Karachi guppies - which ISP do u use?

salams karachi guppies

which isp do u guys use? and which isp is the fastest? and which isp is the best in terms of the service to cost relation?

we get LAN at home but it hecka slow and surfing on it is a pain…

i heard that among the other isp’s fascom is the fastest and i tried the fascom home usage package but it sucks too

i guess i’m spoiled now after the fast internet connection i used to get on my college campus in the us :stuck_out_tongue: i dont expect to get that here n its cool but i know there’s something better out there than fascom!!!

i heard the only thing thats better than fascom is DSL apparently…the next step…

have any of u guys tried the DSL packages in karachi? which ones? n how r they? n how much r u guys paying for them per month?

i checked with the PTCL DSL providers yesterday and some of them said they provide only corporate packages…then they said they might provide for home usage…their rates were from 4000-10,000 per month…10,000 ka to sun k mein ne socha bye bye DSL :smiley: but it seemed like they would adjust the rates a bit so thas cool…

they said they provide 128k speed…that sounds not bad…lekin have any of u guys tried it? whats it like? is the connection reliable? and is the speed as good as they claim?

plz recommend some good isp’s guys!!!

-mashkoor

Get used to the slow train. World Online and Cyber.net are relatively better.

I use World online :~)

I'll recommend cyber.net or multi.net.pk

heard some ppl using high speed dish (satellite ) internet in Pak. and was told it was about $30/month.. is some one using it!!

Slow internet in Pak? yaar ye PTA/PTCL walo key demagh chullu-bher pani mai dobey rhetey hai, infact PTA/PTCL walo ki waja sey Pak mai internet speed up nahi huwa!! stupid company even controls the flow of internet traffic thru a regulatory body called Pakistan Internet Exchange- Owais Laghari (nikumma/puwwa minister incharge has done nothing to rectify the existing internet related problems). Most of Pak based internet traffic goes thru couple of under-sea cable connecting the world, providing a total bandwidth of ~350Mbps (2 under cables- STM1 & STM2, ~150Mbps each) which is nothing for a country like Pakistan. and these cables needs maintenance or sometimes go faulty. Also, some ISPs now get their bandwidth from Satellites operated by foreign companies in that region but again they provide nitsy-bitsy dialup speed to their customers.

old kamchor govt officers of PTA/PTCL ney internet ki progress ko roktey hai whether its DSL speed internet access, VOIP calls or anything, they are scared they will lose “aawam” sey lota huwa paisa. That’s why most ppl curse PTCL and cant wait for its privatization!.

i know another company providing internet thru fiber cable in some metropolitan cities, http://www.worldcall.com.pk/WBL.htm or go directly at their sister website http://www.go4b.net/h-sol.htm , they cover Clifton and DHA now, but then again they are not problem free either, check this out http://www.dawn.com/2003/07/19/letted.htm#2

humtum77 thanks for the detailed reply...u r right we need to work on our internet connection in pak!!
i'll chek those links out...thanks again :)

BT and Khanzada mein ne suna hae fascom home use mein dialups mein fastest hae...cybernet d/c bohot hota hae...we used to have that

worldonline aur multinet k dialups se fascom ka ziada tez hay suna hae

we were gona get DSL from multi net but changed our mind now kyun k unhon ne to loot maar machai hui hae for home usage... 5000 k initial installation charges, 150 dollars kee initial equipment, and then 4000 is the min per month for the min speed conexion...

right now i just got a card for fascom premium a/c...us ko try naheen kia lekin am hoping its better...suna hay k its the fastest u can get on dialup in khi...

Try WorldTel Meca

http://www.worldtel.net.pk/

That may be one of the biggest reason I wouldn’t consider moving there. I really did go to Pakistan a few years back to feel out the IT industry, but couldn’t take it. And now with cable modem and DSL as fast as most of Pak’s ISP’s backbone bandwidth, its like i’m sitting on top of the world.

if u r somewhere in dha/ clifton, u’ve got very good choice, http://www.go4b.net, worldcall’s project
they offer very good package with very low cost as compared to multi.net.pk and 10 times better service

if u r not in such areas, WOL or Cyber are reasonable in dialup, atleast here in pak

if u want more economical package, hamdard.net.pk is best for students, it offers not-so-bad-service but very low cost, but its only for students

one more, aku net, dont know thier exact url but ask someone who’s in aku, ask pharma unko pata hoga

Aceones! thanks. i am in clifton so i guess i can avail the worldcall prj u r talking abt…i checked their website it looks cool… i’ll call them and check with them…but i heard broadband is very expensive…hope their rates r affordable…thanks again for the info :k:

TofiBaba hmmm i totally understand what you mean abt the sucky internet speed :smiley: but i think the pak IT industry right now is at a stage where theres a lot of development, fast development, going on so its kind of exciting!

who—me thanks, checked out their webpage, its pretty cool, will call them and ask them for info too :slight_smile:

bhai their rates are not high, agar tariff naheen dekha to site main dekhakya hay :hoonh: i think 1200 main 64k cir with soo many tv channels and network games and no via cable, its not bad

lolz well their COST wala link is not working :stuck_out_tongue:

aap ne jo cost batai hae it seems too good to be true to daal mein kuch kaala to nai hae :hoonh:

mein kal call ker k chek karoon gi :stuck_out_tongue:

thanks for the info :slight_smile:

a letter in dawn about http://www.go4b.net and PTCL

Internet advertising

There is a company which claims to offer ‘fiber-optic’ based broadband Internet access to home-users at a low monthly cost of Rs1,400 to Rs2,100 a month. They also offer a cable TV service alongside their mainstream Internet access service. Both ‘home- user’ plans claim to offer a speed of 64kbps and 128kbps respectively.

Before singing on the service of this company for home use, I asked a few of their sales representatives about their setup and the actual speeds I would be able to achieve while using their service. They claimed that the speed would be almost 10 times as fast as dialup Internet access (something similar is stated boldly on their website).

**When I subscribed to the service, I was fairly pleased. However, after three weeks of using it, I realized what a horrible mistake I had made by doing so. Their service became ridiculously slow and the download speeds were much slower than dialup! **I could not access any websites whatsoever and lost a lot of precious time since I could not get any work done.

Their customer service representatives refused to help in any way and I was blatantly cut off the line five times when I called them. Their customer service phone lines are swamped in calls. They claim to be handling sales requests. However, it’s fairly obvious that they are swamped in customer complaints. This suspicion was confirmed when I visited their office. I also spoke to their service supervisor (over the phone) who seemed as clueless as everyone else working for this company as to what the problem really was.

**The customer services representative I met when I visited their office used the old and overused blame shifting technique of using PTCL as the scapegoat (the bandwidth and telecommunications monopoly in Pakistan) though he did finally admit that there was a problem at their end as well. **

Speaking as a person who is experienced with networking infrastructure, **the problem with them is clearly that of overselling. They have sold more connections than their network can support. As far as the issue of network overselling goes, PTCL is partly to blame considering the outrageous fees they charge for a dedicated link to the Internet. **

ASHER SAEED

Karachi

Irem, i m using Worldcall Broadband in lahore for more than an year now. Worldcall is the same company who launched goforbroadband in karachi and its a lot better than Dialup, yes occassionally the link chokes, but so does every isp’s. I dont know hows thier setup in karachi, but in lahore its the best there is. You can get 3 kind of links, 64K, 100K and 200k with average download speeds of 7-8K, 11-13K and 20-24K respectively. For common consumers in pakistan, this is the highest you can get i believe…

sighs jaanay kub aayain gay idhar dsl or t1/e1 connections :bummer:

*Originally posted by digitalsurgeon: *
have a dsl connection and i get about 8 - 13 k/s download speeds ...
Ya Allah!

Listening to this talk makes me remember this commercial about some broadband, where this guy throws the computer out the window.

So one hardly gets 10-12% bandwidth speed of what the company actually promises!! thats bad

Company sells 64K
->Customer gets 7K-8K

Company sells 128K
->Customer gets 11K-13K

Company sells 200K
->Customer gets 20K-24K

Can any one here also test their bandwith speed thru the following sites and post results to verify above speeds!! btw, If these are the download speeds. wonder what the upload bandwidth would be!!

http://webservices.cnet.com/bandwidth/

*Originally posted by Humtum77: *

So one hardly gets 10-12% bandwidth speed of what the company actually promises!! thats bad

Company sells 64K
->Customer gets 7K-8K

Company sells 128K
->Customer gets 11K-13K

Company sells 200K
->Customer gets 20K-24K

HT, the 64k is kilo bits/sec, the 8k is kilo bytes/sec (8 bits to a byte)

*Originally posted by TofiBaba: *
Listening to this talk makes me remember this commercial about some broadband, where this guy throws the computer out the window.

sssshhh...dont tell to it Irum, she just returned from the US. :)

*Originally posted by TofiBaba: *

HT, the 64k is kilo bits/sec, the 8k is kilo bytes/sec (8 bits to a byte)

Tofi,
internet download speed is always/mostly measured in Kbps (kilo bits per second). i was referring to Saby's above mentioned speed tests, Saby mentioned 8K out of 64K, meaning 8 kilobits per second (not 8Kilo Bytes per second).

That’s not true, bandwidth is measured in bits per second. When you are downloading something you see kilobytes/sec. The 8 k IS kilobytes. I’m sure Saby is savvy enough for that.

Here are some articles for your reading pleasure:

http://seinman.uzipp.com/faqs/bitbyte.php
Calculator: http://www.dslnuts.com/bitsbytes.shtml
Check point 3: How to Calculate and Speed-Up the Download Time of Your Web Site

this was just a quick search of google. I can get you more authoritative sites.