Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

Re: Karachiites…whats happenning to our beloved city?

1. what facts? that there is flooding in punjab so there is no water shortage in karachi?
  2. abstract data is not from world organisations, but from pakistan’s own groups. and atleast that is data, not some flight of fantasy that equates flooding in punjab to aavialbility of water in karachi
  3. I had no arguments t counter the “facts” that you presented.. what facts? just uneducated assumptions
  4. indeed afsos
  5. depart from the thread, aray atleast keep your word..i see you posted even after you said you were departing.
  6. not approaching with open mind? I have given you hard facts that you want to ignore because murghay ki aik taang, and you just cant admit that you were dead wrong.. haha flooding in punjab so no water shortage :wink:

challo jao, mujhe ab bhains kay aagay been naheen bajana parray ga.

naqli taveez has got some bling bling cred mon ami..be proud and wear it.

Re: Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

Minime

qibla, shukria...the reportrs from pak govt are indeed interesting and are among the very same reports I had referred to. Atleast now that you are providing the reports and they are from a pakistani website maybe some people would stop believing that there is no water shortage in Pakistan.

I guess its easy for people living in posh sublocales in a sheltered atmosphere to stick their heads in te sand and pretend that all is hunky dory.

Just to add , The international organisations did not do the work, they provided the funding to do much of these studies, and were involved from a technical support as well as mgmt perspective.

Irem, werent u from pindi? Start a thread on pindi plz! We will bash mushy so much, and I wont let Fraudia bhai spoil our fun!

Spock :slight_smile: Pindi is where my roots are at, and my extended family is settled there so basically I am from there and thats my base, but my immediate family is in Karachi and I have also grown up in Karachi for the most part so Karachi is also dear to me. Pindi ki baat hi aur hae but right now since I am living in Karachi there are some issues about Karachi that I wanted to discuss since they affect my daily life, that is why I opened this thread. I am not part of the city life of Pindi that much as when I go there I’m always with family and I don’t commute by myself there so don’t know what the traffic situation is like there but yeah I have heard that everyday the traffic is blocked for a long time coz of mushy.

Mr F :smack: kasam se MERE andar itni energy nai k aik hi baat baar baar doHraaon
aap ne abhee tak mere points ka jawab nai dya, meri shuru kee posts parHein please about how water is being wasted in being transmitted, theft, and other projects like parks and roads
this is the GROUND REALITY
khair…i cant be bothered to debate on this anymore, mein THAK gai :slight_smile: is lyay… i was wrong, u were right, we need to cut down the trees in Karachi coz there is such a great water shortage
and look at who’s talking about being “sheltered” lol ulta chor kotwaal ko daante … boht aala

Khatmal :hehe: :smiley: :hehe:

MiniMe i agree with u that that is not a good use of public funds at all

A lot of people are saying that in the next ten years Pakistan will undergo a huge water shortage. You have a growing population which is expected to be over 200 million in another ten years, you have global warming, lack of proper water conservation and usage...
Pak is definently in for hard times if they dont start using their water better. Planitng Palm trees makes sense. Similar cities with Karachi temperatures and environment all have Palm tress. In the US, as soon as you get into the south you start seeing more and more Pal tree's everywhere.
Also, its a known fact that certain plants, crops etc take up more water and resources. This is perhaps one of the few good moves the cities made. But cutting down older trees maybe a waste. Should just leave them and alloww them to fend for themselves.

Regardless of preventing water theft, and fixing leaks in pipeline, there is still a water crises. Lets give you simple maths using completely made up numbers

Total projected Need- 20 gallons
Total water capacity from all sources - 19 gallons
total water lost in leaks - 2 gallons
Total water stolen - 1 gallon

Now, even if i am able to eliminate the total lost due to leak, and stop water stealing..the shortage is still there.

Minime has posted an excellent website waterinfo.pk go and read the stats there.

The majority of waste is not in urban areas, is not due to pipes and not due to theft, but due to wastage in agricultural usage where over irrigation not only wastes water but has terrible impact on land itself. That has been on the top of the list for the govt.

You can not say just because the situation with pipelines is not fixed, other quick wins can not be pursued.

You are criticizing the qatra, not realizing that qatra qatra mil kar darya banta hai. The move to change municipal tree program and go with more water resource friendly approach hurts no one and has an ongoing annual benefit.

Prevent wastage, stop theft..sure, it is on the govt to-do list, the enforcement authorities are different for different intiatives, ranging from ministry of agriculture to ministry of education to municipal govts. If one group does its work efficiently while other are struggling, why put down the one who is doing his part. His part of the effort may not be “the big win”, but is a win regardless.

The big win, as i stated previously, is in efficient usage in agricultural sector which is utilizing 95% of the water resources. a 1% improvement there is more than 90% improvement in the rest, does it mean we dont pursue the other 5% as well?

PakPatriot and Mr F I get you guys…but don’t you think maybe then we shouldn’t be spending water on places like Aladdin park, Creek Club, and other such places, and like grassy partitionson roads (Korangi road for example) and instead we should have trees all over the city? Coz then the whole city will be greener and it will be a nicer living atmosphere.
Khair thats what I think anyway, coz like the city is so dry.
anyways, mitti pao, kaafi lambi behes ho gai :smack: :smiley: :slight_smile:

without creek club, aladin park etc, there would be no life in karachi.

Abbay sea view tau chorr dain.....thori hawa tau yahan aaee gee sadday ghar...

with all beach front developed, we will not have open beaches, so no place for couples to go and no need for police to enforce hudood ordinance by asking for ppl's nikah namas :D