Aslamualikum,
I’ll b getting married and goin to USA, InshAllah. was wondering all those girls who got married and had gone abroad after the wedding.How did you manage with the jewellery..?All the wedding jewellery REAL ofcourse… Did u risk with sending it in the hold or had it with you in the handbag..?
i’m not sure what to do.. help me out.
Thx…
Re: jewellery after the wedding...
I've always carried jewelery in my handbag while traveling...i am just not comfortable with it being in the checked-in baggage...:)
i have all of my jewellery with my and i had it in my hand bag when travelling back to aus. but have to be carefull with it.
if you are not intending to wear it all, do plan to sell or do something about it. its headache to look after and then have to pay zakat at the end of the year.
Always alwaYs always alwyas always always (cant stress this enough) keep the jewelery in ur handbag. Well that's what my mom has always done and that's what I do too, i've gone to canada like half a dozen times, even when we wnet from Lahore to Islamabad by bus, i kept it in my handbag.
no way!!!!! you cant possibly leave somethings that costs laakhouN in your luggage! there is a chance that you may not get it on the other side! put the boxes in the luggage if you must but carry the jewellry in your handbag
^ agree...
i know someone who did that with ehr wedding a week away...
she put her set in the luggage...and they lost the luggage....
never ever EVER put in the checked in luggage.
and yes, get rid of what you wont use-- its a pain to take care of.
zakat taxes, deposit box fees, etc, etc.......
man i want to take some of my wedding jewelry and have it changed into a diff design or xchange it for something.... wud that be too much of hassle =/
i don't think so sara... mum's done it loads of time in dubai, and i'm sure you can do it easily enough when you visit karachi.
and actually, even if you took it to a store in the states and got it appraised, i'm sure you could sell it on for that price and buy something else, or perhaps they'd even trade it in for the appraised value for something else from the store.
thats a smart idea because then at least you'll wear it, as opposed to sitting in a locker somewhere.
man i want to take some of my wedding jewelry and have it changed into a diff design or xchange it for something.... wud that be too much of hassle =/
You can buy something in replacement of that, but the "amount" of gold you get back depends on how your current set is like...
ex; I wanted to exchange something that was had 84 grams of gold, and then when I picked the design I like for the price I would get for those 84 grams, I would've only got 62/64 grams back! the dude said that what I liked "uss meiN bohot zyada sona kat jata hai wastage meiN", so be careful.
Also, if you have a lot of stones and stuff embedded in your set (as compared to them hanging off it),, you're like to loose a bit in that too.
minimum "wastage" can be around 10% of the value of yor gold, and can go up to 25%!
but at the end of the day, i'd rather have things I could use on a day to day basis then one big set gathering dust in a locker.
hmm well the sets are just pure gold, they aren't very heavy.. actually they were bought in middle east so it has that "look" to it. I dont know yet.
^ phir tou koi masla hi nahi hai... middle east ka gold "haatouN haat liya hata hai" :)
I have got indian gold and gold that i bought from pakistan...
lets just say that i would never buy gold from pak....ever.....
but yeah...sara you should totally get what you want in exchange for your hardly worn wedding jewellery..
Now i feel bad cz i know my in laws (its the stuff from their side) put time and thought into getting these....but i just wnat something that I chose myself, my mom even gave me all of her jewelery that she collected for herself throughout the years so i'm being really silly i guess.
^ no, i don't think theres anything wrong with wanting something you would wear... i mean, ideally they would have asked you what you wanted, right? maybe dont trade all the pieces, but certainly the ones you're not that fond of/have the opportunity to wear.
chanda, i know! my mom was in dubai to exchange these "22 kt" hoops she'd bought... the people in dubai were like, nope, you got cheated - these are only 18k. it was really pissy.
i agree sgc...sara if you dont like something..whats the point of keeping it locked up...
yeah..my mother was wearing her kara from Jaipur when we went to the jewelers in lahore...they were like..do you want to exchange that...?? ma was like heck no...purey pakistan mein aisi cheeze nahin milne wali....i swear..we went to every jeweler in Lahore..literally ever single one of them....quality and design was no where to be heard of.....i hate to be biased..but when it comes to shedding thousands of dollars or rupees..id rather buy something that is certified and guaranteed..
^ thats really wierd... iv'e been to a lot of shops in karachi and a lot of them do have it certified, and the quality is amazing... there are shops we've known to deal fairly so we trust them when trading gold (its so packed that at times you have to wait outside before any space is created inside to enter!)