Mian baghi hoon, main baghi hoon :hbk:

Re: Javed Hashmi made president of PTI

^ lol :)

Ab ti daghi bhi yeh Baghi Lota
Pasha kay janay kay baad kuchh to karna tha
Ab naya inqlab

AP uncle its better inqilaab compared to inqillab (read inteqaam) PPP brought after BB's death.

Mein Bhe Baghi Hon :hbk:

:smack::nahi:

I think its a good and bold decision.

Javed Hashmi made PTI president – The Express Tribune

**LAHORE: Javed Hashmi was made the President of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Monday, Express News reported. It was not immediately clear whether Hashmi was voted into the position.

**Hashmi, during a press conference in Lahore along with PTI Chairman Imran Khan, said that the party members will all work together against corruption and for strengthening democracy.

Having a significant party position, the new PTI president would have a say in decisions related to awarding party tickets to members.

Hashmi had joined the PTI on December 25 last year, the day the party held a massive jalsa in Karachi.

The former Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader had disclosed that his decision was not emotional nor for power, and taken only after making sure that Imran was not supported by the establishment.

Hashmi at the press conference also welcomed the workers of the Pakistan Democratic Party (PDP), which has recently merged with the PTI.

According to a source, Hashmi has played an important role in convincing the PDP president Nawabzada Masoor to merge his party with the PTI.

It is pertinent to mention that three of the prominent PTI members – Mian Azhar, Khurshid Mehmood Kasuri and Sardar Assef Ahmed – have still not been appointed to any party position.

**Top positions in PTI
Chairman Imran Khan

Secretary General Dr Arif Alvi

President Javed Hashmi

Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi

what is the difference between a president and a chairman?

^ Or a secretary general for that matter.

according to tradition of defining words by one of our famous religious leaders cum politicians. Allah marhoom key maghfarat karay.
President , president hota hay , chairman , chairman hota hay.

or kabhi kabhi chorman president hota hai?

I see this as beginning of the end for PTI. Its unfair for the workers who stuck with PTI since her inception when PTI was known as one man party. Now all of a sudden, big names from other parties started joining cause they see PTI moviing forward. At this time, Imran should've given priority to the original team and given them offical positions, instead we see hashmi's and qureshis getting higher positions.

I am highly disappointed at IK.

Seniority shouldn’t be the only criteria for positions, mind you. :dannyboy: There is no substitute for experience, you have to put it all together somehow. The workers who have been with the party will get more than ample representation, I am sure. In a lot of other areas, including Central Executive Committee, as well as other boards within the party. And if it comes in power (federally or in a single province), there will be more than enough positions in all spheres of government.

Do you honestly think a complete unknown is going to get votes in rural areas, or even in urban areas, at all times. Sure, people will vote for the party when they can, but you have to remember close to 70% of the population live in villages and rural areas.

I agree with you in theory, but party positions should be based on loyalty and not on experience/popularity. This is exactly the reason why you see PPP and PML likes keep getting divided in factions because loyal workers felt side lined and ended up starting their own factions.

This is also the reason why JI never split into factions cause in that party, internal elections/nomination process always decides whose going to be get a higher position,

Not quite. A 2 month party membership drive is due to start later this month, and in May, Imran has announced party elections, which will be held for all posts, including his own of chairman. At that point, all party members/workers, old and new, will get a chance to democratically elect their reps, and if anyone has a beef against the newcomers, he can show it through his/her vote. Before elections, it is necessary to have a management structure in place, which is why folks who are experienced are getting temporary appointments to see the party through to elections. Call it a caretaker management if you must.

Dr Arif Alvi who is the secretary general of PTI is amongst the founding members of the party, as far as Javed Hashmi is concerned his politics has been cleaner than most of the politicians and that even his critics agree. Considering the team thats in PTI at the present, I think this post is given to the right person. The membership drive of PTI should start next week, the success or failure of PTI can be guaged after that campaign.

OK, did not know about the membership drive. So these are interim positions then?

I just heard IK saying that JH has been selected as President by the party unanimously, I think it should be a permanent post. The membership drive and the election of leadership upto the union council level should start by next week, maybe after that they might again go for elections for higher positions but not sure about that.