Karachi Architecture

The other Karachi thread made me search other pics as I am feeling home sick so here is the first instalment of pics. I found them on Webshots. I will post more later.

Karachi Frere Hall

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Karachi_Frere_Hall.jpg

Sheraton Hotel

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Sheraton_Karachi.jpg

we used to go to Frere Hall quite a lot, it was a 5 min drive from our place.
the gallery inside is by a painter named Sadaiqain i think.
oh and sheraton’s pretty good too..we used to go there for birthdays and stuff
nice pics

*~~Do you think I’m Spooky?~~***FM

[This message has been edited by hk (edited July 15, 2001).]

i thought i’d post an old picture of Frere Hall. This one’s from 1918

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Frere.jpg

wow

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

beautiful

I remember going there wit my family and watchin all those paintings n bring facinated by dem…
I also remember lying in da middle of da main room and watch da ceiling and guessing wat he wuz actually trying to paint…
oh those good memories,

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

I wish I can go back to those days

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

DJ (Seth Dara JeThamal) College

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/DJ_College_aadhanani.jpg

Kothari Parade, Clifton

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Clifton_Kothari_Parade.jpg

Thats soooo cool !!

Thanks for sharing!!

i miss pak

great collection khan_sahib..btw, i am home sick too..it is the worst time of the year for me as every family from goes away..and i get to stay here..

That clifton snap is making me hungry..i remember when i was tiny..near the stairs of funland or playland i ate the best machli..i never ate any fish like that..zabardast mirch masala aur sokhi green pudinay wali chatni..aha..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif

Have you got any more pictures, now i am craving for more..please post some more..will you?

Thanks nia, waleed, Vicky,

hk and Canadian Desi, yes I do remember the Sadqain Galler in Frere Hall. It was different to all the other paintings I have seen before. Most of it is political stuff I thing. I have another pic of Frere Hall which I shall post here later.

Thanks Qrius, sach much moonh meiN paani aa gaya as I do remember eating Fish

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif

I guess I have never eaten that type of fish near the Fish Aquarium in Clifton ever. Although, the water in Clifton is not “drownable”, I still like to go to Clifton compared to other places due to more facilities like playland and boat ride sighs.

I have got quite a few pictures which I will be posting here until someone gets so much angry that ask my company to increase my quota of holidays so I can visit Karachi more regularly.

Frere Hall, another view

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Frere_Hall2.jpg

Elphinstone Street, I think it’s now called Bohri Bazaar

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Elphinstone_Street.jpg

Empress Market, Saddar

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Empress_Market.jpg

khan_sahib go ahead and post more pictures..we will not be angry..yeah you are right about clifton..and i remember in my buchpan clifton used to be the only entertainment central. I remember one time i almost got fed up with boat basin coz my family used to go there all the time..aur ja kar bus wahan beth jatay thay..i am talking about really old days of 80's coz after that boat basin got better in 90's..

Khanjiiiiii, bussss karoooo

Yeh kiyaaa aaj kal aap torture moohim pur niklay huway hain?? I’m allll out of our Kleenex stock. I wannnna go to Karachi and wanna go nowww

Baji I did mention earlier that if someone can speak to my company and increase my holidays then I will stop else u will have to see all pics

Sindh High Court Building

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/High_Court_Building.jpg

Karachi Club, I don’t know where it is so if someone could give us some info.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/KARACHI_CLUB.jpg

Mohatta Palace, I don’t have a clue as to what is it’s importance and where is it in Karachi.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Karachi_Mohatta_Palace.jpg

Acha yaad dilaaya yaar, good on you! Have u got pics of Gym Khana, I really miss that place and boating basin?

u have a really nice collection of khi pics....thanks 4 sharing

Khaliq dina Hall and Library

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Khaliqdina_Hall_&_Library.jpg

Mauripur Flyover

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Mauripur%20Road%20Fly%20Over.jpg

Merryweather Tower

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Merry_Weather_Tower.jpg

Khaliq dina Hall and Library

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Khaliqdina_Hall_&_Library.jpg

Mauripur Flyover

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Mauripur%20Road%20Fly%20Over.jpg

Merryweather Tower

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/Merry_Weather_Tower.jpg

mushi, I will look for the gymkhana and boating pics but can't promise as I don't have them.

chulbuli larki, thanks

Khan_sahib.. mohatta palace was the house of Fatimah Jinnah and its in Clifton!