Hi, I am abour to get married and will be living with my in-laws. Though, I am quite flexible, am still very nervous n scared to loose my or our ( as a couple)privacy. For those of you who are married, where did you move in? in the same house or a separate one? how was living with your in-laws?Which ones better?
Re: Joint family or not?
it depend on a family, if they are nice respects u go for it i luv to have elders around me but if they are selfish, disrespectful, then ur good on ur own...
It depends on what Cyme wrote plus the living conditions. If you have your own space in the house you're living in then it isn't too bad because you get your privacy. The few couples I know who live with their inlaws have a whole floor to themselves, either the basement or the upper level.
o'come on have u not seen mother in laws always interfereing in the married lives no matter how much pravicy u have,, thats what im talkin about it depend on type of people they are, ive seen good and bad,,
You're right and that's why I wrote
It depends on what Cyme wrote plus the living conditions.
i’d stay with my in-laws…![]()
i wouldnt wna be separate frm his family…purely because i think it’s so much better that u have company and it’s more fun ![]()
If i were u.. i would live with my inlaws.. Jo bee ho ghar main un ki waja say barkat hogee.. :)
^ agreed upon ![]()
oh my God, u allllll have made me feel soooooo much better.
I was a little apprehensive about whether to live with them or not. Frankly speaking, I like the ronaq part and no doubt, barkat buzargon ki wajah se hoti hai. It was just k I do NOT want them making decisions on my behalf. Waise I guess, the husband has to play a major role in this. If he is strong, things will be fine.
Thanks guys!!!
Well it really only depends on the family, and how they are. If they respect your privacy and ability to make decisions for yourself, then it's good. Any new living arrangement, whether with him alone, or with his family, will take adjustment and getting used to. Dun think of it as "me against them" but just something that changes..i knw it sounds so annoying, "why do I have to change"..but its not that big of a deal, I think..Anyway, unless ur inlaws are complete jahil paindus, then u shudnt have any huuuuge problems.
yaar, u know they all are very sweet, in fact too sweet. Sometimes I think if its too good to be true. Khair, maybe I am giving it a lot more thought than it deserves.
Chalo dafa karo, bismillah kar k chali he jaati hoon. My sixth sense says all will be fine.
laylaa, when is your wedding?
I can never comment on these threads cos i have no susral whatsoeva. Personally i think if the family r nice and they give u ur space it can work out but it takes a lot of compromise on BOTH sides.
yeah, i think the same too.
awww..how you've grown :D
Don't premeditate about your in laws (-ive or +ive). Give it a try, It may work out really well. As Sara said, don't think of this as "I vs them" or "I or them". Although this is your right to have a home but sometimes its good to not jump guns to get some rights from day one.
lol she has hasn't she...how marriage changes people....same people who r against joint families end up changing their minds once they meet their spouses family.
Meem, its towards April n May.:insha:
honi tu pehley thi but muharram or safar ki wajah se delay kerni parhi.![]()
In fact u and all the other guppies r invited.![]()
Have you discussed the living arrangements with your husband to be, or observed how the family reacts around each other wrt privacy, knocking before entering, and other things. You really should have a detailed discussion before marriage about how everything will work out.
i wud definately like to live my in-laws, i wish he have a big family with so many bro n sisters so we can arrange functions and so many weddings lolzzzz, plus i wudnt have to do much work at home :D