Kathak Dance and Pakistan

How much is this dance ours? Why is it done in Pakistan and who promotes it? It is definately not part of our culture. Men who perform kathak dance look more like perverts and gays. Women who do kathak look like women being used as toys dancing on tunes of Hindutva. Girls of good families would not send heir daugters to do this mujra in front of people. I condemn it fully and raise my utter disgust for this in Pakistan. This is what I think!

An old article but truly a shame!

LAHORE Indian Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee asked Indian Kathak dancer Dr Uma Sharma to dance to his poem Hum Jang Na Honay Dengay during her visit to Pakistan, she told Daily Times on Saturday.

At Alhmara, the audience enjoyed a magical performance by the celebrated dancer. The Pakistani crowd erupted in a spontaneous standing ovation at the end of her performance.

Ms Sharma gave a mesmeric 90-minute performance and made history as the first Indian classical dancer to perform publicly in Pakistan.

She was invited by the All Pakistan Music Conference and her visit was arranged by the South Asia Fraternity. Ms Sharma danced poetry in tarana with her rhythmic footwork and facial expressions. She will go on to perform in the National Library auditorium in Islamabad on April 20 and 21.

Clad in green churidar pyjama, dupatta and green and biscuit colour pishwaz, she was accompanied by Ustad Mubarik Ali Khan on tabla, Khalid Mustafa on sitar and young vocalist Imran Khan, all from New Delhi.

All of them performed par excellence. All Pakistan Music Conference Secretary General Hayat Ahmed Khan said, “I have never seen anything like this before. All of them performed so well that I was enthralled.”

Dr Sharma started with Adhuram Madhuram and then dance to Neeraj Gopal Dass’ poem Koi Nahin Paraya, Mera Ghar Sara Sansar.

She then did the Nayaka Bhed, three characters of a woman. Her fourth item was tarana, which was all about technique, a question-answer session between the rhythm of her feet and the tabla. She chose two verses from the poetry of Ghalib and Iqbal.

Her choice of poetry was aimed at mending fences between Pakistan and India. She is here with a peace message to “reduce distance and end hostility”.

“These are the messages that I deliver through dance. I strongly believe in peace and people to people contact and exchange of artistes. What we artistes can do no minister or politician can. This wall should fall down now,” she said.

“Contrary to what I’d heard about Pakistan, I was amazed to see young girls performing Kathak dance at an open air theatre,” she said, referring to the Lahore Grammar School tribute to dance director and teacher Amy Minwala.

She regretted that she could only get a seven-day visa to Pakistan. “During these seven days, I will not be able to perform in Karachi, which I really want to,” she said. “However, when I go to Islamabad, I’ll ask the authorities to extend my visa and that of my companions.”

During President Pervez Musharraf’s visit to India, Ms Sharma surprised the president by asking him why he hated dance. Somewhat taken aback, Mr Musharraf said that he would love to see her perform.

She will be performing something new for the people of Pakistan on April 18, a solo Bbhavanritya, a dance based on the life and works of classic Urdu language poet Ghalib.

Ms Sharma’s forte is in translating poets Kalidas, Vidyapati, Ghalib, Tagore, lqbal, Faiz and Bachan into dance, but her favourite poet is the immortal Ghalib.

Ms Sharma has received much critical recognition, such as the Padma Bhoshan, Sangeet Natak Academy and Sahitya Kala Parishad awards. She has been trained by the greatest gurus of the Kathak tradition such as Shambhu Maharaj of the Lucknow Gharana and Sunder Prasad of the Jaipur Gharana.

Kathak dancing originated in the north and at first was very similar to the Bharatha-Natyam. Persian and Muslim influences later altered the dance from a temple ritual to courtly entertainment. The influence of the Mughal tradition is evident in this dance form and it has a distinctive Hindu-Muslim texture.

The word ‘Kathak’, derived from ‘Katha’, literally means storyteller. In ancient times, storytellers used song and dance to embellish their narration. This took the form of Kathakalakshepam and Harikatha in southern India, and the form of Kathak in the north.

Around the 15th century, the dance form underwent a drastic transformation due to the influence of Mughal dance and music. By the 16th century, the churidar pyjama had become the staple attire of a Kathak dancer. The dances are performed straight-legged and the ankle bells worn by the dancers adeptly controlled. Kathak has an exciting and entertaining quality with intricate footwork and rapid pirouettes being the dominant and most endearing features of this style. The costumes and themes of these dances are often similar to those in Mughal miniature paintings.http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_18-4-2004_pg7_17

Another BS

Classical Dance Re-emerges in Pakistan

http://www.samarmagazine.org/archive/article.php?id=77

Welcome back islamabad bhai...

Re: Kathak Dance and Pakistan

Originally posted by Islamabad: *
**How much is this dance ours? Why is it done in Pakistan and who promotes it? It is definately not part of our culture. Men who perform kathak dance look more like perverts and gays. Women who do kathak look like women being used as toys dancing on tunes of Hindutva. Girls of good families would not send heir daugters to do this mujra in front of people. I condemn it fully and raise my utter disgust for this in Pakistan. This is what I think!

How can you say it's not part of our culture? Aren't Pakistani and Indian culture the same?

Kathak is a form of art and I don't see anything wrong in it. I was just wondering, do you condemn only Kathak or do you condemn dancing in general?

Re: Re: Kathak Dance and Pakistan

*Originally posted by Miss Alisha: *

How can you say it's not part of our culture? Aren't Pakistani and Indian culture the same?

Kathak is a form of art and I don't see anything wrong in it. I was just wondering, do you condemn only Kathak or do you condemn dancing in general?

Women dancing in public in front of men is just not right! Would you dance like that? We are so eager t enjoy such mujras but never ourselves want our close people to dance like that. It is totally un Islamic and does not suit Islamic Republic of Pakistan. period.

^ Mr. Pakistan, are you suggesting that women who do Mujras have no Male relatives? What about other forms of arts and entertainment, do you think that Mehdi Hassan’s ghazzals are also non-Islamic and we should stop listening to music too?

Hira Mandi is here to stay, if some people don’t like it, they can move to Holland. What I find always amazing is that most issues concerning Morals are always directed to women in Pakistan (and other Islamic countries). Why don’t you voice for getting rid of archaic laws that give men preference, such as Polygamy, etc.? Mr. Pakistan?

As a matter of fact I have done dance performances, I take Indian dancing classes (Kathak, Bharat-Natayam, Orissie and we also do Bollywood songs/dances). I'm doing just for fun, don't want to become a professional dancer or whatever, but I enjoy dancing and I think it's a great form of exercise. There have been some multi-cultural fesivals over here and our group has participated in it.

Madhanee, why should people who don 't like Kathak have to move to Holland??? For your information, I'm Dutch, and I don't think Mr. Pakistan would like it any better over here...

As for Madhanee, where you come from and the ideology you represent, Islam may never make sense to you. So no use explaining to a closed mind and you are too full of anti-Muslim, anti-Pakistani crap.

For others who know what Islam is and what our purpsoe of life is, they do not need to question whether its right or wrong. My job as a Muslim is to always do amar bil maroof and nahi anil munkar. So I will Allah willing do it till the end of my life. wa lao karih al kafiroon.

Kathak dance and all other dances of this sort are filthy and they stink badly. Since Pakistan was created in the name of Islam, it is very sad that it was done in public in Pakistan. If I have power to stop it I would first try to educate, if not I would say it verbally if not Allah willing I will stop this evil forcefully.

Shame on all those who watched their Pakistani sisters dancing like that. This is what is called death of Ghairah.

Islam Putr, did you read the article you posted? Here’s a quote from your article:

Persian and Muslim influences later altered the dance from a temple ritual to courtly entertainment.<<<

So now you are telling us that it is unislamic? Did you know that your so called Sultans and Khalifas not only liked young boys, but they also enjoyed courtly dancing. Since Pakistanis who watched it obviously like it and do not believe in the hateful kinda Islam that you are propagating. You see, you talk about using force to implement your ideology. That’s justification enough to send all molvis to hell that want to force their filth to Pakistanis. Jazakallah.

Islamabad dude, instead of preaching on net and wasting your precious time bickering about things YOU think are wrong, you better concentrate on earning more sawab by helping the needy, orphan kids etc. Really, all you do is cry! Never seen a single post from you where u haven't cried about "unislamic" influences on Islam which apparenty breaks your heart. Actually, you are more of a superficial mullah, all your concerns revolve around the things which simply don't matter. You just want to point fingers and cry.

You are the ones crying here by pointing fingers at me only when I am expressing my opinion. You also open a post about the benefits of Kathak dance and how it will improve our morality. A word of advise...you may also start Kathak dance.

Madhanee.---The moghuls were not Islamic. There is a clear difference between Muslims and Islam. You Indians yourself criticize them for all the zulm they did on you Hindus. So why this praise now. Oh I forgot, everything Hindu the y promoted is good and anything Islamic like Jizya is bad... Thats what is logical for you. So stay with it. I haven't opened this thread for you!

Islu, I never claimed I am here to cleanse the world of all the "evil" or anything. But u always seem to do that.

If I have power to stop it I would first try to educate, if not I would say it verbally if not Allah willing I will stop this evil forcefully.<<<

All I am saying is, if only you were this passionate about things that really mattered like child labour, poverty, world peace and blah, it would have earned you a place in heaven by now.

*Originally posted by Chandbeti: *
Islu, I never claimed I am here to cleanse the world of all the "evil" or anything. But u always seem to do that.

If I have power to stop it I would first try to educate, if not I would say it verbally if not Allah willing I will stop this evil forcefully.<<<

All I am saying is, if only you were this passionate about things that really mattered like child labour, poverty, world peace and blah, it would have earned you a place in heaven by now.

Chandbeti sis, thanks for the complements but child labor, poverty are equally bad. When I talk of justice in many of my threads, what does it mean? When there is justice ofcourse there will be eradication of poverty as the poor will get their rights. I speak against everything bad - Be it child labor, prostitution, or dances in public.

Regarding what I said about the kathak dance, yes it is wrong and the first step is that we admit that . This is the very essense of Islam. Try to understand what amar bil maroof wa nahi anil munkar is, and than maybe you will understand what i am saying here.

Kathak dance surely has a hidu history and not much popular in pakistan. It was never been popular in masses, and never had much support from govt. Never the less it is a form of art like poetry, painting or caligraphy.

But on the other hand belly dance is quite popular in arab world and has a arab history and they very much own it and feel no shame in it.

For the sake of comparison (not saying one is right and other is wrong) If you show both dances to a neutral person, he will probably say that kathak dance is much more decent, elegant and artistic then belly dance
Again one is popularly owned by large number of muslims and other hand, people feel no affiliation with kathak dance in pakistan.

So one should focus on bigger issues, belly dance is far more unislamic and disrespectful to women then kathak dance.

*Originally posted by Code_Red: *
Kathak dance surely has a hidu history and not much popular in pakistan. It was never been popular in masses, and never had much support from govt. Never the less it is a form of art like poetry, painting or caligraphy.

But on the other hand belly dance is quite popular in arab world and has a arab history and they very much own it and feel no shame in it.

For the sake of comparison (not saying one is right and other is wrong) If you show both dances to a neutral person, he will probably say that kathak dance is much more decent, elegant and artistic then belly dance
Again one is popularly owned by large number of muslims and other hand, people feel no affiliation with kathak dance in pakistan.

So one should focus on bigger issues, belly dance is far more unislamic and disrespectful to women then kathak dance.

Thanks for the info.. Surely kathak and belly dances both are against the Islamic injuctions.

JazakAllah Islamabad for your effort. Let these Indians cry.

But belly dancing is more fun in front of loved ones :blush: Ya habibi!

ahan.. :wink:

Not to forget, lap dance, in dim light and slow music.

Let our imagination fly :sleep:

Yeh saari batain shadi se pehley ki hoti hain, shadi ke baad tu becharey husband ko ungleyoon pe nachati hain larkeyaan :frowning:

what dance is thiis? is it the one Moghuls had in their darbar?

i dint know it was indian..
:s