Kansi Phal - Pumpkin

Kansi Phal 1 kg. Throw away the pulp and cut rest of the stuff in big pieces
Zeera - Two tablespoon
Onion - one big thinly sliced
Imli - 50 grams
Whole red chillies 10-15 - pierce them
Salt
Oil

Fry the onion in oil and then cook pumpkin and others on medium heat.

Eat with roti or paratha.

Re: Kansi Phal - Pumpkin

Pumpkin should be green in colour.

Throw away the pulp or the seeds?
If you throw away the pulp then only seeds and skin will be left.

Pulp with seeds. We eat water melons pulp and seeds but throw away its skin. But for pumpkin (cooked in desi style) , we throw away the seeds with pulp.

I think pulp is placenta + seeds.

In the case of melon, we throw away placenta and seeds and eat skin i.e. vice versa of water melon.

Bhai ye konsa phal hai ? :konfused:

Kansi phal or ghiya!

What is halva kadu...Banana squash or Pumpkin?

Isnt pumpkin flesh light yellowish or orangish in colour? What is banana squash...same as butter nut squash? Any pics so we know what it looks like?

Kansi phal .. wah wah .. what a sweet name ..

ghar ki yaad dila di

Squash haven.

i call it sara… = pumpkin :chai:

That is called pehta here in Karachi.

Mostar, app inn strange names keah sath pictures bhee post kiya kro, so we can understand exactly which vegi you are talking about... :)

Kansi phal

Pehta is called white pumpkin or winter melon or ash gourd.

http://www.tarladalal.com/Recipe.asp?id=2049

Here is a pehta! Iski mithai bohat mazay ki hoti hai!