Re: JI brands ‘Pakistan Idol’ an ‘obscene’ programme
The show can be made better on good Pakistani songs and a singer does not have to choose song like "yeh jo halka halka suroor hai"
Mehdi Hasan was a great ghazal singer but not so good playback singer and PD's comment was regarding his filmi songs.
oh really. Thats why we still remember his songs like:
and the list goes on.
Mehdi Hasan's voice was used on many Pakistani film heroes from Aalodin to Shahid. Though most suited on Muhammad Ali, his songs picturised on Nadeem, Shahid, Ghulam Muhuidin and others are still popular.
BTW, PD's statement that after 80s Pakistani film industry failed to produce good music is in itself a flawed statements, as we had then A Nayyar, AkhlaQ Ahmed to sing songs which were even copied in India. Our 90s saw a revival of Pakistan's melodious filmi music in movies like Jeeva, Sargam, Sangam, Ghoonghat, Dupatta Jal Raha Hai, Nikah, Jo Dar Gaya wo Mar gaya, ChooRiyan, etc. Even in last decade a few movies we produced had good music which included Tere Pyar main, Rukhsati, Muhabbatan Sachiyan, etc all had good music, even Khuda ke liye and Bol got hit songs.
These statements to degrade our own legends is baseless and still there are people who can come up with hundreds of filmi songs of Mehdi Hasan, Noorjehan and others which stood the test of time.
^Muqa bhai. these are the kind of people who live in a cave I wonder sometimes. ![]()
He WAS a great playback singer too. No question about it.
I don’t know anyone who knows even a little bit music will think otherwise.
But what can be done about those people who just want to bash and criticize. All it means there are people who who comment mindlessly if they have any. So be it.
His filmi songs sorry not my taste..
You guys are entitled to your opinion. Mehdi's voice and style more suited to ghazal singing.
His filmi songs sorry not my taste..
You guys are entitled to your opinion. Mehdi's voice and style more suited to ghazal singing.
That is your opinion. Fine.
But to use word 'pathetic' for him was showing lack of knowledge.
Where did I say he's pathetic??
As far as playback singing goes Rafi (the range and versatility of his rich and melodious voice is difficult to bridge) and Kishore are matchless among male singers. Just my 2 cents.
and sure...keep calling me an indian agent, Pakistan hater and what not....this is your old karobar....that is how you roll and you will never change...,but I have commitment to this forum and I'm not going to stoop myself to your level....and sure keep spreading hate on the name of patriotism.
oh yes everyone is an Indian agent if they have a different opinion than diwana :D
Back to the original topic,
what is so obscene about people dancing. why is JI even watching a musical show? if it’s so ‘fahash’, they simply shouldn’t watch it. JI is one of the worst things that ever happened to pakistan. from promoting hatred against ahmadis, trying to impose harsh sharia laws, they just want to drive the country into stone-age.
Jamaatis are perverts; lets just ship all of them to Somalia.
Where did I say he's pathetic??
You ere supporting PD. That's all. :)
As far as playback singing goes Rafi (the range and versatility of his rich and melodious voice is difficult to bridge) and Kishore are matchless among male singers. Just my 2 cents.
No disagreement about Rafi.
But just to remind you, there is no reason to compare good singers with each other but the difficulties and complexities of songs can be compared.
Singers are not like politicians in respect to the fact they have their own intrinsic, specific qualities and abilities,... regardless what kind of situation is in the world.
We MAYBE able to compare two politicians to some extent and that can still be debatable indeed, but not two or more singers.
**Only way we can compare two singers if they decide to sing same song.
What PD did above was showing his lack of maturity and just an itch, to bash two great Pakistani singers, and comparing them to other singers (very different vocalists) and that was based on his bias against anything remotely or obviously good related to Pakistan.
Bhai mere; Mehdi Hasan still is great based on his playback singing despite being called "Ghazal Ka Baadshah". And it will be hard for anyone to take that crown away from him.
bla bla bla! The bold part of your post is very hilarious…to say the least. Talk about making a mountain of a molehill and going overboard. ![]()
There are people who see everything before it gets to public and those people are members of censor board.
You can cry about JI why they watched the show all you want, when something is aired and available for everyone to watch then JI people can see it and despite disagreeing it they CAN make comment.
I thought so called liberals were all about freedom, so how come when they get criticized they use lame excuse why did you even watch the show? Double standard? Sure.
Now, having said that I am no fan of JI but I disagree with them on different issues and I do not think they are somehow role model people.
this is what goldenasif said above and it applies to you as well
"As Hasan Nisar (He may not be perfect but he does talk a lot of sense) quite rightly points out "pata nahin in mullah mentality k logon k dimagh mein Allah jane koi futoor hai, baat baat pe inhe fahaashi nazar aati hai. Inn ka Islam tau zana, sharab, purdah aur aurat se aage barhta hi nahin !! So true... Yeh log humein guidance dein gey"
har cheez may fahashi.....pata nahin in mullah mentality k logon k dimagh mein Allah jane koi futoor hai, baat baat pe inhe fahaashi nazar aati hai...allah tum par rehamy karay meray bhai..
As long as the so called 'liberal' "maadar Pidar Azaad' people continue to envision Pakistan where gambling, prostitution, drinking and indiscriminate sex is prevalent, there will always be opposing forces.
Source: The long thread on Pakistan being 'secular' versus 'Islamic'. The essence of the arguments by 'liberals' and 'seculars' boiled down to make Pakistan adopt those 'great qualities' (sarcasm) I mentioned above.
Achhi bhali is dhshatgard party say jan chhot gai thi magar aik Phatoo nay is main nai zindgi dal di