JHOKE SIYAL of PTV-Lahore Studios (1975-76)

JHOKE SIYAL (1975-76) of PTV-Lahore Studios;

JHOKE SIYAL, based on the novel of Shabbir Shah (Tahira Syed’s father) was adapted for TV by Munnoo Bhai in 1975. The serial, directed by PTV’s ever robust and high profile–energetic tall man Yawar Hayat. The first episode gave clear signs that JHOKE SIYAL, would be a rocker…and it was.

The cast as I remember (because I was with Yawar during recording of one of the middle episode..his brother Khawar being my cousin’s buddy at PBS then) was; Badiuzzaman, M. Ayub, Salim Nasir, Abid Ali and Humaira Chaudhry… who later married Abid Ali and their daughter Imaan Ali is the famous model of our country–these days a craze due to KHUDA KE LEEAY.

JHOKE SIYAL (Jhoke meaning a VILLAGE or HAMLET) broke records on viewership. Every cast member did 100 $ worth performance and the famous dialogue **PEER SAIEN AANDA AIE…TEY MITTHAY CHAWAL KHANDAA AIE" **was on every lips as a pillow talk.

JHOKE SIYAL entered the Russian TV & Film Festival at Tashkent and won the Certificate of Merit for being declared a serial close to the realities of medievial masters and their practices on saintly blessings they propogated.

PTV has been fortunate to retain the recording of this super duper serial at it’s archieves in PTV Headquarters-Islamabad and as per my understanding.. JHOKE SIYAL is poised for a re-run after ages—soon on PTV-One and PTV-World.

Anyone..having more info on JHOKE SIYAL…is encouraged to write more on this classic and most remembered serial of PTV-Lahore Studios.

-Raju Jamil

Re: JHOKE SIYAL of PTV-Lahore Studios (1975-76)

how do you find out about what viewership a drama gets, is there any website for that like tv ratings in usa.
also what is the top 5 dramas by viewership in the last 5 years.

those old time directors and producers knew the intricacies of writing, exceution, acting . no wonder those plays have still retained their charm and appeal. truth is very important part of any art as it gives it longevity just like mona lisa can never loose it's mystique and fur elise can never sound jaded.

FRANKLY....no serial made in Pakistan by Pakistani Production Houses or the Sattelite Channels (though Pakistani owned..but transponders at Dubai or Singapore)...is worth listing as TOP:5... in five (past) years....unless we loop in "MEHENDI" of Sajjad Gul's EVERNEW PRODUCTIONS !

Meanwhile--the current scenario has some ingredients to classify MAN O SALVA and NAJIAH as TOP:2 serials of y2k7....warna...as someone said..."filhaal tow PTV ke puranay dramoun pe guzara ho raha hai".

The most amazing part here is that only in KARACHI... over 100 serials are in production currently. EVERY ARTISTE...from top notcher to a naukar role one...is busy--which is something exciting but highly perplexing as well! Only yesterday, I was talking to Zeba Bakhtiar.. who recently returned from her long spell of shoots at Malaysia.. for a serial she is directing after "MASURI" she did earlier...and said she "Its strange Raju, that so many productions BUT not one in mind of the recent past which could created a stir". Even this little thing Saadia Imam..is directing her own serial.

WHEN are these serials telecast? only God knows....as with a deluge of channels.. it's CLICKING the channels...due to a viewer being bored STIFF with repeats of the volley of adverts--which also means that the PRODUCER, THE ARTISTE and THE WRITER have become highly commercialized and not really bothered about the viewership.

LSA (LUX STYLE AWARDS) is a farcical show.....where the serials, actors & fashion models etc are "choosen" instead of meeting the gallop or public poll.

In "medievial" times (1964-80) of TV viewership in PAKISTAN....as rightly said on this forum by someone---there was a system of formulating scripts...under a committee headed by senior writers and then three days of reading rehearsals..then dry rehearsals...then moves and finally the recording...with target for completion with fifteen days... hence came out serials like Khuda Ki Basti, Jhoke Siyal, Waris, Kahani Ki Talaash Mein, Aik Muhabbat Sau Afsaney, Uncle Urfi, UnKahi, Tanhaiyaan, Zeir Zabr Peish, Khirki, Car Ki Museebat, Azadi Ke Mujrim, Mirza Ghalib, Tipu Sultan.......(Kahan Tukk Suno Ge...Kahan Tukk Sunaoun...?) the list goes on....and on...and on.....!

So lasting was there impact that people still remember them by heart....and people like me...closely associated with showbiz...by my memory (even challenged by someone from Bahrain on this forum :) )

There's no website concept here---young one! the PAK-SHOWBIZ WEBSITE on TV PLAYS of yesteryears...is ME friend!

Keep visiting the forum... you'll have some very interesting news and historical facts on TV media....of yesterday, today and tomorrow.

I am so pleasantly surprised to see that a member of this forum is such a good writer---who, with a little bit of counseling---can surely become the SEEMA GHAZAL or HASINA MOIN or NOORUL HUDA SHAH of today... tomorrow. Please keep it up.

Next----a detailed mail on HASINA MOIN.

Anyone on this forum remembers "YE PTV AWARD HAI....." anecdote of Shoaib Mansoor? If not, say it....now...as I remember it by heart and would love to share it with you all in my next submission.

Khush Rahein,

-Raju Uncle

raju sir, i dnt know why you keep ignoring serials like moorat, halaat and aurat aur char diwari which could easily knock out many serials from the ptv times.

its good to see so many serials coming up in pakistan but ill rather not watch karachi ones as they are very indianized, apart from humayun saeed ones and a few others,

Yes, I do, although not 100%.

But I did remember it even before your submission in one of the forums here:

**IN THE NAME OF GOD

You forgot to mention Shujaat Hashmi. I think that it was the first drama of Abid Ali and Shujaat Hashmi, both

BTW, are you the Raju Jamil or just using his initials as your screen name. Its hard to belive why a person like Raju Jamil would come and post here

I agree with you on the serials you talk of--in fact I am surprised how I forgot MOORATH the only serial in my 41 years showbiz career..in which I played a 70 year old DAD of Abid Ali...with Tahira Wasti as my wife. Both; Humayun and Kami insisted that I should do that..and it was great.

Khush Rahein.........

Raju Uncle

You are right on Shujaat Hashmi..and I also forgot....Naveen Tajik.

KIYON BHAI?...kiya hamaray SEENGH lagay hua hein ke hum nahin aasaktay GSF pe?:)

Khush Rahein...

-Raju

Well, we dont get a chance to interact with people like Raju Jamil (I mean you :) ) so an intial disbelief is very normal. My honour to be talking to you.

Jhoke Siyal really brings back lot of memories. I was very young in those days. Ah, the colorful era of B&W PTV. Very nostalgic.

Two other dramas which I wish I could see one more time were "Sonay kee Chirya" ( I think M Ayub was the lead) and "Ya naseeb Cllinic" (Salim Nasir and Sarwat Ateeq)

Btw, if you are real RJ (see, the disbelief is still there :) ), how is your father doing, now. Last time I read, he was feeling much better, Alhamdolillah.

Yaar…kiya karoun yaqeen dilane ke leeay?
Dad is getting better after he unfortunate incidence two months back when he slipped at the steps of DHA Library after chairing some book launch and broke three bones including hip joint. He braved all that despite being of age (82+) and carrying a pacemaker…but incredible as it may sound…he continues his weekly column in JANG…he started some 45 years ago.

Please remember him in your prayers…

You reminded me of my two good friends from Lahore–who are no more with us…:teary1: ***Salim and Ayub:teary1: ***simply an ASSET to showbiz..they were and I still remember the adlib he did with me in UN KAHI by playing with my tie and folding it all the way up–rolling!! and I just couldn’t do anything because Mohsin would have killed us–for breaking such classy scene in its middle and Jamshed Ansari…equally bucked him up with more (out of the box) dialogues.

Anyone–remembers SALIM NASIR’s classic long play “ADAMZAAD” ?

NOW..the pic you see below shows me on RIGHT
recently taken at Sheraton Karachi with my two SCHOOL MATES
(Cantt Public School-Karachi) of class V to X of early sixties.
The one in centre is ZAFAR who lives in Los Angeles past 30+ years
and regularly visits us and on left is Raza Iqbal Rizvi.

Despite having lost my hair—I have not lost touch with my school
mates–now NANA, NANI and DADA - DADEE…!

Khush Rahein…

-Raju Jamil

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_5475746cb430f72633.jpg

Respected Raju Jamil Sahib

Thanks for sharing in such details. I really appreciate that. Your dad is in the prayers of the whole Pakistan. He is not just a hero, he is a legend.

I am sure it is not easy to be a son of a person of his trait. As talented as you are yourself, it is not easy to by pass his merits.

Btw sir, you mentioned Naveen Tajik as one of the cast member of Jhok Siyaal. She was one of the three females in our 70 era that I had a bad crush on.:D

Khalida Riyaasat (May her soul rest in peace)
Naveen Tajik
Sehar Jalal (I think that she had a different sir name. Jalal after marriage)

What happened to the later two ladies? Where are they? Do you know?

1. Khalida Riyasat made her debut with me and Shakil in Asghar Butt's NAAMDAAR directed by Bakhtiar Ahmed at PTV-Karachi in Jan'76. KR was a real darling doll. She was one of my best friends in Showbiz. She was always chirpy and pleasant and we shared jokes and had great fun during recordings of several plays I did with her. Whenever i am with her elder sis Ayesha Khan in some serial...we talk about Khalida for hours during our rec. break. Khalida died when she got married...she was buried after cancer took her over.
  2. NAVEEN..last I heard her of--from Usman Pirzada and Samina..., is married and happily settled in UK like Sakina Samo. WHO didn't have a crush on her??? and she HAD a certain flair of charm and looks..but I wont call her beautiful. BEAUTIFUL is the word I have kept strictly dedicated to my two closest friends on showbiz; ATIQA and ZEBA BAKHTIAR.... they ARE beautiful.
  3. I met Sehar a few years back. I believe she was in Dubai for sometime.. but after meeting her during one of my visits in 2003...I lost track of her...but as Qazi Wajid says..she is fine and "TUM KO ISS SE KIYA..KE WOH KAHAN HEIN?" YES! that's my buddy--the typical Qazi Wajid. Aur kis kis pe crush thah janab ko....:)

Khush Rahein...

-Raju Bhai (NO SAHAB please......)

Jee list to baree lambee hay. Kuch purda nasheeno(n) kay naam bhee aatay hain. :blush:

Fikr-e-ma’aash, ishq-e-butaa(n), yaad-e-raftagaa(n)
is zindagee main koee’, kiya kiya kee’yaa karay

Its hard, not to call you Sahab. Not because of any age factor (well, that is also there, abhi to mai jawaan hoon:D ) but also the respect factor. But I will call you bhai. Thanks for giving me this honour

I kind of remeber Namdaar. Was it the one where Shakeel was a private detective. I remember one epsiode, even remember the title “dekha na bee’maaree’yay dil nai akhir kaam tamaam kiya”

You know Raju jamil bhai, my age is not much, only my memory is pretty good:)

BTW, I never used the word Beautiful in my post, but neverthless, Sehar Jalal was. Last I saw her was in PACC (karachi) stage when she was doing a theatrical presentation of one of the Manto’s writing (with Akbar Subhani playing Manto). It was around 85-86. That lady had a talent and looks to go with that

A request, please do not put an impostor and a copy cat like seema ghazal on the same level as haseena moin and noor-ul-huda shah. it's like comparing chirkeen with ghalib.

ye ptv awrad hai deisgn iska odd hai(something like that ?)

more than anything else, looking forward to the mail on haseeen apa.

Moorat was full of cliches. characters were like so predictable and one-dimensional.woh writer hi kya who fails to surprise you.

So Raju bhai, where can one obtain a copy of this Drama? :D

If you need a set of DVs....let me know via pm....and I'll manage its delivery to you...at any point you want.

Khush Rahein......

-Raju Bhai

Fabulous memory mian....gr8 ! and in that particular one we did some outdoors at HUB area of Karachi's outskirts.

Akbar Subhani was at my office very recently...he is doing great with his paintings and teaching french besides acting. Good man and a balanced actor.