Katy Perry Shmaty Perry

Stop getting worked up muslims. You have bigger problems. You are ~200 years behind your competition in education, research and development. You were doing good for a while but then you lost your way and became too decadent. And now, just like the Europeans of the 14th century, you call education a tool of the devil. Heck, even Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) told you do seek education even if you have to go to China. And this is when you couldn’t even board a Cathay Pacific 747 to Beijing.

Had you been educating yourself in the masses this is what you would have achieved by now:

Get your priorities right. Follow Islam as it has been commanded to you. Do the mandatory acts of worship. Spread peace, spread love. Worship Allah and serve his creation. Become a source of ease for your family your neighbours your coworkers your friends everyone. Quit the hot headedness please. Call yourself Sunni? Try following sunnah for a change. Call yourself Shia? Well you have to follow sunnah too i.e. Prophet Mohammed’s (PBUH) example.

I wish you all a maghrib salat free from thoughts of Katy Perry.

Re: Katy Perry Shmaty Perry

But...she burned a religious symbol! Your Facebook likes can cure cancer and end Islamophobia! Don't forget to include lots of exclamation marks for the extra holy oomph!!!!

Yup, so many now have gotten caught up in judging others, killing minorities, blaming the West for all our problems, The Message seems to be long forgotten.

No offence, but I didn't see anyone getting worked up over this. People are just giving their opinion.

It annoys me more when I see people getting crazy because someone said something about tattoos or miniskirts.

As for people making online petitions, again, nothing wrong with that. It is not as if they stopped doing all their regular chores and religious duties to only focus on Katy Perry.

If there are any protest riots we see on tv on a certain controversial issue, then it's a small group participating in it. But the way it gets portrayed makes you believe that every other muslim is burning down the city. And then we only focus on that minority, while ignoring the majority of millions and millions of muslim who are behaving accordingly.

It might not have been muslims who invented a printer that makes human skin for burn patients, but there are enough examples of other achievements done by muslims. But then we get the issue of why focus on the religion instead of the overall person.

As for the problems, yes there are problems and as long as we exist there always will be problems, everywhere. Muslims are humans too, thus not perfect. And again the ones mainly responsible for the problems is again a minority and not the majority.

So really, who is getting emotional and worked up?

^Noone is. We are all stating our opinions. Did you see the video? I will give anyone $5 if you notice the pendant the first time. The problem isn't anyone voicing their disapproval. Even if we all missed the pendant, we would go back to look for it because we were asked by a friend to watch it and be offended by it with him. So this is how a non issue gets turned into an issue. Does this make any sense to you?

^ I agree that it (can) generates more attention.

But I was merely pointing out to the comments such as that people are getting emotional and worked up and need to set their priorities right.

Le Pak, this cuts both ways. I can just say we are the ones giving opinions on this matter and the ones who are getting all crazy forming petitions are the ones getting worked up. I guess it is just a matter of opinion on what side one falls on. I respect you for your opinion because I know after reading your posts and knowing you here you are a level headed person. I can't say that for a lot of people who just come out of the wood work when these things happen just to bash the west.

So I guess you all feel the same way when the Jews scream antisemitism?

I think Slims said it best Le Pak. You and a lot of others are rightly offended but others will just froth at this relatively trivial issue and ignore the real problems. And all of this just gives more publicity to the stupidity. It's depressing.

Quick question why the pendant saying Allah? That is my question. Why not the star of david? You think they just randomly picked it out because it looked good in the prop section?

Errmmm, actually it’s kind of like that. If they have so much time to initiate or take part in non-value-added online petitions, then they must be putting more important stuff on the back burner.

Don't tell me you only participate in important and (religiously) mandatory stuff all day long, from the moment you wake up untill you go back to sleep.

I am not talking about individual time only, but the collective that we spend on issues like that (that YouTube movie mocking prophet, the Danish cartoon, and such), must amount to few hundreds if not thousands of hours. Better things could have been done during that time.

We are just making Katy Perry more famous, she is getting more YouTube time. That is exactly what she wanted.

Agree to some extent. But I am sure those hundreds of hours were not spent non-stop just on the video, without doing other more important or productive things.

That is why I used the term collective. Five mins of your time, three minutes of mine, ten minutes of someone else's.... No big deal if you look at it individually, but when we see that our nation is not involved in any productive activity, and spend hundreds of collective hours in bekaar kee cheezain, then it shows that something is wrong fundamentally.

Not that westerners are not spending thousands and thousand of hours in bars and pubs every day, but then they have great inventions, discoveries, researches, patents to show for every single day. That reflects a balanced mindset.

I am not going to argue on who has more great inventions and discoveries and researches, sure they must be ahead in that. But one thing is for sure and that is that 'we' are very good in disparaging, depreciating and playing down our own people, achievements and efforts. Something that I see very rarely in westerners.

Lol. Getting emotional aren't we. Name one achievement please.

And westerners are more vocal about thier faults than we can ever dream of. They are not under pressure of religious authorities or government or law enforcing agencies. When they see something wrong, they speak it. Their presidents resign, and their religious heads apologize when they see public in opposition.

Patriotism is a very good thing, but does not mean that we should bury our head in sand.

Err ok. How exactly did you come to the conclusion that I am getting emotional and being blindly patriotic?

'Our' people can't be held responsible for not being able to always openly be vocal. Neither can they be held responsible for the presidents not resigning.

But ok if you want to make a comparison, you gave an argumnt for your own statement. Wersterners are more vocal than we will ever be because they are under no kind of pressure. Had they been under the pressure that we are and had they been suffering from poverty then unka bhi wahi haal hota jo hamara hai.

They are no different than us. no matter how hard we want to see them as more perfect.

It was picked out because it would generate the most controversy and publicity. Mission Accomplished.

Chewgum i had offered fajr salat so thought may be i would qualify to protest against the act or atleast just raise my voice.

And i am not feeling emotional and worked up. all is good here.Alhamdollilah. my maghrib prayer was free of images of katty perry dancing somewhere in those stinky skimpy outfits. thanks for the ahead-of-prayer warning. helped me loads.

no i don’t think so we are overly patriotic. we have a lot of tolerance. i once came across a thread that vouched for it. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/393370-gujrat-and-kashmir-are-in-pakistan-now-2.html#post7130165 . only tolerant people stand such comments. i don’t mind ppl calling my flag a toilet rag

Yes you are obviously right that their religious heads do apologize whenever some controversy pops up. for instance pope’s apologies whenever somehow a child abuse case, by priests, comes to fore. then promises made. then broken and the on going cursed cycle. result: tens and thousands of child rape and abuse cases courtesy priests. apologies galore!

Their governments are also very apologizing, but don’t know why they forget to apologize when they initiate proxy wars, call themselves mujahid when they wish to then back out just when their goals are achieved, leaving behind what, battered and torn nations and an everbuilding resentment and then they aptly name it anti-xyz nation sentiment, run the most heinous detention camp known to humankind in the recent times, pata nahi kab apologize karain gay, mujhay hasrat hi hay and the list goes on.

As of achievements. Yes we are so behind in that race. But see what happens once we gain those flashy glossy degrees we simply feel, our home country is just such a sordid place to go back to, why forgo this luxuries filled life for a country with poor-infrastructure, half bare kids running around the streets begging. we are pakistanis in cuisine, fashion beauty forums ,but otherwise we are born and raised americans. its easy to do talk big sitting across latest techy screen planted on the couch, " what you muslims have done, have forgotten the freaking cool golden muslim era, where is the glory of past lost ,wake up people wake up" . yeah right if you got the right knowledge, right education, then why not return back to your home country, we need you to educate us, help us. please, we are waiting.

Yes it is insane damaging public and private property and engaging in all such violent acts under the name of protests. But if someone is writing a petition even if its useless, why not let those individuals signing it, decide it for themselves what they should do or not, they aren’t babies oblivious of its effectiveness. What with telling them to shutup and move on and save your own home. Sorry don’t recall when had we traded our tongues with you in exchange of something ,the sacred ghost! Can’t a muslim just condemn a disgusting incident for the heck of his sanity without being labelled as “frustrated and venting”.

And chegum if arab jews and christains don’t chose to protest thats their choice, have we forced them to do so or not, they aren’t our representatives.

Just so recently i saw dissecting of a hadees to shreds, in the name of “horsing around” and for the sake of discussing the nuances and possibilities emerging out of that hadees, in another thread. I think it is engaging in such acts that is turning us immune to such incidents.

If condemning a wrong act means getting emotional and worked up then be it. and dose protesting against that means we are forgoing our religious duties, we are judging people, justifying the senseless acts of killing, propagating misogyny and all those things mentioned in the beginning of thread. Have i just flunked my exam by just writing this post.

Hey folks! chill lets post in the biased nudity factor thread and strike the likes endlessly. Hurrrrrrrrrray! here i come