Junoon in Detroit

Originally posted by Dunyia on junoon site:
I don't know what happened in Dallas, and hey its possible that Mr.Salman Ahmad got carried away and said stuff that clearly went against the best interest of all those in the concert hall. With the type of venue that was picked, there came a set of safety precautions...and limitations. The band, should have made it their job to be well informed of this. Sure..there's a lot more freedom in Pakistan...same can be said of Brazil...ever seen what happens at some of those soccer games--Point of story: with the amount of accidents that happen in Pakistan at concerts and large gathering...its hardly appropriate to look to them for guidance, in regards to safety standards!

To the die hard fans:
It is possible that Salman Ahmad was in the wrong, he is human after all.....I say, let the man defend himself.

*I don't know what happened in Dallas, and hey its possible that Mr.Salman Ahmad got carried away and said stuff that clearly went against the best interest of all those in the concert hall. *
I am not the only one saying this. Even the desi national network radio host in Dallas said as much. This was a local point of discussion in a community of about 80,000 desi. Are all of these people wrong? Obviously, everyone has their own levels of tolerances and levels of belief.

*With the type of venue that was picked, there came a set of safety precautions...and limitations. The band, should have made it their job to be well informed of this. *
Those who live in the west understand this a little better then. There are standards and regulations that commercial operations have to abide by. The band was requested such by the mgmt and the desi organizers. They could have said such to get the audience on their site. Why didn’t they come out saying that? I would find that interesting. If there was an understanding between the band and the organizers/hotel mgmt. then the band had the perfect opportunity to point fingers albeit not directly but they had the time and the opportunity to say something to their benefit; that is, if like alibeta said earlier, if there was agreement on paper. If there was no agreement on paper then it’s junoon’s loss.

*Sure..there's a lot more freedom in Pakistan...same can be said of Brazil...ever seen what happens at some of those soccer games--Point of story: with the amount of accidents that happen in Pakistan at concerts and large gathering...its hardly appropriate to look to them for guidance, in regards to safety standards! *

Good observation. The first part as you said is what Mr. Ahmed said. That there is more freedom in Pakistan. But, as has been said about him that he is a doctor, doesn’t he have recognition of the fact that human lives could be at stake if a disaster takes place while everyone, well – large number of youngsters, are congragating by the stage. There is also the risk of security violations as regards the band. While the band is in the hotel, the hotel is fully responsible for the safety of all those concerned equally but more so the band since, obviously, as seen here, there are people who can loose their heads and try to climb the stage.
To the die hard fans:
It is possible that Salman Ahmad was in the wrong, he is human after all.....I say, let the man defend himself.

All I can say is: Thank you for giving me, one person, some breathing room to say my peace. It almost feels like I am attacking the Kaaba.

talwaar
Inquilaabi junooni

3 Posts Posted - 08/08/2001 : 12:40:12

Wow,
look who decided to drop in !! my attempt to get you to respond worked. I knew that you would read the replies to ure post, out of curiousity if not any other reasons.
Whether you would reply to them however, would depend on how threatened you felt by the comments. It looks like they did the intended damage

My main complaint against your post was that you said that you would not respond to it.
Contradicting what you stated, you did…
congratulations on your new found courage. My opinion of you has just gone up a notch ( if u care ).

Mr. Ahmed did not wait around, nor did we have access to him to present him with
our sentiment. To say it as such, Mr. Ahmed ran away so there was no problem.

Mr. Ahmed ran away ? i like the way you are trying to twist the situation around..
These guys, do a show, have fun and then leave…it is the same everywhere they go.
It is the way things are done all over the world …no one waits around saying…
i know..lets all have a town hall meeting where we can vote on the things we all liked and didnt like…

this is totally different compared to a FORUM ! this is a place where people come to EXCHANGE views and communicate with each other.
No one says, ok listen to what i have to say…and then when its ure turn to speak, i will bury my head in the sand.
So ure attempted comparison is seriously flawed…kinda like comparing apples with oranges so to speak.

Your forum, your site. Do as you please. They came to my city and did something and ran >away. I should also expect to do the same. Wouldn’t you agree?

o…k…i dont know what ure perception of this forum is, but it is MY FORUM as much as it is URES !! there is no restriction on who can post…
I dont own this site, and neither do u, i dont see how dallas is URE city either,
most of all i dont see how it matters.

But I reacted to the group. Not to you for you to react to me.

hold on buddy…by the same twisted way of thinking, junoon did not respond to u, they responded to some security guards…so why are U reacting to the group ?
i mean, cmon yaar, u are under no obligation to respond to me if u dont feel like it…and neither is junoon obligated to respond to u..
i decided to defend Salmans conduct, and you decided to respond to me…plain and simple.

Hugh? I belief you are just joking here. We are Pakistani so I guess you have me lost on >your statement.

sure, u are pakistani, no one said u werent. i was just referring to the fact that these ‘morals’ etc. u were trying to uphold etc. etc. are mere perceptions of what
u BELIEVE them to be… thats ok, everyone has their own unique view of things.

BUT, u have never experienced living in pakistan, so if i were to take a bet on whose values etc. were closer to a REAL and up to date with pakistani societies, then i would bet on someone who has lived in pakistan !!! not someone who THINKS he knows what they should be like.
…as Sayonee has already pointed out, you have taken in upon yourself to uphold this obsolete concept of morality that only exists in ure head..
take a chill pill and learn to live a little. No one is encouraging kids to swear, or anything of the sort.

If one is from a heritage and has been brought up with the same traditions, values of >that heritage then that person has a pretty good idea of what is right and wrong within >the context of those traditions and values.

I think this statement is WAAAY off, in the 60’s, blacks werent allowed to even go to the same schools as white kids in the USA…the land of the free etc etc.
who could have even imagined a girl wearing JEANS in islamabad or karachi till recently ?

60 and early 70’s In Iran, it was illegal, can u believe it ? illegal to wear a veil ( hijab ) and now it is illegal NOT to!

the point is, things change really fast…and if u think that over the last 30 years, things have remained the same in pakistan then i rest my case..
u have a good idea of what values and traditions and customs were like 30 years ago…that much i agree.

And that is not considered bad for a child of this age to say something like >this!!!
I am sure you are saying that just for the sake of saying this . . . like a ‘up yours’ >comment?

it is, bad to say it…kinda like “darn” in america…ure making a really big deal out of nothing dude.

Yes. And it does not sound, in this diction, coming from the mouth of a 3 year old. I >know. I have 5 children: 7 mos, 5, 7, 9, 12

listen, im not telling u how to raise your kids, but how long are u going to raise ure kids in a glass jar ?? they are going to experience the real world soooner or later..
they might as well experience it while u are still around to explain it to them.
if a 12 year old needs his ears covered when someone says ullu ke patthay then i think he will have alot of fun when he goes to college.

IT IS awsome that such a group has come out of Pakistan.

IT IS, awesome that such a group has come from pakistan to open up peoples minds to new and exciting things…we cant live in the 70s forever ..
people and attitudes change, and i am glad that junoon is there to accelarate the process.

last of all,
i dont see why u get offended at some people having fun at a concert ! does it offend u to see a random couple holding hands on the street ?
they do their thing and u do ures…some people dance at concerts and some people are busy covering the ears of their kids…
no one is forcing u to participate in this ‘behuda’ activity.
most of all, HOW are 100 odd people dancing in a hall endangering people ??
i dont think anyone has ever been hurt at a junoon concert due to dancing ..
and u know what ? there is a reason for it too…its perfectly safe..trust me, i have done it many times and am proud of it.
Do u seriously think that any band would like to see their fans get hurt ??
what does junoon gain out of a few fans dancing ?? money ?
NO…people are there to have fun, and as long as they do so without infringing on anyone elses right to do the same in a safe manner, then i think it is GREAT !

seriously speaking, it is a judgement call, and junoon ( in my opinion rightly so ) allow their fans to dance and express themselves…
if anything were to happen then they would be responsible because they incited the behaviour.
just enjoy the show and let the organizers / management / junoon worry about the safety issues…i think they are more experienced
than you ever will be!

What do you mean contradict? Its his kids! He could raise them how ever he wants! Thats why I respect his beliefs! Doesnt mean that I have to think like him!

quote:

Originally posted by AliBeta:

Which according to me isn't profanity. But I respect Jannu's beliefs and understand him as a parent not wanting his kids to hear such things.

You clearly contradict yourself. If you don't consider the phrase profanity, then why do you understand jannu not wanting his kids to "hear such things". Obviously you believe that "such things" are inappropriate for a public setting.

Muzna…is that you over there?

And,

Sad, isn’t it?

Oh Gawd!
Now Sajjad Ali and Awaz are being compared to Junoon. Chalo Awaz to Samajh main ata hay but Sajjad Ali!

Jannu! The song isnt Wadda Sayeen. IT is Sayen. The word Wadda sayeen doesnt come in the song!

Ali, main nay yeh kab kaha kay tumhara argument valid nahin? Valid hai…magar jiss nazaryay say woh argument valid hota hai, uss nazaryay ko main question kar rahi hoon. Ab samjhay?

And that is perfectly acceptable. I have stated my part as best I can and if you do not agree with it, I will not try anymore.

Since when did this turn into a battle of rights? Nobody is stopping you from defending your idol. All we are trying to do is make you realize that your idol is human and that he is fallible (i.e. capable of making mistakes).

When we are so totally taken by something or someone we are very tolerant of them. We accept their shortcomings even when we know, deep down inside, that they are wrong. We refuse to let them fall in our eyes because we need to look up to them. Unfortunately, realizing their faults but still accepting and appreciating their good points is a part of growing up. (There, do I sound like a proper aunty now?

)

Aur haan…yeh kiss nay keh diya kay uchal kood main gaaliyan bhi hoti hain? I’ve done my share of uchal kood at concerts…and in fact, still do it and will continue to do it…but you will never find me swearing in the midst. Nor will I ever equate having fun with being able to utter profanities.

Yep, it’s me. I thought it was unfair to sit here and comment.

The sad part is that people are so blinded by their love that they cannot see right from wrong. I wanted to chalk it up to the age factor but that wasn’t fair cuz I know 16 year-olds that don’t appreciate such language either. Oh well.

“None are so blind as those who won’t see.”

I also dropped an email addressed to Salman inviting him to come and respond to the discussions. Pata nahin koi asar hoga kay nahin but I had to do it to keep my own conscience clear.

Here’s what it said:

[email protected]
PLEASE URGENTLY DELIVER TO SALMAN

Salman, Salams!

Hope you are well.

I have recently joined the Junoonie Discussion forum to participate in a thread pertaining to your group’s recent performance in Dallas.
The whole thing has been prompted by thread that is active in my bulletin board that can be found at www.gupshup.org in the Image Gallery where a die-hard Junoonie has posted his praises and pics of your concert in Detroit.

The bone of contention is the language that you are alleged to have used in Dallas. Apparently you made a profane comment and the entire community has been in an uproar. In the interest of preserving your reputation and that of the best band that Pakistan has ever produced, I hope that you will seize the opportunity to turn a bad situation into a good one by making some sort of statement on the matter.

For your convenience I have provided the links to both threads:

URLS listed here

As a Junoonie myself, I urge you to not let us down.

Regards,

Muzna Khan

jannu,

See you at the narrow-minded uncles and aunties ISNA convention.

Lol! Muzna ji!
Shukar hay aap thori thandi hui! As for deep inside me I think Salman is wrong. I dont think so. I am a simple man! Whats inside is outside. Salman might come an even apologize but I still dont think it is wrong!

Why is there a rating system for movies. Because if there is strong language in movies dont bring your kids! hahaha! Maybe its a bad example comparing junoon with an pg 13 rated movie. But it gets my point across.

If you dont want your Children hearing about "karr saki aaj tak mujhay koyee shaarab, aaj ak mera naa hua eemaan Kharaab", dont come to the concert.

Maybe its because I was brought up in a Punjabhi " khuli Dulli" family, gaaliyan pyaar say dena is alright! Lekin I do not feel at all that Salman has to apologize for anything neother that he has done anything bad!

On a lighter note!
Muzna ji aap kahain to aap kaa bhi obsessive fan bann jaoon main! lekin afsos Anhoka UK aap ka body gaurd ho gaa! And meri khoobe thukayee karay gaa! lol! PS aap ki chooriyaan waisay ki waisay meri cupboard main sooni parri hay!

Originally posted by Muzna:
** Aur haan.....yeh kiss nay keh diya kay uchal kood main gaaliyan bhi hoti hain? I've done my share of uchal kood at concerts...and in fact, still do it and will continue to do it.....but you will never find me swearing in the midst. Nor will I ever equate having fun with being able to utter profanities.

Ali, please, meray sar koi kam zimaydari nahin kay tum “obsessive fan” ban ja’o. Main bahot ghaltiyan karti hoon aur yeh nahin chahti kay unn sab ka asar tum par honay lagay.

Main yeh soch kay hi khush hoon kay meri chooriyan tumharay paas pari hain. Rakhay raho, dekhtay hain kay zindagi kaunsay mor par la kar humain milaati hai.

Yup!
Muzna ji! A copy of all emails are sent to Salman, Ali Brian and even the manager. I am sure Salman will get the message, just the matter of time when!

Waisay lol! Pak.org say aap ko koyee paisay to nahi mill rahay? I mean trying to attarct Salman to post here! He could have replied on his own website!

And as for the entire community being in uproar! Puleez! Jannu kay ilaawa bhi kayee Pakistanis gaye thay concert parr. My relatives didnt complain! they were bitching about the gora gaurds but not Salman.

ufffffffff! How much I love humble women! I think I have a tear in eye! sniff! Sniff! lol!

Originally posted by Muzna:
**Ali, please, meray sar koi kam zimaydari nahin kay tum "obsessive fan" ban ja'o. Main bahot ghaltiyan karti hoon aur yeh nahin chahti kay unn sab ka asar tum par honay lagay.

My response as posted on juooni site:

**Wow,
look who decided to drop in !! my attempt to get you to respond worked. I knew that you would read the replies to ure post, out of curiousity if not any other reasons.
Whether you would reply to them however, would depend on how threatened you felt by the comments. It looks like they did the intended damage

Like said earlier, doing it for alibeta. He got me here. I am also simulcasting over the other site to give the other junoonis an opportunity to butcher me. I will post their comments here in a bit. Like I said, thank alibeta. Btw, junoon knows him.

My main complaint against your post was that you said that you would not respond to it. Contradicting what you stated, you did… congratulations on your new found courage. My opinion of you has just gone up a notch ( if u care ).
Ab sharminda na kareiN.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Mr. Ahmed ran away ? i like the way you are trying to twist the situation around..
These guys, do a show, have fun and then leave…it is the same everywhere they go. It is the way things are done all over the world …no one waits around saying…
i know..lets all have a town hall meeting where we can vote on the things we all liked and didnt like…

Maaloom hai, yaar. Un ki party thi show key baad. Aur phir unki flight thi subha meiN Toronto kay liey. Agley din unka Toronto meiN show tha. Mera yeh kehnay ka matlab yeh nahiN tha keh who log show key baad meiN intezaar kartey feed back ko. Agar aisa hota to meiN yahaN kiuN ata jab keh meiN unko itna jaanta nahiN hooN aur na hi mujhe koi khaas baat lagti hai in meiN. Yeh mera zaati khayaal hai.
this is totally different compared to a FORUM ! this is a place where people come to EXCHANGE views and communicate with each other.
No one says, ok listen to what i have to say…and then when its ure turn to speak, i will bury my head in the sand.
So ure attempted comparison is seriously flawed…kinda like comparing apples with oranges so to speak.

I am talking to Junoon here. Either in person or via another mechanism. I am talking to junoon here via the web.
>Your forum, your site. Do as you please. They came to my city and did something and ran >away. I should also expect to do the same. Wouldn’t you agree?
o…k…i dont know what ure perception of this forum is, but it is MY FORUM as much as it is URES !! there is no restriction on who can post…
I dont own this site, and neither do u, i dont see how dallas is URE city either,
most of all i dont see how it matters.

Dallas is my city by the fact that I live there. If I were to be living in Karachi, my birth city, I would call Karachi my city. This is the perception I have.

> But I reacted to the group. Not to you for you to react to me.
hold on buddy…by the same twisted way of thinking, junoon did not respond to u, they responded to some security guards…so why are U reacting to the group ?

Their response directly touched thousands. I don’t believe that’s twisted way of thinking. Like my responding to them is affecting you.

i mean, cmon yaar, u are under no obligation to respond to me if u dont feel like it…and neither is junoon obligated to respond to u..
i decided to defend Salmans conduct, and you decided to respond to me…plain and simple.

Exactly, they responded to the mgmt. and I got the hear their comments. They are not obligated to respond to me? Why say things that they want to when there are thousands of people around. Yes, they should appologize.
As a poster said on pak.org:
“I have little respect for someone that will ignore the amount of influence he/she has on the masses and will behave in manners that are totally unacceptable. And yes, this includes using profanity in a public environment. Though you may consider it minor, this type of behaviour on the part of someone like Salman can have immense impact on the group’s popularity.”
>Hugh? I belief you are just joking here. We are Pakistani so I guess you have me lost on >your statement.
sure, u are pakistani, no one said u werent. i was just referring to the fact that these ‘morals’ etc. u were trying to uphold etc. etc. are mere perceptions of what
u BELIEVE them to be… thats ok, everyone has their own unique view of things.
BUT, u have never experienced living in pakistan, so if i were to take a bet on whose values etc. were closer to a REAL and up to date with pakistani societies, then i would bet on someone who has lived in pakistan !!! not someone who THINKS he knows what they should be like.
…as Sayonee has already pointed out, you have taken in upon yourself to uphold this obsolete concept of morality that only exists in ure head..

Morality changes? I have grown up as a Muslim, an average Muslim in the country you call “The Great Satan”, but I know that, go to this extent, the Quran tells us what morality is. People change not morality. Morality has been defined for us itll the day of judgement. That will not change. You know it and I know it. It’s just a matter of our level of faith, understanding, and accepting it that ultimately decided of much of it we implement.

take a chill pill and learn to live a little. No one is encouraging kids to swear, or anything of the sort.
I will add a comment here from one of our beloved guppeis:
“I am not asking all this to belittle you. I am merely trying to make you understand that there are very simple ways to determine what is right and what is wrong. First there is this little voice inside all of us that tells us…if we manage to quash that voice, there are other voices, outside…like those of our mother and father, those of our most cherished elders, our respected teachers and alims. All these voices tell us what is right and what is wrong.
Trust me, you would not like to be referred to as an “ulla ka patha”, nor would your father appreciate it. Figure out for yourself why. I know you can.”
>If one is from a heritage and has been brought up with the same traditions, values of >that heritage then that person has a pretty good idea of what is right and wrong within >the context of those traditions and values.
I think this statement is WAAAY off, in the 60’s, blacks werent allowed to even go to the same schools as white kids in the USA…the land of the free etc etc.
who could have even imagined a girl wearing JEANS in islamabad or karachi till recently ?
60 and early 70’s In Iran, it was illegal, can u believe it ? illegal to wear a veil ( hijab ) and now it is illegal NOT to!
the point is, things change really fast…and if u think that over the last 30 years, things have remained the same in pakistan then i rest my case..
u have a good idea of what values and traditions and customs were like 30 years ago…that much i agree.

I guess you are right. But, is it? So, you want to be like the westerners. While we in the west strive to hold on to our past. I guess you present a very interesting argument here.

**>And that is not considered bad for a child of this age to say something like >this!!!

I am sure you are saying that just for the sake of saying this . . . like a ‘up yours’ >comment?
it is, bad to say it…kinda like “darn” in america…ure making a really big deal out of nothing dude.**
This indicates the depth the society has sunk to. I seriously doubt it. Next time you are in a party with ladies, children and old folks try getting on the mike and say this profanity. If is it nothing and has no meaning in your society then so be it. I have then treaded on the wrong ground.
>Yes. And it does not sound, in this diction, coming from the mouth of a 3 year old. I >know. I have 5 children: 7 mos, 5, 7, 9, 12
listen, im not telling u how to raise your kids, but how long are u going to raise ure kids in a glass jar ?? they are going to experience the real world soooner or later..
they might as well experience it while u are still around to explain it to them.
if a 12 year old needs his ears covered when someone says ullu ke patthay then i think he will have alot of fun when he goes to college.

No, they are not living in a glass jar. My kids understand that if two guys hold hand they are gays, they know what french kiss it (have you used it or seen it or know what it is?), they know that the dick is a butt-knocker, they know how babies are made and not bought from a hospital, they fight and get angry and call each other ****in’ bitch. I take appropriate action on that.
>IT IS awsome that such a group has come out of Pakistan.
IT IS, awesome that such a group has come from pakistan to open up peoples minds to new and exciting things…we cant live in the 70s forever ..
people and attitudes change, and i am glad that junoon is there to accelarate the process.

I wouldn’t know what you are talking about here. Don’t know them to see what they are opening peoples’ minds to.

last of all,
i dont see why u get offended at some people having fun at a concert !

No. What’s the use of going to a concert if you can’t have fun.
does it offend u to see a random couple holding hands on the street ?
There is an age at which thing should get exposed. Holding hands is fine. We do it.
they do their thing and u do ures…some people dance at concerts and some people are busy covering the ears of their kids…
I haven’t seen anyone who covers the ears of their children. Mr. Ahmad is a public figure and when he comes on to the stage and demeans himself he can make a difference in the minds, attitudes, and behaviors of people. What he says on the stage carries far greater meaning then intended. Just because he said just a thing does not make it acceptable to the point that we forget that it is a profanity that you wouldn’t use to describe others infront of your parents.

no one is forcing u to participate in this ‘behuda’ activity.
It’s not behuda. You are taking it the wrong way.

most of all, HOW are 100 odd people dancing in a hall endangering people ??
i dont think anyone has ever been hurt at a junoon concert due to dancing ..

like why get insurance….right? How many times have your gone out on the road and gotten hurt. Things have a way of happening. Laws and regulations are made to ensure they don’t happen in the future. If they don’t, great, but what if?

and u know what ? there is a reason for it too…its perfectly safe..trust me, i have done it many times and am proud of it.
Do u seriously think that any band would like to see their fans get hurt ??
what does junoon gain out of a few fans dancing ?? money ?
NO…people are there to have fun, and as long as they do so without infringing on anyone elses right to do the same in a safe manner, then i think it is GREAT !

As long as the function is being held on someone’s property who wants to apply the existing laws and regulations then how can you say they are wrong? The band is not responsible for the safety of the fans. The hotel is. They are on the spot for this. And they are going to make sure that things go according to the existing policies and procedures.
seriously speaking, it is a judgement call, and junoon ( in my opinion rightly so ) allow their fans to dance and express themselves…
if anything were to happen then they would be responsible because they incited the behaviour.
just enjoy the show and let the organizers / management / junoon worry about the safety issues…i think they are more experienced than u ever will be.

Like said, if anything were to happene, in the U.S., Junoon will be responsible but the hotel is the property owner and they have the ultimate right to ensure the safety of others including the band. A guy had managed to climb on the stage during the show. Police escorted the guy out of the hall.

A reply by another Junooni to Jannu’s arguement! Bare in mind this isnt me. But another fan of Junoon!

Shamain
New Junooni

USA
17 Posts Posted - 08/08/2001 : 16:11:53

Alibeta: first off, I would like to thank you frm the bottom of my heart for defending JUNOON to this uncle!!!

to this demented ‘Jannu’ character: you must be some 60 yr old geyser. What Salman Ahmad said about the stupid security was absolutely right and I would have said worse if I was him. I commend him for it. At a Junoon concert, you don’t sit in your daym seat like you do at a freaking mushaira!!! They call this country ‘the land of the free and the home of the brave’…HA! what a crock of **** dat is!!! They do not excercise the given freedom to them and to us…why develop a structure, a document by which to run the country if you won’t go by its principles???

2ndly, you do not know how to truly appreciate the energy and vibrancy of Junoon. When Ali starts singing and dancing on stage, a surge of electricity goes thru my body and I am sure a lot of other pplz as well. They can’t help but dance up a storm!!!

It was the stupid organizer and the sponsors who don’t know crap about what venue should have been used. What good is to have them perform at some gay-ass theater??? That’s where plays are acted out, not where concerts are done!!! you say that Junoon should have known where they will be playing…how would they know??? do they live in Dallas??? dumbass Rehan S. has been listening to Junoon, attending their concerts for some time…and he should have known that Majestic is an awful place for their concert!!! Hez the loser. He didn’t do his research and you are draggin Junoon thru the mud??? what the hell is wrong w/ you, old man!!! wake up frm ur time warp!!! Rehan S has no sense whatsoever. His brain power only goes in trying diff. types of drugs and new ways to woo girls and aunties live on air. He doesn’t know JACK**** about organizing concerts!!! He needs to learn something frm the guys of SHOR! When they brought JUNOON, it was at Bronco Bowl where the youth could dance and have fun.

Since you are a buddha uncle, why did you even come? you think ur all dat by buying a VIP seat??? God mann! ur as dumb as they get!! if you was a real Junooni, you would have bought tikits to the balcony seats and danced in the front liek the rest of us smart ppl. You shoulda kept ur sis in law at home as well. Why da hell did she come all the way frm London if she can’t appreciate JUNOON??? She don’t know when great tantric, rythms hit her.
As for your kids, you should have left them w/ a babysitter. Salman A. is a very friendly and intelligent man. And he is all about promoting peace and love. He is agnst those who are stupid and void of all reason in their thinking. He is agnst the oppresors and ppl who down them for no other reason than coz they used foul language to make a pt becuz the security would not listen any other way. What the concert security did to the general public was unquestionably wrong and if you can’t see that, then you are freakin blind!!! There was no justice in their action.

Next time when Junoon comes to Dallas, they will perform in a club and I will be the first one to make sure that you and your relatives don’t come. As far as your kids are concerned, I hope they are not ignorant like ur sorry ass. I hope they have the sense to appreciate these creative artists known collectively as JUNOON.

My fury knows no bounds…

Cos’ the fearful always preyed upon your confidence
Didn’t they see the consequence?
They pushed you around…
The arrogant build kingdoms made of the different ones
Breaking them till they’ve become just another crown
And I have felt the same..

Originally posted by desibeat at junoon site:
first of all being a junooni, hell my viewpoint is gonna be distorted.

all i gotta say is jannu jee, dont show ur 'ulloo de pathay walee shakal' publicly to junoonis........
im sure if any junooni ever got a hold of u, ud wish ur ABCD backside that ud spent ur time learning how to defend urself rather than reproduce like a rabbit.

yes, im freakin mad right now.... how do u do that mad emoticon.... lets seee...
, there we go.

ulloo ke pathay......... oh wait, did i make u cry??????? ULLOO KE PATHAY, now go running back to ur mommy.

now that the niceties r outta the way........

how dare u diss our idol salman bhai....... if he said something, hell hes important enough to be listened to. who gives a rat$ a$$ about what u think? u shouldnt have been there in the first place........ go to some punkaj udhas ghazal concert where u can sit n twiddle ur thumbs but hell if its junoon, u should expect ppl to get up.
if u wanna shield ur kids from all this then why take em out in public? ghar mai choorhiyaan/burka pehna kar betha do, that way theyll grow up to be quite bold n strong and will be able to deal with the world im sure.

anywayz, ill come back when ive cooled down a bit, right now i cant even think constructively so most of my post probably doesnt even make sense.

first of all being a junooni, hell my viewpoint is gonna be distorted.
all i gotta say is jannu jee, dont show ur 'ulloo de pathay walee shakal' publicly to junoonis........
im sure if any junooni ever got a hold of u, ud wish ur ABCD backside that ud spent ur time learning how to defend urself rather than reproduce like a rabbit.

Hmmm. Just to douse your anger, wife and I don’t ‘get down to it’.
ulloo ke pathay......... oh wait, did i make u cry??????? ULLOO KE PATHAY, now go running back to ur mommy.
How old are you, chanda? If you are really pissed like you said earlier and I deleted your statement: Why not tell me what I can do to my mother and sister? Desis are very good in telling each other to f*** their mothers and sisters, right? Part of our culture. No use in denying it. You are a Pakistani, right? So, let me hear you say “maader …” and “behen …”. I don’t know if there is a word of such love for a father….never heard it before. But then I haven’t lived in Pakistan.
now that the niceties r outta the way........
how dare u diss our idol salman bhai....... if he said something, hell hes important enough to be listened to. **
O.K. so, now you understand me. Thank you.
*who gives a rat$ a$$ about what u think? u shouldnt have been there in the first place........ *
I don’t want your teeny weeny a$$. You are giving me your rat$ a$$.
**go to some punkaj udhas ghazal concert where u can sit n twiddle ur thumbs but hell if its junoon, u should expect ppl to get up.

You know, I prefer Gagjit singh.

if u wanna shield ur kids from all this then why take em out in public? ghar mai choorhiyaan/burka pehna kar betha do, **
No, just so that you don’t have parents kinda makes it difficult to make you, someone borned from a donated sperm in a petri dish, understand the role of a parent. I won’t even bother with it.
**that way theyll grow up to be quite bold n strong and will be able to deal with the world im sure.

They will. And they’ll grow up knowing what’s right and wrong. Will they follow the right path? That’s up to Allah (sbwt)
anywayz, ill come back when ive cooled down a bit, right now i cant even think constructively so most of my post probably doesnt even make sense.
O.K.

**to this demented ‘Jannu’ character: you must be some 60 yr old geyser. **
Not
**What Salman Ahmad said about the stupid security was absolutely right and I would have said worse if I was him. I commend him for it. **
There are regulations in place. You are talking out of emtions. You live here, you know better then this. I don’t think work. I think that Junoon would have to enlighten us what they agreen upon, how, and what changed. I would think you have more sense then this to just errupt without thinking.
**At a Junoon concert, you don’t sit in your daym seat like you do at a freaking mushaira!!! **
No disagreement.
They call this country ‘the land of the free and the home of the brave’…HA! what a crock of **** dat is!!! They do not excercise the given freedom to them and to us…why develop a structure, a document by which to run the country if you won’t go by its principles???
I am sorry but I don’t get your jest here.
**2ndly, you do not know how to truly appreciate the energy and vibrancy of Junoon. **
No, you are correct. I don’t even know how old this band is.
When Ali starts singing and dancing on stage, a surge of electricity goes thru my body and I am sure a lot of other pplz as well. They can’t help but dance up a storm!!!
Good and I am glad. May they move the planet when the guitars twang, the drums explode, and Ali rocks.
**was the stupid organizer and the sponsors who don’t know crap about what venue should have been used. **
You are absolutely correct but partly. When the tour is organized, months in advance, lot of things have to clicks. It is a very difficult thing to manager. The halls are sometimes booked a year in advance. So, unless you know something about organizing shows like this it is hard to comprehend the complexities of organizing such events. The junoon show in California was cancelled, as I recall, recently because some of the band members couldn’t get tickets.
**what good is to have them perform at some gay-ass theater??? That’s where plays are acted out, not where concerts are done!!! **
You are. That was the whole problem. Everyone is saying that.
you say that Junoon should have known where they will be playing…how would they know??? do they live in Dallas??? **
No, I didn’t say that. They do have to respect the property managers’ policies and regulations. Those can not be, and will not be by the property managers, sidetracked for the sake of the concert.
dumbass Rehan S. has been listening to Junoon, attending their concerts for some time…and he should have known that Majestic is an awful place for their concert!!! Hez the loser. He didn’t do his research and you are draggin Junoon thru the mud??? what the hell is wrong w/ you, old man!!! wake up frm ur time warp!!!
I don’t believe your have read my comments properly. The blood in your eyes is distorting your view. Please wipe the froth from your mouth…don’t be so angry.
Rehan S has no sense whatsoever. His brain power only goes in trying diff. types of drugs and new ways to woo girls and aunties live on air. He doesn’t know JACK
about organizing concerts!!! **
Well, you remember the josh 2001 concert? We went to it. Very well organized. Can we ask him what the cicumstances were for him not to book the same hall again? His website does not have a chat board so I’ll call him and ask him.
He needs to learn something frm the guys of SHOR! When they brought JUNOON, it was at Bronco Bowl where the youth could dance and have fun.
See my comment above. Josh 2001 was organized by Desimasala at this venue. I didn’t like it. It was in a gang area, not good for families. Glad there weren’t any shootings or knifings.
**Since you are a buddha uncle, why did you even come? you think ur all dat by buying a VIP seat??? God mann! ur as dumb as they get!! **
Nice. Shift your mind to the first gear then talk. You are trying to go nowhere very fast.
**if you was a real Junooni, you would have bought tikits to the balcony seats and danced in the front liek the rest of us smart ppl. **
No. We had heard that they were the best band in Asia. So were glad to go. Like I said, it was well worth the money.
You shoulda kept ur sis in law at home as well. Why da hell did she come all the way frm London if she can’t appreciate JUNOON??? She don’t know when great tantric, rythms hit her.
Let me say it again: . Shift your mind to the first gear then talk. You are trying to go nowhere very fast. You need to re-read my statement again. She is the first junooni I had seen personally until the show started.

**As for your kids, you should have left them w/ a babysitter. **
No, we don’t go anywhere where kids can not go. We are not Americans.
**Salman A. is a very friendly and intelligent man. And he is all about promoting peace and love. He is agnst those who are stupid and void of all reason in their thinking. He is agnst the oppresors and **
I guess. I’d have to see it.
**ppl who down them for no other reason than coz they used foul language to make a pt becuz the security would not listen any other way. What the concert security did to the general public was unquestionably wrong **
What is your basis for saying this? There were doing their job. They threw out a guy for climbing on the stage during the show. Didn’t they try to protect the band?
and if you can’t see that, then you are freakin blind!!! There was no justice in their action.
Think about what you are saying.
Next time when Junoon comes to Dallas, they will perform in a club and I will be the first one to make sure that you and your relatives don’t come.
You can’t stop us from come and enjoying the shows. Something that we feel keeps us connected with the land of our fathers. As long as I am alive, I will remain a Pakistani. I do not guarantee my children will remain as such after we are gone.
**As far as your kids are concerned, I hope they are not ignorant like ur sorry ass. I hope they have the sense to appreciate these creative artists known collectively as JUNOON. **
I am trying to do that, don’t you see.

Now, smile………… They don’t pay my bills and they don’t pay your bills. Why get so strung about someone like this then? Very very interesting, indeed.

Originally posted by Wow on junoon site:

I don't understand a few things from you Uncle Jannu.. You claim that you were offended by the comments of Salman... Well I hope you know that we teenagers and adults are not the only ones that log onto this forum... My brother and his friend, for example, are 12 and 11 years old respectively... The comments that you have made in the previous few posts don't seem to be too encouraging on the basis of morality.... Performative contradiction.... I do think so...

Now about some comments you have made.... One argument that you seem adamant on is that Junoon should not have provoked dancing becasue the venue was not suited for such "a problem". I am sory sir but I find this pretty hard to comprehend.... What hazards are we talking about... Fire hazards.... Health hazards... What dancing is going to cause a fire to start... or cause people to have a heart attack... Or is it just that there was not enough room... I personally don't think that there is a huge problem if you dance in a concert hall which has seats. Ofcourse it is more preferable for an open area to exist but seats do exist in most of the concerts I have been to and although people don't get as crazy as they do with Junoon they still dance... I mean I don't understand what the major problem is... The only reason dancing wasn't permitted in Miami, until Junoon defended us and instructed the promotoer's not to stop us, was that the VIPs were having a difficult time watching the show... If that is the problem... I am sorry.... Junoon never cares about such an issue and never will..... That is why they have such a following of crazy diehard fans... I remember that concerts in Pakistan have been cancelled by Junoon because the management had a special VIP section and prevented people from dancing.... Even if the concert hall makes it difficult to dance due to the presence of seats, I don't think restricitons should be placed.... No one if forcing you to get up and dance... Everyone is on their own account....

You have also stated that since Junoon is a Pakistani sufi rock band they should not encite the audience to get up and dance.... Sir I don't see the connection..... We junoonis don't think that since Junoon is a Pakistani sufi rock band we should listen to them like the Sabri Brothers (by the way I really liked them, I am just making a point).... There is no classification under which dancing should be allowed or not.... It's just whatever moves you to the occassion... For us, Junoon's music is just as enticing as the Rolling Stones, U2, or the Beetles....

Lastly the response you gave in defense of Awaz... The reason I say that you can't compare Awaz to Junoon is because they have never nor will ever be as popular... People live and die for Junoon, that never was the situation for Awaz... I am not claiming that they are a bad band... I personally like many of their songs... But their is no comparison... You are probably unaware of this and I don't blame you... You have only seen these groups from the perspective of the American audience... We junoonis in the US are nothing compared to the devotion that is given to them in Pakistan and India... 40,000 people in New Dheli to attend their concert...!!!! I am not criticizing anyone but Awaz never had that support... Also the music of Awaz was mellow and Pop oriented... Junoon is pure rock group... And to put such as restrictions as were put in Dallas, Miami, and Atlanta is pathetic... I understand that this is the fault of the promoters.... But we junoonis are not going to pay the price for the ineptitude and mismanagement...

*I don't understand a few things from you Uncle Jannu.. You claim that you were offended by the comments of Salman... Well I hope you know that we teenagers and adults are not the only ones that log onto this forum... My brother and his friend, for example, are 12 and 11 years old respectively... The comments that you have made in the previous few posts don't seem to be too encouraging on the basis of morality.... Performative contradiction.... I do think so... *

And correctly so. I appreciate your observation. Like Mr. Ahmed, who has also shown "Performative contradiction" based on comments I have read on his character, I am a human being. Push me, really hard and I might forget the nicer curses in urdu. Am I not a human being. Keep lashing out and don’t try to understand a point of view. You all are so blind in their love that you are loosing the sight and understanding of what’s right and wrong. We are not like the westerners. We are Pakistanis and more then that Muslim. That is the fact under which we live in the west. This is our daily struggle from Europe to America to Canada. Living in the west is no walk in the park. Everything we eat, everything we do, we have to be, or majority of us, have to be aware that none go against our beliefs and Islam. Are Juoon greater then Allah (sbwt) and the Prophet (sws) that today we are defending someone’s derogatory remarks on the basis of their popularity. Is this the ……. Never mind.
Now about some comments you have made.... One argument that you seem adamant on is that Junoon should not have provoked dancing becasue the venue was not suited for such "a problem".
No, I said they should have recognized the conditions of the place. There were requested to ask the audience to remain seated. In halls of other types, this is not a problem.
** I am sory sir but I find this pretty hard to comprehend.... What hazards are we talking about... Fire hazards.... Health hazards... What dancing is going to cause a fire to start... or cause people to have a heart attack... Or is it just that there was not enough room... I personally don't think that there is a huge problem if you dance in a concert hall which has seats. **
This is property owners’ call based on city, state laws and fire marshall’s regulations. There is also the safety of the band involved, more so. For anything to happen, the property is liable since they provide all security which is part of the agreement.
Ofcourse it is more preferable for an open area to exist but seats do exist in most of the concerts I have been to and although people don't get as crazy as they do with Junoon they still dance... I mean I don't understand what the major problem is... **
You are absolutely correct. I have been saying that as such. The organizers are at fault here. Everyone recognizes this much. I would love to go to next junoon concert and would have much more fun if the venu is an open park. Now that would be awsome.
*The only reason dancing wasn't permitted in Miami, until Junoon defended us and instructed the promotoer's not to stop us, was that the VIPs were having a difficult time watching the show... If that is the problem... I am sorry.... Junoon never cares about such an issue and never will..... That is why they have such a following of crazy diehard fans... I remember that concerts in Pakistan have been cancelled by Junoon because the management had a special VIP section and prevented people from dancing.... Even if the concert hall makes it difficult to dance due to the presence of seats, I don't think restricitons should be placed.... *
If junoon had let their conditions known then they should have said so. I have said that before.
**No one if forcing you to get up and dance... Everyone is on their own account....

This is not the issue here.
You have also stated that since Junoon is a Pakistani sufi rock band they should not encite the audience to get up and dance.... Sir I don't see the connection..... We junoonis don't think that since Junoon is a Pakistani sufi rock band we should listen to them like the Sabri Brothers (by the way I really liked them, I am just making a point).... There is no classification under which dancing should be allowed or not.... It's just whatever moves you to the occassion... For us, Junoon's music is just as enticing as the Rolling Stones, U2, or the Beetles....
I never said that. They showed disregard to mgmts. request to ask people not to come to near the pit.
Lastly the response you gave in defense of Awaz... The reason I say that you can't compare Awaz to Junoon is because they have never nor will ever be as popular... People live and die for Junoon, that never was the situation for Awaz... I am not claiming that they are a bad band... I personally like many of their songs... But their is no comparison... You are probably unaware of this and I don't blame you... You have only seen these groups from the perspective of the American audience... We junoonis in the US are nothing compared to the devotion that is given to them in Pakistan and India... 40,000 people in New Dheli to attend their concert...!!!! I am not criticizing anyone but Awaz never had that support... Also the music of Awaz was mellow and Pop oriented... **
I don’t care are Awaz. It’s the only other band I know since they came to Dallas 7-8 years ago, hence, my mention of them. You are taking my attempt here to directions I am not going into.
**Junoon is pure rock group... And to put such as restrictions as were put in Dallas, Miami, and Atlanta is pathetic... I understand that this is the fault of the promoters.... But we junoonis are not going to pay the price for the ineptitude and mismanagement....

The mgmt. has the last word on how the safety regulations are to be applied. It falls upon Junoon to ensure that they have agreements on paper and can show that to the mgmt. when they are told otherwise. This is normal business practice. If they are giving/getting verbal agreement, they don’t count, even under the sharia.

**nd as for the entire community being in uproar! Puleez! Jannu kay ilaawa bhi kayee Pakistanis gaye thay concert parr. My relatives didnt complain! they were bitching about the gora gaurds but not Salman.

No, no one had problems here with the guards. Place was jam packed. That's not the experience we had in Dallas.

My closing remark on the site:

Well, guys, it’s been nice talking to you. I understand where you are coming from. Everything you said I’ll accept but will not accept profanity…this was such on stage infront of thouands of peoople. Say what you will but a wrong can not be righted by the groups poplarity. This shows that we are willing to give up our morals and beliefs for anyone who becomes popular enough.

You guys carry on. I hope Junoon rocks the world but when it does it does in a manner where people have fun and cherish each experience.

Good luck to you all and my best to Junoon for helping to raise the name of Pakistan around the world and in the western media.

I am back on pak.org…my adda. Kisses and hugs.

Rock on

Khuda Hafiz

Wow, my head is spining. Thanks to all who gave me moral support. Though you guys did not say anything, my heart felt it.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

Back to work. Can you imagine I have done all this from work in between …hell I worked in between the replies.

jannu, is scratching his head…how to show the days work and two hours left…this is junoon’s fault…damn…oops. Jannus looks at alibeta to see if he is trying to read my mind, hmmm.

Oh Gawd!
Now Sajjad Ali and Awaz are being compared to Junoon. Chalo Awaz to Samajh main ata hay but Sajjad Ali!

Sajjad Ali has the voice to sing. He can really carry a tune.

Jannu! The song isnt Wadda Sayeen. IT is Sayen. The word Wadda sayeen doesnt come in the song!

O.k. Thanks. This is what I remembered. Haven't heard it since the show. I think that was a good song.

Looking at some of the cut-and-pastes from the other site, I am glad we have some decent moderators on Gupshup.

I am looking at the way some 'Junoonis' choose to express themselves, and I am shaking my head. All jannu did was to put forward his honest opinion which incidently criticizes their demi god. Its no wonder their idol said the things he said. To each his own.