Keeping Up the Social Life

For those of you women who are really busy in your work…

How do you keep up with dawats and desi friends?
How do you keep up with shopping and getting dressy all desi style?

How do you AFFORD THE CLOTHES??

I keep seeing these photos of girls at dawats all over the internet whether it be facebook or these dating sites, etc. Everyone is decked up at some desi wedding (or dressed like it’s a wedding when it’s their nephew’s birthday party). Looking like bollywood actresses…and I realized…man, I really missed out on this. All those years studying and working, I probably went to one dawat a year, and barely looked this good…I would wear clothes that I had no power over designing and so they made me look like a little aunty at best. Probably why a lot of the desi girls never spoke to me at dawats, cuz I’d wear a lawn suit when everyone was wearing HSY or HSY look alikes.

sighz

Re: Keeping Up the Social Life

only hsy exclsive dawats . me wantS an invite. :dania see i even did the desi plait

I fall into the category of 'women who are really busy in work' and it doesn't really bother me if I don't keep up with friends and events.

If you don't go to events frequently, you'll be expected to wear something nice when you do. Lawn generally isn't the ideal option so may be a chiffon dress instead? If you don't like bling get something with thread embroidery as it looks nice and is quite cost effective as well.

Your clothes don't necessarily have to be fancy as long as they are stylish but affordable, you can fit in.

As a guy I avoid "dawats" and weddings with a passion. I rather be out than at a dawat. But being social is simple. The rule I apply is I go out three times a week, which means dinner, lunch, a movie or some theater gig. I refuse to be the 30 something at a club when everybody else is in their 20s. Same with some other things that can possibly done but I am too old for.

As a general rule, guys usually dont care whether youre wearing HSY or an inexpensive jeans and top sporting a pony tail.

I doubt those girls are really that busy if they can find time for very frequent social gatherings.

And daddy's CC.

Guilty. On numerous occasions. :D

Psssht... Life was meant to be social. only now has it been given a separate title.

People had a life and a subset of it was professional/career life. Means to make a *"living" i.e something that enabled you to LIVE. Not life itself.

PCG has a point though, the cost of these outfits which will only be worn a few times is quite high from a price:use ratio. So it's either people are very well off, have some cheaper alternatives, or killing their budgets.

Btw is 'busy' means more than 40 hours per week ?

I don't feel pressured to wear expensive clothes, it's a waste of money in my eyes. Just make yourself presentable.

Same here...it wasn't about "price"...but rather what looks good to me, the kind of stuff I find attractive and lovely.

And unfortunately for my wallet, the stuff that looks good to me is what turns out to be most expensive. lol

I consider myself to be pretty busy.
I/We make attend/throw social get together just about once a month ...and i'm seriously lacking desi clothes, so I just wear whatever desi/non-desi outfit I have that seems appropriate for the occasion. Yes, I do/have recycle the outfits MULTIPLE times ... no one has died of shock at that so far :D
I'm usually not the only one without expensive pakistani designer clothing either.
Nor have I felt judged so far for my lack of desi wardrobe.
If ppl do judge ... well then ... who cares!? ... they are free not to socialize with me :)

I'm talking about desi gatherings, not outings to the movies.

You can look great with wearing inexpensive desi stuff...i go inexpensive,look presentable..and that is about it..good hair, makeup and shoes,and how you carry yourself make a difference too...even if you go on inexpensive stuff.Keep in those positive vibes:)

Me and my sister at times (it's funn ok..you all do it too!:P) stalk all these girls on fb who just dress up an every other occasion or a daily basis, and look great and one can't help not envying them.We come to a conclusion that if they had to do @%#$%#$% studies and work like us,they wouldn't look half better than us!Their only aim in life is to look HYS-ed!

If we had all the time in the world to socialize and all of dad's money to spend on our looks..bet we'd all look like them HSY girls too!lol

I'd rather spend on normal ranged 10 desi outfits than one HSY for occasions like random dawats shadiz etc.

Errr...no. That's just b*tchy and mean and reeks of jealousy.

I don't know why it's so impossible to believe that a woman can go to school/work, AND look great. and you know what? I'd venture as far as to say majority of them are spending their own money.

Um, no they're not. Most of the fashionista I know haven't even completed community college, and if they have a job, it's a part-time job or working at their family's small business.

There is a lot of illegal business going on in the families around here that we've seen, which is why they can afford the clothes they do. Yeah, call me a jealous whatever, but it's a fact. I can tell you the main families that have weekly gatherings here - a majority of them are involved in illegal activities. Their daughters sport designer desi clothes, and their sons drive BMW's. Meanwhile, baat karne ki tameez nahi hai.

And when they get caught, and all their cash flow stops, you hear of them flying back to Pakistan, because America was becoming too sinful to live in.

Buy unstiched clothing and send it to an experienced tailor with your fitting suits. Bright funky colours or designs with heavy embroidery. Or a plain solid bright colour long length kameez with churidaar and a shiny/glittery/sparkly dupatta with good makeup looks like dressed for the evening instead of dressed for the red carpet.

Errrr...ok,if you want to take the envy (i meant..'Desire to have a quality, possession, or other attribute belonging to someone else') into jealousy and the b-word...that's ok:)
Didn''t mean it in a serious manner.
Nope it's not impossible to look great everyday,but the point is,one doesn't need HSY to look great everytime.
Spending one's own earned money on oneself is a good thing.But i don't think i'd spend one month's salary on HSY,i'd have loads of other stuff to do with the it:) or maybe if i'd be earning like alot,then HSY would make sense for sure :)