Kathak Dance and Pakistan

Re: Kathak Dance and Pakistan

Another step towards ful reversion...I urge all Pakistoni future dharamvatris to pick out their hindu names, before someone else takes the most coveted ones...

Oye Sanskrit is just a language, it is the liturgical language of Hinduism but it is not Hindu.

Christians have Arabic names, Hazrat Salman Al-Farsi :razi: had a Persian name I think because he was Persian.

If the meaning is inline with Islamic teachings I think we can have name of any language… We changed our religion not our ethnicty (culture)…

Pakistan has more right to Sanskrit than India because the Vedic Civilisation of Indus-Valley (Ancient Pakistan) was Pakistani not Indian…

I like Deepak or Satish, I know Deepak means lamp but I don’t know what Satish means.

I want to take indian dancing classes as well - especially bharatnatyam just for fun dont have any clue about katak dance though...

As they say mouseeqi rooh ki ghaza hai
aur kathak azaa ki shayeri hai.

hhmmmmmmmm aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

NO

Both Bharat-Natyam and Kathak look a bit gay to me, especially Bharat-Natyam which looks a bit too 'pendulum headed', judging from the style of their Saaris I think it might be South-Indian that's why.. As Pakistanis we don't really have any cultural ties or simialrities with South-India, not even Punjabis/Sindhis/Urdus have any simailrities with them. Maybe Kathak which is north Indian has been part of some Pakistani cultures but it's not very aesthetic.

I don't think girls belonging to respectable Arab families will do Raqs-Sharqi (Belly-Dancing) for strange men, like us Pakis a lot of Arabs are quite conservative (except Lebanese Christians), just as in Paki society only Miraasi/Tawaaif girls from low-class dancer families (Tabley Waaley) do Kathak, in Arabia only girls who come from musician families will put on shows...

Let's put religion aside because women displaying their bodies for strange men in any dance whether it's Kathak or Raqs-Sharqi is forbidden..

...Let's look at it from a purely aesthetic perspective, you'll have to agree that Raqs-Sharqi is far far sexier and more attractive than Kathak, Kathak looks kind of weird, it's not as strange as some of the other Indian classical dances such as Bharat-Natyam/Dasi-Attam which are far clownier but it certainly isn't sexy like Raqs-Sharqi.

reminds me of the european attitude towards art in the Dark ages. many islamic societies are in dire need of renaissance.

Madhuri Diksit is a Kathak dancer and Hema Malini is a Bharatnatyam dancer.

Kathak and Bharatnatyam - is not meant to show skin.

Here are some pictures with dresses women wear while doing these dances

Kathak

http://www.creativeantics.com/images/dance/anj1/anj_9469.jpg

Bharatnatyam
http://www.sino.net/guide/images/india/Bharatnatyam_dance.jpg
http://www.du.edu/~mrawat/indian_dance_troupe.jpg

i too like lap dance!!! :smiley:

I know Kathak is not meant to show skin from watching Sheema Kirmani (a Pakistani Hindu) Kathak dancer.

That’s my point, these dances are neither sexy nor are they graceful or artistic, in fact they’re anything but that, they’re actually quite base and ugly.

The only people who will have any affiliation with these dances are Hindus who see spirituality in them, seem a bit naff to the rest of us…

…Which leaves no reason for anyone in Pak to want to learn them or dance them… If we must discard our traditional Islamic ways, at least make it worth while with the Raqs-Sharqi and lap/pole dancing, bring on the thumka shumka..

what tool-e-arab is saying is, pakistanis don't have the sensibility to appreciate art. if you really want to bring in dancing, atleast bring in some pole dancing and strippers who have more utility value.

explains the pakistani male's mujra obsession quite well, dunnit?

bada hi &%^$*%%^&& insaan hai yaar tu to; dharam imaan me kya rakha hai, apan to apne aap ko bhi bech dein agar mauka mile to :).

Bhaiji pahle apna stand clear karo. Initially you said this -
"Let's put religion aside because women displaying their bodies for strange men in any dance whether it's Kathak or Raqs-Sharqi is forbidden.. "
Now you are saying this -

Whats so good in the Paintings of Rembrandt, or Tabla of Ustaad Allah Rakha or Sitar of Ravi Shankar or flute of Hari Prasad Chaurasia or Dance of Sonal Maansingh.

Anyways this is a personal choice. I like Kathak dance and listening Tabla and flute.

After reading this I am pretty sure that Toloo-e-Aftob and his earlier avatar promiscuous is a confused british desi from the Indian sub continent.

I don’t know about in front of people…some of the moves are good exercise and belly dancing does tone my stomach and leg muscles :vivo:but I couldn’t see myself dancing in front of family:o.

I'm Brit born but I'm not culturally confused, I speak five languages Urdu/Hindi, Punjabi (incl.Siraiki/Hindko dialects), Pashto, basic Parsi and basic Arabic.. Hardly confused, I'm more cultured than any of you lot.

Kathak or Bharat-Natayam are just not to my taste... Kathak is not as bad as Bharat-Natayam if the girls are wearing Churidar Pajama (which was brought to India by Muslims) but if they wear traditional Indian Saari then it looks very unattractive and 'pendulum headed'.

I don't know why people are acting like this is a part of South-Asian culture in general, it's not, it's only part of the Hindu religion and we're South-Asians but not Hindus.. What is culture anyway? In this cosmopolite day and age only language is a discerning hallmark of culture/ethnicity and we're meant to evolve and do away with unaesthetic elements of culture instead of adopting strange and weird customs in the name of culture, retrogressive I tell you.

What I meant to say was hamarey dharam mein donon naach paap hain, agar paap karna hi hai to at least make it worthwhile and enjoyable, it's not just that, why make hideous things a a part of culture and just make a bigger fool of ourselves than we already are in the world?

We can appreciate art all right but some things are just art ke naam pe dhaba.

figures.

Seems like we have an official "taste-master" telling us whats vulgar or not islamic just to justify his own weird thinking. Who made u judge of "dances", seriously? Smells like talibanism to me.......