Junoon in Detroit

Juoon was in Dallas a few weeks ago. We went to the show. Didn't know about Junoon that much...just that they have been described as one of the top bands from Pakistan. We were able to find from prime seating (50' from the stage). The warm up was a South-Asian fashion show by a local fashion company. The show started at around 2130 hrs. and ended with Jazba-e-Junoon song at 0000 hrs.
I must say that this was one of the best desi show I have ever seen. I had heard of some of the songs and the one I liked the most was something like 'wadda saaiN'. I heard that song first time on the radio while on the way to the show. The whole family had just a great time. I guess we'll go and see them next time they are in town.

I also heard yesterday that the lead singer has been selected by the UN to head a committee on AIDS or something like that (Sorry, I am not into music so I never remember singers or their intimate details). I think that's impressive but qurious as to what he would/could do in his new-found role.

Don't think Junoon will be invited to Dallas again or atleast by the sponsors who got them here. Their show lasted less then promised. They didn't want to come out on time. A stipulation by the Hall's mgmt was that there be no hallway dancing. Desi organizers told Junoon about this and asked that they tell people during songs to go back to their seats if they came up by the stage to dance. Well, the guy on guitar began to ask if people here understood urdu. Then, in short, he began to say how much freedom was in Pakistan and how they could not dance in this hall if they wanted to. He said that "in ullu kay paThoN ko pata nahiN kia problem hai..." meaning the American non-desi mgmt.

The local organizer gave them a below satisfacotry rating on this point over the radio. The hall was full of families.
The guy on the guitar is an A-hole not the mgmt. who had people's safety in mind.

He managed to piss off a lot of people who had gone with wifes, dauthers and kids. I was there with all my family and I actually looked at my kids at the point when this guy uttered the profanity to see what they were doing or looking at. I was hoping they didn't hear that. I don't know. Kids have sharp memories.

I don't know if this guy or the lead has been selected as ambassador to UN on some AIDS committe. Funny. They should found someone with some education to head a position at UN.

janaab Jannu saheb! Great that you enjoyed the concert. But I didnt appreciate your comments about Salman Ahmed. I dont know how old are you. But Junoon is not the tyhpe of music that you could enjoy sitting down with a bunch of auntis. Listening to there music you just have to let go yourself with flow of there music.

Whenever Junoon arranges a concert. they have these certain Shartain they fax to the managment who is responsible of arranging the concert. One of the Shart is that people should be allowed to get up and express themselves and dance around if they want to in the mosh pit waghera. Thats what Junoon's music is about! And thats why they are here! The management first accepts there terms and then backs out when they start performing, complaining about the fire marshall being strict about such things waghera. As they have already collected the money from the people now and people are stuck to watch the show. This wasnt the first show in Dallas that this has happened. As a matter of fact this isnt the first venue this has happened. I have seen the same situation in DC and Houston too.

As for Junoon not coming out on time. Its the sponsors who send the rides late! Its not junoon, I know that for a fact in Detroit The limo was sent 45 mins late! An the band was waiting for it in the hotel. I mean the band cant walk to the venue right?

As for the Guy on the Guitar you mentioned. Lagta hay aap ko Pakistan say niklay kaafi arsa ho gaya hay, as That guy is Salman Ahmed and he is as Pakistani as one can be! He is aware of his values his Pakistani heritage and his culture. You might be offended by the word uloo ka pathaa but it takes alot to provoke Salman! Salman is a God fearing Banda. And I am sure it must have taken alot to say such words. As for Salman's education. He was a doctor by profession till he took up music! And baat sunay UN mujhay aur aap ko Ambassador bananay say rahay. I am sure they must have checked his back ground before giving him such an honour!

Pehli baat hay Junoon is a concert for youngsters. Narrow minded Uncle and Aunties like you if you dont like this musis. Why spend so much money in going? Just sit at home and watch Zee TV or something!

But Junoon managment is taking care of this problem now and the next tour in October I have heard wont be under idiots like the organizers in Dallas but now the concerts will be held in places with no seats like dance clubs waghera!

I hope Jannu saheb you understand now. I would suggest if you are family man and dont enjoy dont go to such concerts. By calling Salman an idiot you can offend some die hard fans like me and others!

Salaam

Originally posted by jannu:
**Don't think Junoon will be invited to Dallas again or atleast by the sponsors who got them here. Their show lasted less then promised. They didn't want to come out on time. A stipulation by the Hall's mgmt was that there be no hallway dancing. Desi organizers told Junoon about this and asked that they tell people during songs to go back to their seats if they came up by the stage to dance. Well, the guy on guitar began to ask if people here understood urdu. Then, in short, he began to say how much freedom was in Pakistan and how they could not dance in this hall if they wanted to. He said that "in ullu kay paThoN ko pata nahiN kia problem hai..." meaning the American non-desi mgmt.

The local organizer gave them a below satisfacotry rating on this point over the radio. The hall was full of families.
The guy on the guitar is an A-hole not the mgmt. who had people's safety in mind.

He managed to piss off a lot of people who had gone with wifes, dauthers and kids. I was there with all my family and I actually looked at my kids at the point when this guy uttered the profanity to see what they were doing or looking at. I was hoping they didn't hear that. I don't know. Kids have sharp memories.

I don't know if this guy or the lead has been selected as ambassador to UN on some AIDS committe. Funny. They should found someone with some education to head a position at UN.

Alibeta: I went to the junoon concert and sat in the VIP section. We enjoyed the show. My sister-in-law was here from London and she is a great fan of theirs. She couldn't stop talking about the guys, what they did, what they are, and such. I learned in the days leading up to the concert that there are some die-hard fans of theirs or they sounded like it on the call-in segments on the radio. The hall was packed. To me that was surprising see such audience for a Pakistani show. Junoon doesn't have the singing talent but I found their lyrics to be good.

Dancing around in the mosh pit and such: I don't believe that's correct in a closed hall. There are safety issues that must be kept in mind. But the selection of the venue was not Junoon's problem, it was organizers. Everyone here felt the organizers selected the wrong venue to begin with. But it was a question of finance, halls' availability, and timing. As for mgmt. backing out after accepting the conditions: well that's easy to contest. The organizers or the band can back their conditions if they are on paper and were accepted.

You might be offended by the word uloo ka pathaa but it takes alot to provoke Salman!: So you concur that he does not know his limits, time and the place. The fact that he said it is enough. He is a public figure as a famous singer/player for those who know him. Does that give him the right to say such things and, as the radio announcer said, having said such thing he showed that he will do just a fine job of representing Pakistan.

We are not narrow minded, like you said. We go to as many shows as we can afford to go. This was the 2nd show we went to in two month. First was the Josh 2001 that was on tour. Oh, I don't have ZTV.

concerts will be held in places with no seats like dance clubs waghera!: Everyone in Dallas complained that knowing the popularity of the show why wasn't the show in open air theater? I think a lot depends on the organizers and it's up to the local population to express their like or dislike for them to change in the future.

As for calling S. Ahmad an idiot: I don't know if you have any relations but we are talking about a singer, no more no less. The guy, as you said is a educated and a doctor, had a hard time accepting that people can't be dancing in the isles for safelty reasons vs. his desire that they do. Doesn't that sound ironic to you that as a doctor, more so, he places lesser value on the safety of his audience over his wishes or desires? I think that is very ironic.

But in the end, we are talking about a singing band. Why get so upset? It is one thing to be a fan but to have such zeal to the point of taking it personally is very interesting to see.

I have nothing against you and nothing against Junoon. There are famous now for the time being. There were other bands that came to Dallas before like Awaz. They are only singers....don't make them out to be something they are not.

I am sorry, for disappointing you and hurting your believes. I did not intend to do that, seriously.

Why are we engaged between ourselves regarding people that are not part of our lives? I am sorry but I am at a loss to understand this.

As to you inquiry: I have never been to Pakistan except once in 1982 for two weeks.

you know januu,
you should let the band/salman know where you stand on this.

cuz i think you have some pretty valid points ..

Consider it done. I think I will paste my previous post there…verbatum. Don’t wanna re-write it.

Well, just did it. Pasted the last 3 posts on their website.

This is my closing remark;
Well, folks; I don’t know who’s gonna read it from Junoon. But they need to remember that their shows are not attended just by young bachelors. Families also come to see them. There has to be some level of decency and mannerisms that have to be shown pertinent to our culture and traditions. Hell, I left Pakistan 30 years ago and I am saying this! These guys live there… is there an irony in this? I think so. You guys can carry on a discussion on this if you like. I won’t be here to take part in it. Just came here to let my feelings known. Group is good but they can’t be emulating the western bands and acting like that while showing disregard for their own culture and mannerisms. Am I hacked? Hell yeah! If they have the audacity to stand and cuss infront of women and children then I have a right to voice my feelings

Jannu bhayee these were the two replies that you got on junoon;s website! I would have replied myself. But I am just going to assume that the age difference between us is to much and thats the gap between our two complete different thinkings!

talwaar
Inquilaabi junooni

2 Posts Posted - 08/08/2001 : 03:34:52

Well mr. Jannu,
I would love to take your post apart piece by piece, as would a ton of other junoonis i am sure. It is full of self-righteous bulls*** and contradictions.
BUT, there is no point because you claim you will not be here to read follow-up posts. What a cowardly act !
you light up a fire and then run as fast as you can…if you dont see the problem, then it doesnt exist…yeah sure lets not talk about it…

lets all just make one quick post and run away..
No-one is denying you have a right to have your voice and opinion heard, SO DO WE !
If you cannot stand to hear it, then i suggest u take ure whining some place else. You have the audacity to try and tell people who actually LIVE in pakistan what is acceptable by pakistani society, while you live in the USA ??
Let me ask you something, u have spent a grand total of 2 weeks in pakistan…what puts u in a position to make judgements on what is acceptable in pakistani society ?
my friend, things have changed since 30 years ago, do yourself a favor and take a trip to pakistan when you have the time…
every 3 year old kid who can barely string together a sentence knows what ullu ke patthay means, and he will probably even tell you that it means absolutely nothing derogatory!!!
do you have any idea what its translation is ? or are you just assuming ?

actually, i dont even see any point in replying to a coward like you…clearly you don’t care about our point of view and only want to express your feelings without taking any input from us.
my friend, issues are only resolved through 2 way dialogue, not stupid… one off outbursts like yours.
come back when you have the courage to…and we shall discuss your ‘issues’.

wow
Die Hard Junooni

USA
18 Posts Posted - 08/08/2001 : 04:33:47

well Mr. Jannu: (even if your not here your soul will be torn apart on this forum)

first of all… I don’t understand why you don’t understand one thing… Junoon is a rock group.. Rock groups == sitting down and watching.. I don’t think so… Let’s look at the rock concerts that happen here in the US. Is anyone sitting in a U2 or Bon Jovi concert… NOOOOOOOOOO… Junoon is the same thing… Granted they are not as internationally popular.. but for us desis they are definitely of an equivalent value… As for your comments on Salman Ahmad’s profanity… Well, I don’t know how to address the issue… First of all his comment can’t be described under the word of profanity… I mean, you left pakistan 30 years ago… You could walk down the street and here the instructor in a school say that comment… It is just like saying “God damn it” here in the states… And if that offends you… I don’t know… Then you shouldn’t be going to concerts at all… Just go to morality lectures all day and night… Secondly, I am sure that Salman’s comment was humouously intended… That is how Junoon is…Interaction with their fans… Ali made fun of the crowd here in Miami in a somewhat similar fashion.. Everyone took it lightly because it wasn’t anything seriously offensive…

Next, don’t say that Junoon started the show early… They don’t make that decision… Hell, as far as I know.. they don’t even decide when they stop performing.. the city curfew does that…

one more thing… Please don’t ever compare Junoon to Awaz… you don’t know what your saying…

Junoonis all the way!

Another reply by a junooni for Jannu…

Well, yeah… if Salman said 'ullu key…" then they must be “ullu key…”! He must have been really really upset.
I think sometimes people get regressive when they go to live abroad, they get mummified in some century they left their country in and think that’s how everyone should be and become self-appointed guardians of some strange archaic and obsolete morality. It happens with a lot of Indians… and I guess with all nationalities whose culture clashes in many ways with another.
I feel quite bad for Mr Jannu… he must be covering his kids eyes and ears all the time… in America which isn’t exactly The Holy Place.

O.K. I am going to junoon site. I am not a music expert. I will do what I know and understand. See 'ya there…aligator…

So how come nobody from the band is replying to some legitimate allegations/concerns?

** My reply to Talwaar:**

Well, it’s not the matter of not seeing the problem to belief there is none. It was more of a letting it known to the same degree we were let known. Am I incorrect in saying this? Mr. Ahmed did not wait around, nor did we have access to him to present him with our sentiment. To say it as such, Mr. Ahmed ran away so there was no problem.

**lets all just make one quick post and run away.. **
Your forum, your site. Do as you please. They came to my city and did something and ran away. I should also expect to do the same. Wouldn’t you agree?

No-one is denying you have a right to have your voice and opinion heard, SO DO WE !
Yes, you are absolutely do. But I reacted to the group. Not to you for you to react to me.

If you cannot stand to hear it, then i suggest u take ure whining some place else. You have the audacity to try and tell people who actually LIVE in pakistan what is acceptable by pakistani society, while you live in the USA ??
Hugh? I belief you are just joking here. We are Pakistani so I guess you have me lost on your statement.

Let me ask you something, u have spent a grand total of 2 weeks in pakistan…what puts u in a position to make judgements on what is acceptable in pakistani society ?
If one is from a heritage and has been brought up with the same traditions, values of that heritage then that person has a pretty good idea of what is right and wrong within the context of those traditions and values.

my friend, things have changed since 30 years ago, do yourself a favor and take a trip to pakistan when you have the time…
We have had a, as limited to time and extent of knowledge and experience, lenthy discussion on this topic on pak.org. Let me back track and agree with you that Pakistan is not the same country it was in the early 70s. No, I think you would be right in your statement.

every 3 year old kid who can barely string together a sentence knows what ullu ke patthay means, and he will probably even tell you that it means absolutely nothing derogatory!!!
And that is not considered bad for a child of this age to say something like this!!!
I am sure you are saying that just for the sake of saying this . . . like a ‘up yours’ comment?

do you have any idea what its translation is ? or are you just assuming ?
Yes. And it does not sound, in this diction, coming from the mouth of a 3 year old. I know. I have 5 children: 7 mos, 5, 7, 9, 12

actually, i dont even see any point in replying to a coward like you…clearly you don’t care about our point of view and only want to express your feelings without taking any input from us.
Not from you. From the band.

my friend, issues are only resolved through 2 way dialogue, not stupid… one off outbursts like yours.
Matter of perspective and understanding.
come back when you have the courage to…and we shall discuss your ‘issues’.
I am here, huzoor-e-aala. Farmaaiye. Amrika meiN rehenay ka matlab ye nahiN hay keh hum apni rasm-o-riwaaj bhool jaaeiN. Pakistan chhoRay huay zamana hogaya hai. Dil abhi bhi Pakistani hai. Meri aulaadoN ko bhi maaloom hai keh who Pakistaani heiN. Mujhe Junoon say koi bair nahiN. UnhoN nay kuch kia au us the reaction yahaN community meiN paida hua. MeiN sirf ek shakhs hooN jis nay kisi gheraai meiN is cheeze peh tazkara kia. Na yeh group humaari rasm hai, na rawaj hai, na mazhab hai. Gaaney waghair hum bhi suntey heiN lekim bahaisiat-e-musalmaan humaisha ek khayal rehta hai dimaagh meiN keh in fuzuliaat say behtar hai keh insaan kalmah paRta rahay….kamaz kum qabar meiN to jaaiga who apney saath. Lekin yeh meri soch hai. Aap ki apni. Hum log apas us key liey jazbaat paida kar rahey heiN jin ka humaari zindagioN meiN, ghar peh koi asar nahiN paRta.

Don’t have any issues. Will go see them again when there are in town. I think they are good to watch and with the recognition they carry, as I have heard on the radio, I think IT IS awsome that such a group has come out of Pakistan.

[This message has been edited by jannu (edited August 08, 2001).]

I have to agree w/ Jannu here. "Ullu ka p---"is still very much considered a "gaalii" amongst families in Pakistan, and that is why you and I do not (hopefully) use this word infront of our families. Yes, it is quite common to say it w/in a group of friends but that's about it. Tearing Jannu aprt w/ criciticizm cuz he unfortunately has not had a chance to visit Pakistan in 30 yrs is not fair. I am from Pakistan and visit Pakistan as much as possible and believe me you cannot use this gaalii as casually as most of you Junnonie fans are making it out to be.

And if Salman is as (formally)educated
as he is, then he needs to demonstrate it in his actions as well, specially now that he is infact a UN selected Pakistani spokesman. You find out t/ real person during stressful and challenging times as to how much a person gives in. Yes, we have problems w/ organizers (not t/ first time and unfortunately won't be t/ last time either) but we need to learn to cope w/ them in a more mature attitude instead of dishing out "gaaliis" on t/ mike.

T/ comeback that all of you have had so far" dont go to see Junnon again cuz you are old" is again unfair and very immature. Jannu has said he is a Pakistani and wants his young kids to understand and relate to Pakistani (pop)culture, and I am glad that he won't let this barrage of immature insults from die hard Junnoonies let him stop enjoying himself or his family from what is obviously a good Pakistani rock band.

And yes we do need people who work well under pressure and NOT curse in public every time things don't go as planned. If Junnon can find a way to do that great, if not, it is not only sad but xtremely dissappointing that their concerts are sumthing parents would disccourage thr young teenage kids from.

I wouldn't call these Allegations Muzna. I am sure Salman Ahmed used the so called "profanity". Which according to me isn't profanity. But I respect Jannu's beliefs and understand him as a parent not wanting his kids to hear such things.

But what I am saying is fine! Dont take your kids to a rock concert! Junoon isn't a family oriented show! Its a concert! No place for Narrow minded Uncle and Aunties. If you are going to complain! Just dont go!

As for the Band members not replying. Come on Muzna ji! Do you think they have so much on there hands to come on the forums? Ali Azmat I have never seen him on the forum. BRian has come like once. Salman occasionally shows up. Interacts with the fans. He hasnt been on since before the Chicago concert. If he had I am sure he would have replied to Jannu's concern. But all junoonis are part of Junoon! I think every true Junooni will defend Salman Ahmed (lol! Sometimes even Ali Azmat) if he is being critisized for no apparent reason!

Originally posted by Muzna:
**So how come nobody from the band is replying to some legitimate allegations/concerns?

Not only in Pakistan but I know families abroad who don’t use this word at all coz they understand what it really means. It goes for all different kind of gaalis as they don’t have any good meaning.

It is wrong approach to say that if you are living abroad then start a “nanga naach”. If we can’t stop it then at least we can feel that it is bad in our hearts.

Originally posted by AliBeta on behalf of Wow on junoons site:
well Mr. Jannu: (even if your not here your soul will be torn apart on this forum)

first of all... I don't understand why you don't understand one thing... Junoon is a rock group.. Rock groups == sitting down and watching.. I don't think so... Let's look at the rock concerts that happen here in the US. Is anyone sitting in a U2 or Bon Jovi concert... NOOOOOOOOOO... Junoon is the same thing... Granted they are not as internationally popular.. but for us desis they are definitely of an equivalent value... As for your comments on Salman Ahmad's profanity.... Well, I don't know how to address the issue... First of all his comment can't be described under the word of profanity... I mean, you left pakistan 30 years ago... You could walk down the street and here the instructor in a school say that comment... It is just like saying "God damn it" here in the states... And if that offends you... I don't know... Then you shouldn't be going to concerts at all... Just go to morality lectures all day and night... Secondly, I am sure that Salman's comment was humouously intended... That is how Junoon is...Interaction with their fans... Ali made fun of the crowd here in Miami in a somewhat similar fashion.. Everyone took it lightly because it wasn't anything seriously offensive...

Next, don't say that Junoon started the show early.... They don't make that decision... Hell, as far as I know.. they don't even decide when they stop performing.. the city curfew does that...

one more thing... Please don't ever compare Junoon to Awaz... you don't know what your saying...

first of all... I don't understand why you don't understand one thing... Junoon is a rock group.. Rock groups == sitting down and watching.. I don't think so...
Interesting concept…. adapted to urdu songs! Urdu rock songs…. Hmmm. Aren’t they sufi band? I thought they were. My mind is trying to comprehend this. In my mind they are grouped together with qawalis, naats, religious song, hamds. That’s how I am looking at it.
Let's look at the rock concerts that happen here in the US. Is anyone sitting in a U2 or Bon Jovi concert... NOOOOOOOOOO... Junoon is the same thing... Granted they are not as internationally popular.. but for us desis they are definitely of an equivalent value... **
I agree. But it was a different situation. I agree with you. The hall management told them such and he pushed back in an uncivilised manner. The hall was for oper with plush velvet recliners. People were standing on top of the handrests doing the bhangRa but that’s not their problem. The issue was safety for which the hall is responsible for and they WILL enforce city ordenances and mandetory fire codes. Again, this was an oversight by the local organizers over which Junoon had no control. But that fact that they failed to understand the situation showed lack of respect to the local ordinances and, as such, for the safety of those enjoying the show. This is an issue here for if there was a disaster, or something of that nature, there would have been a stampede and all those at the front would have scrambled over each other to run to save their lives.
*As for your comments on Salman Ahmad's profanity.... Well, I don't know how to address the issue... First of all his comment can't be described under the word of profanity... I mean, you left pakistan 30 years ago... You could walk down the street and here the instructor in a school say that comment... It is just like saying "God damn it" here in the states... *
Not acceptable by any school’s code of conduct. Check it out. Ask the dean. This is considered harassment. Verify it for yourself.
*And if that offends you... I don't know... Then you shouldn't be going to concerts at all... Just go to morality lectures all day and night... *
Interesting. It happened once. I haven’t seen it happen in any of the shows I have been to in the last 15 years. I don’t get your point.
**Secondly, I am sure that Salman's comment was humouously intended... That is how Junoon is...Interaction with their fans... Ali made fun of the crowd here in Miami in a somewhat similar fashion.. Everyone took it lightly because it wasn't anything seriously offensive...

They talked, they interacted with the crowd. The lead singer got the crowd to sing along. It was very lively. People were standing on their seats. It was a sight to see for a Pakistani band.
Next, don't say that Junoon started the show early.... They don't make that decision... Hell, as far as I know.. they don't even decide when they stop performing.. the city curfew does that...
I haven’t heard of a curfew here. You might be right. They may well be one. We have been to shows which have gone past mid-night. You could be right.

one more thing... Please don't ever compare Junoon to Awaz... you don't know what your saying...
No. One Pakistani band vs. another. Only to point out that Junoon is the fad today but won’t be forever. Awaz was one but don’t know if they exist. They came to Dallas about 7-8 years ago. Same scene. Sajjad Ali came with them. He sang that Chief Saheb song. That was the best Pakistani song I’d heard until Junoon’s ‘Wada saaiN’. Will go to the shops to see if they have a cassette or cd of theirs that has this song. I was amazed to hear that song. Heard it once on the radio on the way to the show….the show was promoting the group to Dallas to rev up the public. Then I heard the song live. Man, I had to keep my eyes closed and concentrate to really go with the flow of the song.

Well, yeah… if Salman said 'ullu key…" then they must be “ullu key…”! He must have been really really upset.

That’s the whole point. Here’s someone’s comment on this who said it a bit better then I would:

Not only in Pakistan but I know families abroad who don’t use this word at all coz they understand what it really means. It goes for all different kind of gaalis as they don’t have any good meaning.
It is wrong approach to say that if you are living abroad then start a “nanga naach”. If we can’t stop it then at least we can feel that it is bad in our hearts.

**I think sometimes people get regressive when they go to live abroad, they get mummified in some century they left their country in and think that’s how everyone should be and become self-appointed guardians of some strange archaic and obsolete morality. **

See above

**and I guess with all nationalities whose culture clashes in many ways with another. **

Now you get the point. It is a battle that of us fight. To keep our cultures, our traditions, and our values going. It’s a fear that we all have that one day will come when these will go by the wayside. But we know it. It’s just a matter of time.

**I feel quite bad for Mr Jannu… he must be covering his kids eyes and ears all the time… in America which isn’t exactly The Holy Place.

Thanks, really. And no, to your second point. My kids know stuff already, well more then I did. But then every generation is like that. While growing up our parents knew more then their parents. So, it will happen in the future.

Originally posted by AliBeta:
*I wouldn't call these Allegations Muzna. I am sure Salman Ahmed used the so called "profanity". *

You are sure....I was not. I didn't witness it so I am compelled, in fairness, to consider it an allegation. Salman isn't here to defend himself and I would hate to peg him guilty without the benefit of doubt.

You will notice that I also used "concerns"...and that is precisely to me, what they are.

*Which according to me isn't profanity. But I respect Jannu's beliefs and understand him as a parent not wanting his kids to hear such things. *

You clearly contradict yourself. If you don't consider the phrase profanity, then why do you understand jannu not wanting his kids to "hear such things". Obviously you believe that "such things" are inappropriate for a public setting.

No place for Narrow minded Uncle and Aunties.

Ali, does having respect for appropriate language make one narrow minded? Does it make you an uncle or an auntie? Well, in that case, count me as a narrow-minded aunty.

I have little respect for someone that will ignore the amount of influence he/she has on the masses and will behave in manners that are totally unacceptable. And yes, this includes using profanity in a public environment.

*As for the Band members not replying. Come on Muzna ji! Do you think they have so much on there hands to come on the forums? *

Yes Ali, I do think that they have that much time. And if they don't then their PR people should have that much time.

Though you may consider it minor, this type of behaviour on the part of someone like Salman can have immense impact on the group's popularity.

I think every true Junooni will defend Salman Ahmed (lol! Sometimes even Ali Azmat) if he is being critisized for no apparent reason!

I disagree. Every Junooni will not defend Salman Ahmed when Salman Ahmed is wrong. I resent the fact that you would reduce all Junooni to such a shallow and biased position. I know of some die-hard Junoonies that, upon finding out about this incidence, will be, rightfully, outraged at Salman's behaviour.

All things aside Ali....tell me this. Would you use such language in the presence of a lady or children? Let alone ladies and chilren with whom you are not acquainted? Would you be comfortable presenting yourself as such a crude individual, lacking the manners of how to behave in a public setting? I doubt it.

If you are in the very least inclined to say yes, you would, then let me extend the question a bit. Would you feel proud of using such language in the presence of your mother? Would she approve? Would she be proud of her accomplishment?

I am not asking all this to belittle you. I am merely trying to make you understand that there are very simple ways to determine what is right and what is wrong. First there is this little voice inside all of us that tells us....if we manage to quash that voice, there are other voices, outside....like those of our mother and father, those of our most cherished elders, our respected teachers and alims. All these voices tell us what is right and what is wrong.

Trust me, you would not like to be referred to as an "ulla ka patha", nor would your father appreciate it. Figure out for yourself why. I know you can.

Muzna! Itna time nahi mere pass kay main pass kay main fazool behes karoon! I dont think you have a valid arguement and you think the same about me!

All I have to say it is difference of opinion! Whatever definition you give of a junooni. I still I think that him being an idol to me and many others! I should have every right to protect what Salman has to say!

If he says something that I dont appreciate. I would be the first to contradict him! Once again I would like to say that fine if you dont want to be open about such things and protect your so called "heritage" dont come to such concerts! The uchal kood Junoon does, isnt also a part of culture! Just dont go! As I said just head to the ISNA convention or something. Simple!