Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

guys :salam:

whats happenning to our city?
sea view

**they are making flats right next to the sea…high rises…thats gona block all the nice air to the city…that area is like the heaven of our city…why are they spoiling it? plus they are giving all the land to business owners and restaurant owners to develop…no more pure beach..

**clifton

**khayaban-e-roomi (boat-basin bilawal house wali road) is dug up at various spots…kyun? coz they r making an underpass

there is a water shortage coz of that in surrounding areas and there is soo much dust

i dont think the underpass was needed at all…there is hardly ever a traffic jam on these roads…there r more important places to spend that money

and teen talwaar wali road is dug up as well coz they r making an underpass…i wonder how long its gona take
one has to take the bath island roads and those have some really weird speed brakers on them**

american consulate wali road

**as usual, the flow of traffic there is continually disrupted
korangi road

the army just made this super awesome amazing road and just last week i saw that there were piled of mud on the sides..please dont tell me they r gona dig that road up coz that road is one of the best in the city

shahrah-e-faisal

**this road is decent but the bridge that is being constructed on it is taking ages coz of some case going on between govt and land grabbers apparently

bahria college wala area

**lost my way to my maamoon’s house and ended up there..i swear this area ROCKS…(this is near millenium mall in gulistan-e-jauhar)…this area was really really nice…

so there r some nice developments too, but i dont see why the new nazim, as soon as he came, cut down so many trees and planted PALM TREES? i mean they dont even provide shade or greenery…i dont get the logic of planting these at all..we need dense trees…not palm trees…

what our city needs most is less pollution, more greenery, traffic control, control of beggars, and then social infrastructure…like water, electricity telefone pipelines etc…

crime waghera toh khair is a different thing…

hmmm..anyways..just some thoughts..

Re: Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

Irem, its not just Karachi, its all over Pakistan. In the name of development all these Federal and state appointed decision makers (bureaucrats) in LDA and CDA are simply by passing the municipal rules and regulation. In their mind they are streamlining these huge development projects but in the process they are ignoring rules like public participation, public awareness and public protection. All development authorities in Pakistan should be by law under the elected representatives of the cities, but you will find that non of them have any say in any of these development projects. The Nazim of Karachi has tried to overcome this problem but he is still struggling. The nazim of Lahore and Islamabad are still facing some 1939 era building by laws, so its a long way, until the city govt’s are not given full authority over taxes and decision making things are going to remain the same.

Re: Karachiites…whats happenning to our beloved city?

:wsalam: well first of all I am really glad to read the news about the seaview, perhaps we can have something like cho–pati like Bombay/Mumbai have and then later big companies that can open their offices there, thats a nice thought, this is only way to bring something back to KHI, and I hope its not a Monopoly of some “Hum-chai piyala” and that prosper.

and Irem yaar I think you have ziyada brain then me and how could you said that fresh air will be stopped if they start building their. :stuck_out_tongue:

and that Underway is part of something to go with that Train/railway project with China so that is more good news :k:

aur about the rest Palm trees are seasonal I guess :confused: and I hope they are in many areas of Khi, only if they are without coco walay warnay becharay gari walay , I think they can grow more of those tree they have on shahra-e-faisal thoes tree are like only 12/14 feet high they have small little purple wala :flower1: and they provide good shade in garmi time speaking of June and July :eek:

good news, can you make it a weekely/ monthly update or follow up or something? I’d be REALLY glad, I read almost all the news paper but nothing like this naaa :smiley:

Talk to a horticulturist and find out why palm trees :slight_smile: I can tell you but then it will be too easy.

:confused:bolo bolo tell tell:confused:

basically the plam tree is one of the most adaptable trees in the world. It requires watering only once every two weeks and is drought and salinity tolerant. Water scarcity is a big issue in karachi. With very limited rain fall and without depeleting ground water they are following the same approach used in other countries based on sustainability maximizing returns per unit volume of water.

This scheme was advised to KMC in the 90s with a comprehensive water supply and management plan,and then further expanded upon with karachi pollution and environmental studies. The Palm tree approach was outlined as one which would give the city the most bang for its buck as it provided significant benefits while being a minimal drain on natural resources..most importantly water.

whats happenning to our city?

sea view

they are making flats right next to the sea...high rises...thats gona block all the nice air to the city....that area is like the heaven of our city...why are they spoiling it? plus they are giving all the land to business owners and restaurant owners to develop...no more pure beach..

i hope they dont develop the fishing village areas too. i went to this really clean beach that was occuied by fishers. i dont want them to develop pakistan, i like it nice and dirty and unkept.
]

^^ :rolleyes: :bailan: :2guns:

exactly Irem baaji.. but some people are just idiots and don't get this

Khatmal…exactly…i mean how dumb is it to actually cut down achay bhalay trees :smack:

jackie … are u being sarcastic?

Mr F, firstly they cut down changay bhalay trees to plant palm trees…and that is jus weird…why did they have to CUT existing trees?
and there r many trees which dont need constant watering…that can grow big and dense…
like the trees in the old areas of karachi, nobody waters them..
and if our water resources are properly managed, water can be provided to trees…
like these days korangi road pe ghaas ko bhee paani de rhay hotay haen
but plam trees dont provide any value…no shade, no greenery…so wats the point of planting them?

acrobi glad u enjoyed my post hehe
khair
i would hate to see sea view all developed and commercialised…it would lose it charm..
and palm trees se kon see shade aati hae?
shade aati hae un ghanay ghanay darakhton se…like peepal, neem, eucalyptus and others, i dont even know the names, but the ones u see in saddar, ii chundrigar, buns road, other old areas of khi
and u sure that underpass is gona connect to the rail proj? hmmm i d, dats cool then

MiniMe u r right…completely..
and im sure its happenning all over pak
the thing with khi is its so huge and totally mismanaged…
they really need to streamline and coordinate development projects in all our cities and make sure that they r not hugely inconvenient to the public
i mean on one side they r making a road aur doosri taraf ji pani kee supply hi khatam kar di..that doesnt make any sense..u know? there needs to be proper organisation and coordination

One way to solve Karachi problems is to have someone like you as the City Nazim? You definately have my vote…:salute:

i can understand how you feeling about it, but a developing country always go through this phase, but I agree they have to look when hey approve some more develop in same area or take care of human factor not just as another development in the name of progress.

specialy tree, they shouldnt be cut at all. plant more trees but dont cut it.
i can see only reason to plant palms cause they just want to copy Dubai, its beach, it need to have palm trees.
similar thing happend when NS had a go with main blv in Lahore, Palm trees on it.. they look good but not at the cost of centuries old trees.

rahi bat underpasses, we need it more and more until these are not countable on fingers.
cause even at some places there are no much traffic, there will be in couple of years time, so having something before we face problem, its good. but these should have to be speedy developments not at crawling pace and without taking care of current traffic and people.

fartguru hmm thanks :smiley:
but i would never enter into the big bag ugly world of politix…nope…never :smiley:
waise kasam se change ur nick :smack: type kerte huay bhee sharam aati hae :smack: :hehe:

Shak Kills u r right bro..
waise mujhay zaaDti tor pe itna afSos hae un trees ka :frowning: i mean…itnay puranay haray bharay ghanay darakht…u know … :frowning:

why did they have to cut existing trees..because they take up more water than other trees, again as I said, benefit per unit of water. and I dont know about you, but from other residents of karachi, i hear about water scarcity woes all the time.

Yeah there are other trees that dont need constant watering, but where do they get their water from? from sub surface water, its not like they dont use any water. so if one tree is sucking up subsurface water, or ground water as commonly referred to, versus 20 trees surviving on that water..contributing to decreasing pollution, having a positive effect on the local climate, what is wrong

If water resources are properly managed we can water trees in the city, but the priority goes to providing water for residential, agricultural and insutrial use. There is a shortage of water, these guys have done what is the best option available to them. What is proper water management? i mean aside from increasing water supply, one has to properly manage all water resources whether they are lake or rivers or sub surface resources tapped for wells..whether for agricultural, industrial or redeidential usage.

as far as plam trees not providing any value, i believe niether are you a horticulturist, or an environmental resource specialist so you may have your uneducated opinion but thats all it is an uneducated opinion. Why do you think countries with significantly more resources than pakistan gone the same route in similar climates when palm trees are indigienous to the region?

You can use this to score points against the govt, but in this case you are way off base and have no clue what you are talking about.

mr F

khamakha behes kar raye haen janab e aali aala muqaam pir sahab :p

karachi mein aisi koi water shortage nai ke they need to cut down trees

there is MISMANAGEMENT of water, and thats for sure

water is being wasted badly in some places and other places there is scarcity, in some cases coz of lack of infrastructure like supply pipeline system

if water was managed properly we wudnt have to cut down trees and the whole city would get water, maybe i am wrong but i never heard that there was a shortage of water in the reservoirs that supply to karachi, its the water that is wasted that is the problem, and the lack of a supply system

khamakha behes kar raye haen janab e aali aala muqaam pir sahab :p

Khammkha behas is present in this thread but its from you. Its your opionion versus facts

karachi mein aisi koi water shortage nai ke they need to cut down trees

I am sorry, Karachi has a severe water crises..maybe it does not effect burgers like you but ask a real karachiite what the water situation is.

*there is MISMANAGEMENT of water, and thats for sure *

yes and mismanagement includes municipal greenery projects which take too much water. This initiative tackles that by reducing that consumption and is thus better management of water.

water is being wasted badly in some places and other places there is scarcity, in some cases coz of lack of infrastructure like supply pipeline system

It does not change the fact that Karachi has a water shortage.

if water was managed properly we wudnt have to cut down trees and the whole city would get water, maybe i am wrong but i never heard that there was a shortage of water in the reservoirs that supply to karachi, its the water that is wasted that is the problem, and the lack of a supply system

My father advised the government of Pakistan and the World Bank on the water infratsructure, ranging from resources, to delivery to sewerage for numerous Projects in pakistan, including the karachi water supply projects going as far back as 1985. Having personally worked with these world bank projects in past, and looking at stats, meeting with govt of Pakistan officials .. I can assure you there is a water scarcity issue. I am speaking from personal and first hand knowledge, and not some assumptions.

Argue all you want.

mr F

well no offence to your respected father

but a lot of the times the people who are from such high bureaucracy setups dont knwo what the ground realities are, and thats specially true for pak

and 1985 was a long time ago, its 2005 now and the water supply situation in the city has changed completely

and for ur kind info i am a very real karachite. when was the last time u actually came to karachi and went to different areas?
:rolleyes:
i have a much more real pic of karachi than u wil ever have
u r the burger here, u never even lived here long enough

there is a water shortage in the city right? then why do we have places like aladdin water park, creek club, rashid minhas park, zamzama park, bakhtavar park, boat basin park, and so on, where does the water for these come?
do u even know where these parks are? i bet not

what abt the newly built korangi road where water is being spent on watering grass? u prolly dont know about it tho

wat abt the grassy lawns of quaid ka mazar?

and there is no water shortage in many many areas of karachi, even some poor areas like colonies

where there is a water shortage, its coz of MISMANAGEMENT OF RESOURCES

how much water is wasted in being transmitted, how much theft of water is there? how much water is wasted by residential areas where ppl r getting too much water?

there is no proper regulation of water supply and thats the problem

jus coz u have conexions to the world bank doesnt mean u r the one who has facts, i live in this city and deal with things on a daily basis, i think i have more info than u

:rolleyes: go pick a fight somewhere else

^^

On the rating scale of 1-5 Popcorns, this thread gets 3.5 Popcorns.

:konfused: whats that sposed to mean

AHH! Thats just too bad, you wud hv made quite a few ppl v nervoussssss…

As for the nick…I like it that way…gives me a smell of distinction…:mudhosh: and makes ppl look twice b4 they turn their head in disgust…I just LUV that…:smiley: …My suggestion to all of those who feel sharam or whatever…HOLD ON TO YOUR BREATH!!!Fartguru is in town…:wave:

On a serious note, I love my city Karachi and wud’nt trade it for any other and its the best bcos it has the best ppl to talk and party, best places to go out and eat, and all that shor sharaba…what wud we do without it…that wud’nt be Karachi, Karachi…