Karachi Operation to start in 2 days.....says chowdhury Nisar!

finally, thank God! hope this operation will bring long awaited and much needed peace to the city…i hope N pray that it will not be just another cosmetic operation like it happened in Lyari last year. i also hope that those political parties with militant wings will NOT send their fighters underground till some favourable conditions return.

Nisar says Karachi ?operation? to start in two days - DAWN.COM

Re: Karachi Operation to start in 2 days…says chowdhury Nisar!

The ‘notification’ is for exactly the same reason, atleast the bigger players will be able to go abroad for “medical checkup”.

Re: Karachi Operation to start in 2 days.....says chowdhury Nisar!

hahaha...true! CM is entrusted for this job...i doubt Qaa'im Ali Shah, in his old age, either has the guts or stamina or ability to take charge...they need someone with backbone!

operation with a notice? WTH! go hide everyone

lol...come out when Haalaat are more 'saazgaar'! :) good luck...flights outta Karachi must be FULL both domestially as well as internationally! :)

Well Done Ch.Nisar :k:
But u shud control activities of rangers too , dnt let the dogs free :wink:

yeah, Sarfaraz Shah in Karachi…they are notoriously ruthless and corrupt. i’ve heard that they find out where the weddings are taking place and they come with trucks and take all the stuff in the name of ‘operation against dahshatgardi’…is it true even?

^Despite a couple of horrible incidents, rangers’ reputation is still somewhat intact. The efficiency and results of their deployment are questionable, but common people still trust them a hundred times more than police. At least they are aesthetically much better than police. :halo:

never heard of that. there may be a few black sheep (ok may be a little more than few) but main problem with rangers had been restriction of their powers. lots of time it was announced that they have been given "full" power but never actually happened. they always had to hand over the arrested ones to police, who in turn released them because of many reasons (we all know) or the area of "operation" in last 5 years was always chosen by collation govt (ppp,mqm) who are the main culprits.

not that i'm expecting a big divergence from this policy, not yet at least. time will tell

i think there will be a lull in the fighting for obvious reasons and if the operation is NOT carried out ernst, it will resume sooner or later.

let's hope for the best and give them a chance hoping that this time around this menace will disappear. aameen.

Sarfraz Shah's was a famous case ... Sarfraz Shah was a petty crimnal , use to use TT , some say Fake TT and rob people visiting hill park ... he was caught red handed , along with the gun he used to rob.... was handed over to the rangers... he pleaded to be let go... and then approached a Ranger Jawan ... touching his Gun....some say ... the manner he touched the Gun ..the ranger Jawan thought he want to wrestle it and get hold of it....so the Ranger jawan fired... ..the fire cut some serious artery ...and he started to bleed.... though the narrative becomes hazy after that ...some say he was left bleeding and not taken to hospital ...and he died because of it....so say .... the Ambulance arrived late....some say he should have been taken in the ranger's van .etc.etc.etc.....and the whole incident was recorded .
...but the point is ....his brother was a media person ... ...and allegedly edited the whole incident and the selective part .....where he was being shot by the rangers was shown ....repeatedly....and so many times....that the other parts ...which showed him being captured red handed ...and the part where he is seen nearly jumping on the gun of the jawan were not shown ...also the parts where while laying on the ground ..and Rangers giving him water while waiting for ambulance ....were also not shown..... I have seen the whole video it was on youtube ... I don't know whether its still there.... I mean the whole video ....or only the selective one is left .... because youtube is banned...in Pakistan.

..... so thats how half-truths ....and selective narrative .... made a martyr out of a petty criminal who used to rob people at gun point in Hill Park ...

^^^
Do you think all on this forum are idiots … that they would buy every lies told to them?

When you make a story full of lies than at least make it such that it seems logical … but your concocted story about killing of Sarfraz Shah is not only lie but completely illogical too. For instance, you made brother of Sarfraz Shah super-human controlling whole of Pakistani media ‘single handed’ that not even President, Prime Minister, head of PEMRA, or even chief of army staff can do … such that he edited the footage and made every media (most competing with each other) broadcast his edited footage and even influenced police and judges that they accepting the video footage and gave death sentence to the ranger who shot Sarfraz Shah and gave life imprisonment sentence to 6 other rangers involved as accomplice in killing of Sarfraz Shah.

If Sarfraz Shah’s brother is so powerful then I think he should be un-crowned ruler of Pakistan (surprisingly, he is such an irrelevant person in media that very few even know his name).

Can you defend what you wrote … that Sarfraz Shah was trying to snatch gun from rangers when he was shot dead (a thin young boy surrounded by rangers snatching gun from actively aware rangers and ranger believing that such boy could do, itself is hilarious thought … especially when this boy was so weak that he could not even free himself from ranger in civilian cloth holding him by hair) … or that he was killed by mistake … or that after shooting rangers wanted to give him medical care (actually in video one can hear him begging for hospital)… and all those blah blah crap you wrote?

Here is the footage video of the incident that was made by a passer-by who got so much threatened by rangers that once releasing the footage, he went into hiding:

and here:

Here is court verdict:

Truth is that … the way Pakistani police and rangers behave with innocent Pakistanis in part of Pakistan (like Karachi, Balochistan or interior Sindh), it looks like they are competing in behaviour of Indian forces treating innocent Kashmiries in occupied kashmir.

Only difference is that atrocities of Indian forces in Kashmir go unnoticed most of the time but in Pakistan sometime police and rangers do get punished (victims family and friends take revenge killing them later as happened in Karachi after Police atrocities in 1990s … and now we see rangers getting punished by court in Sarfraz case).

My prayers with Sindh/Federal government. I hope the operation meets its objectives and peace is established in the city.

^^^ InshaAllah ... I am hoping that too ... and I believe as long as no one would feel victimized other then criminals, operation would succeed and would not turn evil.

^ Nawaz Sharif seems serious for the time being. Criminals belong to different political parties, and they should not protect them at the expense of peace. They should help the operation to succeed once for all.

LOL … that video was not made by any passerby …but by the camera man of Awaz TV network…the footage clearly shows him getting apprehended … by a plain cloth perhaps CID personal…he also shows the Gun recovered from him …and says … ’ aaram say , munh ooper kar…then says… jaldi aao ..yeh Gun or yeh maal .." … …and him admitting …by saying " …yar nakli hey yar…" …or " meen majboor thaa." …

..in the video its clearly seen , at 2.04 he has his hands on the Rangers Gun…and starts pushing him back… another Ranger block the view…but him pushing the Ranger back is clearly seen …with his hands on the barrel of the Gun…" Self Defense or attempt to snatch it …?? " … the Ranger is pushed at least 4-5 steps back …
…you cannot do that… after you were asked to lie down on the ground …
..its always taken as a sign of aggression … and Ranger can react …and he did ..

…by the way … I do not agree with the explanation of why to malign Rangers as given in the video … Period.
…here is the better version …unfortunately its on youtube… you use proxy to view it..

on the same video page…on the right…there is another .50 sec clip … showing Rangers giving him water…

Shame for Pakistan Media( The real fact of Karachi killing a boy loaded with pistol 10 June 2011) - YouTube

…and here is the clip …clearly showing Rangers personel giving him Water…

Mubarshir lucman also tells us …the Ambulance that arrived did not had any live saving equipment…!

Sindh Rangers giving water to an alleged robber in Karachi - YouTube

^^^
Brother … I appreciate you concocting story in front of us (Paklinks readers). Good try … I would only say that fortunately it was not you or your loved one who got killed by rangers the way Sarfarz got killed, but fact is that police and rangers in Pakistan are killing innocent civilians and killing of Sarfarz Shah is just an example.

The video I posted is complete and that is the video that is circulating and that is the video you posted with lot of concocted explanations by some idiot who could not differentiate between begging by Sarfarz Shah for his life (in words of daily times: After pleading for life on his knees, an unarmed man is shot at point blank range by a military police officer before being left to bleed to death in the street) and snatching or even trying to snatch the gun from ranger, something any person can see from video. Who knows, criminals in rangers uniform was not happy with ‘Sarfarz pleading for his life’ and was expecting rushwat (ghoos … or Bhatta) that did not came and in frustration they shot an innocent civilian (Sarfarz Shah) to death.

Just imagine that when trigger-happy murderer in ranger’s uniform fired the shot, Sarfaraz Shah was several yards away from him (check the video to confirm) … and worst is that, the criminal in ranger uniform fired not to injure but to kill and that is the reason he fired second shot on injured Sarfarz on ground.

As for giving Sarfarz water after shooting him twice and letting him die, that I believe could be individual act of a particular person from ranger who could have some humanity left in him (it is like Americans giving toffee to children after nuking them and seeing them suffering due to nuclear fall-out).

Now coming to video … I believe two person took the video (and that can be seen as we have two different footages). One video was taken by unknown passer-by and other was taken by Awaz cameraman.

Wiki-pedia tells about both video takers … also telling that the one who was passer-by has gone in hiding … whereas … from daily times it is evident that cameraman of Awaz has started receiving death threat.

Let me post relevant part from both sites:
Unarmed Sarfaraz Shah shot dead at point blank by Pakistan military police | Mail Online

From above dailymail site: The cameraman who shot the video has received anonymous death threats, his boss at local station Awaz TV said.

From Wikipedia (they could be wrong but regardless, they get their information from other news network, and are mostly unbiased and true … especially in this case)

2011 Sindh Rangers shooting incident - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It is not clear who shot the video which has been broadcast repeatedly on Pakistani television. Some reports suggest that the cameraman has now gone into hiding.

The whole episode was recorded incidentally by the crew of a Sindhi TV channel, Awaz Television Network. They were at the Benazir Shaheed Public Park, Clifton near the American Consulate in Karachi, at around 17:30 on that eventful day, recording their program “Walk & Talk”.

[Note: From news in dailymail … Awaz cameraman is getting death threat].

..Read ..what i have written .... again ...

...he says.... " yaar naqli hey....or men majbour thaa... " ...where is he pleading...

yes ... later on ...he has his hands on the barel of the Rangers Gun....and is seen pushing him back..... so according to you that was pleading......!! right.. ? ... period..

... he was a petty crimnal ...who used to Rob people using .... ' FAKE ' ..gun...
he was killed that is unfortunate .... but it does not absolves him being a petty crimnal....and does not gives any one Licience to Rob... just because you use a FAKE gun..

various articles that i read during that time, i have a feeling that this man Sarfraz was a chota mota criminal. Having said that rangers dont have any right to kill any one on their own.
BTW I heard that Arshad pappu was handed over to uzair and party by the rangers for 2 crores ( though I dont have any source to supprot it at the moment )