Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

Re: Karachiites…whats happenning to our beloved city?

**but a lot of the times the people who are from such high bureaucracy setups dont knwo what the ground realities are, and thats specially true for pak **

as opposed to people who have no background in it whatsoever, like maybe yourself :slight_smile:

the water studies used parameters such as population growth patterns, usage statistics, available resources and then tried to figure out what it all meant.

and 1985 was a long time ago, its 2005 now and the water supply situation in the city has changed completely

if you read carefully, i had noted “since” 1985 to note that much of this work has been continuing and been going on under different govts.

And the water supply situation has not changed jack. I have studies done as recently as 2002-2003 to disprove that.

**and for ur kind info i am a very real karachite. when was the last time u actually came to karachi and went to different areas?
:rolleyes:
i have a much more real pic of karachi than u wil ever have
u r the burger here, u never even lived here long enough **

haha the burger comment touched a nerve :slight_smile:

**there is a water shortage in the city right? then why do we have places like aladdin water park, creek club, rashid minhas park, zamzama park, bakhtavar park, boat basin park, and so on, where does the water for these come?
do u even know where these parks are? i bet not **

whether or not I know where these parks are (btw I am very well aware where most of these parks are) does not change the issue at hand. Police does not break into your house and ask you to turn your tap off when brushing your teeth either. There is a detailed strategy including education to impress upon people the importance of conservation. With 95% of the water resources being used by agricultural concerns there is a massive effort underway. the idea is to get the quick wins first, to start making a dent.

what abt the newly built korangi road where water is being spent on watering grass? u prolly dont know about it tho

Just because there is mismanagement in one area does not mean that you dont control management in other areas.

wat abt the grassy lawns of quaid ka mazar?

its a question of pick and choose…grass at quaid ka mazaar is considered part of a national monument, and to maintain that or to maintain public parks if it means that municipal trees are those that will be less of a burden on resources than thats a decision that enviromental as well as water authorities need to make.

and there is no water shortage in many many areas of karachi, even some poor areas like colonies

Chanda..do me a favour, go pull up some stats

where there is a water shortage, its coz of MISMANAGEMENT OF RESOURCES

again its your uneducated opinion versus empirical studies, guess what wins.

how much water is wasted in being transmitted, how much theft of water is there? how much water is wasted by residential areas where ppl r getting too much water?

all those issues present, there is still a water shortage.

there is no proper regulation of water supply and thats the problem

well that has been a problem for ages, and in the studies I refer to they do look at distribution network and loss due to breaks and leaking in pipeline infrastucture, and even if that all is fixed there is a water shortage. In addition they are not looking at just today..but 10 years out, with resources remaining the same and consumption increasing, what would the solution be except starting to cut out the leats necessary expenditure and in this case its trees on the streets.

jus coz u have conexions to the world bank doesnt mean u r the one who has facts, i live in this city and deal with things on a daily basis, i think i have more info than u

Bull****. u have no facts just uneducated opinion.

:rolleyes: go pick a fight somewhere else

You mean somewhere where people can actually admit they are wrong and that their assumptions were incorrect when shown evidence of that. Indeed that will be a better use of my time. However, by reading this others who are reading this post woud know that the senseless whinging about trees is baseless and the authorities have a plan, and while it is a loss, they would rather have water available now and in future for people than for trees along a roadside.

f-guru :smiley:

Mr F… yawn i dont have time to reply to those points, we both know the truth :slight_smile:

and u must be CHANDA urself :yukh: dont call me that

YUCK GROSS

Larrki that’s bahria university wala area, known as KDA :stuck_out_tongue: my uni area. kis dunya mein ho ? :stuck_out_tongue:

Mindless nai im not talking abt KDA

not sure if its bahria college or bahria uni tho

but u know that area where if u go straight down u hit millenium mall? im talkin abt that

and i think that is a super awesome area :k:

Re: Karachiites...whats happenning to our beloved city?

Yes I know what you're talking about. Millenium mall is the entry point of gulistan-e-jauhar and you're talking about bahria uni. KDA ki different schemes hein yar...its not exactly KDA but jahan poora naval area hai that is KDA and its the national stadium road where my uni is located.

yup exactly u got it :k: thats the area im talkin bout :slight_smile:

Ites less a matter of time and more of a matter of severe lack of knowldge, but thats okay, I wont hold you to it and it is a good way to save face while limping away.

And the truth is that Pakistan is facing immnent water crises. :slight_smile:

okay bitya, I wont call you chanda :slight_smile:

pir saab koi dum sham pardo ke water crises khatam ho jaye :)

balochistan mein floods ayay huay ahen, punjab mein rekaard toR baarshein hui haen and pak is facing water crisis? :hehe: good one mr F :hehe: :k: acha joke tha :hehe:

aap ko chupKe se aa ke shaukat azeez ne batai thee ye info kaan mein? :smiley:

and i am not saving face or limping away :slight_smile: i just cant be bothered plus its too much khwaari to debate with someone who doesnt have strong points :slight_smile:

Khatmal mr F is a jaali pir :smack: :smiley:

oh jaali hai? I want my money back

oh no he got u too :bummer: unHon ne boht soN ke paise hazam kyay huay haen :smack:

unho ne sab androoni info paani ke kami ke bare mai dai di thi... isliye mai dhooke mai aagaya

mujhe kya pata tha ke nakli hain :(... time to call the pirbusters

Irem I think you and Fraudi are talkng about two different things. There is difference between water availability and drinkable water available gallon/person/day in urabn areas especially Karachi. Karachi is in sever shortage of watrer and there is no way one can hide this fact. Its long article but It will give you the background of where Karachi stands on drinkable water.

Water

MiniMe there is a shortage of water for sure, I never said there isn't. But my whole point was that the solution to that was proper management of water and cutting down trees was not the solution.

Khatmal hala lets call the pirbusters :D

btw, thanks for the article :)

theres so much pollution :frowning:
today i learned from my doc i caught an eye infection due to pollution, heat and dust :smack:

Karachi is just another one big refugee camp. Thats all. :D I propose settling other refugees from NWFP to Karachi as well, my wonderful beloved Soobha Sarhad is getting dirty by these mohajirs.

Haris aww shucks :/ yea theres so much pollution here its crazy, esp in some areas..u shud try to avoid those areas or else keep the windows of ur car rolled up if u r in a car...
hope the infection isnt too bad...

Verizon as far as i am concerned everyone is welcome to karachi
and as for Sarhad refugees...hmmm...i heard that a lot of them have been sent back to Afghanistan

**balochistan mein floods ayay huay ahen, punjab mein rekaard toR baarshein hui haen and pak is facing water crisis? :hehe: good one mr F :hehe: :k: acha joke tha :hehe: **

Daanyt to foran nikaal diye. aray bhai..flooding is one thing, water shortage is another. next you will say we are next to an ocean we have no water shortage

aap ko chupKe se aa ke shaukat azeez ne batai thee ye info kaan mein? :smiley:

No, I have access to reports prepared by Pakistan Ministry of water and Power as well as world bank reports.

aap ko kis nay batayee tee bat that there is no water shortage in pakistan, did your chaheetay qazi munna had a dream about it and then appeared in your dream to tell you?

and i am not saving face or limping away :slight_smile: i just cant be bothered plus its too much khwaari to debate with someone who doesnt have strong points :slight_smile:

It is indeed very annoying to debate with someone who only has opinions and nothing to support is except fazool stuff about floods. anyways, limp away..come up with some other baseless points.