Joining Hindu and Muslim Icons in Art

By SOMINI SENGUPTA The New York Times
Today, Shahzia Sikander’s paintings are displayed alongside those of her onetime would-be mentor, Nilima Sheikh, in an exhibition inside the newly renovated Asia Society.

When Shahzia Sikander finished art school in Lahore, Pakistan, her hometown, she set her sights on going to India and studying with artists across the border, including an acclaimed painter named Nilima Sheikh.

Those plans were dashed when Ms. Sikander was denied a three-month visa. Switching gears, she came to the United States instead, enrolling at the Rhode Island School of Design in 1993.

Since then, the work of Ms. Sikander, 32, has attracted critical acclaim in New York City. And today, her paintings are displayed alongside those of her onetime would-be mentor, Ms. Sheikh, in an exhibition inside the newly renovated Asia Society.

Entitled “Conversations With Traditions: Nilima Sheikh and Shahzia Sikander,” the exhibition, which continues through Feb. 17, is a testament to the bonds and fractures of the life and art of India and Pakistan.

Ms. Sheikh who has lived in India her whole life, delves more explicitly into its politics. The 1947 partition, which broke the subcontinent into Hindu-majority India and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, forced her parents, who were Hindus, to leave Lahore for India. But Ms. Sikander, born in Pakistan a generation after partition, gobbles up the stories and symbols of every trend and tradition she has encountered on her own globe-trotting path, from Lahore to New England to Houston to Brooklyn, where she now lives.

Ms. Sikander’s medium is the miniature: the laborious, seemingly archaic (or in her words, anachronistic) art form that emerged 500 years ago on the subcontinent to depict the lives of kings, gods and courtesans-in-waiting. Her subjects, though, are anything but archaic. They are women without feet or turned upside down or big-hipped and multiarmed women resembling the goddesses of the Hindu pantheon but covered in iconic Muslim veils. Her pictures, in the vivid colors of the South Asian palette and full of whimsy and pluck, are as likely to include New York City “No Parking” signs or a daisy wheel of cowboy boots as the flying Garuda figures ubiquitous in Hindu mythology.

In “Gopi Crisis” a gaggle of top- knotted figures reminiscent of the milk maidens of Hindu iconography can appear against a delicate, traditional Persian landscape. Or as in a painting called “Uprooted,” a female figure wearing a single angel’s wing can be suspended on a lotus.

This is perhaps what is most striking about Ms. Sikander’s work: while the political divisions on the subcontinent are as deep as ever, her work is a deliberate and playful mix of Hindu and Muslim iconography, a mix of pop and revered symbols.

"For Shahzia to use Rajput Hindu subjects is to say, `I belong to the South Asian cultural tradition: this is mine,’ " Vishakha N. Desai, a senior vice president at the Asia Society and the curator of the exhibition, said of the Hindu court. “That flies in the face of where we are now.”

In some ways, migration to the West has made this possible; representations of Hindu mythology, Ms. Sikander said, were not popular in her native Pakistan. But in some ways, the eclecticism of her compositions also signals a return to miniature painting’s radical past. In many of the Mogul courts in India in the 16th and 17th centuries the heyday of the miniature Hindu and Muslim artists flourished and borrowed imagery and stories from each other.

In an interview in her sunny first- floor loft in Clinton Hill, Brooklyn, she offered an explanation of her own iconoclastic approach. “There’s so much mixing and borrowing between the two cultures that goes beyond the 50 years,” she said. “I’m attracted to that sort of hybrid. It’s closer to my own experience. You get to be several people.”

Besides, she added, “not to be boxed in, to be able to transcend boundaries: for an artist, it’s essential.”

The term miniature comes from the Urdu word minatura, meaning refinement. In Pakistan today, the miniature, whose sizes usually hover around 11 to 15 inches, is regarded as a form of high Islamic art.

Ms. Sikander grew up with miniatures everywhere. They were kitschy and omnipresent in the tourist bazaars. When she decided to study miniatures, her peers were shocked. Why, they asked, would she be interested in something so old-fashioned and uncreative? To study miniatures, it was thought, was to learn to imitate the old masters.

Ms. Sikander said her attraction to miniature painting surprised her as well. “I was really excited by the discovery,” she said. “There was so much potential for subversion. I could learn the language and talk back in it. I knew I had to master the craft in order to be creative.”

Ms. Sikander is a small woman with a small voice, and she chooses her words carefully, tending to speak in the difficult, high-brow language of the academy. For clarity about her work, she recommended reading an interview with the cultural theorist Homi Bhabha, legendary for the opacity of his writing.

Miniature painting is an arduous and labor-intensive tradition, one that demands nothing short of what she calls submission to the form.

Take, for instance, the smooth, translucent wasli paper customary to the miniature that she makes in big batches in her home. Three thin layers of acid-free cotton paper are pasted together with a homemade pot of wheat paste. Once dry, the paper is flattened and rubbed smooth with a shell. A pot of tea is cooked up to wash the paper and to give it its signature translucent, radiant surface. The paint itself is a combination of pigment and vegetable dye. The finest sable hair brushes are used for pinpointing detail.

“I was interested in an art form whose present was of the past” is among her favorite ways to describe the work.

“In the end, the gesture of painting becomes almost meditative, like a ritual,” she said.

Ms. Sikander has not returned to Lahore, where her family lives, since she came to the United States. The first few years, she said, she was too busy with work. Then her immigration application got swallowed up in the bureaucracy. Then just as she and her fiancé, Salman Kokkar, a Pakistan-born, Florida-raised business consultant, planned to go to Lahore to marry in November, the war in bordering Afghanistan had already begun. The wedding has been postponed for the moment.

Returning to Pakistan is not much on her mind. Unlike artists who regard themselves as exiles, Ms. Sikander says she is perfectly happy making pictures here. Indeed, as she is the first to say, here is where her work has won wide display, including at the 1997 Whitney Biennial, the Deitch Projects in SoHo, the Whitney Museum at Philip Morris and the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington.

“I can do what I’m doing anywhere,” she said.

“I can only call my experience here a pleasing dislocation,” she said. That’s what she called one of her earliest solo exhibitions.
http://dailynews.yahoo.com/h/nyt/20011226/en/joining_hindu_and_muslim_icons_in_art_1.html

I have seen the exhibit at the Asia Scoiety and it is wonderful. I would recommend anyone who lives in the NYC area or is visiting to definitely come and see the exhibit.

all these words are good sitting in usa or europe in india the bloody hindu govt recently had a handloom fair in delhi where muslim artist and others were asked to hold separate stalls according to thier religious beliefs

Originally posted by kabir:
all these words are good sitting in usa or europe in india the bloody hindu govt recently had a handloom fair in delhi where muslim artist and others were asked to hold separate stalls according to thier religious beliefs

can u provide a link for this news, kabir. BTW, delhi state is in hands of Cong.

Originally posted by ZZ:
** can u provide a link for this news, kabir. BTW, delhi state is in hands of Cong.

ZZ, I think Kabir is some ISI agent with a fake Indian Passport. I lived all my life in India and never heard of such $tupid thing.

He is too ignorant to know that such fairs are not organized by State or Central govts. These fairs are organized by different trade/Art/Cultural organizations.

Or maybe, Asif_k, you're a Bharati Hindu posing as an Indian Muslim on this forum for purposes only Allah is aware of.

Either way I know that Kabir is not an isolated case of Indian Muslims still disgruntled with the majority Hindu populace of Bharat.

At least one of my Indian uncles has similar views to kabir.... never discussed politics with any of my others.

which country treats its muslims minority
best: you can list #1 to #10

Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT:
At least one of my Indian uncles has similar views to kabir.... never discussed politics with any of my others.

what opinion ur uncle has? that central govt of india does jobs like arranging exhibitions of artisan's works and then they will force seating arrangement according to religion. please tell this story to anyone who has spent some time in india.

Originally posted by sambrialian:
Or maybe, Asif_k, you're a Bharati Hindu posing as an Indian Muslim on this forum for purposes only Allah is aware of.

Well, Allah knows the truth and thats what matters for me.

Either way I know that Kabir is not an isolated case of Indian Muslims still disgruntled with the majority Hindu populace of Bharat.

I dont think RSS/VHP/SS monk(ey)s represent majority of hindus. These monk(ey)s cant even win an election.

Kabir keeps showing his ignorance by posting such statements. You must be having Trade/Art fairs or Mushairas in Pakistan, is it organized by Central/State Govts ?

AK

Originally posted by sambrialian:

This shows how you guys think of a true Indian Muslim.
The problem in India is, Due to people like Kabir, the RSS/SS nut heads start using the opportunity created to exploit their political ends. Difference of opinion is the cornerstone of Democracy, but the Difference of opinion should not be to the extent of hating the country in which you are born and your entire family is staying. I am sure, even Islam does not allow that.

firstly, kabir has not given any news link to his claim, secondly govt. in delhi is not BJP, thirdly even if govt is BJP if can not force people to sit separately on basis of religion. it will be unconstitutional. someone who wants to do something like that has to get 2/3rd majority in both upper and lower house of parliament and change constitution otherwise such a legal order will not stand in court.

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** ZZ, I think Kabir is some ISI agent with a fake Indian Passport. I lived all my life in India and never heard of such $tupid thing.

He is too ignorant to know that such fairs are not organized by State or Central govts. These fairs are organized by different trade/Art/Cultural organizations. **

listen asif bhai you think iam a isi agent ?
i think either you are a imposter or if you are a indian muslim your blood has frozen to ice.
dont you remember 1992 did your family face the wrath of the mobs? do you remember how mr advani went on inciting hindus in his rath yatra? do you remember bal thackray on zee tv saying that shiv sena did not have its hands but its legs in the bombay riots and the hindu audience giving him a applause?
do you know how many muslim boys were shot dead by police in bombay? how many muslims were falsely framed in the bomb blast?
and now comming back to the topic this new item was shown on star news i have been trying to get the link .and this handicraft fair was held in delhi and the authorities had asked muslims and sikhs to keep separate stalls the moment i find the link ishall paste it.

Anyone in NYC check this out
http://www.amnh.org/exhibitions/meeting_god/index.html

American Museum of Natural History

MEETING GOD
Elements of Hindu Devotion
September 8, 2001 - February 24, 2002

Guest curator: Stephen P. Huyler
American Museum of Natural History curator: Laurel Kendall

** listen asif bhai you think iam a isi agent ?**

You keep saying that you are an Indian and then keep posting Anti-India mesgs. Why do you hate India the Country ? Your hate against Hindus is justified but it is not justified against India, the country.

*dont you remember 1992 did your family face the wrath of the mobs? do you remember how mr advani went on inciting hindus in his rath yatra? *

I remember living in fear in my own country, I remember everything those times have made me stronger.

** do you remember bal thackray on zee tv saying that shiv sena did not have its hands but its legs in the bombay riots and the hindu audience giving him a applause? **

Who cares about that A$$ Thackeray, he makes his living by making such statements. Tell me one thing, Can he win an election on his own even in a Hindu majority area in the country (outside Bombay) ? I dont think you are aware of those programs in Zee TV/Start TV. There is an applause button and all those who are there in the audience have to clap whenever that 'APPLAUSE' button flashes. I dont think you need to take 'AAP KI ADALAT' or 'JANTA KI ADALAT' that seriously.

i think either you are a imposter or if you are a indian muslim your blood has frozen to ice.

I am posting this article from JUNG in response to this statement of yours :-

Title: Respect For Other Religions
Author: Anees Jillani
Publication: Jung
Date: April 6, 2000
There lives even now a Hindu owner of a middle-sized Hotel in New Delhi who has a Muslim wife. She was married at the time of partition, was abducted, raped but later rescued by the armed forces. Her Muslim husband who had by then migrated to Pakistan was contacted by organisations handling repatriation of such women but he refused to take her back. She was lucky that she came across her present husband while living at one of the rehabilitation centers in early 1948. The young Hindu businessman married her and rescued her from the centre. He insisted that she could retain her religion. Wife of a prominent Pakistani was similarly abducted during partition. Many years later, she came into contact with a Pakistani who had gone to a tailor's shop in Delhi. Working almost as a slave and without any access to the outside world, she stitched her husband's name on a piece of cloth and secretly gave to the Pakistani. The latter managed to contact the husband in Pakistan but the husband, who had by then remarried, refused to have anything to do with her wife.

Karan Thapar, a conspicuous Indian Journalist, who recently interviewed General Musharraf on Door Darshan and who was given the general's tie for praising it, narrated another interesting experience in one of his columns. He was watching an open-air theater about the Kargil war (Indians have nothing better to do than harp on this theme for the past one year now) when he started hearing two Indian jawans disapproving of a scene. Two Pakistani jawans had been captured by the Indians and after a thorough interrogation, they were shown as criticising Pakistan, its leadership, and its military. The Indian jawans sitting in the audience, who themselves had participated in the Kargil war, told Thapar that such a thing can never happen. Jawans even of an enemy can never criticise their own country, military and its leadership. The Indian media, and even some of the senior Indian army personnel, can routinely be seen praising the valiant performance of some of our soldiers during the Kargil war.

The moral of the story from the above three anecdotes is that not all Hindu Indians are rascals and villains; and not all Pakistani Muslims are angels going straight to heaven via Lahore. Both India and Pakistan are big nations in terms of their populations; and thus comprise all sorts of people. If India has produced Bal Thakeray, then it also has Nirmala Deshpande who led a 36-member women peace mission to Pakistan from March 25 to 31. We all know of similar contrasts in our country. What, however, distinguishes Pakistan from India in this respect is the presence of a Muslim community almost the size of Pakistan living within India. It simply cannot be ignored in a democratic-cum-secular setup. I first visited India in 1985 and found quite a few Muslims still cheering the Pakistani cricket team in a match against India. Not anymore. When asked now about their plight in a Hindu-dominated India, they say that they are fine; worry about your own self. Most of them are more perturbed about the state of mohajirs in Karachi than Hindu-Muslim riots in India.

This is, of course, not to say that India is a perfect example of secular model in the comity of nations. Far from it. It is a country where forces preaching Hindutva are in power and where the Babri mosque was demolished on December 6, 1992. However, what goes to the Indian system's credit is the fact that the same Hindutva forces had to tone down their rhetoric and even their agenda to remain in power and win elections; construction of Ram mandir is no longer on NDA's (National Democratic Alliance's, of which BJP is a constituent) agenda and manifesto. The Indian premier himself called the day of destruction of the mosque the saddest day of his life and there are criminal cases pending against none other than the home minister himself for being involved in the destruction.

Since we have a selective memory, few would recall that some Pakistanis demolished many temples as a reaction to the mosque demolition. Have you heard of any Pakistani ever arrested for destroying those temples or attacking the Hindus? There is a BJP government in power in the state of Gujarat that permitted its civil servants to join Kuppahali S Sudarshan-led RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh); the state government justified its action on the ground that RSS is not a political but a cultural outfit. This permission led to such an uproar in the Lok Sabha and such condemnation by the print media that the BJP eventually bowed to public pressure and withdrew the authorisation on March 8, 2000. The above anomalies may not be written or talked about in Pakistan but the world community is not deaf, nor is it dumb. They see India as a Third World country attempting to maintain democracy and secularism; they all wish it well because this is the system that most of them also subscribe to. On the other hand, ours is a country which is gradually shifting into the hands of mullahs who talk of Islamic bombs and missiles and who wish to rule the whole world. What an irony because, at present, they cannot even rule themselves. They see India as a country where even the minority communities surpass the population of their own nations and then there is Pakistan where even a single conversion of a Hindu or a Christian is reported in all the major dailies, including the English ones.

We can no longer have it both ways. We cannot aspire to be a fortress of Islam and wish Clinton and Tony Blair to be our best friends. If we want to be Green Fortress, then we will have to content ourselves with Afghanistan's Mulla Omar and survive like Afghanistan. No one in the world is asking us to change our religions. Islam, in fact, is the second largest belief in many of the countries. All that the world asks us to do is to respect other faiths as well. It is not good enough to say that minorities enjoy full protection of the state. The minorities in Pakistan cannot vote with us; they cannot be elected with us; they cannot become ministers; they are almost non-existent in our armed forces and civil service and the judiciary.

Most important of all, we wish all of them ideally to convert to Islam for their spiritual salvation. I am not so worried about theirs as our own religion because our scale of corruption increases manifold just before Eid during the holiest of holy days in Islam.

AK

Of All the messages here ONLY KABIR ,& MAD Scientist are proven authentic MUSLIMS.RESt by there PROPOGANDA ,show very clearly the motive of having muslim nick when they are not TRUE muslims.Believe me there are muslims like NAQVI ,SIKANDER BAKHT ,& others who are in BJP which is Hindu Mahasabha Which was JAN SAngh.Like the terrorist group are accused of changing there name this BJP is a terrorist group who has changed its old name JAN SANGH of past communal riots to Hindu Maha sabha To BJP ,but who is listening???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

PLZ read my new thread ,the wailings moaning & groanings of minority muslim in SECULAR India worse than Islamic republic Pakistan or Islamic Republic Iran.BUT WHO IS LISTeNING???

Diamonds Are Made Under Pressure

Asif_K, please give the link to the article. I just read your post and it was just breath taking. Muslims must look to themselves before looking at others. As the article said those who destroyed the mandirs in Pakistan took actions against those who have nothing to do with the issues regarding the Babri masjid's destruction in India. There are many cases of intolerance and ignorance within ourselves.

Please provide a link. I'd like to send it to my Muslim email list. It is also good fodder for the western media by which they can mock the Muslims and prove the biggots that we are. I sure would like to inform some of my local media about this. Some, many, of us just need to be slapped in the face before we begin to realize our mistakes or shortcomings.

Thanks.

Kabir might not be a ISI agent,but he sure is a mentally weak person or one of those cowards who always blame others for their failure.

Originally posted by devil123:
Kabir might not be a ISI agent,but he sure is a mentally weak person or one of those cowards who always blame others for their failure.

iam a perfect indian muslim and a indian muslim who has learned the hard way when in wolves do as the wolves do
i have seen hindu mobs killing muslim woman and children .i have seen hindu policemen hand in glove with the shiv sena goonda
i have seen burning homes in bombay and when the helpless family asked for help from the fire fighters they were asked to go to pakistan.
if you think iam mentally weak and coward?
at least iam better than your hindu hriday samrat called bal thackray who has remorse after killing so many innocent muslims and a man who blamed ganpati for his wifes death
and your sindhi lk advani who went on inciting hindus against muslims in his rath yatra

[This message has been edited by kabir (edited January 05, 2002).]

Originally posted by devil123:
i have seen hindu mobs killing muslim woman and children .**

have u seen muslims throwing s*** on idols, going in temples, breaking idols and throwing on street (happened recently in udayagarh) distributing provocative pamphlets about hindu gods or even exploding time-bomb in a public talk in coimbtore mainly killing common people, let us know if u havent see any of above. it is only india that allows to act in this manner with majority.