~~ Jasoosi Dunya ~~

Re: ~~ Jasoosi Dunya ~~

Damn, no I dont understand DMC ... is it something Medical? Aaaaaah, if I knew I would be able to come to the US, I would take medical.

I think Masjid is still there ... if I recall correctly. There is no doubt that Karachi has changed quite a bit.

yeah thats DOW MEDICAL COLLEGE for short. as it dosent ring a bell then perhaps not, anyho...masjid is there but nursery ki fried fish and haleem theela gone ...sob sob, also PREMIER BROAST & VIDEO GAME SHOP... after my matriculation .....me n friends used to hang around this video game shop and then have broast / fries before going home for table tennis games... man woh din bhi kiya din thay !!!

So, Shaktoo bhaa, getting back to the thread topic … whats your favorite Faridi novel and why? :bukbuk:

i am unfortunately away work related and will further comment later

Dear probable neighbor,
I appreciate your present comment and will be waiting for your future ones :D .

phew !!! just back for the weekend after a 6 hour drive ....so i'll keep this nice n short .. for now
ibne safi was either a very well travelled gentleman or was an extremely well informed and geographically very sound...and might as well be all three ...he used locations that some of the pakistani authors still probably dont know about and only some extremely previliged and / or well travelled authors have used example is HAITI or was it TAHITI ? i remeber that Ibne safi used this in one of his Imran series novels probably and even the zameen Kay Badal was set in a tropical dense rainforst unlike Brazilian . the use of metaphors and in jokes of western culture could not have come from any lesser writer.i will give similar examples of writers like Shafeeq ur Rehman ( who i also LOVE... he transports us through his writings to the place and characters as if it was happening to us....his travels are eveident through his writings and travelouges ) aand Mustansar Hussain Tarrar ...i know a slightly strange choice but i cant help liking the bugger he is also a well travelled gentleman.
so the use of locations .....which are geographically correct and also the use of science based fiction which wasnt totallly out of the world or ununderstandable was another forte of Mr Safi.
there i think this should be enough for now to have a further detailed discussion about Mr Safi 's intellect , his travels and use of locations/characters and plots.
and My Probale neighbour is a good one .... safi-fan, i do not remeber in detail all the novels stories etc to make a detailed discussion as such on those .. for now.... i will be arming myself with all the novels inshahallah and gradually re-read them all... and as time will pass i will definitely deconstruct all the writings of mr Safi for yourself.

WHA JI bhai mian kahan ghayab ho aik haftay say jawab bhi nahin diya hain ?

Dear brother Shaktoo, sorry for the delayed response.

Ibn-e-Safi's knowledge of geography and science has been questioned by many. Although I want to believe that Ibn-e-Safi had a thorough knowledge of these subjects, it may not be entirely true. On the other hand, I strongly believe he was a good researcher. When he wrote, he made sure that he had good sources to consult with, weather books or people. And thats why we see such a good account of travelling through Europe and Africa in cases of "Zameen ke Badal" and Imran's "Adlava" series. Another aspect worth mentioning in this regard is Ibn-e-Safi's ability to take names from the nationality they belong to. For example, he did not name every one from Europe Robert. He had a know-how of the difference between Italian and French names, between Eqyptian and Turkish names, and between North and South American names. Such details are incredible.

As far as the familiarity with science subjects goes, I have similar opinion. Ibn-e-Safi, through other writers, science journals, and/or other sources, kept up the good sense about scientific technology and inventions. And thats really all, with a powerful imagination, an author needs. His imagination created "Faulad-Mi" (iron man) way before russians were able to theorize such a robot. Some of the weapons used by Zero Land, such as Electrogus pistol, are common in movies nowadays. The idea of a radio transmitter/receiver using no electric components and only chemicals (remember golden sponges used by Zero Land as transmitters/receivers) is another classic example.

So, here is my opinion. Time permitting, I am thinking about reviewing his books and noticeable aspects of his writings for each one.

good idea
i am nowadays extremely tired and away from home and just counting days when i will be back ...untill then i guess i ama goner

Shaktoo bhai, get a full body message by a yalayili or full-fulloty … or by a yalayila or full-fulloota (sounds like kala kaloota) to get rid of the physical tension … and I do not mean that in a bad way. I mean, just do it … or if that is not doable for some reason then at least khopri pe khopre ke tel (coconut oil) ka champi is good too. Champi makes me go :mudhosh: .

Dear guppies! I tried to take a shot at Faridi’s and Hamee’s characters. Let me know what you think:

i told my cousin to buy some safi books..he sent me 2 books of each imran series and jasoosi duniya..each book has 3 or 4 stories...i just read the first jasoosi duniya story called "dilair mujrim". this was just so so...i am not sure if it will get better later on

Well Sheraz bro, its only the beginning and trust me it keeps getting better with each novel. In the first 25, 30 novels of Jasoosi Dunya, Faridi's character is not completely mature. The character evolves gradually which displays nothing but writer's ability to make it more realistic.

I am looking for these books of Jasoosi Dunya. Each one must be individually printed and not in a set. In other words, I am looking for the older editions which had yellowish orange title page and the name of the book was printed on top with white background.

Please contact me at [email="[email protected]"][email protected] if you have any of these and want to sell:

3 Aurat FArosh ka Qatil

10 Ahmaqon ka Chakkar
46 Laashon ka Saudagar
54 Khoon-khuar Ladkian
61 Paani ka Dhuan
92 Sitaaron ki Cheekhain
95 Sunehri Chingaarian
101 Tisdel ki Bedaari
102 Khaufnaak Mansooba
109 Bhedye ki Awaz
110 Ajnabi ka Faraar

sets are better
i still have to read my first imran series novel..parh ker bata'unga

Thanks for replying to my inquiry Sheraz!

Shaktoo bhaaa, Golden Payee ... tussi kithe o?

safi-fan bhai,can u tell me if this series is as hilarious as imran series?

Sister Drew, if you ask me Jasoosi Dunya is better than Imran Series. Even if not better, no one doubts that these books are any less interesting than the other series. Now if you just want hilarious, may be these are not as hilarious as Imran series. But trust me, Qasim and Hameed, when together, can make you laugh your head off. I strongly recommend you read Jasoosi Dunya if you get a chance.

thanx,i’ll try to get my hand on them :k: