Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna

Re: Kabhi Alvida something something

Creme can i use ur review on my site..

Go watch for one scene: Amitabh at the dinner table. There is no other proof needed to see why he is the best.

How long is this movie? Cauze i want to watch it tonight.....

If you go to a theatre, plan on being there for 3.5 hours counting commercials and intermission.

Trust me, u'll be praying for the movie to end before it does, thats how long it is.

I’m sure you can find better reviews out there.

The one below from the Times of India hits the nail on the head:

Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna (drama)
Cast : Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Abhishek Bachchan, Rani Mukherjee, Preity Zinta
Direction : Karan Johar

Too long. Too tedious. And strangely plastic. No, this time, Karan Johar seems to have got the formula somewhat skewed. For unlike his earlier successful celluloid soap operas, the audience doesn’t get to shed any real tears even though the protagonists keep crying. In all his earlier ventures, the characters would hardly need the tissues despite the heartbreak, heartache, heartburn. It was the viewer who’d do all the crying, sighing and tear jerking 'coz Shah Rukh chose to laugh while he died, Hrithik sashayed to bring his broken family together and Kajol played basketball to drive her dilemma - Salman or Shah Rukh - away. Naturally, we the aam janata couldn’t bear the agony of these bravehearts and broke down copiously, while the box office jingled. But this time round, the rona-dhona becomes somebody else’s business, the jolly good fella bits seem to be in short supply and the aam janata ends up feeling gypped. Primarily because it doesn’t know why Rani relentlessly sobs and Shah Rukh goes gruff-gruff and all those designer marriages suck…

Okay, we know that Shah Rukh’s angry because he’s got a perpetual limp, he can’t play football, his wife’s (Preity Zinta) more successful than him and someone’s told him his pout looks sexy. But is that reason enough to fall in love with a wannabe bride (Rani) he meets on a bench one New Yorky afternoon as she ruminates on this whole marriage business and the grand mohabbat myths? And is that reason enough to pout permanently in the film as he goes through the entire gamut of incompatibility, infidelity, separation and reunion, barking down on anybody who happens to cross his path. Even his bechara beta!

Unconvincing again are the reasons behind Rani’s drift. All that hubby Abhishek demands from her is a bit of passion in bed, some rock-and-roll in dad’s (Amitabh) rocking party and a bit of bonhomie in their day-to-day life. Is that asking for too much from a roz-roz-morose Miss?

So, on the one hand you have a weak foundation to the extra-marital affair between Shah Rukh and Rani, and on the other, you have a weird reason that brings them together. The duo befriend each other to play marriage counsellor to each other, discussing books and techniques on ‘how to save your shaadi and stay happy forever’. And guess what? They end up breaking their marriages and biting into cold TV dinners by themselves.

If the film holds, it’s because of the few dramatic moments that manage to touch you, a pretty New York backdrop and some fine chemistry between that father-son duo again. Amitabh and Abhishek once again create magic when they are together, even as the big daddy of Bollywood creates one of the most flamboyant playboys on the desi screen. Catch his throwaway lines and you’d realise Hugh Heffner’s got competition. Unfortunately, they have very little screen time together. As for Preity, now what’s she doing in a walk-on part that seems a pale shadow of Kal Ho Na Ho?

Nope! When it comes to infidelity, Arth still remains the last word in Bollywood. And Silsila the most silken.

"Too long. Too tedious. And strangely plastic."

i guessed this much by just watching the promo ads for the movie.

wat role does arjun rampal plays in the movie?

^^A minor one. He's probably only in the movie for about 2-3 minutes total.

kuch kuch hota hai was really great..i didnt like kabhi khushi kabhi gham and i don't like the reviews for this one....i dont know why i even go to indiafm for reviews because i don't agree with that guy most of the time

Well the movie made $1.3 Million in US Box Office in its opening week, which is the highest for any Bollywood movie in the USA.

Three-and-a-half ****ing hours...

But for Rani is nothing... WOW...she was just brilliant..amazing...perfect....these are the words that you can say about this actress! I can not imagined ANY other actress doing this role -- When I heard Kajol was supposed to play it I was like Thank God she didn't because this role was meant only for Rani and she brought justice to it. Her role wasn't really glamorous, or very nice but she acted it out perfectly so that I actually thought twice about her character. This is Rani's best role after Black, no questions asked! Her character was so hard to portray and she did it with ease - from the boring wife to the romantic lover, to an emotional woman. She deserves all the credit and her ONLY competition is Kajol (Fanna).

Particularly loved scenes:

• The scene with Rani and SRK on the bed - made me laugh
  • The scene where SRK was standing by the river and it was raining
  • The scene where SRK was at the junction and Preity and Rani were walking towards him - brilliantly acted
  • The scene with Dev's son at the station where he saw the little girl who was with Rani and the DDLJ music started

I have to give a mention to THAT scene with Rani in the hotel - OH MY GOD!!!! I had to remind myself that I was in a cinema with other people present. I held my breath and had to remind myself to breathe again! I don't think I have ever seen anything as sexy! It was like all my wildest fantasies on the big screen! I also found that my feelings towards the music have altered slightly now I can relate them to different situations in the film. 'Where's the Party Tonight' definitely has a different meaning for me.

oh man.... dat wz a garbage movie.

i guess this one isnt gonna make me cry yaaayy i cry so much when i watch kuch kuch hota hai

dont worry its so bad its still gonna make u cry.

karan johar's biggest flop eva.
da only reason it made a few initial bucks at da box office is cuz of da cast and nothin else.
not worth ur time and money, wait for da dvd release for those boring nites.

afridi lol how did u know it was so easy to make me cry

Not really interested but going out with wife to watch it tonight or rather early morning. Officially the movie will be released tomorrow. My wife's younger brother got me and my wife a pass for special screening before the release.

I am fully equipped to sleep through the movie.

Some stills from the film that you won’t fine anywhere but here. :wink:

not even a single friend of mine who has watched the move talks good about it so i do not want to waste my time n money on this stupid film

I am sick this GAY Karan Johar 's films