**Express news is reporting that JI Karachi’s president Hafiz Naeem Al-rehman and PTI Karachi’s president Ali Zaida, both have lost their seats to MQM. **
Result of being disconnected from people and ground realities and thinking that FB and Twitter can win you seats. When you become active in the city ONLY at the time of election, this is bound to happen no matter how much of a farishta you are.
Ali Zaidi (PTI) was on TV 5 min ago and of course usual PTI’s dhandli etc etc but another first from PTI “turn out bohat kum raha around 25 feesad so iss sai pata chalta hai k loogoon nai mqm ko vote nahi dala aur PTI ki baat suni”
I have been saying all these months (of course I was ridiculed by PTIian a lot for that) that ground reality is that MQM will still win (even in fair elections) almost all the seats in Karachi be it national elections or LB elections. Rightly or wrongly, ppl DO vote for MQM and you cant change the fact, until you accept it first.
ground reality is that MQM will still win (even in fair elections) almost all the seats in Karachi .
Absolutely. You can't win seats in Karachi just because you think that mqm is not popular. You only win if you offer a proper replacement in that area. Low voter turn it means nothing.
MQM does dhandhli or ghundagardi, not to win Karachi seats. Those seats are already theirs. They do badmashi to win it with higher margin maybe, or simply put they do bdmashi just because they can
I was just watching ARY News with the live results coming in, I am not even shocked. I always knew MQM is going to win majority in the LBEs. Just like in 2013. Ah too bad for PTI and IK, if only social media standing could win you seats in a country like Pakistan.
Absolutely. You can't win seats in Karachi just because you think that mqm is not popular. You only win if you offer a proper replacement in that area. Low voter turn it means nothing.
MQM does dhandhli or ghundagardi, not to win Karachi seats. Those seats are already theirs. They do badmashi to win it with higher margin maybe, or simply put they do bdmashi just because they can
Exactly. Fair elections will only reduce their winning margin by 20-30% perhaps.
IF PTI (and other parties) want to change anything about that, first thing will be to accept it. Right now, almost on channels, PTI's representatives are in their usual "state of denial". Ali Zaidi went to the extent to say "Karachi waloon ko sharam ani cheheyee (jihoon nai MQM ko vote deyee)". O bhai then do something. Present the better alternative per nahiiiiiiiii. They (PTI) will now vanish from Karachi and then resurface during next elections.
MQM will keep on winning Karachi because they only do politics for one city, one city only hence can afford to put all resources and efforts into one city.
MQM is a Karachi focused party hence has absolutely no presence anywhere in Pakistan.
Rest of parties aim to have foot prints all over Pakistan hence cannot afford to waste all resources and energies into one city, especially in a city where ethnic slogans are everything.
I have said it before, PTI will never ever achieve a breakthrough in rural and urban Sindh, at least in my lifetime.
Exactly. Fair elections will only reduce their winning margin by 20-30% perhaps.
IF PTI (and other parties) want to change anything about that, first thing will be to accept it. Right now, almost on channels, PTI's representatives are in their usual "state of denial". Ali Zaidi went to the extent to say "Karachi waloon ko sharam ani cheheyee (jihoon nai MQM ko vote deyee)". O bhai then do something. Present the better alternative per nahiiiiiiiii. They (PTI) will now vanish from Karachi and then resurface during next elections.
Better alternative? You would think that people would use their common sense and say that a non militant, non ethnic, non corrupt party that talks about relevant issues will be considered an alternative. How much of a God sent and heavenly looking alternative Karachi needs to shun a ruthlessly mass murdering political mafia?
But if this is not how it works, then it's fine. PTI needs to accept the fact they are not MQM, they are not Muhajirs, they have no ethnic slogans to sell. IK is everything but an "apna", so move on and focus on areas where you have some serious chance.
The sad part is Karachi is one area where you cannot blame rigging. People do indeed vote for MQM, and PTI needs to accept that. At least the rigging prospect in areas outside of Karachi keeps them in the game, and gives them a hope that they still have a chance at competition. In Sindh, there is no such thing for them.
My only word of advice for PTI - stop Imran from going to Karachi to make over the top speeches glorifying Karachiites as being better than rest of Pakistan. Flattering them for being urban and educated and by virtue expecting them to set up a trend or something.
Yes he needs to stop that. It unnecessarily overhypes Karachi elections, puts pressure on the local leadership and gives them a false sense of assurance. More importantly such speeches excite non Karachi crowd more than the residents where they start cheering for the Karachi elections and expect a significant blow. Sorry all this makes your defeat look more embarrassing.
PTI needs to come out of this mentality that they would get votes in Karachi because it is an urban centre. Nope, the only places where PTI is developing a surprise vote bank is rural pockets of Punjab and KPK. So there....
Finally, now that elections will definitely take place in 2018. He needs to start projecting KPK's development profile to campaign in Punjab on the basis of that. Start paying attention to FATA and Balochistan, as these regions will soon be ready to establish a brand new political structure.
IK went to Layari Could not get a single seat
Didn't go Clifton
Got a seat there by little margin
Pata naheen Reham manhoos thi ya ...............................
@Joile, above two posts of yours is fair analysis. Right or wrong, a huge percentage of MQM vote bank consists of young people who have not seen any other party than MQM as Karachi leading party. For them, there is nothing to compare the performance of mqm with. Unfortunately, like a frog sitting in warm water where temp is getting raised only one degree in one hour, they can't even sense how slowly in last 30-40 years, Karachi continuously is inching towards destruction.
The way to save Karachi is not through some grass root effort. It's not through awakening any political awareness. It's through completely shutting down this ghunda party from top down.
Better alternative? You would think that people would use their common sense and say that a non militant, non ethnic, non corrupt party that talks about relevant issues will be considered an alternative. How much of a God sent and heavenly looking alternative Karachi needs to shun a ruthlessly mass murdering political mafia?
But if this is not how it works, then it's fine. PTI needs to accept the fact they are not MQM, they are not Muhajirs, they have no ethnic slogans to sell. IK is everything but an "apna", so move on and focus on areas where you have some serious chance.
The sad part is Karachi is one area where you cannot blame rigging. People do indeed vote for MQM, and PTI needs to accept that. At least the rigging prospect in areas outside of Karachi keeps them in the game, and gives them a hope that they still have a chance at competition. In Sindh, there is no such thing for them.
presenting better alternative is a continuous process and not a parachute jumping on time of elections only. Irrespective of winning or losing, PTI need to maintain their presence locally. Imran's visit 2 days before election can win them a large population in election rally but nothing more.
You said it right. PTI need to come out of state of denial only then they can present the better alternative
@Joile, above two posts of yours is fair analysis. Right or wrong, a huge percentage of MQM vote bank consists of young people who have not seen any other party than MQM as Karachi leading party. For them, there is nothing to compare the performance of mqm with. Unfortunately, like a frog sitting in warm water where temp is getting raised only one degree in one hour, they can't even sense how slowly in last 30-40 years, Karachi continuously is inching towards destruction.
The way to save Karachi is not through some grass root effort. It's not through awakening any political awareness. It's through completely shutting down this ghunda party from top down.
Rangers are trying to do that, but how much of a dent it has made to MQM's vote bank? If anything, their public support has grown many folds. God forbid if they dare shut down this mafia, you will have war in the country.
Ab Karachi shehar ke liye ooper se koi peghambar ya nabi tou nahi aa sakta, against a violent racist and terror spreading mafia, you would hope that a non violent and non ethnic option would be a good alternative.
They have tried the option of political awareness and action - nothing has worked. About time that PTI also get the message, and let go of this hopeless glorification of 'urban and educated' centre. For once in my life I feel like appreciating PMLN strategy. It's filthy rich Federal party with strong Lahore performance profile, but they don't even bother attempt entering Karachi politics because they know they ain't gonna achieve anything except more opposition. About time, PTI gets the hint.
I was just watching ARY News with the live results coming in, I am not even shocked. I always knew MQM is going to win majority in the LBEs. Just like in 2013. Ah too bad for PTI and IK, if only social media standing could win you seats in a country like Pakistan.
IK is basically not a politician, he is a celebrity & entertainer who lives in the little bubble world of fb/twitter/blackberry and thinks thats he is ZAB reborn in Pak. Punjab Sindh GB Balochistan AJK rejected him. Lets wait for 2018 KPK will do the same !
presenting better alternative is a continuous process and not a parachute jumping on time of elections only. Irrespective of winning or losing, PTI need to maintain their presence locally. Imran's visit 2 days before election can win them a large population in election rally but nothing more.
You said it right. PTI need to come out of state of denial only then they can present the better alternative
With no local support, no ethnic slogans to sell, no administrative powers, no victim complex to project, exactly how much continuous projection PTI can do? How much of a brainwashing they have to do at local level to make Karachiites realise that a non violent, non militant, non ethnic party is better than a ruthless terrorists mafia? Is it really a rocket science?
There is nothing PTI can do if "jaag muhajir jaag" pamphlets are distributed after Friday prayers, and City is littered with "apna" slogans. If Ali Zaidi did not work, now from where PTI should find picture perfect non defence resident Muhajirs?
In Karachi only two militant ideologies had managed to get popular votes - religious (JI) and ethnic (MQM). PTI with its pretty rhetoric against violence, ethnic hatred and thuggery falls no where, and will go no where. This is the state of denial they need to get out.
Most "neutral" Karachiites that I know waste far more energies mocking him, taunting him, jeering him, bashing him instead of encouraging/promoting his good policies for greater good. Such people have no right to demand PTI to hopelessly work round the clock for any kind of projection while they themselves don't give party any breathing space.
. Ali Zaidi went to the extent to say "Karachi waloon ko sharam ani cheheyee (jihoon nai MQM ko vote deyee)".
With such attitude, dreaming of so called change is simply living in fool's paradise. O bhai, when you call a whole ethnic group 'Zinda Lash', how come you expect that they will turn on your side. At least illiterate Jahil waderas of Sindh and Punjab are much better that they have a sense to chose their words right while campaigning for getting votes. I don't know who the hell this Zaidi and what are his qualifications, but uttering such bullsh!t will only add losing supporters / would-be supporters of his party.