Keep a beard ?? Why shud I ???

Re: Keep a beard ?? Why shud I ???

Faisal,

Err.. please realize that if a person has just gotten up from eating, it is quite possible for food to get stuck.. especially if one is eating chips, cookies etc.

Fraudz,

wow.. you made quite an idiot of yourself there.. allow me to expand:

Poems are meant to convey a wider message.. they are generally not disected literally word by word. This guy obviously wants to get something across about the beauty of a beard even though the rest of the world may oppose it.

Highlighting the most idiotic points of your post:

This the first freakin time in your life that you’ve heard a joke.. it was a humurous comment which a clown ass such as yourself could not comprehend..

The arab shaykhs that you talk about may have goatees.. not beards..
And did you reat what he said? “All the pious have beards”

pious → (implies) beard

he did not say:

beard → (implies) pious

samajh lagee? or are you not well versed in basic discrete theory?

Really? Show me proof…

Did you even read his sentence or were you so pumped up in your effort to refute him that you just skipped the part? Do you know the difference between something being messy and something being unclean?? My room is very messy.. it may have books and clothes scattered.. but it aint dirty.. no sticky goeey flithy stuff.. dirty dishes etc.. Someone with messy/fluffy/curly hair wouldn’t be called “unhygenic” so why do you have a problem with the beard?

Are you really this slow..? He is simply saying that even though the females in this life might find his beard amusing, his purpose is not to be a hotshot in this life, but to please Allah, and achieve the hereafter…

Now, why did i say you made an idiot out of yourself? Because, however weak this guy’s logic may be, he is actually praising an established sunnah of the Prophet.. There are no disagreements on this amongst any muslim scholars/sects/what not. Every generation since then has accepted that a beard is nevertheless a sunnah of the Prohpet… he’s actually praising that.. while you’re just putting it down.. makes you an idiot in my eyes.

By the by, i dont want to debate with you much more.. since i know you’ve never (atleast on gs) said that you made a mistake or you were wrong.. i’m assuming you believe you are always correct.. The last part of the following statement by one of the muslim salaf suits you well:

"I have four kinds of days:
(1) A day when I go out and meet someone more
knowledgeable than me, so I learn from him,
and that is the day of my benefit and profit.
(2) A day when I go out and meet someone less
knowledgeable than me, so I teach him,
and that the day of my reward.
(3) A day when I go out and meet someone like
me and I study and review with him, and that
is the day of my lesson.
(4) A day when I go out and meet someone below
my level but he sees himself as being above my
level, so I don’t talk to him, and I make that
the day for my rest."

• Ibraaheem An-Nakha’ee

:tata:

waits patiently for fraudia *brothas*s reply

Waise, innai clean shaven face tak kar mera imaan bai kabo ho jata hai. But I applaud the ingenious stuck on one.

Ah fraudia your post may be funny, but alas what would the world be without limits.

Beard is sunnah like ammar has pointed out. But again nobody is forcing anybody to keep a beard. But really now if one doesnt keep a beard, what right does he have to make fun of the one who does keep it?

Theres a lack of something here, Im not sure exactly what.

Muslim queen

if you read the initial post, the guy went and wrote a poem ( a lame one at that) when someone correctly pointed out that it was messy and not well groomed.

I dont have an issue with beards, and I agree no one has a right to make fun of someone who keeps a beard just because he keeps a beard, just like no one who keeps a beard has a right to have a holier than thou attitude shown by this william wordsworthless.

I am not making fun of him because he has a beard, I am making fun of his poem because its idiotic, he wrote the poem as humorous, and I critiqued it in the same spirit :)

Plus you have to admit, the poem deserved a swift butchering.

The poor guy wrote the poem as an outlet for his anger Im assuming. No its not just you, but generally I have seen a lot of people comment on beards. I mean its ridiculous . Jokingly, sometimes girls will say "bhudda baba" or "molvi sahib" in a sarcastic tone to guys with beards. Thats a silly attitude in my opinion.

I feel for the guy who wrote the poem. And its sad to see that you ripped it up (doesnt matter that he might have deserved it) - without caring how the guy must have been feeling. And if the guy was angry, I think the poem was using just emotions not completey logic. Oh well. I dont think the poem is meant to be funny.....in fact it seems like the guys better judgement was a bit blurred by anger.

But good to see that you have respect for those that might have different opinions/beliefs then yourself.

*The poor guy wrote the poem as an outlet for his anger Im assuming. No its not just you, but generally I have seen a lot of people comment on beards. I mean its ridiculous . Jokingly, sometimes girls will say "bhudda baba" or "molvi sahib" in a sarcastic tone to guys with beards. Thats a silly attitude in my opinion. *

No such thing, I had a beard for over a year and my youngest brother has a beard but he keeps it nice, clean, well groomed etc. There is no excuse for bad hygiene.

*I feel for the guy who wrote the poem. And its sad to see that you ripped it up (doesnt matter that he might have deserved it) - without caring how the guy must have been feeling. *

He should have cared how he came across, plus isn't controling anger the signs of a true momin.. hey I mean if we are going to play the religion card let me roll out the swat team here.

*And if the guy was angry, I think the poem was using just emotions not completey logic. *

so are you suggesting that acting emotionally when one is angry is right? :)

Oh well. I dont think the poem is meant to be funny.....in fact it seems like the guys better judgement was a bit blurred by anger.

YOU dont think that the poem is meant to be funny..

err let me quote the "poet" himself.

read the last sentence before the poem starts.. it goes somfin like..

"Let me remind you all not to be offended as this is no fatwa or religious statement - just a funny poem that spontaneously was produced as a result of my unfortunate experience..."

so according to the poet himself this is meant to be a funny poem..

tell me again why YOU feel that the poem is not meant to be funny when the guy who wrote it says it right before he even shares the poem?

There is no compulsion in Islam. We have been set about free on earth. Allah has endowed us with the power to think and to argue whereupon it is our responbility to consider and distinguish right from wrong and act accordingly.

Anyhow, trying to manipulate verses and sayings to give it your own meaning or interpretation of something will not change the ultimate truth. Islam is very clear and straight-forward about everything. Refuting Allah's commands to suit to our desire is a grave sin.

And remember that everyone of us will be hurled into the darkness of a pit and that we will have to account for every breath that we breathed in this mortal existence. Allah will not question one on the Plane of Doom whether or not others followed God's Deen but rather, if one lived as a believer or gave in to the whispers of Satan.

And whosoever seeks to please men at the expense of Allah's Displeasure, Allah will leave him at the mercy of those people.

When we disobey Allah and transgress, we only sin against our own-selves.

bad hygiene? I think the guy mentioned that he was eating and therefore perhaps there were some crumbs in his beard. I dont think he planned to keep them in for the rest of his life? But Im sure you know that already. Unless ofcourse you’re implying that the guy was always like that and wanted to keep the food in his beard as a memory of his experience .

So if somebody is religious or a Muslim or has a beard you expect an iron control over their anger. But didnt even our Prophet (SAW) get angry? The guy didnt say he was a perfect Muslim who always had his anger in control. We’re human, its impossible not to get angry. You obviously have a lot of faith in man’s ability to control ALL emotions?

Ofcourse not. But I think the guy did pretty good when he was using more emotion than logic. I mean hey he didnt pick his plate up and throw it at the females. Instead he wrote a poem. Im saying that at extreme times, our better judgment is clouded by emotions - the only way to then resolve issues is to use the emotions wisely.:stuck_out_tongue:

He wrote before that :
** " Little did they know the rage that I felt as a result of this and I channeled this rage by unleashing my anger through my pen and out came this poem."**

But Im positive that you know the difference between a funny poem and making fun of a poem. You’re so wise, you must. :slight_smile:

ok i got a question. What about people who because of their ethnicity or other reasons can't grow a full beard. Would implants be recommended? Just so they don't feel lesser muslims? Whats the ruling on that?

if I break my leg and have to sit and pray I will not feel a lesser Muslim then you who might be standing in prayer. Good enough?

(sarcasm ?)

are you implying people who can't grow full beards are similar to a disabled person?!

no thats what you're implying that Im implying. :p One can only do what is possible. One cant do the impossible.

bad hygiene? I think the guy mentioned that he was eating and therefore perhaps there were some crumbs in his beard. I dont think he planned to keep them in for the rest of his life? But Im sure you know that already. Unless ofcourse you're implying that the guy was always like that and wanted to keep the food in his beard as a memory of his experience .

okay so how long after one has eaten does one need to clean up? do you use a napkin only at the end of the meal, or as needed? or do you wait to go home with ketchup and mustard on you face :)

The question is were the girls laughing at his beard or that his beard looked like a food pantry, even if it was temporary depending on whether he wanted to clean it right then or at some later point in time.

in his own words "They went on to innocently and honestly mock my beard saying it was messy, unnatural and unhygienic"

is it mocking or stating a fact that a beard is messy if it has food crumbs stuck in it, and is it mocking to say that its messy, and thus..is it really hygienic?

The dude should have thanked them for telling him that he had crap in his beard, and cleaned himself up and maybe taken an honest look at how he grooms himself. I mean even he says that they were honest...

so why the rage..why the holier than thou approach..

So if somebody is religious or a Muslim or has a beard you expect an iron control over their anger. But didnt even our Prophet (SAW) get angry? The guy didnt say he was a perfect Muslim who always had his anger in control. We're human, its impossible not to get angry. You obviously have a lot of faith in man's ability to control ALL emotions?

Hey, this clown is the one playing the holier than thou card, I am just demonstrating that anyone can play that card very easily. I guess i have to explain it

*Ofcourse not. But I think the guy did pretty good when he was using more emotion than logic. I mean hey he didnt pick his plate up and throw it at the females. Instead he wrote a poem. Im saying that at extreme times, our better judgment is clouded by emotions - the only way to then resolve issues is to use the emotions wisely.:p *

The poem is not "wise" it is idiotic. and just because its not as bad as him throwing his plate at them, or errr kidnapping them and burying them alive in his backyard..does not mean that the poem is good, in comparison it is a lesser evil.

He wrote before that :
* " Little did they know the rage that I felt as a result of this and I channeled this rage by unleashing my anger through my pen and out came this poem."***

so he was mad, and he wrote a Funny poem in his own words..
* just a funny poem *

But Im positive that you know the difference between a funny poem and making fun of a poem. You're so wise, you must. :)

Oh sure, so he said a funny (he thought) poem, and I found it idiotic and made fun of his supposedly funny poem :) its a very logical thing, if you really think about it..can you? people critique serious works, so why not critique a lame, corny, idiotic poem. I am not making fun of a beard or anyone who has one, but simply the examples he has used in his poem and the factual errors :)

so how about the ruling that the beard has to be a fistfull? what would those without generous facial hair have to do? or are they exempt due to this ‘pulled-out-of-behind’ disabled analogy of yours?

Fraudia -- uh thanks for that mind opening essay. I am not defending the guy, but not to be rude or anything but if his poem was idiotic your cutting up of it was more so. But I guess you were bored out of your wits, so needed to do something enlightening :p

( ps was the rage comment towards me? If so you're greatly mistaken. Allah is the final judge, and I dont see any reason in being angry towards you. I have a lovely temper but I shall reserve it for the right time and the right person. )

PA --- Beard is sunnah not farz. So Im sure that if a guy is unable to grow a beard that is not a whole fist- its alright. The fact that he tried or wants to grow it is enough. If by nature it cant be done, so be it. I honestly do not know why such a ridiculous question needs to be asked in the first place. But Im glad that I can help you expand the 5 year old category of your intellect.

Assalam Aleekum
Can you please post the information regarding beard being a Sunnat and not farz.

Jazak Allah

AFAIK, its considered either a sunnah or a wajib (depending on who you ask). Very few, if any, would consider it farz.

^ what here is the difference between wajib and farz?

^-- the difference is something invented by pakistanis i believe.. though cant be sure.. the definition they have i think is:

farz = shahadah, salah, sawm, zakah, hajj
wajib = anything else which is compulsory

I don't want to demean the discussion by talking about "inventions" by Pakistanis (which is obviously a favorite topic of many and is a convenient diversion in any serious discussion), but farz is something that Allah Ta'llah has explicitly commanded the muslims to do in the Quran. Anything else can not be farz.