Karachi leadership: Penny wise pound foolish

Sorry to Fraudz for opening a separate thread. But I had to elaborate on specific issues and not just the Khota System (i.e. Quota system).

Karachi leadership has meandered from religious fanaticism i.e. Jamat Islamic to ethnic chauvinism i.e. Hum hain to Muhajir.

However the underlying issues was always ONE! i.e. Access to the resources (jobs etc) for the educated masses. People wanted a platform to raise their voices and in turn secure more resources.

But the resource accumulation is a diverse process. Sometimes natural resources are exploited i.e. Saudia. While other times human resources are exploited i.e. Shenghai, Hong Kong, Seoul, or Bangalore.

For Karachi, the Muhajir leadership found a way that was only suitable to a land-locked tribal society such as Bihar, or closer to home our FATA areas. Bihar and FATA traditions tend to create ethnic fear thus shutting out the non-locals. After that they force the federal governments to pay bribes to bigwigs in order to keep peace.

This is where our leadership became penny wise and the Karachi underclass slowly became penny less.

For heavens sake Karachi was a port city, and that’s how it should have been ruled! Like a port city and not in the way dusty cesspool like Patna would be ruled.

For a port city there are examples abound where you don’t need petroleum, or gold, or diamonds. You just need human capital and the wealth comes in as pounds and not pennies. Same MQM living on Bhatta, would have been able to rake in $billions in the form of legal city taxes.

A port city has the biggest gift from God in terms of access to the sea that results in industry (all kinds) but more than that “tourism”.

Yes folks! Tourism alone would generate more jobs than any khota system can ever guarantee. However tourism is extremely sensitive to law and order situation plus openness of the port’s inhabitants.

I can write pages on how to improve tourism in Karachi. But you all seems to be educated and resrouceful enough to either visit or read how mega port cities like New York, Dubai, Tokyo, Amsterdam etc. have flourished.

And if you are in any doubt, go check out tiny port cities like Dublin or Shannon. Learn from them and apply the same rules.

I guarantee that Karachi will be raking in $billions like the shining city of New York.

Re: Karachi leadership: Penny wise pound foolish

the penny wise pound foolish approach applies to all of pakistan from what I can see.

Good point pir ji.

We must start "charity" from home though!

Until Gawader comes online, Karachi is the only port and thus it has huge advantage over any other part of the country.

We must demand from Karachi leadership that this city should be most open, most tolerant, most humble, and most inviting city in the whole country.

This will take place only when we get out of "Hum hain to Muhajir" approach.

agreed. better leadership has to emerge in the city.
also the allocations to teh city in provincial and def budget need to be sorted out.

law and order issues are one thing, the infrastructure is another.

Karachi was, is and always will be the most open city in the country, teh demographics indicate that. you will not find such a mix in any other city.

If MQM is to blame, then the govt bureaucracy run by ethnofascists from other provinces is also to blame. The constant interference for the worst by pakistani govt in karachi has left the city no where. We had our constitution in 1973 and today it is 2007, yet we still have not gotten rid of the concurrent list and given all of the rights in there to the provinces. One good thing that pakistan could pick up from the US is the federal, state and local / county system to get things done.

for Ireland , its just EU money that coming in + that property boom we r experiencing here from last 5 years . But it gona end soon as Irish public finances will end the year in deficit as a result of a slowdown in the economy, while house prices will also fall 3 per cent

Many economists credit Ireland's growth to a low corporate taxation rate (10 to 12.5 percent throughout the late 1990s), and to net transfer payments from members of the European Union like France and Germany that were as high as 4% of gross national product. Ireland's membership in the European Union since 1973 helped also the country gain access to Europe's large markets. The EU aid was mainly used to increase investment in the education system and physical infrastructure. More on physical infrastructure I say , as one can see the difference if you cross the border and slip in to northern ireland area .

Btw How come ya compare Pakistan with a country which has total population of 4.5 million . they aint on same scale

Antiobl bahi , may I know why you carry such bigotry and dispostion for baharis ? don’t know why but some how I feel that you and your rishtah were refused by some bahari family ! J/K

^ bihari ne us ki murgi chheen li hay

Oh Bhai sahib, I am not the one who coined the term BIMARU states in India. Indians did. Guess what is the first state in BIMARU? Yeap you guessed it! Bihar!

Bihari people are great, it is the state of Bihar and the utter mismanagement I am talking about.

Thats what we need!

I think majority of Biharies came to Pakistan after the fall of Dhaka in 1971 before that there were few biharies living in the West Pakistan.

Altaf & MQM are the number one enemy of Karachi people. They destroyed Karachi's education. This is their greatest sin. Before them open cheating was limited to Lyari here - they introduced it all over the city.

If they were not "pound foolish and penny-wise" back in the 80s they would have visioned the "upcoming IT boom" from which India gained a lot. Alas they did nothing but terrorists activities.

hahahaha yea thats what i thought too....

As if anyone is stopping people from other cities/provinces? Even after the 80s'/early 90s racial wars (yes I call it "war" not just fight) Karachi's population is still shooting up and its not just because of biological reproduction but includes migration from other cities.

That's true Captain Ji. The problem with "racial wars" was the net-outflow of businesses and wealth to Dubai and cities up North.

And that turned out be a double whammy for Karachi. It gained poor people and lost its rich ones. This is what I call Fittay Moonh FATA effect (or BIMARU Bihar effect).

Local rich moved to Dubai and so did all the international airlines and shipping companies.

FYI. International airlines (especially Americans) used to get fuel and quick lube change at Karachi airport. Thanks to MQM and religious fundoo shenanigans, they have all shifted to Dubai.

However the good news is that Karachi is a port, so people started trickling back once the army and rangers did their job in containing (and not eliminating) racial wars.

BTW MQM goons can still use their power to bring stability to Karachi. If Mafia could build a shining Las-Vegas in the middle of desert, nothing stops MQM to bring vibrancy back to the port city (with lot more resources than Las Vegas).

Believe me, all those international airlines will come back to Karachi the moment we lock up or "re-train" our ethnic and religious goons.

There is Hope! (As long as Pir Ji's dua is with us).

how much more tolerant ya want us to be , i have many good punjabi desecent friends, born and raised in Karachi , and they are more karachi walas then any of us plus during the years of me life , i have spent in karachi , i havnt seen any family migrating back to their roots ( punjab or NWFP) . so they are more then comfy there.

yea i comprehand and strongly suggest that this Hum mahajir hain , approach should go now. its no gud for any of us !

no dude, lets be a little more comprehensive, hum muhajir hain, hum sindhi hain, hum balochi hain, hum punjabi hain, hum pathan/pakhtoon/pashtoon hain. all needs to go.

too much divisiveness in the country.

Fraudia bahi , i m afraid , this one nation and one lingo theory never gona work for us !

ya are right there is too much separation And it will stay same because the people moved from present day India to present day Pakistan still feel proud to call themselves dehli wala or lucknow walay , same goes for Pakistanis moved from other provinces to Karachi, didn’t mingle with people already living in Karachi and instead ended up living in some china town sorta colonies .

We people are too much like culture salves .

No one is denying the effect of violence on the city, it will happen to any city where there is violence. I wish our military had used national interests instead of personal interests when they carve out such [EMAIL="b@stards"]b@stards in politics to make them 'leaders'.

FYI. International airlines (especially Americans) used to get fuel and quick lube change at Karachi airport. Thanks to MQM and religious fundoo shenanigans, they have all shifted to Dubai.

In case you forgot, one of the big reasons many airlines moved away from Karachi is the cost FAA was charging those airlines, not just the violence in the city.

BTW MQM goons can still use their power to bring stability to Karachi. If Mafia could build a shining Las-Vegas in the middle of desert, nothing stops MQM to bring vibrancy back to the port city (with lot more resources than Las Vegas).

qatil ke haath khoon mai rang jayen aur na pakra jaye to woh nashay mai aa jata hay, same is case with MQM, they are deep in 'nasha' of power and money they gained.