Aap baat tou bohat acchee likh rahe hein..except that I totally disgree with you on your thought I have HIGHLIGHTED in RED for obvious reasons.

ACTING kis chirrya ka naam hai....aap nahin samjheinge!!! and why should you..its not your subject to go into intricacies.

Meanwhile....I have observed on this forum that whoever makes a point 9which is something good) sticks to it....come rain or storm!! but never accepts any one else's thought however cogent or sensible they may be...and I guess that's the maturity level (on the subject) speaking which should be well understood..hence I do understand YOUR thoughts but you are wrong at many points....!

Play on..................

Peace & Khush Rahein...

Raju Unc

Mehreen Jabbar and Zaid Aziz are two upcoming writers/directors.. and they've done a better job then the older lot.. the sets are realistic.. the dialogues are appropriate and so are the clothes and makeup...

If it's a shoot at a village u wont see the main lead decked-up in the latest Nomi Ansari outfit.. they portray the character like they're supposed to. If it's a mourning scene the characters wud be dressed accordingly and not in a sleeveless crimson red awfully draped sari.

I;m sure viewers wud like to see new fresh faces.. (even for the older roles) Badar Khalil as much as I love her, her acting has become monotonous.

Mehreen's Doraha.. was pretty close to reality..no HUGE villa's done-up by interior designers..NO wardrobes for the saas and maa's by HSY either..

I waiting for it :D

Thanks for the respone, I was kind of expecting this explaination. Sir, I think the same comercial value destroyed our film industry in early 80s, at which point Shabnum, Nadeem and Babra were getting old, people were just watching the last traces of the greatest time of our industry (60s/70s). The new comers like Faisal, Izhar Qazi, Javed Sheikh were good but not good enough to carry the lagacy. The Punjabi cenima's boost with Maula Jutt and its later copies were taking the theaters with storm. The genius of previous decade also either disappeared or jumped on the 'commercial value' band wagon. The outcome was very voilent movies with very little story and not enough technical expertise in action department, led to the demise of the film industry in this country. And I don't call its alive any more since those days, despite of very sincere attempts by many individuals with little success, the industry never recovered. Now only Jahil (mind my language, but you know very well what kind of words people use for these people in private conversations) producers, directors and vulgur illetrate actresses are dominating it, copying stories, dialogues, songs and dances left right and center.

I fear a similar fate of Pakistani Drama as well, if we keep going in Indian TV direction. Fortuanately we still have some people creating sparkling gems once in year or two that stands out of the regular stuff. Commercial value of the stars is a business reality and I know it. Nobody takes risks with new faces (specially in leading role) and new faces are coming from modeling where they are already liked by people. Some has potential for acting some don't. The bad ones do get filtered out (except for everyone's favourite Aijaz Aslam) he can't act but still hanging around because of 'face value' in this case.

As for the mature characters, there are several new faces in last decade that are doing very decent job. I didn't want to name those seniors, but some like Qavi and Zaheen Tahira, wherever they appear on TV, people watching will say only one thing that they should retire. Zaheen Sahiba, really struggles with dialogue and looks into the camera (by mistake) at least once in every scene. I might have added others as my own 'must retire list' by some people are really aged like the two I have mentioned, and they seem to have same tone in every character they do. Having a style and being saturated are two different things sir. For the same reason I don't like some of the quiet big names in Hollywood and Bollywood either. Artist just like sportsman should realise where he shold retire and get a new day job rather than clinging to the screen, cashing past glory.

Oh well.. The director of this drama needs to be shown some of the new directors' work which is much more close to reality and real life instead of Indian reel life. If u're an actor/director/writer u will get critisized for u're work.. people have expectations.

It's great that new talent is finally coming across and showing their work.. the old directors should give new people a chance to come-up with great, innovative themes/stories. If anyone wanted to see copies of Indian soaps they'd watch the first rate version of it.. directly.

Our drama's have been our pride all along.. but if u sit thru any by Fahim or Seema, u might as well watch Star Plus.

Explanation se muraad defend (in some way) the current situation in show biz. I know many educated people in our TV arena, who might want to change things gradually for betterment, but are handcuffed with obstacles that you mentioned. It will take a mighty heart but someone will rise and put a good team together to make dramas like Doraha and several others I have seen in last one year that are very close to reality with not a single piece of Indian influence. balkay ik drama ki main character tou dikhaai hi ik nau-umar larki jis ka dimaagh StarPlus dekh dekh kar kharaab hojaata hai aur woh zindagi ko ik afsaanvi pehlo se dekhti hai., aur phir uska anjaam bhi wesa hi hota hai. We can find characters like that in our upper and middle class. So all I am saying is that writers today need to be more sensitive in character development and believe me people do realise the hard work and appreciate it.

Uncle facebook ka time kahan se nikaalein, GS ka hi time nahi nikalta. Group ka naam bataaein phir bhi. Thanks for responding so far, as a viewer kahein to kehni thi dil ki baat.

[mod] guppies stick to the thread topic please ,otherwise donot comment in this thread.this is the last warning for you all[/mod]

Seema Ghazal and fahim burney's dramas(?) have so many flaws that one wonders how people tolerate them. They are a sort of a fashion parade, with people admiring the dresses, jewellery and furniture rather than following the storyline

**Aap ki thoughts parrh ke dil bohat khush hua ke abhi sharafat aur dhanng se baat karne ka aur point of view likhne ka saleeqa hai kuch logon mein...warna izzat ke taar taar karna aur sirf swears karna aik alagg fashion bunn gaya hai. I am most delighted to read your comments and exchanges which do not focus on a single or two personalities by using filthy words against them for no rhyme or reason--unless out of some personal or family dispute etc. And its so encouraging--your thoughts--that I would try and quote them in my forthcoming article in IMAGES at DAWN...Insha'Allah. **

Sahee kaha aap ne...aaj kall TIME ne sub ki aisi taisi pheri huee hai. Woh group meray nick name se hai aur us pe chandd logon ne apne khubsoorat khayalatt ka izhar kiya hua hai jissay parrh ke----aap ko Omar Sharif ya Charlie Chaplin ka show dekhne ki zaroorat nahin... aap waise hee apni seat se girr jaienge haanste haanste ! Meri family ne bhi bohat enjoy kiya aur mere kuch TV ke saathiouyun ne bhi and that reaffirmed my fellow mates faith in me that I will remain a FORT for them on any bakwas anyone states against my showbiz colleagues that I will fight till bitter end. I dont care what group or mails or threat calls or sms are conjectered towards me! I know WHO they are and will name them in my forthcoming show on some channels I am to appear!

On a more subjective note--the Press Conference on the three serials on ARY was a blast...and largely attended. Misbah Ishaq was the host alongside Irum Binte shahid--the two seniors at ARY with Jerjees. Munawwar Bhai, Seema Ghazal and Myself spoke. I met over 20 journalists and gave them good briefing including the facts behind the facebook group. Rubina Ashraf was there--and she booked me for her forthcoming serial recording on a play by Seema Ghazal---and that makes 16 Serials of Seema Ghazal for 2008 & 2009 under production or completed. She has 20 offers from various production houses. In her speech she urged the young ones like Umaira to come forward...and exploit their talents in serial writing.

2nd episode of KHANDAAN saw an increase in commercials! Sigh... that's the success these days friend...not the story or the script writer you want! the ingredients PUBLIC wants..and you are a bit different from public....like me! that I am not a professional actor. I do it for fun n frolic and to fume some--:)

Khush Rahein...

"fume's" only get to the best of u.. if anything else THAT facebook just won itself more members..very active ones!

Coming back to the topic.. Seema Ghazal is a "masala" writer, she takes bits and pieces of other drama's.. gets creative people to write.. and uses her name. People with mediocre taste would love/adore her's and Fahim's drama.. people that are actually really loud in real life.

ye thread b ab close honay wala hai lol

[mod]Anymore offtopic/insluting/rude posts will be removed and warnings will be given. If you are here to discuss something then please do in a polite manner.[/mod]

Thank You...You reassure my faith in MODs on dignified management of their domains...the very reason that frustration has resulted in opening other avenues against me outside GS which just proves my points well cascaded to many past months...on GS for the attacks and filth on me and the writers and artiste' of pak_showbiz.

Thank you GS and paklinks.

Raju Jamil (no pseudonym)

Where did the "warning" go? LOL where it was supposed to go I suppose!

I recently saw Aurat aur Mard, directed by Zaid Aziz..must say he puts the rest to shame! The immaculate storyline..great direction and dialogues we're superb! Nothing filmy or unreal.. but a very simple story! A MUST watch..

you know, once I saw fatima surey criticizing on "changed" character of tv in pakisan.
When I left pakistan it was all like our own pakitani style play.
Then mostly it changed.
Fatima's point was indian plays only show sariees and stuff. why copy them ,
I think she had a good point.

Fatima?