JI brands ‘Pakistan Idol’ an ‘obscene’ programme

Suicide bombings cool…singing and dancing not cool. JI

JI brands

ISLAMABAD: The Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) has taken strong exception to the airing of what it believes are obscene musical programme on private TV channels in the country, singling out “Pakistan Idol”.
Jamaat-e-Islami, which is known for giving out controversial statements on various issues, categorically ranked the musical competition in the category of obscenity. The party asked the government to explain airing of “obscenity” through such musical contests on TV channels. JI’s lawmaker Sher Akbar Khan, whose calling-attention notice will be taken up by the National Assembly today (Monday), said the Pakistan Idol is spreading obscenity in the country. The Pakistan Idol, which is being telecast by a private TV channel, has been viewed massively, its management claims. It has been aired for the last several months and has recently entered its final phase.

Akbar Khan objected to the singing and dancing of young boys and girls in the Pakistan Idol, saying that it has caused grave concern among the public. The order of the day for today’s National Assembly session has two calling-attention notices, and Khan’s notice is one of them. He has sought the attention of the information and broadcasting minister on the issue. Talking to Daily Times on Sunday, Akbar Khan said that this calling attention notice is against “obscenity” in the musical competitions being held on private channels. “My move is against what is being aired with girls and boys singing and dancing together. This is a kind of obscenity,” Sher Akbar replied when he was asked what he found obscene in the Pakistan Idol. The JI has only four lawmakers in the house of 342 members.

Re: JI brands ‘Pakistan Idol’ an ‘obscene’ programme

1. baat to sach hai magar baat hai ruswai ki..

2. Two wrongs don't make a right

3. Sin and insistence on sin are loosing difference now

Last but not the least: Pakistan Idol was not Pakistani at all. All Indian songs and the chawal baziyan of Indian channels. Kawwa chala hans ki chaal apni hi bhool gaya.

^Well said Mister Muqawa..

the JI sucks, in fact their opinion no longer matters because the people of Pakistan voted them out last year.

well Pakistan idol is aired on Geo, and Geo loves promoting Indian music and culture(not that there'a anything wrong with that) but if this were being aired on another channel then it would've had more Pakistani songs, secondly just because Pakistan idol contestants sing Indian songs, it doesn't make it less 'Pakistani', because Canadian idol uses American songs too, but it doesn't make them less 'Canadian'.

To each their own. Canadian singing American songs doesn't mean that Pakistani should also start singing Indian songs all the way. One two random songs are okay, but singing 99% Indian songs, copying their media to look cool did make it an unbearable program for many. If people are interested in Indian songs and Indian style program, they will tune into Indian channels.

Message to all jamaatis and like-minded folk: If you don't agree with something or don't like something then don't watch it. You have a choice.

This khwah makhwa ki thekedari is Wrong

issey kehte hein "Begane ki shaadi mein Abdullah deewana !!"

Well, Geo is an Indian channel :rotfl:

Agreed, but they also have right to voice their opinion, no?

*Abudullah bus beganay ko shadi ka keh raha hay, jo karay shadi ker kay karay.
Meaning that they are just complaining that it is not according to islamic identity of pakistan, let them have an opinion.

kaya gana tha bhai jan…

Begaani Shaadi Mein - Raj Kapoor - Padmini - Jis Desh Mein Behti Hai - Bollywood Classic Songs - YouTube

Only idiots and liberals still pay attention to JI.

bhai sahib...music, movies, entertainment do not follow any nationalistic agenda neither do they care about any border. they are truly borderless, brother.

if pakistan has created nothing but pathetic movies in last 60 years, what can singers in pak idol do?....when i want to listen old melodious music, i have to rely on rafi sahib, mukesh, talat, lata jee, asha jee, manaday, kishore because that is where the quality is ...quality which will satify my soul....and no i cannot listen pathetic noor jehan or mehdi hassan movie songs on the name of patriotism...SORRY....and yes i enjoy kumaar sanu and udat. Pakistan has nothing in that department. and YES I WANT PAKISTAN IDOL SINGERS TO SING SOME OF THOSE SINGS BECAUSE THOSE ARE THE SONGS I HAVE BEEN LISTENING MY WHOLE LIFE.

now when i want to listen to desi pop music, i will always fall for pakistani singers of 90s...junaid jamshed, najam, ali azamt, strings, sequencers, fringe benefits, aamir slaeem, bunny because that was one hell of a music saga and india simply could not produce that kind of desi-west tunes and music..these singers were equally popular in india and many of these bands did some really successful shows in india...

by the way sir jee, there was one full show in pak idol dedicated to patriotic songs...most of the programs had Pakistani ghazals, folk music and pop songs...** i can say with full confidence that you did not see most of the pak idol programs because if you had, you would have not made such baseless statement..**

and why are you bringing sin debate into this? ... khuda kaay laayee hum par reham karo..let us enjoy our lives.....

Are you talking about JI
They are the worst

http://ummat.net/latest/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/tf033-2642014.gif

Daily ummat |Latest news,Urdu News, Breaking news, Pakistan News, World news, business, sport and multimedia

واہ جماعت تیری شان ، تیرا امیر پیپلز پارٹی کے ایک سابق کارکن کرپٹ لوٹے کا وزیر

I wish it would stop at that but these jamaatis like to think of themselves as thekedars of Islam. My two older cousins witnessed first hand badmaashi of JI on campus of UET, Lahore. They even beat the VC up in his office and then locked him up afterwards. such was their ghundagardi in the 80s and early 90s. bas kissi university larka aur larki ko aapis mein baat karte dekh liya, tau raal tapakne lagti thee in jamaatiyon ki... such was their level of frustration. Yes there is a 'hud' that should not be crossed. We all know what's that but I see nothing wrong for instance with co-education or a boy and girl shaking hands etc. You just need a bit of common sense and maturity. You just cannot replicate 6th century in the 21st century.

I just hate Mullahiyat, jamaatis incl....all are narrow-minded and bigoted. The main reason our masses are so jaahil, intolerant and backward.

As Hasan Nisar (He may not be perfect but he does talk a lot of sense) quite rightly points out "pata nahin in mullah mentality k logon k dimagh mein Allah jane koi futoor hai, baat baat pe inhe fahaashi nazar aati hai. Inn ka Islam tau zana, sharab, purdah aur aurat se aage barhta hi nahin !! So true... Yeh log humein guidance dein gey"

Likes of JI, MQM, ANP, JSQM thrive in lack of law enforcement, simple as that. If JI resorts to violent ways to stop this program then you have a point against JI in this regard, until then its just their POV let them say what they want.

Not a big fan of Geo & hate their useless coverage of Indian masala but "Pakistan Idol" is a decent show. You simply cannot blame Geo if singers choose to sing Indian songs when your own music industry has almost been finished off. What is Geo meant to do? They can't force singers to sing Pakistani film songs from 70s? Pakistan music industry has immense talent but country situation,constant fatwas and threats have killed the industry.

JI will keep issuing fatwas like this and public will keep rejecting them so who cares what they say.

Pakistan idol was entertaining show (except for judges selection) and i will definitely be watching it in future. I think the themes encouraged singers to sing lots of Pakistani songs, they should add another theme to include brilliant Pakistani drama OSTs to add flavour to show.

enjoy what you want to enjoy, but we don't love Pakistani music just because of patriotism. Our pathetic singers like Noorjehan and Mehdi Hasan were called Bhagwan by those you loved to listen.

I didn't watch Pakistan idol after few episodes, because I didn't like it for many reasons. Pathetic Indian songs, Pathetic judges and useless controversies by wearing controversial stuff by the hosts. You are free to enjoy your life, but that doesn't bar us to express our views.

I don't buy this argument that its alright that they sing Indian stuff because our industry failed to produce its own music. We all remember music competitions in 1990s when everyone sung Pakistani songs. Our Radio channels could run 24 hours transmission by playing Pakistani stuff. Its an inferiority complex that crept into our minds in last decades that our TV and radio channels started playing Indian stuff.