Jamat e Islami's role in Pakistan

Re: Jamat e Islami's role in Pakistan

I don't know. I've seen pictures of him where the moment he lands in Sindh, the locals put a ajrak on his shoulders like a garland. I always thought it might be a local custom or something. I've seen him wearing the Pashtun and Punjabi turban as well.....I thought it looked sweet, never really saw them as political gimmick. But if non Sindhi wearing an ajrak and Sindhi topi looks too insincere and sinister....what can I say. It's just sad.

I don't have anything against any person who himself wear or made to wear local outfits and I consider it good gesture. My first attempt, when I go to another area / province to find some local art specially ladies attire and take that for my family. That is why my sisters got Multani chadar and Balochi shawls with Turbat's handwork in their collection.

So coming back to topic, any internal news how JI approved selection of lady speaker in KPK, when they were against voting of women in lower Dir?

If the issue was as innocent as that one liner, then why did it become so contagious and led to divisions? Is Sindh more united and open to others because of that? Maybe some people need to learn from Taliban Khan as to how not to politicise language issue and use it as a tool to stir trouble. Unprecedented level of Pashtu music and cultural revival is happening in KPK, but has Imran ever talked about it to polish his politics? Is he going around belittling Urdu language as worst decision of Jinnah, a foreign language imposed on poor Pashtuns or insulting other communities by calling them invasive and inferior 'outsiders'? Any chance of riots? No. For that I'm satisfied enough to support such initiatives. More power to them.

Besides, Imran is not a Pashto speaker nor lives in KPK, I doubt such initiatives personally effect him, nor language revival was part of his manifesto, but he is still doing a wonderful service to the local community. A strong message for other communities where big bad 'outsider' Imran Khan is seen as a closet destroyer of their whole ethnic race!

Good to hear that literary niche in Sindh being so accepting of Punjabi language. Hopefully, that tiny group will one day be able to put an end to xenophobic and racist slogans chanted against Punjabis for politics.

You did not answer my question, how JI approved selection of lady deputy speaker in KPK?

Other issues you brought up have been discussed a lot of times and I think we are unable to convey our message to each other on that matter. So lets agree to disagree on that point once and for all.

JI voted in favour of Dr Mehar! It was some people's so called liberal PPP that opposed her for PMLN's candidate Arbab Hayat.

Got your answer?

No. How come JI changed its stance in the same province, where it opposed to voting of women. This is the question, which is not answered. It says that JI also does politics of compromises. jahan haddi mili wahan sir jhuka dia.

Oh wow! FYI. They had nothing to gain from voting for Dr Mehar, just like on so many other (bigger) issues, they could have opposed PTI like they do all the time. So I wouldn't go down calling it the haddi and kutta route....that's just pathetic.

In Lower Dir, women according to tribal patriarchal customs were barred from voting. JI decided to jump on the wrong side of the issue in the pretext of respecting "local traditions and customs" to avoid re-elections. But I'd say Khattak and local cabinet handled the situation really well without aggravating the locals.

Otherwise you have to be utterly blind to not see JI's women wing in KPK, female workers and representatives in the same province, and all over country.

So keep things in perspective. I think I now very much know a thing or two more about local political and social dynamics of KPK.

do you have any doubt abt current JI leadership? yes JI used to have some character in the past, yes its amirs have always been elected democratically and yes no big corruption charges on them but this current leadership is as pathetic as other parties when it comes to opportunistic politics...even worst. they have no deen iman left

but their politics is over forever. by leaving moral politics, they have no chance to win any seat on their own. who cares about them anymore. only khan sahib can take them seriously and establish alliances with them.

waisay Mian sahib ka bee kuch bata naheein. Mian jee is strange too. ho sakta hai offer kar dain JI ko in punjab may few seats and JI will shamelessly join PMLN. they wont mind joining PTI in KPK and PMLN in punjab. mark my words.

As if JI has been very accommodating for others customs and traditions. Its all about coalition and convenience. There is a time, when they deny withdrawing their candidates against PTI (NA-246 by elections) and there is a time they make alliance with PTI for local bodies elections. Very difficult to assume oonth kis karwat bethe ga. To be very honest, in politics every one takes U-Turns and IK is only more infamous. For each and every political party in Paksitan, one can quote 'apna thooka chatna' for such contradictory actions.

So you have a problem with JI voting for female speaker? Excellent.

Of course politics is all about coalition, convenience and compromises. Whether you believe it or not, you won't find prophets in politicians. Even the Promised Messiah is not predicted to emerge from any Desi land!

You are a third world country with a deeply rotten and inherently criminalized political structure. Good luck finding Shah Ghazis or Data Saabs in political parties.

who is Shah Ghaziz BTW? pardon my ignorance. I don't have problem for voting a lady deputy speaker. All power to the lady and her voters. I have a problem with defending of those who display contradictory behavior for their convenience.

Re: Jamat e Islami’s role in Pakistan

bhai shaib, bataya hai aap ko that JI is taking this convenient politics to another level…a different level. only few weeks ago, they supported ayaz sadiq selection in national assembly openly and did not vote for shafqat mahmood even though they were supporting aleem khan in the election…i mean can you believe it

and then few days later, siraj sahib was hugging and smiling with khan sahib in karachi forming some seat adjustment.

and then in bildyati elections, JI was openly supporting multiple sections in punjab

if you still dont get it, listen to this youtube song, siraj ul haq is singing this these days

See I have a problem with this with this mentality and attitude. There was absolutely nothing convenient or any practical gains for any party by voting for a government nominated female speaker. But well done to those who did - even if it meant they had to overcome party differences because it is a truly a symbolic breakthrough which I as a female hope that it will inspires a change at a wider level.

I pity those who are making such historic and symbolic breakthrough controversial and painting it as just another dirty little marriage of convenience in politics. What an insult to Dr Mehar and her credentials.

Isn't raising question a public right? The point of discussion here is JI and its overall role in Pakistan's society, so it is natural to discuss their deviation from their previous stance for whatever reasons. No insult intended for any female politician and even as you mentioned I would take JI's efforts to promote female political workers in all corners of Pakistan as their positive achievement. Hope they learn from the mistake they made in lower Dir.

ANP also voted for Dr Mehar - the staunch opponents of PTI!

Compromise in politics is not always a dirty deed. Isn't it a good compromise by all parties to not do opposition on CEPC despite some obvious reservations? Isn't it a reasonable compromise from pro more province IK to not speak in favour of division of Sindh because of the possible violent consequences?

I know it's thrilling to see never ending WWE between political parties, but trust me, the moment these lawmakers go to assemblies and parliaments, most sane and reasonable people want to see them working in people's welfare and not settle outside scores.

Got your point.

Jo bongi maari ha ooska jawab den, mazeed bongian marnay ki bajye.

Re: Jamat e Islami’s role in Pakistan

Aap IK se pata kr k btaen k JI k vulgarity and obseneity on the media aur interest based economy k against bills ko PTI ki support kyon nae mili?
Just because JI has alliance with PTI in KPK doesnt mean JI is bound to support PTI absolutely. Why does everybody expect JI’s unconditional support when JI have its own majlis e shoora and PTI has its own agendas?

Wohi hate. If JI was hungry for power or money they could have achieved by puting off religion tag. They would even get support from so called liberals.
Haddi k leay alliance aapki mehboob mqm krti ha.