karailay (sp?)

I need to know how u’ll make em.
LIke all the essential ingredients etc.

Re: karailay (sp?)

Sajal: first peel the skin off of the karaila and cut them in pieces. Once cut apply salt to them to get all the karwahat out.

Now wash them and put them on a paper towel to get all the water out. Fry the karailas.

From here the recipes varies. It depends on what you are trying to make. If you want to make Qeema karailay or gosht karailay or i have seen people make them with chana daal and karaila.

Basic ingredients to add in a keema karaila dish is kalonji, zeera, ajwain and the rest spices.

Actually I wanted to know wheter u put ginger and garlic in them or not.

channa dal and karalay, that's new to me???

yeah, who puts dal in karalay? Aren't they already miserable enough by themselves?

I personally like stuffed karailay...qeema is best, but the channay ki daal are good in their own way.

So SAJAL baji, channay ki daal ones are common i'm surprised u haven't heard of that before.

Adrak lassan are generally added, like u would to any other veggie salan.

:rolleyes:

Hamadjee, Issi vajah se aap motu hain. Na sabziyaN na daaleiN. Gosht khor.

Sajal, they are the offspring of crocodiles aka magarmach de bachay, don't eat them.

Eshar bibi, it must be a Yankee thing. Cos really, I have never heard of 'em before.

I like them stuffed with piyaz and tamatar.

p.s: Sajal, the inbox is FULL again :mad:

Hamadjee
Aap chakk thiranway meiN nahi rehte anyway, it's okay to venture out and try different things. Paindu jaey na hooN te.

:eek:

Itni sari galiyaaN.

La hola wala

Ab nazar bhi kamzoor hai? Gajar khaya kareiN, afaqa ho ga.

But seriously, the texture of dall and karalay just doens't match. One is bitter and hard, while the other is soft and bland. Keema has a similar hard texture and so the match.

tussi loki wi nah!

I never heard of or saw channa daal with karelay either. I know of a weirdo who once added qeema to chicken for novelty.

But yes Sajal just make masala like you would for any saalan. Use a little extra onions and tomatoes for karelas. After squeezing the hell out of the kerelas deep fry and add to the masala. I like them best with mutton.

Thanks guys.
Although some of the above replies left me speechless. Yeah
u know who u are.

And AJ
how can it be full? Let me take a look at it.

I have yet to see Karaylay in U.S. What do they call em, bitter guards? I once asked this lady at a grocery store if they carried "brinjal" and she was lost. One other time I asked someone about "ladyfingers" and he was lost too. Finally a month ago i was at a market and I asked this butcher if he could make me some "minced beef" and he was utterly lost.

Only later did i understand that its "egg plant" , "okra" and "ground beef" here and brinjal, lady fingers and minced beef back home.

AJ & FF, it is not soup like daal, it is khari daal. Have you ever had daal fry (it is very common at those tandoor resturants in pak) anyhow karala daal not bad at all. it is khari daal with fried karalas and extra onions. you can also fill the karalas with khari daal and then bake them/or cook them in a pan( or whatever) in tomato-onion masala and then at dum add saute’ oinions.

Thank you Lusi, for bringing light to these ignorant people :snooty:

khari daal :D

Brinjal sounds like something weird.

I have tried karaylay daal. Its tastes good. It tastes even better when you are hungry :D

FF, khari daal is not at all anything funny...have you ever had keema and chanay kee daal?
it is called khari daal...let me tell you how you can make khari daal.

Soak it for good 3-4 hrs
then make masala, add daal and add the same amount of water, so if you have 1 cup daal, add one cup water (or 3/4th cup of water will be better) and let it cook on medium heat till tender. Daal will absorb all the water. Sprinkle chaat masala and parsley at dum.

Mahru :)