Kammi or ghatiya log

I know it’s an insulting term but I use it religiously, well almost.

Like, last Friday we had this social mini gathering and there was another desi sitting next to me, drinking tea. I’ve never understood why desis have to drink burning hot liquid if they can’t handle it. This guy was taking one sip with this hideous loud noise shrrruuuuuup followed by aaaahhhhhhh haaaaaaaaaaa, and with each sip I was galofying him in punjabi, while thinking kya kammi insaan hai. Now that is a nice use of the term. Worse is, when I have to use it for bigger offenses. (Though I can hardly think of a bigger crime than not respecting basic table manners!)

When you step on someone’s tail, mostly its an imaginary tail hence your foot would never find it to step on it in the first place, but some ppl have strong imaginations like living the victims role to the fullest, which is fine as long as they don’t have co-stars. These victims never seem to get over anything, you accidentally bump into someone after a billion years and tes low lifer will be up in arms against you for something s/he thinks you did in your last janam. While you’d be thinking, ‘Have I seen this face before?’ I usually walk away, thinking kya ghatiya insaan hai, kammi!

Now, since I’m pretty bored of the india / US / israel and occational Pakistan bashing (when putting blame on any of the mentioned countries is absolutely not an option) and religious fights are also becoming dull, I thought maybe it’s high time to introduce a new concept. Hence the two para long taqreer above, note the word kammi. Now options are endless, we could talk about Malik’s versus Rajputs, but since maliks come in so many varieties, where some have rock solid backbone while others, are just that. Or simply what is the determining factor in building a personality in desi society? Your cast more than anything? Since it can hardly be the religion, else majority here would be mullah and mullaanis.

I saw a thread and thought ‘what a kammi’ today, is liye I took the time to type all this here, waise tau I already have agreed with myself that I’m right.

Re: Kammi or ghatiya log

Buss aap ki hee kammi thi. Welcome.

Whats the point Sabah? What does it take to make a person who jumps low and calls other kammi/ghatya?

Shurking tea from a saucer is not a bad table manner by any stretch of the imagination. I like to doub my biscut in the tea before eating it. It’s all in the minds Saba. I personally dislike pretensions motherfkers who think that everything in beneath them.

:jhanda:

As long as all the noises are coming from above the waiste, I am Okey Dokey.

I love dunking biscuits in tea too :yummy: Especially cake rusks. Yummmm.

well now we know why you have this cough....

^ and what do u do when the cake falls into your tea?

Speaking of dunking in liquid, have you ever had pieces falling in the cup. I dunk Russ in chaa, and the first dunk is most vulnerable to the fall. I guess it is bc I like my russ soaking wet.
Femme - I don't want you coughing around my tea. You kammi.

Note: I started this post well ahead of Missy but someone walked in...

^ yeh, your fingers weighing you down :p

i can never understand why people dip their rus cakes into their tea when the tea is hot, you watch in slow motion as the cake falls into the cup. there has to be a better way...

I think Saba Baji makes good point. If you look at the Jihadi brigade, they always believe that they are right. I think those who believe that their religion is the only right religion is the biggest jerks and Kammi and Ghatya people.

Missy, the other way is to pour hot tea over your rus. Do you know that in China people drink their tea with chopsticks? You gotta get out of house more often.

dunker here.. there is no other way i'd have my cookies..

but pound cakes are the trickiest.. there is this precise moment they need to be evacuated out of the tea or else it's bottom of the cup sleeping with the other cookie crumbs..

sorry sabah.. General has a way of taking a thread and redifining the topic.. kammi people..

Drinking tea with chopsticks is nothing new. What amzes me more is how they pick sugar with chopsticks.

That happens rarely, my timings r pretty good. BUT whenever it does happen I either take it out with a spoon right away or leave the last bit of tea.

Maddy I haven't had any cake rusks in months though. I have this annoying sweet sort of taste to my mouth since I have fallen sick. Everything I eat/drink tastes sweet. I hate sugar in my tea so I haven't even had tea let alone dunked cookies :(

:rotfl: on all responses. Specially chopsticks and dunker. I witnessed a Mohlvi Shaib whose cake got stuck in his beard and he carefully untangled it then doubed it in the sauccer then he did the big loooong shhhhhhrruup.

FF get over two words and you’ll understand the point.

Madhanee, jehadi brigade is okay, to each his/her own, but you don’t kick and cry before the kicked person.

I’ve introduced a new word :hula:

I disagree sabah. Those are the kind of people that are ripe for a throat slashing. :khatarnaak:

being the little gori that i am, can someone please explain what the word "kammi" means...i think i more or less understand the "ghatiya" word.

I think kammi basically means someone belonging to a low caste. I don't believe in castes and stuff so using it to classify people is something I would look down upon.

again, excuse my blonde moment....tea drinking is judged upon ones caste??