Junoon Starts Deewar 2004 US with a bang!

I can't for their concert in detroit and Chicagooooooo....

Junoon rocks!! everyone knows that..Jalnay walou ka mou kala :p

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
I can't for their concert in detroit and Chicagooooooo....

Junoon rocks!! everyone knows that..Jalnay walou ka mou kala :p

Sherry, I think your concert count is about to reach triple figures!

I just can't get enough of Junoon for some reason.You know ;)

Spock when are they coming to LA? I must just go this time out of curiosity :D

i dont think theyre covering LA in this tour

The LA concert got cancelled

damn, LA has the 2nd largest desi population and they cancel the concert . Their loss.

Yeah, but its not the bands fault, they were ready, the organizers in LA called it off due to some scheduling conflicts

Junoon, Asia’s biggest rock band, is coming to town

Craig Wales

It may seem impossible, but one of the biggest bands in the world is playing in Cincinnati on May 1 - as part of a world tour that includes concerts in only nine other North American cities.

Then why, you may ask, is this band playing in Cincinnati Convention Center’s Exhibit Hall A?

It’s because Junoon, the highest-selling band in Asia, wants to establish a following here in the States. Tariq Ashfaq of NTN Promotions, the company putting on the concert, says Junoon is hugely popular elsewhere in the world and has grown in popularity recently in the United States.

“Cincinnati is a big market for Indians and Pakistanis, and it is a real center in the Midwest. We are expecting 1,000 to 1,500 people, with some coming from Detroit and Chicago,” Ashfaq says. “Hopefully it will be bigger next time, with more (non-Asians) in the crowd.”

Junoon, from Pakistan, is composed of vocalist Ali Azmat, guitarist Salman Ahmed and bassist Brian O’Connell. The group formed in the '90s when Ahmed decided to give up medicine and follow his heart into music. Ashfaq describes the band’s music as “rock ‘n’ roll fusion, using tablas (a type of drum), and sitar. They draw from sufi music, which is religious folk music. It is a real mix of Eastern and Western music.”

Ashfaq describes Junoon concerts as a near-religious experience. “They are a wonderful rock band when they perform live,” he says. “They have a smashing sound that gets people up from their seats. They do not compromise anything. When Ali starts to sing, the atmosphere just changes. He has a voice that is out of this world.” Some of the band’s songs are in the members’ native tongue, but others are in English. “They do not target any particular audience,” Ashfaq says.

Junoon’s music is most often likened to Santana - which is not surprising, as guitarist Ahmed is the driving creative force. Junoon is also often compared to U2, not just for similar sounds but also for both bands’ reputations of being politically and socially aware.

Junoon is not afraid to make statements, both through music and through activism in its homeland. The members were actually banned from performing for a while in Pakistan because one of their songs, “Accountability,” criticized government corruption.

Junoon can count among its fans UN Secretary General Kofi Annan and Pakistani president Pervez Musharraf. The band members are UN goodwill ambassadors on the issue of HIV/AIDS. Junoon has also taken a public role in the India/Pakistan dispute over the Kashmir region. Ashfaq believes the band "has helped to defuse tensions (in the dispute) between Pakistan and India. Because of its success, the band has been a bridge between the two cultures.

“However, they are not a religious band, and they are not a political band,” Ashfaq says. “Their music (in general) has nothing to do with religion or politics. They are a rock band.”

The band’s sound reflects its Pakistani roots as much as its rock ‘n’ roll aspirations. Ahmed’s guitar shifts easily between hard-charging riffs and dreamy sitar-like passages. Azmat can sound like he is chanting in a mosque one minute, then sound like Robert Plant the next.

link : Home - Cin Weekly

update on dewaar tour,really this tour has concerted into long and biggest tour of junoon
May 01 Cincinnati
May 08 Toronto
May 15 DC
May 21 Detroit
May 22 Toledo, OH (University Show)
May 29 Dallas
May 30 NJ
Jun 04 Chicago
Jun 05 NY
hey sami did u record concert at video or any pics????

Ill be leaving for Cincinatti soon, will be staying with the band there! I have my camera ready uj.

what happened to atlanta?

*Originally posted by usmanjunooni: *
update on dewaar tour,really this tour has concerted into long and biggest tour of junoon
May 01 Cincinnati
May 08 Toronto
May 15 DC
May 21 Detroit
May 22 Toledo, OH (University Show)
May 29 Dallas
May 30 NJ
Jun 04 Chicago
Jun 05 NY
hey sami did u record concert at video or any pics????

well tums no concert in ATLANTA ..well spock best of luck jani hope u will have rocking time with junooonnnn

hey yaar post full review how may people were there and the like

Only if you say so bro ;)

Well, I arrived at Cincinatti at about 3:00pm, and Junoon got there just about the same time. After checking in the hotel, which was right next to the venue, we went for the sound check. After that we came back to the hotel, got ready, and went to the convention center again. There were alot of people there, in the beginning around 500. Backstage, Salman, Jay, Ali, John were practicing Pappu yar. After that the organizer introduced them, to a huge ovation by the Cincinatti crowd, and this was the first time Junoon was playing here too. As usual, they started off with a cracking 'Lal Meri Patt', with thunderous drumming by Jay Dittamo. The sound system at that place wasnt the best, but it was the Junoonism that once again swept the crowd off the feet. At first, the organizers did not let the crowd come forward, so they danced at the very back, but soon Ali Azmat invited them all to the front. Here are the songs that they did, it was a long concert, as they had new titles from deewar too.

Lali Meri
Neend
Khwab
Jazba
Ghoom Tanna
Mitti
Sayein
Sayonee
Bulleya
Neeli Neeli
Dosti
Tara Jala
Pappu Yar
Sajna
National Anthem

Great Concert!

*Originally posted by [sami rahman]: *
spock i can assure you, not more than 500 people attended. pata nai why but there seems to be a big brigade of abrari's and jawadian's here. nobody seems to have a taste for rock music. and the ones who attended this one had only one motive....poondi! too bad there werent as many girls as guys. only a handful were singing along the lyrix. no cameras were allowed for there was tight security. camera fones walay lucky thay.

the songs they sang were saein, sayonee, bulleya, jazba junoon, chalay thay saath saath, pappu yaar, yaar bina, sajna, azaadi, ghoom taana, tara jala, garaj baras, and finally ended with the national anthem. in total pandra ya sola gaane thay.

Sami saab you were probably standing on the dance floor with the other $15 ticket-walas. I think there were easily 2500 - 3000 people there. I guess you missed the population sitting up in the balcony because it was dark. Let me assure you, there were 4 times as many people sitting up there. It was the verizon theatre and not cullen Auditorium. I understand that u're a desi but u dont have to always live up to u'r name by making chamaar comments like 'only 500 ppl'.

sheesh

*Originally posted by [sami rahman]: *

spock yaar u need to understand...just becuz houston has a big desi community doesnt mean everyone's a fan of junoon. and like i said earlier, jo aaye thay had only one motive.

Mein bhi apni amma aur begum kay saath gaya tha. It's nice to know that you've taken it upon yourself to judge my motives. Bara bol Dabba Gol.

Yeah, I talked to alot of people, all of them said 2500-3000 people, so youre right, plus the video proves that too. I was talking to the tour promotor while junoon was playing in the cincinatti concert, he too told me that the houston gig was incredible, both in terms of turnout and sound quality. Lets hope they keep organizing concerts in Houston, as it turned out to be an incredible venue.