Karachi guppies - which ISP do u use?

*Originally posted by Humtum77: *

Tofi,
internet download speed is always/mostly measured in Kbps (kilo bits per second). i was referring to Saby's above mentioned speed tests, Saby mentioned 8K out of 64K, meaning 8 kilobits per second (not 8Kilo Bytes per second).

bhai sahabm toffibaba is right

Thats right... at home when I am downloading stuff, I get speeds like 150k/sec, and in the DSL speed tests, the speed comes to about 1.3Mbps. So its usually a factor of eight.

agree, btw i wanted to say the same and i should have re-pharsed wording in my above post and said internet bandwidth/speed) is rationally measured in “kilo bits per second” (which can also be converted into “kilo Bytes per second” by dividing it by 8). To me, it doesnt matter as long as you know the unit conversion (1B=8 bits) and understand the idea behind, kina like measuring distance, be it in miles or Kilometers but hey as long as you know the conversion 1M= 1.609Km, you can play around with both units and calculate distances.

ISPs sell b-width in “Kbps” (b=bits) not KBps. and this how it works, lets say an ISP is selling 56Kbps (b=bits) and you actually get 40Kbps. now if you do an online b-width speed test, you will see 40Kbps result BUT if you decide to download a file on your pc (mp3, zip etc etc format) you will notice your pc pop-up window would show 5 KBps (Kilo Bytes per second and not Kbps), but here one can easily covert it to Kbps (b=bits) by multiplying 5KBps by 8 (1 byte=8 bits) to get 40Kbps.
““To make their connections sound faster than they really are, ISPs advertise their speed in bits.”” http://seinman.uzipp.com/faqs/bitbyte.php

here what iam assuming and i could be wrong! Saby (btw where is Saby :wink: ) was quoted 64kilo bits per second by the ISP and when he did an **online bandwidth speed test, he got 8 kilo bits/second. **

now lets say even if Saby meant 8 kilo bytes/second, that would make 8x8= 64kilo bits per second and NO dialup/DSL/cable modem ISP provider (even in US) can match the theoratical possible speed with the actual because of the line/wire attrition. otherwise why would saby complain if he is getting 100% the quoted bandwidth speed pf 64/128/200?? by saying this
““sighs jaanay kub aayain gay idhar dsl or t1/e1 connections””

-peace

-thanks bhai aceones

You are comparing dialup 56k connections to dedicated 56k or 64k connections. The dialup connections has a limit of 53k restriction, even if it says you are connected at 56kbps.
On the other hand if you have a dedicated connection to your ISP then you do get the full bandwidth.
I have cable modem which is supposed to be 2 mbps (ofcourse downloads are limited by where you are downloading from also) but sometimes I see 500 kbytes/sec downloads. I once downloaded a whole netscape install file (about 18mb or so) in under a minute. I thought the download prob didn’t work so I did it again and it was just coming down that fast. I guess it was the right time of the day from both my ISP and the Netscape’s ISP’s perspective.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Thats right... at home when I am downloading stuff, I get speeds like 150k/sec, and in the DSL speed tests, the speed comes to about 1.3Mbps. So its usually a factor of eight.

Do you know the difference between bits and Bytes?

Are you saying that 1.3Mbps is equivalent to eight times 150K/sec? :D

Your speed report is very close to what you said you are getting, but they (ur ISP) should also give some basic math lessons for free to their customers to understand that.

oh, and btw, the speed tests that you do online, they are hypothetically doing the same thing as you would transmit and receive data from any other site, so why did you even think the two would be different? What could be different can be this 1.3Mbps, and the speed your ISP advertizes.

this might be off topic, but nevertheless it might help some people who are unaware of this fact.

KARACHI ROCKS.

thank you.

*Originally posted by ravage: *
this might be off topic, but nevertheless it might help some people who are unaware of this fact.

KARACHI ROCKS.

thank you.

yea karachi rocks are soo hard, once someone get one on his head, it takes months to recover :p

Humtum77 You sure know your math but not your internet. Everyone has summed it up by saying that its a factor of 8 we are talking about.

What we get here in pakistan is significantly lower in speeds than what common consumer gets in states or europe. Thats why i complained about not being able to get t1/e1 connections etc. But Thans God things are changing and most ISPs have got the DSL license, lets see when does the common consumer gets them :)

Spock, I know you have a eternally foul mouth which just can't seem to transmit anything with any level of decency when you open it, and thats why you rub people off the wrong way all the time and just seem to add your online foes. But if you try to speak a little more courteously when you speak to someone, you will see that people are neither so rough on you nor is it a good feeling to be constantly bickering with people over inane things.

Originally posted by saby: *
**Humtum77
* You sure know your math but not your internet. Everyone has summed it up by saying that its a factor of 8 we are talking about.

Saby, if you read my post carefully again, you will sure enough to figure out that is what i said, its exactly the factor of 8, or what else you think i was proving in my last post!!!

its seems like you are the one who didnt care enough to answer the question i asked!!, Before saying ignorant about my internet ;)..i really wana know.. how much you know about your ISP? do you!! now would you care explaning the figures and how you got the results with proper units, be all bits or bytes i dont care!!
Originally posted by saby:
""You can get 3 kind of links, **64K, 100K and 200k with average download speeds of 7-8K, 11-13K and 20-24K respectively."" **

1. 64K/100K/200K, are they in Kilo bits per second as advertize by the ISP -WorldCall or Kilo bytes per second? any links!!

2. download speeds of 7-8K, 11-13K and 20-24K, are they in Kilo- bytes/sec? (they should be in bytes b/c its the download speed) or K-bits/sec? and how you tested the download speed!!

my point is to show that you are getting the dedicated speed from world call!!, which is very rear with the ISPs in Pakistan. Another thing , the reason iam casting my doubts on Worldcall because of the above posted letter in Dawn in which a user complained about the Fiber cable/internet service in Karachi (same comnay) which the over sold the connections!!

-peace

Faisal, what was so foul about the post above? Cant you admit you were wrong? I know you like to think of yourself as Mr. ‘I Know It all’ but you were very wrong about that 1.5MPBS = 8 times 150Kb/sec :dixsi:

You said thats an inane thing, I hope youre not an IT professional, its like saying 2 plus 2 equals 22.

So can you please point out what was foul about my post? & Its about time you stopped threatening me and thank me for the correction. As for your so called ppl, I dont care…

Saby, the speeds you mentioned, 7-8K, 11-13K and 20-24K should be Kb/sec. For instance, a 64K line should give you about 8Kb/sec. So those average download speeds that you wrote down are perfect for the connection categories you mentioned (64K, 100K, 200K).

Humtum-- i was just categorizing the link types. Yes i should have added b after 7k-8k etc etc, but ppl who surf internet would have figured out that easily coz Allah ke banday, sirf aap hee ko yeh confusion ho rai hai :D

peace back to you :)

Spock-- I know yaara, it should be understandable ke 64K ke link pe 64K download speed nai mil sakteee :D

*Originally posted by saby: *
Yes i should have added b after 7k-8k etc etc

only if you have stated correctly the first time and thats what I wantecd to get out of you. :D Allah ko mano bhai... i didnt create the confusion in the first place.

-peace :)

*Originally posted by saby: *
Humtum-- i was just categorizing the link types. Yes i should have added b after 7k-8k etc etc, but ppl who surf internet would have figured out that easily coz Allah ke banday, sirf aap hee ko yeh confusion ho rai hai

I think other than HT everyone DID get it.

*Originally posted by TofiBaba: *

I think other than HT everyone DID get it.

TB why are you going nuts! calm down, dont need to be nutty.

-peace

:rocketup: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: uff :smokin:
computer guru ji, thanks for the big smile.. :slight_smile:

oye HT, tu hai kahan ka?

i discovered the secret :halo:

raaton ko jaag k surfing karni chahiyay saari conexions FAST milti haen :smiley:

thanks a lot for ur replies everyone :slight_smile: