just what have I gotten myself into??

I feel too embarrassed posting about this, but I couldn’t keep it to myself any longer and need to know how to get out of this. Apologies for the long post.

I am a 34 years old , mother of two kids, one is school going.I live in Pakistan, My husband passed away a year ago, prior to that we had been separated for nearly 2 years. It was a difficult dysfunctional marriage, he was involved in several extramarital affairs right from the beginning. Anyway, so I have been living with my parents for the past nearly 3 years. I am educated , have a good career alhumdolillah. I am considered quite good looking and people are often surprised when I tell them I was married and even have kids.

well, a couple of weeks ago, there was this work related gathering that I had to attend.I don’t want to go into much details, but there were lots of people there and I didn’t know anyone there so I was bored.and there was discussion going on about something we were doing about raising funds for poor patients, something which I am actively involved in. I entered into a discussion with this young man, whom I didn’t previously know but his brother worked in our field so he was there with his brother and he had some suggestions about the fund raising thing. He is 24, studying in US, was on holidays in pakistan and returning in a couple of weeks. Well, I found the conversation with him interesting and I confess I let my guards down a bit and was more open and frank with him than I usually am while interacting with the opposite sex, because I thought of him as a kid and I thought he would think of me as an aunty. I teach in a college and kids his age are my students whom I often address as “baita” so there was nothing wrong going on in my mind and the discussion was entirely harmless… we discussed things like peshawar incident, compared education and life in pakistan and US etc

A couple of days later he contacted me on fb, asked if I could help him with some money raising thing and we ended up talking for hours.Again it was a general discussion, he told me about some girl he had met and some of his family issues etc and asked about my life kids,work. but we did talk a lot. this raised some alarm in my mind but I brushed it off telling myself he is a kid, I am 10 years older than him,widowed 2 children etc, what can happen?? and to cut things short we have been talking everyday after that . he says he has started to like me a lot, he wanted to take me out to which I refused even though he insisted and insisted. I feel so bad and I feel I am entirely to blame , I am older, more experienced than him I shouldn’t have let things come this far. Thrice during the past couple of weeks I tried to cut off contact with him when I felt things were getting out of hand, but he got angry and kept calling, messaging.I am at fault here I should have stayed strong and should not have gotten back in touch, turned off my phone etc. and I kept telling myself that he is returning to Us in a couple of weeks so what can happen, I didn’t have the slightest inkling he would end up getting so emotionally involved.

I am not justifying my actions, but I got married right out of college, never had any bf, never been in any kind of relationship prior to marriage, my marriage was an arranged one, and I found out he didn’t want to get married to me and wasn’t man enough to tell his parents so I got no love and affection from him either. For the past year I have been feeling very lonely and even when I wasn’t widowed I often wondered and yearned to know what it felt like to be have a man have those special feelings for you, so with this guy I grew weak. I shouldn’t have but I did, bash me all you want I deserve it.Also, my family is against women remarrying, so they have no plans to get me remarried, so being lonely all these years I felt maybe this was my only chance to experience how it felt like to have a man’s affections, again no justification.

So,coming back to present, he is on a flight back to US right now and I know this is all wrong , we don’t have a future together and I should break up with him ASAP. I need advice on how to, he had been calling me all night from the airport before boarding the plane telling me he would be back before I knew etc, i have been trying to give him a cold shoulder and ignore him but when he sees this he gets upset. I am hoping things will fizzle out once he is back in college and meets some girls his own age which I have told him he should. Like I said I have never been in a relationship before , so tell me which is least painful way, 1. let things fizzle out? 2. tell me I don’t have any feelings for him and cut off contact? 3. tell him even though we share a chemistry and I have feelings for him we don’t have a future together so its going to end up in a heart break anyway so better to break up now? I tried no 3 with him and it ended up in him getting very angry,

help!!!

Re: just what have I gotten myself into??

Why is your family against remarrying? This is strange...and also wrong in every way.

I think your feelings are natural and pretty hard to fight against. What is so difficult to accept about marrying a guy younger than you? Can I ask what you're afraid of? He likes you, cares for you, you're not married, you're widowed...its not like you're cheating on your husband. So what's the big deal?

The guy is 24 for crying out loud. He is still in school with head down the freakin toilet. Do you really think he is ready to make that sort of decision of marrying someone a decade older and even if the age factor is removed, would he be able to support you and your kids. Thats too much responsibility even for a grown ass man. He is just a horny kid looking for some fun. The fact that he gets angry shows more so how immature he is for his age.
Go with number 2, change your phone number and look for a proper guy

There’s no shame at all in the feelings you’ve developed and, no, you don’t deserve to be “bashed” for it…not self-induced bashing much less from others. You can’t control whom you develop feelings for …but you do have some control in putting on the brakes.

The problem with “letting things fizzle out” option is that the longer you keep in touch with him…you risk your own feelings becoming stronger.

Rather than letting things fizzle out, why don’t you talk to him more seripusly about this relationship. The next time he says that he has feelings for you…discuss with him the potential obstacles and speed-bumps that you see…and let’s see how he responds. If he’s a desi guy…then his parents will likely be very hesitant about the age gap and you having two kids. Ideally it shouldn’t matter, but you know how our culture is and it depends on how strong and open-minded the guy is. I know that your relationship is not at the marriage stage…but if you discuss the relationship obstacles with him…he might wake up from the “heady feelings” he currently has and realize that he’s not ready for it. He may chicken out and disappear on you. :hehe: I’m curious to see how he’d respond.

Despite having some feelings for him, if you’re absolutely sure that this won’t work…then you have to push yourself to cut off contact. It’s not nice, but he should have respected your wishes the first time you told him that this wouldn’t work…and left you alone. He will live and find someone else. So, either have a serious discussion with him or cut him off. But staying touch with him and letting it “fizzle out” may result in you becoming more attached.

And what us up with you not being allowed to get remarried? What special pind do you belong to that upholds and exercises such beliefs? :confused:

I agree with Reha here. Why is your family against remarrying? That just seems wrong in many ways. However, if you both have mutual feelings and trust then I don't see why you can't build a relationship together. Age is just a number, people's maturity levels and likes differ and can't be summoned into one category.

Let's say he's 26 or 28...what exactly is the issue with remarriage? I am trying to understand why she's thinking she has to live a dead end life?

She doesn't need him to support her or her kids...she works and has a great job. Kudos to her for making a stable life for her and her kids.

I do agree that he sounds a bit immature and irrational though.

But I am curious to know why she's torturing herself like this...why she thinks she doesn't deserve happiness?

Lady, even if its not this guy...you're young, good looking, educated and have a looooooooooong life ahead of you.

Go and get remarried.

^Agree. Things are more far-fetched and risky with this guy to be honest...BUT...that shouldn't stop you altogether from marrying.

If you meet someone compatible...(be it him or someone else) ...whom you trust around your kids...and who respects both you and your children...and shows maturity in taking on such a commitment...then get married. And I hope you do find someone soon...and that it'll be a lasting and successful marriage...whomever it is with.

Also, give some consideration to Pisiform's post as he is around the same age as the guy in question. And while this guy might end up being an exception to the general male populace of that particular age group...it's good to have the male perspective as well...they tend to understand their kind better.

Even if he isn't serious, and just looking for fun...in your situation, I'd say, honey enjoy it.

You never know what could happen in the future. He may very well marry you. Or if he doesn't, well at least you had some fun. I'd only keep going if you know for sure that you wont get mentally attached to him to the point that when he eventually does break it off and marry someone his own age (or likely younger), that you wont fall apart.

As long as you realize he is immature and has no idea what he is getting himself into. And once he figures it out, he WILL break your heart. If you can handle that and you want to enjoy the attention sure.

But seems like you need a stable and real relationship, so I'd find someone your own age, and I'd skip/bypass your family's backwards ideas and find someone on your own. Maybe in your work place?

you should not feel guilty, you did not really do anything wrong. Keep working, being involved in things..charity work and whatever you do and one day you will meet the right guy for you. This- from the little information that I know- is most likely not the right guy, given the way he got angry and all (immature). If you are certain you do not want to continue anything with this guy, then just tell him and cut if off.

thank you for all your replies,
yes,I know I shouldn't continue and will cut off things with him soon. I will try no 3 again and turn off my phone,I can not change the number because all my previous work contacts have this number.

about remarrying, well my family has a very jahil approach to it , One of my aunts got widowed and she spent the rest of the life like that and tales of her sacrifice are often recounted to me, they think i should be like her, sacrificing my life for the sake of my kids and its nothing but shameful if a woman says she wants to get remarried. But, If I meet someone good enough , mature enough to be a father figure for my kids, I might go against my family wishes to marry him but chances of that happening are not very good, second marriage is difficult for women in pakistan and more so because I have kids,and for me it would be an even bigger risk because I would have to marry him by going against my family so i have to be really really sure he is a good guy. but anyway, thats another topic.

here's my piece of advice
1) do not panic
2) do not be judgmental about anything
3) take things normally
4) even if it wasn't him could have been someone else so take some time
5) good luck

I dont know of any Pakistani muslim families who consider remarriage of widows or divorced women "shameful". There were 2-3 similar cases in my distant family & the widows were married off within a year. Your family's following an ancient hindu tradition which does not allow the widows to marry. Try to have some Islamic scholar to tell your parents/family that it is your right. Muslim widows have a right to remarry.

Now the question of marrying a 24 year old. Again, Islamically, we have example of the prophet marrying his first wife Khadeejah RA at 25 who was 40. 15 years his senior. But guys these days are mentally too immature. Especially Pakistani guys. I dont get along guys my age because I find them mentally too immature. Majority base their lives on bollysh!t stories & they're not realistic. I dont know how much mature this 24 year old is and how much you two are compatible. But I think you encouraged him out of desperation because you want to remarry and your family does not allow that. Do not let your desperation get the best of you. Not stopping this now will encourage you to sin. Unless you think this guy at 24 is mature enough & mentally stable to take care of you & your kids (I highly doubt that because Pakistani guys as old as 30 these days are like a kid themselves mentally), you better find yourself a suitable mature man to remarry. I agree your family's approach is quite jahil in this. I would say this again that dont be encouraged to sin because of your family's jahil attitude. Find yourself a suitable match and tell your family it is your right to marry. Or have someone in the family who understands Islamic take on this talk to your parents/family that not allowing you to marry is a kind of oppression.

Insha'Allah my humble suggestion..look to re-marry. Everyone has that right. Second this dude...doesn't seem serious. Wallahu Allam. He may be. But be practical yo. I pray for ya..to Allah gives you good spouse Ameen.

The problem is that none of us have met this guy so can't say about his intentions for sure. You are mature and old enough to gauge his intentions so trust your instincts. Based on the typical cases I've seen, move on and forget this guy. With your kids and parents around, don't make any emotional decision or give in to his demands.

Also remember the possibility that even if both of you are okay about your relationship and want to get married, his family might think otherwise. Just like your family has weird issue with women marrying again, his family might have similar issue because of the age difference.

I think you should personally lookout for remarriage. At 34 you are certainly not old and being a working woman can easily find like-minded mature guy. When that time comes and you've a good guy then don't listen to your family and marry him.

All the best!

Soon you are going to have reputation that, moms are going to be worrying when their boys look at you.
So enjoy for now.

If you are religious then stop, and look for serious person. Tons of girls remarry and live happy life.

I agree with redvelvet on this one

Wouldnt recommend marrying a guy more than 5 years younger than you. 15 years later, you will be 50, he will be 40, you will be going downhill, he will be still at his peak, your kids will be getting into college, his getting into school, its won't be that easy to handle.

Freaken hormones :)

Warning bells for the anger!!! He sounds immature. Stop all contact.

Next I would not recommend marrying someone so much younger than you, it may seem all seem ok now but when you settle into married life and all he pressures of it then he may just get up and walk. He may be a genuinely nice guy but the age difference is just too much. Just concentrate on your children for now, I know you already are. The right person will come along.

Why are your family being so backward and irrational about you remarrying? It will be hard to go against their wishes and remarry just incase things dont work out but if the right person comes along you may jut have to do this. I understand that you yearn for companionship and you didnt get this from your husband. But this guy isn't the person for you even though you are enjoying the attention he is giving you? Be patient. You have every right to remarry. The right person is out there somewhere.

In my opinion, you already fell for this guy, when you care about him that he won't get upset, tells me you like him deep down. It will be very painful to let go. Is there anything wrong with it? I don't think so. The way Pakistani society works, if the man is older then woman, let's say 15 + yrs, its OKAY, but not other way around. That is just a reality of life that we all have to deal with.
The worst case scenario is that you marry to this guy , of course, against your family's wishes, no one from your or his family/friends ever talk to you, you will throw yourself into a deeper loneliness. Your kids will miss Khala’s, mamoo, nani and nana..they all will disappear in a flash. If kids have any chaha chachi or others in in law family they will be gone as well. In this scenario, you will have three kids, two of your own and one 24 yrs old, who will never understand the fatherhood. You know you are putting yourself, your kids, your whole family, and his family into a bind, that never heal. Think of this line" Hai Allah chaudry sahib, Rabia ko zra be khyal na aya" and many like this...
I understand this is a very bleak scenario!!
So, start some steps that you can think easier to take to take him out of your system. Go into rehab yourself.. Don't think if he gets upset, but look to your beautiful kids, he can take care himself e.g....
If you talk to him for 60 minutes, slash that to 30 minutes, and everyday makesure to decrease by so many minutes..When you are teaching, cooking, ready to go to bed, if thoughts of him comes to head, try to shake them, be sure to ask Allah's help when praying..I can go on and on..
Good luck!!