Katy Perry Shmaty Perry

Re: Katy Perry Shmaty Perry

people are calling it blasphemous and setting up online petitions = overreaction to me.

do you think katy perry cares what you consider blasphemous?!

le pak, it’s obvious you always like to stand up for the more traditional way of thinking and seems like you think pakistanis and pakistani thought can do no wrong. youre very defensive about it, but you don’t always ahve to go out of your way and some how “val valla ke” find a way to prove your point

Phil,

In the last thread on Katy Perry…in my very first response…, I didn’t say Astagfirullah…I didn’t damn anyone to hell…I said that the singers are trashy but I didn’t call anyone a sinner…I didn’t even mention Islam in my first post…instead I said that the singers’ videos/performances are anti-religious as in against ALL religions…lekin interestingly the responses I got were about minding namaz, praying Fajar, etc. That said I agree with Le Pak…“the overreaction” is from the other side.

Do a search online and u’ll see even people of other religions are censuring Katy Perry and other singers for occult symbols. The occult is about worshipping the devil…it is against all religions, not just Islam. It is said that Katy Perry da abba is going around calling her a devil-child and asking people to pray for her. She doesn’t care about him…so she’s not gonna care about anybody else’s opinions. But your remark “you think she is gonna care?” is strange reasoning. Phil, you think the zookeepers care about your opinion about killing and feeding some giraffe to a lion in front of kids? You think they cared about the kids’ reactions? Nope…but that sure didn’t stop you from reacting and creating a thread on it. I have nothing against u Phil…I don’t intend any of this in a mean or hurtful way to you. But if we’re gonna use the “u think they care?” reasoning…then we should just remain silent and not voice our opinions/feelings about any issues at all. If a person steals or kills someone…let’s not say anything because that person doesn’t care about our opinions any more than the feelings of the ones they hurt.

Interesting thing is that agar religion ko beech main na bhi laao…and if we comment on just the songs and their symbols…u hear “So, who cares…music industry has been doing this for ages. Just stop talking.” It’s a desensitizing and downplaying. Ab to koi kisi baat ko ghalat bhi nahi keh sakta. Don’t call a spade a spade. Nahi ji…chup kar jaao sab…bolo hi mat. You are only entitled to even calmly express your disapproval if you have perfected your ibadat and character.

Nvm I will keep out of this lol

Everyone should take it easy and listen. This will end all the back and forth:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-voice-gallery/637226-da-faire-wark-blusphoomusly-sainging.html#post9938078

Highlighting the points i agree with :k:

@ Prince of Persia

What was that?

Just watch the video and call it stupid, tasteless, attention whoring, senseless baiting, badly done and totally off the point piece of crap, pretty much like how all Ketty Perry & Co videos are these days. If you just do this, you’ve simply fulfilled your right and responsibility to condemn, but you if you take it any further than that, you are basically feeding the troll.

Music industry is not what it used to be 10 years ago; there is less focus on adding quality but more on including shock factors. So by any chance if this protest goes viral, I can bet my new pair of Jimmy Choos that it won’t be long before any other idiot uses burqa top with bikini bottom to ensure his/her video gets millions worldwide hits on YouTube in a matter of few hours.

So let’s ask ourselves where we need to draw the line.

If there are people who are calling it blasphemous then it is their right. If Katy Perry is insulting religious symbols (regardless of which religion) then it does fall under blasphemy.
Same goes for people setting up online petitions. It’s their right to do so. They are not harming anyone. If they feel strong about a certain case, then power to them for actively showing their discontent about it.

It doesn’t matter whether Katy Perry cares or not.

I see the Jewish community protesting all the time. Just recently because a german channel (i think it was a german) wanted to make a drama series about Anne Frank. It got cancelled because Jewish people dissaproved and the drama wasnt even of an insulting charackter. If it isn’t for that then they are protesting against selling Mein Kampf, or whatever. Heck, I read that people even created havoc about Justin Bieber because he alledgedly disrespected Anne Frank when he visited a monument or something of Anne Frank.
Not many people find these reactions ovveracting and neither are they blown up by the media.

As for your last comment. Completely wrong.

Yes I like to stand up for my principles and if somebody says something I disagree with or if it sounds unfair in my eyes, yes I will speak against it. Just like everyone else does on this board and basically everywhere. Whether those stances are of a traditional, religious or other nature, that doesnt matter.

Secondly, I have never claimed that Pakistanis can do no wrong and neither have I been overly defensive about it. I don’t know how you came up with that.

If I disagree with another member about a certain issue then I will give my opinion about the matter, but that doesn’t mean that my respect for the other becomes less and that I start developping grudges against him. Can’t say that about everyone here, especially about the so called most liberal and openminded members who often cant stand a different opinion.

Maine TLK, ya Cheegum ya Ghost ke sar pe kulwaarhi rakh kar nai maari. I disagreed with their certain points and I pointed that out. That’s what I thought is the purpose of a discussion board.

I don’t need to prove my point in a val valla ke manner. Whatever I have to and want to do I do that directly. I agree we as muslims and Pakistanis have a lot problems. Never will deny that. But those problems are not caused by the average muslim/pakistani. Unfortunately the average citizin is the most affected by those problems. The average citizin is doing whatever he can to make the world a better place, and you dont need to invent a high tech invention to do that. The average muslim doesnt support extremism, terrorism and whetever. Neither are most people participating in unusefull protests on non issues. But that is not what we want to see. We want to focus on that small group that does misbehave, so that we can brush everyone under the same rug. The bigger, real picture we ignore, deliberately.
We tend to focus on the negatives of our community and on the positives of another community.

And if anyone is bothered when I reacted that westerners are just like us and they are not more perfect, I didnt say that just to act like a blind patriotic. It’'s just the truth. Live among them, have to deal with them on a daily base, and they can be as annoying as us.

And yes there are moments that I can be more harsh in my comments, but that all depends on the language of the other person.

Lil’ Kim did something like this a while back I think..

So if it was meant to cause offense and has done that why are you all getting your panties in a bunch when it is offensive?

Because you lot are taking off your panties, burning them, and waving them around because someone caused you a boo boo. :frowning:

Itnay lambay lambay jawaab :hayaa:

Right. I guess we learned nothing from Imran Khan eh? Making sympathy for the taliban mainstream. Let me know if you lot get the hypocrisy in your actions and sentiments or i can write in crayon.

Pretty sure she’s also making dressing like a skank mainstream. You should get on that next.

And good news guys! We won the trademark dispute with them silly Arab Christians for sole rights to “Allah”.

Nice. Trivialize racism. Well done. First the inability to realize the hypocrisy and secondly the desire to belittle racism because its against Muslims and our coconut sensibilities are unwilling to accept the gora sahib can do something wrong.

" Religion defined and codified morality. Just like in Hinduism it is moral to treat untouchables like trash."

Your words. Just a day or two ago. What is it you said about inability to realize the hypocrisy.

And yes, to those who are rightly offended by the video, do condemn the above right in your own backyard. In All Views.

Southie its a fact. Or are you saying that in Hinduism Dalits are equal to other castes?

It is a fact Dalits are treated poorly. Untouchables were and are still treated “like trash”. By Hindus. But Hinduism does not preach that.

If Muslims do bad things, blame Muslims. Don’t blame Islam. Can you imagine the uproar here if a non Muslim had said sometthing about Islam similar to your statement?

Learn the difference between blaming practioneers of a Religion and blaming the Religion.

You are intelligent. You know the difference.

The caste system is part of the religious faith is it not? After all it is mentioned in the religious texts.

I too learned last year that the caste system was/is a cultural aspect that has been allowed to seep into the umbrella of Hinduism.