Kerala, India

Re: Kerala, India

Its Kanyakumari, sorry dude that place is not in kerala, that in TN

oye that was a joke da.. me from kottayam. Land of lake, rubber and letters.:)

Alright. I guess you know more than me. Since I've just been once there. I must have got it all mixed up here. But yes, i have been to kanyakumari. :) Didn't know the difference between the other states.

Thanks for the infomation anyway.

Cheers!

Thank you for the information. Got mixed up between the states. :)

Cheers!

Kerala's very high literacy rate has little to do with the Communists - there were community and religious organisations long before Communism even existed which did the early work towards bringing in literacy - among the Hindu Nairs there was the NSS and there were similar Muslim, Christian and Jewish organisations. If anything, the Commies ensured that the state's industry died out and drove educated Malayalis to the Gulf or to other parts of India and the world, where they have been very successful.

It is a most beautiful place and also has the distinction of having produced great literature - Vaikkom Mohammad Basheer, Thakazhi Sivasankaran Pillai, P V Thampi, P L Narendranath etc are all renowned writers from the state.

I am not a Malayali but I love the state and have driven through it several times when I wanted to relax. Other than getting caught in a bandh and getting stuck from dawn to dusk in some godforsaken village, there was little that I did not enjoy. The hills at Wayanad are my favourite place with vast estates - my favourite were the pineapple plantations because the fragrance when you walk into one of them has to be smelled to be believed. There is also much to be said about taking a houseboat and going down the backwaters. The peace and stillness have to be felt to be believed - I haven;t enjoyed going on a houseboat as much even in England.

east ya west, mallus are everywhere, ....... :)

I agree backwater boat ride is one of the most stress relieving ride...
What about eating banana pakodas... Its like having hot pizza without knowing how to eat it and getting hot cheese in your mouth.... :-)..
If you know how to eat it, its amazing in taste......

Ivide Muzhuvan Malayali pulikalanalla:) :balley:

intech aliyan simham analla..:)

Wow, so many malayalees here ... I'm in luck :) That's because I and my wife have been thinking of taking a vacation in Kerela. So, can you guys recommend a good backwater location which is not too crowded?

And what will be the best time of the year to visit Kerela? :)

Coming back to the topic ... is it true that Kerela has a matriarchial society? And if so, could that be one reason for the high literacy ('cos women are more sensible than men ;) ) ?

( By the way, I just realised - I am a "Northie", my wife is an "Eastie", we met in West India and currently we live in the South. How's that for national integration? :D )

If you make an arrow out of your locatoins you are looking at Kerala.... :-)

mumbai or pune ?????????

I’m not so sure … Delhi, Chandigarh, Mumbai, Bangalore … only God knows where I will end up next :slight_smile:

Met in Mumbai, dated in Pune :smiley:

Rohit ,
My village is like 10km from Kumarakam.. Even kumarakam is a village. Its not that crowded as you would think it would be. Back waters spreads across a vast area. I would say u should start ur boat ride from kumarakam itself. U can go upto Thanniir mukkam bund near cherthala. Its beautifull. Some of the bigger places near by are cherthala and alappuzha. There are many small villages near by which are as beautifull as these places. I think that is where one should go. .. Lush green paddy fields with palm trees lining the sides, is quite pleasent to walk through the sides of these fields.. enjoying the pleasent breeze and a cocunut to sip. it would be quite relaxing. May be u will find it when u take the boat ride.
Unlike other parts of the country.. kerala is quite neat.
Kumaram has a no. of five star hotels. But u could as well stay in kottayam city or alappuzha too. It wouldnt be too expensive. From kottayam it is like 5-8km to kumarakam.
Cochi(ernakulam) would be another place to stay but its too crowded like any other modern cosmopolitan city. I wouldnt want to live there.
Best time of the year. My preference is for the rainy season.. with all the water bodies overflowing..and u can go for fishing.. i like that way. But for you guys.. this time of the year is just perfect.. could have been a little earlier.. around december would have been even better, as there would not be too much rain.. and the temp. is also bearable. At this time the temp. would easily go upto 35-38°c max. But considering the humidity…which for most part of the year remain constant around 80-100%, its pressure cooker time. But believe me, still walking through the shades of the coconut palms, u wont feel the heat.

Matriarchial society existed long time back.. and that too only in Nair caste in hindus. Yes female literacy is the highest in india.. but i dont think it has to do with matriarchial society which existed long back in one of the communities.
Usually girls outnumber boys in any class in kerala. Well may not be in mathematics, but in other subjects they outnumber boys by a considerable strength. I was in a class of 20 boys and 80 girls. It was horrible.:mad:

omg…

they’re everywhere! :eek:

:confused: w.t.h is this? translation?

my fav mallu joke

Kuttappan was bragging to his boss one day,"You know, I know everyone there is to know. Justname someone, anyone, and I know them." Tired of his boasting, his boss called his bluff, "OK, Kuttappanhow about Tom Cruise?" "Sure, yes, Tom and I are old friends, and I can prove it."So Kuttappan and his boss fly out to Hollywood andknock on Tom Cruise's door, and sure enough, TomCruise shouts,"Kuttapa! Great to see you! You and your friend come right in and join me for lunch!"
Although impressed, Kuttappan's boss is still skeptical. After they leave Cruise's house, he tells Kuttappan that he thinks Kuttappan's knowing Cruise was just lucky. "No, no, just name anyone else", Kuttappan says. "President Bush," his boss quickly retorts. "Yes," Kuttappan says, "I know him, let's fly out toWashington."And off they go. At the White House, Bush spots Kuttappan on the tour and motions him and his boss over, saying, "Kutts, what a surprise, I was just on my way to a meeting, but you and your friend come on in and let's have a cup of coffee first and catch up." Well, the boss is very shaken by now, but still not totally convinced.
After they leave the White House grounds, he expresses his doubts to Kuttappan who again implores him to name anyone else. "The Pope," his boss replies."Sure!" says Kuttappan.
"I have a lot of friends in Poland, and I've known the Pope a long time." So off they fly to Rome. Kuttappan and his boss are assembled with the masses in Vatican Square when
Kuttappan says, "This will never work. I can't catch the Pope's eye among all these people. Tell you what, I know all the guards, so let me just go upstairs and I'll come out on the balcony with the Pope.
So he disappears into the crowd, headed toward the Vatican.Sure enough, half an hour later Kuttappan emerges with the Pope on the balcony. But by the time Kuttappan returns, he finds that his boss has had a minor heart attack and is surrounded by paramedics. Working his way to his boss' side, Kuttappan asks him, "what happened?" His boss looks up and says, "I was doing fine until you and the Pope came out on the balcony and the man next to me said,
"Who's that on the balcony with Kuttappan?

Moral of the story-

Don't ever underestimate Malayalees !!!!

Correction. Kerala was never matriarchal. It is only the Nair community in Kerala which is matrilineal. The difference being that ‘matriarchal’ would mean woman was the head of the family while by matrilineal, we mean that the family name comes from the mother’s side. In other words, vansh ladkiyon se chalta hai aur ladkon se nahi…So suppose you are from the “ABC” family…your next generation of ABC family will happen only through the girl child’s children. The son’s children belong to the son’s wife’s family. The way it used to work was that the uncle would the one in charge of taking care of the family etc etc…Now it might get too confusing so shal stop.
But currently across teh Nair community, it is very much like other communities (patriarcal) but the family name does come from the mother’s side (even on property rights - the girl’s children have a share in the property but the son’s children have no claim to their paternal grandfather’s property!!!yeah so that way the girls are more important…

Me a Nair - My parents property goes to my Sister. I am Happy my younger sister gets to keep it.

btw - My family originate from Nemmara (Palghat) just below the Nelliampathy mountains.

pope is not from Poland anymore....atleast update the joke!