Jamat e Islami's role in Pakistan

How JI contributed shaping Pakistan society over the period? Can JI’s overall role be termed positive or it is directly and indirectly responsible for the mess we are facing today.

A little I know about JI:

**Positives:
(i) No corruption allegations ( as far as I know. Might be beneficiary for foreign funding during Afghan Jihad… But still I need confirmation from the posters who know their role during that time).

(ii) Philanthropic efforts (Hospitals under Al-Khidmat and efforts for education rural areas of Pakistan). So does MQM through KKF and PTI’ leader did wonderful job through Shaukat Khanum

(iii) Open for all ethnicities. But same can be claimed by MQM, as they gave opportunity to Pahtuns and Sindhis (Nabeel Gabol, Heer Soho and Shirazi Group to name few). They don’t campaign on ethnic lines like playing Muhajir card by MQM and Sindh card by PPP.
Negatives:

**(i) Historically, they started anti-Pakistan (their leaders opposed Pakistan for Indian nationalism? correct me if I’m wrong). They played very negative role (at least thats what people of Bengladesh think) through their militant wings Shams and Badar.

(ii) They used force in universities, had torture cells (if Thunder squad claim by Altaf Hussain is considered true) and are responsible for creation of parties like MQM.

(iii) Taliban supporters (Do I need to say anything on this?)

Re: Jamat e Islami's role in Pakistan

They prepare their karkun from school levels. In term of karkun education, they are better than Altaf's tarbiati nashists.

• Almost always sided the dictator(s)

• JI is one of the key party to bring violence & non-tolerance in educational institutes. They were always the part of it. From the age of danda & mukka to the age of TT & KK which in turn gave rise to badmashs gangs like APMSO, PSF, PPSF, PPSF (in Karachi) and I am sure all over Pakistan. At one point in time, a guy could not talk to a girl to discuss project without getting his couple of bones broken by some "bhai" of IJT

on positive side

• they have very organized man power.

I support jamat. I dont think it can be different discussion than what we know about liberal perspective for religious organizations. Even PTI is equivalent to taliban let alone jamat. So it is going to be an anti jamat propaganda thread.
Sorry to say but people dont follow religion for most part of their lives so expecting them have unbiased opinion about a religious party is unlikely imo. Like everybody knows what opinion bengaliis have about bhuto, army and whole pakistan generally but people love to blame jamat.
Jamatis are not blind jyalas so let me say that there could be some mistakes on jamat's part as well. But there is no chance of benefit of doubt for jamat as people love give it to their parties. you would easily believe whatever is coming from media against them. Instead media never reports what good belongs to jamat. For example, AFAQ is a curriculum research and development institute created by a wing of jamat. popular school chains use the curriculum but media dont see this. If the curriculum had extremist elements according to media they would be first to report it as negative as they are always try to find negative things against religious party like jamat. In earthquake, a foreign ngo representative was surprised to see that no appreciation at govt level or in media despite alkhidmat being most effective force in northern areas. my last donation to jamat went to karachi alkhidmat.
Another lie is jamat introduced violence in educational institutions while everybody knows that it was bhuto who gave free hand to students.
Go on .... believe whatever you want to believe.

Another lie is jamat introduced violence in educational institutions while everybody knows that it was bhuto who gave free hand to students.

But they were the one who used it the best and were pioneers for bringing in guns skimmed via afghan war in the eighties. My uncle told me how it was a sport to beat up "communists" for these folks in Petaro and that was back in the early - mid seventies. Of course, every jiyala has his or her biases.

Even PTI is equivalent to taliban let alone jamat.

Pakistan ka waqai allah hAfiz!

Inna Lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un

I respect your affiliation to Jamat but IJT was there in the late 60's when I was in college and uni and PPP was not even in existence. Even than they were violent and use to beat their opponents. I know this because of their activities in Hailey college. For a time during my college days I was part of IJT and later left them because of their violent nature.

Opinion about religious party? I have lost my cousin who was IJT's nazim to this violence. I have seen this dayin-dayout from very near (am i qualified?) . Just because someone get killed does not make them innocent. (remember the hadeeth to the effect that: lariee main, qatil aur maqtool donoon jahannumi hain. Qatil is leyee k uss nai qatak keya aur maqtool is leyee k us nai bhi qatal ka irada keya)

There are many "originals" that IJT started aur "jama ki buses main londay bhar ker kisi dosrey college/university main lariee kerney jana" was one of their original too

Re: Jamat e Islami’s role in Pakistan

Some former and ex JI londay lapary are now karkun of MQM… :hehe:

JI has always been b-team for army since partition, supporting military rulers. It has lots of contribution to destroy democracy, institutions and distorting history particularly misguided text books for children, converting secular Pakistan into a chaotic and confused state regarding faith and religion. They are father founder of jehadis which destroyed the future of Pakistan.

You are right regarding corruption; no or negligible corruption directly but indirectly they are again believers of absolute power and their support to absolute power created corruption absolutely.

There is no doubt about their philanthropic efforts. But negatives about this party had overcome its positives, Pakistan had to pay very heavy price in 1971 and again in the late seventies when they supported military in 1977 dislodging elected government.

As regard MQM, malown amirulmunafiqin created mqm to counter PPP in Sindh. Once this kana dajjal said to people of Karachi, after removing his glasses, showing his ugly face "ke dekho main bhi muhajir hoon".

to destroy Pakistan.

Re: Jamat e Islami’s role in Pakistan

u bet they are. These losers don’t have any affiliation. They need to feed their power hungry ego. I have seen these luchey badmash jumping b/w parties like my kids jump on trampoline. You would not believe but most feared guy (and his associates) of my area left Punjabi Pakhtoon Itehad (PPI) and joined PML(N) in mid 90s in a ceremony that was presided by Aleem Adil Sheikh and Haleem Adil Sheikh. Similerly i have seens guys jumping b/w JI, MQM and Haqiqi regularly.

Every single party need (and have) these kind of badmash. JI (or IJT) of course has the longest history

for some reason, Jamaat-e-Islami is considered a very 'cultured' party and it's membership comprises of highly educated individuals. during my stay at AligaRh Muslim University, i knew quite a few profs and students who were associated with the jamaa'at. they had a very good impression on me...better than those of the TableeGhii Jamaa'at people.

since they have no chance of ever coming to power, they are engaged mostly in 'falaaHii-kaam' and 'bayaan-baaziyaaN'.

Why so much defensive from the start? Your tone in the very first paragraph say either you don't have proper information to refute the negatives of JI or you just don't have good information about the positives of party you support.

Had it been a propaganda thread, it would never mention positive points and provide opportunity to refute negatives. I believe the OP is quite balance than the 100s of posts that some people post about Karachi, MQM, PPP and people of Sindh. No?

But lets keep this thread clean of that run of the mill formula posts against communities and terming that racist. So please come with jaandar arguments in favour of your party, instead of pointing fingers at other parties, other ethnicities and of course coming out of a notion that this is a propaganda against religious party from a liberal who don't follow religion properly.

Considering the politics of JI Pakistan and Bengladesh, many would say for JI India's position ' It serves them better'. But any how, that is another tangent and may be we can discuss it some other time.

lol.... you mean Taliban are okay with public bhangra parties next to containers?

Lowest level of Jamiat members are the issue but it cannot be addressed easily. I mean controling them is beyond leadership. They can be disassociated from Jamiat but it wont make difference either. Its like they use name of the party to exert power. But I would consider original Jamiat members those who at least have attended daroos ul quran o hadith and taribait session at least more than one time. Dars is organized almost regularly every week. That's from where Jamiat actully starts.as i said its religious so it natural for people to be distracted considering how difficult now a days it has become to follow Islam.
Rest is upto you.

Sounds familiar. 'Ye MQM ke karkun nahin'. Wish people could acknowledge and put a soft hand on other parties for similar factors. But insaan ki fitrat hi aisi hai 'tera kutta kutta hai, aur mera kutta tommy'.

Still jmatis dont do racist stuff and terrorize other ethnicities. You hardly see any violence in the name of Jamiat. Instead MQM would be first to blame even if they are their own goons.

You are right, in a country where a person like Imran Khan is considered Taliban by self proclaimed 'liberals', you really don't want to know anything about desi liberalism after that. It's just another face of bigoted extremist ideology, nothing more.

But point about JI still largely stand corrected. Bear in my mind I am not a MQM supporter and sympathiser you find on these forums who give sermons justifying (or just remaining tight lipped about) MQM's terrorism while give fatwas on JI's gunda gardi. To me, both are equally bad. Only difference is that JI is a spent force whereas MQM is still a cancer that needs to be treated.

I don't have any chip on the shoulder in regards to religion nor I'm going through any identity crises in life, but you have to admit that JI as been an utter disappointment and a very destructive force. They have never used Islam to really push their weight behind formulation of welfare state, children's rights, need for quick and speedy justice, right to education, economic equality etc etc. For a party which is considered financially incorrupt, they have never really waged a war against epidemic corruption in the country. Even today, the political synonymous for opposition to corruption is Imran Khan, how many times Siraj ul Haq has spoken against corruption?

JI other than going through bouts of sectarian outburst and getting so passionately and operationally involved in geo-political games, have never really did issue based politics on problems that were lot closer to home. Yes, for an original political organisation that went all the way to the grass root level and absorbed people from all walks of life and every nook and corner of the country, they haven't really achieved much.

JI has never been given votes to make majority. Expecting them do reforms without getting votes you are doing same what mqmers or jyalas say that IK has done nothing. MMA was a mess. What jamat can do and for Jamiat, I have explained already.