junaid is really quitting music(dawn)

Well dawn usually give authentic news..
One more thing I dont understand , according to dawn there is one more album of junaid jamshed , Sadaf, is to be released after muharrem, maybe its same as dil ki baat with different title name..daayom this is saad.

No more juanid..No more Vital signs.. Well I’m happy for him , he chose the perfect path..May Allah bless him..

http://www.dawn.com/2002/03/23/nat20.htm

LAHORE, March 22: Pop singer Junaid Jamshed announced here on Friday he was going to stop singing to be a preacher. Speaking at a press conference, he said he had been thinking about it for quite some time. Now, he said, he had finally made up his mind.

He said the way people, particularly the youth, idolzed celebrities had been a factor in his decision. Recently, he said, some young people, who had started by learning the Holy Quran by heart, had told him he had inspired them to seek careers in music. “This compounded my guilt,” he added. He said he hoped to inspire more people as a preacher than he had as a singer.

Mr Jamshed told newsmen that his last album, Sadaf, would be launched after Muharram. He said this might require some appearances on television or in public. He also said his family supported his decision. “They are a religious-minded people,” he explained. “I was the only exception.”

I wanted to kill the coolest person on Earth. Then I learned that there were laws against suicide

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited March 23, 2002).]

I dont know what hes doing... A few days back I saw his interview on ARY digital and Nadeem (the host and famous filmi artist) asked him that he was going to Raiwind and there were rumours he was quitting music, and Junaid clearly indicated that he was not going to quit music and described his ambitions to reform the Vital Signs...

Yes, I think its true, read it in the morning paper (Gulf News) and it says:

Well-known pop singer Junaid Jamshed has given up singing to become a cleric. He surprised his fans by declaring the art of singing as "un-Islamic".

Junaid, who had formed a band of his own, shot to fame with the patriotic song "Dil, dil, Pakistan, Jan, Jan, Pakistan" and has done numerous stage shows at home and abroad. Some of his songs have been instant hits.

His announcement cast doubts about his future, but he clarified that he is not going to associate himself with any of the groups of preachers.

"I just read poet philosopher Allama Iqbal and (historian) Ibne Khaldun and I came to the conclusion that music has played a dominant role in destroying civilisations and the culture of a society. I have, therefore, decided to give it up," said Junaid.

Almost two years ago, he abandoned jeans and sports shirts in favour of shalwar kameez. He sports a beard now.

Love All

Uh-oh... Now what about those certain people who have based their lives on being jj fans... and based their views on junaid's views. I can already feel the tears and the wierd replies ahead in the thread by a certain few individuals. :)

spock you are right about his appearance and his comments regrading his dedication towards islam and music but I belive for the past years he was just double minded whether to leave music or not and I think he finally made up his mind.

Nobody can replace JJ, he has this beautiful voice that will be missed by so many of his fans..

DAwn also mentioned he is gonna release his last album SADAF after muharrem? lil hard to belive that he just released dil ki baat...

are you looking for a fight?.meet me outside the gupshup lobby!..I will kick your lil A@@

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited March 23, 2002).]

Well, this guy has double standards or is double minded. One day, he goes to raiwand, and the very next day, he sings and dances at a concert. Hopefully, this time, he has finally made his decision.

Joker

Originally posted by ammarr:
Uh-oh... Now what about those certain people who have based their lives on being jj fans... and based their views on junaid's views. I can already feel the tears and the wierd replies ahead in the thread by a certain few individuals. :)

The Game Responds:

*Muwahahahha....... You are in for some arguments now ammarr boy...good luck. People, That Is All.*

Whatchya gonna do,brutha, when the ARTIST-mania runs wild on you?

Does this open doors for the famous Alibeta to become the new JJ?

Time will only tell

I just dont know. Sherrybaba! Achi khabar nahi sunayee aap nay. Jab ki yeh post parhi hay, I haven't been able to concentrate on anything.

Khare I am just hoping this isn't true. I remember putting an article from a Pakistani newspapers a few weeks back where it said the same. But a few days back Junaid said that these are just rumours and he wont quit music. He also said on the Nazia Hassan tribute concert that he is working on a Vital Signs album right now.

When I met Junaid bhayee last year, I did bring this thing up. He replied very beautifully saying that his Music and his Deen are two very important things to him and he doesnt let one get into the others way.

Lets see. Time will Tell what happens. I know for a fact that when he started Kurtaa Corner back 3 years ago. He wanted to give up his music career and he has come up with two albums after that.

Insha Allah I am go to be working on this. I am going to email Salman bhayee about this and also talk to him about this in the upcoming Junoon tour. As I know Salman bhayee has a lot of influence on Junaid's singing. Perhaps people who have Junaid admires like Shoib Mansoor and Imran Khan can perhaps have a talk with Junaid bhayee.

I just confirmed with people that this news was in papers throughout Pakistan.

I am trying to get a hold of BAdar Saheb Junaid's manager to get a word on this!

[This message has been edited by AliBeta (edited March 24, 2002).]

Well he was invited at one of my friends house and he told him the same.

Lets see whats he going to do.

“WheRe iS tHe **JusTice oF **PoliTical **PowEr iF iT eXecutes tHe murdErer and jAils the plUndeRer, And thEn itSelf marcheS* upon neighb*Oring laNds, kilLIng **ThousanDs anD **PillaGing tHe veRy **Hills *?!** ”

It is confimed!
Badar saheb just emailed me. Junaid has really left music.

I still have some doubts... These doubts arose after I saw his interview on ARY digital... At that time he never said he was considering leaving music, he just said that going to Raiwind made him understand the importance of having faith or praying. He talked about his new album and like I said before mentioned the reformation of Vitals Signs (and explained why this happened; they got a huge pop at some nazia tribute concert, and they decided they owe the fans a reformation).

The question is, why have so many plans when you were thinking of quitting.

I also read similar news reports of JJ declarding that he has parted the music world in Urdu newspapers such as 'Jang' about two months ago, those were false. The question remains, is this true? Afterall, Dawn is more credible than those Urdu papers.

ALIBETA are u also a member of the Junoon forum??

MashaAllah...SubhanAllah...he did the right thing by quiting music...

May Allah (swt) bless him and help gunnah-gaar people like me to give up listening to music and appreciate the teachings and beauty of Islam (Sum'Ameen)

Pakistan Zindabad!

well i hope he has taken a final decision now, as he has been doing it for long, jab bi dekho music cjorne wala hota hai, well if he has done it for the sake of Islam, then achi hidayat mili hai, n Insha Allah he will be given the ajar and also feeel personally relaxed!!!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

Will he be denouncing all the music he has made so far? And will he be preaching to his fans NOT to buy any of his albums?

Will he come out and say, "please dont buy my albums..what ive been doing was against Islam", or will he continue to profit from them?

actually, Junaid's album has still not been released in Pakistan Akif. He said he will be giving a few appearnaces aftre this as he is obliged by his cotract.

As for denouncing his music. I dont think he left music because he though music was wrong. He left because singing didnt seem right to him anymore. Lets see though, I still have not been able to get a word out of Junaid out of this. LEts what and see.