JI brands ‘Pakistan Idol’ an ‘obscene’ programme

Re: JI brands ‘Pakistan Idol’ an ‘obscene’ programme

I haven't been watching all the episodes but they did sing alot of pakistani songs as well. Indians also sing pakistani songs and invite pakistani musicians there all the time. so many top hit bollywood songs have been sung by pakistani singers like atif aslam, rahat fateh, amanat ali.they give so much respect and honor to nusrat fateh ali, abida parveen, and so many other legendary singers and use their songs in bollywood movies. Abida parveen has been a judge even for one of Indian singing competition shows. I remember watching indian idol few years back and many pakistani songs have been sung in Indian idol as well.
Music shouldn't be restricted to the border and avoiding Indian music doesn't make anyone more patriotic.

I don't think that Indian Idol or any Indian show give coverage to Pakistani music to the extent of Pakistan Idol giving coverage to Indian songs. Abida Parveen's being judge of an Indian contest doesn't make that a platform for promoting Pakistani music. One or two qawwali and dhamal like 'Laal meri pat rakhiyo Bhala' didn't make any difference.

I myself listen to Indian songs and I personally like Lata, Aasha and Kishor da. But when you arrange such a platform like Pakistan Idol for music, you should promote your own music more than others music. You just can't shun your own music by saying it was not heard by young generation and music doesn't know any borders. These very statements are behind the unawareness of our generation from our own rich music (which is now being termed as pathetic by some posters here).

Why our Radio stations stopped playing Pakistani music? Whenever you tune in to to any Radio station, you will listen Indian songs, most of the times.

BTW, in how many Pakistani household, people can watch a girl singing 'Banhon main chale aao, tum se sanam kiya parda' in the presence of mothers and sisters?

I do agree that we SHOULD promote our music. I think coke studio does that beautifully in a way that appeals to younger population. Indias music and media industry is much bigger than ours. So its quite natural to sing their songs as they literally have millions of songs which cover many different genre and themes so the contestants can show how they can sing different kinds of songs. Pakistani music industry should also be promoted, but Indians do invite pakistani singers to sing over there (even though their music industry is much bigger than ours) because they appreciate our talent and recognize it.
And yes our radio stations should play pakistani music aswell. I listen mainly to pakistani music. IMO, no indian singer comes close to pakistani legendary singers like nusrat fateh ali, and abida parveen. As i mentioned, i haven't seen every single episode but the ones i saw, there were many pakistani songs being sung as well.

I just stopped following the show after auditions and few episodes thereafter when 90% contestants sung Indian songs. I just hate the way judges were biased and rude towards some contestants. I don't think that TRP wise, it was a successful show either.

The reason our industry failed to produce its own music b/c of our mindset & people failing to appreciate art and music. In 50s, 60s, and 70s Pakistani film/music industry was doing fine until that monhoose Zia destroyed everything in 80s. Btw, music is music & Indians use Pakistani music in their movies all the time. So what is wrong with Pakistani singers singing Indian songs?

it was the first season, so clearly it was probably not the best. Hopefully in the years to come, it will get better. I personally coudn't stand the judges. Hadiqa kyani is arright but not that amazing, and I didnt even know bushra ansari was a real singer I always thought she was just "shoqia" singer type. Ali Azmat can sing but his personality wasn't great as a judge.
Hopefully in the upcoming seasons, more talent will emerge and our music industry will get bigger. Pakistan idol allowed a platform where literally thousands of people auditioned and many of them go to show their talent to the entire country. The more talent is discovered, the more great singers will be produced. Either way, we should appreciate any attempt to discover potential singers.
whether they sing indian songs or not, isn't it better if pakistanis watch pakistan idol rather than Indian Idol?

Exactly. how many girls of “respectable” families can become singers? our average people donot want their children going into the industry, espeically not daughters, as they call this industry ‘corrupted’. why have we not produced anyone else like Nazia Hassan? I see alot of new singers on coke studio which is great but the mindset needs to change if we want to promote our music by appreciating it as art. JI, and the fanatics view media as “fahashi” and will do whatever they can to discourage it.
And yes Zia ruined pakistan for good, unfortunately he has caused some serious irreversible damages.

sure you have every right to express your views,....and i have right to disagree as well and vice versa. but when you bring sin, halal, haram into a discussion it become sensitive because a religious viewpoint sometimes becomes mandatory or absolute especially among muslims and as such inhibits promotion of free dialogue.

also, if you read my post again..i said i doint want to listen to filmi songs of mehdi hasan and noor jehan...yes they were extremely talented singers but we completely destroyed them...go listen to noor jehan of jugnoo per-partition and then listen to her songs 1970 onwards....be honest...you want to listen to lata jee /asha or noor jehan? we destroyed noor jehan voice and forced her to yell instead of singing.

I have always mainatauned that Rafi Sahib made the best decision of his life by not moving to Pakistan or else we would have destroyed his immense talent.

and last muqawee bhai, you did not see all the episodes..believe me Pak Idol singers sang far more pakistani songs than indian songs....but like i said a song is a song....not indian or paakistani...if it is popular, people will sing it and hear it no matter what

It's way of thinking my friend, i watched it with my family but this NEVER came to my mind because i just enjoyed good music. Somehow this reminds me of a molvi sahib giving us lecture at a dinner about how bad wedding custom of showing dresses is and i was impressed because i never liked it until he said "Saari dunya ko dulhan ka size dikhana kitni beghairti hai". I never ever thought about it from that perspective but thanks to molvi sahib's ZEHNIYYAT.

lol at some of the comments, it seems like some people on this thread are out of touch with the present Pakistani music scene; just because you like music from a different *'zamana' *that doesn't mean that current Pakistani music sucks, there are plenty of artists in Pakistan making 'good music and i'm not just talking about Atif Aslam or Rahat Fateh, or the other singers that worked in Bollywood, there bands and singers in Pakistan Qayaas,Zeb and Haniya,Beghairat Brigade,Bilal Khan,Adil Omar,QB,Jal and many more; people usually like the music of their time, so many of the posters may be from another generation, but i can't relate to Nusrat Fateh Ali or Noor Jehan's music, any song/music from before the 90s is alien to me.

The Pakistan idol contestants could have sang more Pakistani songs, but it's pretty apparent Geo loves to promote India, they even like to use indian music during their news reports, and after subliminally indoctrinating us with Indian music and culture, they have the audacity to tell us that we're 'obsessed' with India.

The PI judges were also really rude and mean during the auditions, in fact i don't think Ali Azmat should be a judge because he's a bully, and idk why Bushra Ansari is on the show?!She has nothing to do with contemporary Pakistani music, the two should have been replaced by Rahat Fateh and Zeb Bangash.

so the damage has already been done. I'm not giving any verdict, as I myself listen to the songs, but I do realise that our society went through a transition. A few decades back such songs couldn't be enjoyed as we enjoy it in the presence of our families now. Its not that only Indian industry produced songs with such lyrics, but at least, Pakistani TV had a policy to censor such stuff and that was for a reason. At least PTV never promoted 'Shilpa sa figure, Beboo si ada', but now its all normal and acceptable in our society. JI and likes are crying over split milk.

What is the rating of Aalim Online by JI? :hmmm:

I think the show could do away without Indian songs since there are still a lot of Pakistani songs missed by singers to try.

I did not like Ali Azmat saying to one singer “Yaar you took us in to 60’s or 70’s” :smack:

My take on it is…yes, good music has no boundaries and no time limit. Indian songs do have great music and singers.

But when the platform, platform , platform word was used so many times by the judges,.. then why not make it as a Pakistani platform?

If singer chooses Indian songs then at audition he/she can be told to choose a Pakistani song/geet/qawwali or or ghazal.

As for JI, I have to read what exactly were their wordings, but at times they could have Hadiqa wear some better attire and could have not shown her hugging male singer(s).

GEO needs to somehow stop promoting Indian songs in Pakistan so blatantly, and perhaps this program needs to be aired by another channel.

Anyone calling Mehdi Hasan and Noor Jahan pathetic singers needs to have his or her head examined if there is anything in it at all.

you can address me directly!!

you have a history at gupshup and we all know that....misrepresenting other posters is your favorite hobby!

no one called noor jehan or mehdi hassan pathetic singers... their talent was unquestionable but yes i maintain my stand that noor jehan's singing deteriorated significantly once she started to sing in punjabi songs and 1975 onwards, she did nothing but cheap loud songs. I even gave example to listen to her voice in jugnoo (1947) and then listen to her later on and you will see what i mean....this is a sad reality and it is not reflection of noor jehan, it is reflection of our film industry, who destroyed her by forcing her to "yell".....in the end, we all know the answer...do we listen to lata or do we listen to noor jehan

now if you enjoy her loud songs on sultan rahi and anjaman..please keep enjoying it.

this is what goldenasif said above and it applies to you as well

"As Hasan Nisar (He may not be perfect but he does talk a lot of sense) quite rightly points out "pata nahin in mullah mentality k logon k dimagh mein Allah jane koi futoor hai, baat baat pe inhe fahaashi nazar aati hai. Inn ka Islam tau zana, sharab, purdah aur aurat se aage barhta hi nahin !! So true... Yeh log humein guidance dein gey"

har cheez may fahashi.....pata nahin in mullah mentality k logon k dimagh mein Allah jane koi futoor hai, baat baat pe inhe fahaashi nazar aati hai...allah tum par rehamy karay meray bhai..

By the way, if you did not call them pathetic then how did you know I was talking about you??? Hain ji? :wink:

Your obsession with India and hatred for anything Pakistani with flip flop and changing position is all too well known by me. Keep denying though.

In the name of making Pakistan a better place in your eyes, you throw junk on anything related to Pakistan.
A tactics very familiar on this BB.

wah wah...kaya point score kiya hai meray bhai nay.....yae red wala scooter aap ka howa!

yes of-course i admit that in the very first post i said that i cannot listen to pathetic noor jehan movie songs on the name of patriotism.... :) i never edited that post..did i?

and then in many subsequent posts (which i know you will always ignore) i clarified for people with a low iq that no one is questioning noor jehan's talent (gave examples) but yes our pathetic industry destroyed her talent and what she sang for good 30 years is unfortunately not of good quality and yes her voice quality also came down after keep yelling in every song for those illiterate punjabi movie producers as this practice destroyed her vocal chords...this is a sad reality which i cannot camouflage on the name of patriotism...noor jehan kaaya thee, everyone knows and she does need my endorsement...what we did with her is however a subject of discussion

and sure...keep calling me an indian agent, Pakistan hater and what not....this is your old karobar....that is how you roll and you will never change...,but I have commitment to this forum and I'm not going to stoop myself to your level....and sure keep spreading hate on the name of patriotism.

So, now you removed Mehdi Hasan from your bashing list. Good progress.