Re: Jamaat
Although I do not agree with their philosophy but I will second your impressions. These are my impressions too.
I don't agree w/ their philosophy either... but yes no doubt they're doing a great service to Islam
Although I do not agree with their philosophy but I will second your impressions. These are my impressions too.
I don't agree w/ their philosophy either... but yes no doubt they're doing a great service to Islam
Read thoroughly every aspect of the lives of the companions of the Prophet sallallahu aleyhi wasallam, from authentic books, and then look at these people. You won't find much of a difference, in terms of the direction they give to their life. Of course, in terms of commitment no one can reach the dust of the feet of the Sahaabas and the friends of Allah subhana wata'aala.
It is very easy to spend your time and money on yourself and your family (which is their right). BUT it definitely requires a bigger heart to spend such a large amount of ones own money and time (without any worldly incentive but rude response of people) in spreading the message of the Prophet (Saw), the way the Sahaabas did. YES, it was because of Sahaabas time and efforts "away from their families" that you and me are born muslims today, by the grace of Allah (swt). How many people have you and me converted to Islam by spending our time away from our families only when our "job", "Salaries", "Career" and "TADA" demanded.
It is because of their efforts and blessings of Allah (swt) that the Muslim in the west who used to write their name "Joesph" now easily write "Yousuf". Look at halal meet shops here and there which couldn't be found in abundance in non-Muslim countries few decades ago.
Read thoroughly every aspect of the lives of the companions of the Prophet sallallahu aleyhi wasallam, from authentic books, and then look at these people. You won't find much of a difference, in terms of the direction they give to their life. Of course, in terms of commitment no one can reach the dust of the feet of the Sahaabas and the friends of Allah subhana wata'aala.
It is very easy to spend your time and money on yourself and your family (which is their right). BUT it definitely requires a bigger heart to spend such a large amount of money and time (without any worldly incentive but rude response of people) in spreading the message of the Prophet (Saw), the way the Sahaabas did. YES, it was because of Sahaabas time and efforts "away from their families" that you and me are born muslims., by the grace of Allah (swt). How many people have you and me converted to Islam by spending our time away from families only when our "job", "Salaries" and "TADA" demanded.
It is because of their efforts and blessings of Allah (swt) that the Muslim in the west who used to write their name "Joesph" now easily write "Yousuf". Look at halal meet shops here and there which couldn't be found in abundance in non-Muslim countries few decades ago.
Yes but they are not converting people, they are preaching to the converted. I respect them for trying to encourage muslims to be better, but I would respect them even more if they we actually trying to convert non-muslims.
^ Though I don't remember the exact reference, but I remember the hadith that the Prophet (saw) mentioned that brining a Muslim who has gone astray back to track (the basics of Islam) is 100 times better than converting a non-Muslim. Yes, I agree that both should go side by side. The key is that when Muslims would come back to track, non-Muslims wouldn't require preaching and hence they wouldn't give the common excuse, "We love Islam in the books, but are afraid of becoming like the Muslims we see in real life"
But in Jamaat they say, " My own ear is the closest to my mouth. Whatever I say should first go into my own ear. My first target is to correct my own heart. Every single Muslim is better than me. Hence I am preaching to myself first than to humbly remind others of their duties towards Allah (swt)"
^ Though I don't remember the exact reference, but I remember the hadith that the Prophet (saw) mentioned that brining a Muslim back to track (the basics of Islam) is 100 times better than converting a non-Muslim. Yes, I agree that both should go side by side. We don't have enough time and certainty to prioritize one over the other...
I would really like to see that source. This sums up my feelings.
“ He who kills a soul unless it be (in legal punishment) for murder or for causing disorder and corruption on the earth will be as if he had killed all humankind; and he who saves a life will be as if he had saved the lives of all humankind.” ( The Qur’an, Al-Ma’idah, 5:32)
I think that converting a person is saving their life. In my opinion there is no life without Islam.
nice reply ![]()
Also JJ has number of boutique across the Pakistan and his dresses are well popular in young generation living in cities not in jungle ![]()
The only issue I would have with Jamatis is how their families are left behind to deal with things alone. But as Niksik said, these women do not have any issues with it. One woman I know...let her husband go for 4 months. When you asked her if she ever got upset at his long absences (she has three kids)...she said no. She supports him 110% and will be there when he comes home......
Could it be that she is actually happy that this self-imposing guy is not around ? :P
^ A man from Kuwait came to Lahore (Raiwind) because he felt that this was the environment where he can learn a lot in very short time about the sunnahs of the Prophet (saw) and the ways of the suhabas. He was crying in front of Maulana Jamshed sahab that His wife is saying that if he spent 4 months away from her, she would leave him because she thinks that no where in Islam it is written that one should leave his wife and children alone for that long (even though he had left enough money for them). His parents asked him: where in Islam is it written that one should leave his parents who are old, weak and helpless. Who would take care of them while he is away. His company and love is more important for them than the money he had left behind for them...
Maulana sahab advised him to offer two Rakah Salaat ul Hajah and pray to Allah (swt). Just after he did it, he got a call from a company in USA that he has been selected for the post he had applied for. The salary was many times more than his present job in Kuwait. The only condition was that he had to work for a year in USA without any leave. Only after that he would be able to go back to his country and can brings along with him his other family members.
When he called his family. His wife assured him that he shouldn't worry about the children, she would take care of them in his absence of 1 year. His parents told him that they were perfectly fine and he should care more for his career than their health...
And......., as always.... Allah (swt) was watching all this...
^ I hope you are not implying that the maulana saab got him the job through one of his personal miracles. Also, while I respect one's desire to learn more about his religion, leaving one's family behind against their will is not a noble sacrifice neither. In my humble opinion, huqooq-ul-Ibaad hold precedence over what-have-ya in Raiwind.
^:k:
^ I hope you are not implying that the maulana saab got him the job through one of his personal miracles. Also, while I respect one's desire to learn more about his religion, leaving one's family behind against their will is not a noble sacrifice neither. In my humble opinion, huqooq-ul-Ibaad hold precedence over what-have-ya in Raiwind.
No your hope is wrong. So no need to worry.
You did not get the point there, but that's OK.
Regarding your comment about huqooqullah and huqooqul Ibaad, its not that simple. :)
Let me submit this new thought: There is no such thing as 'Huqooqullah'. Some other time will discuss at proper time and place.
^ O the wisdom!
^ Sorry to say that you totally misundertood that post above.
Alhamdulillah, we Muslims today have not yet reached a level that we start pointing fingers at the life of Suhabas for making their wives live a life of "widows" and their children live a life of "orphans" (even in their life) only because they were away for months and years to spread Islam to far off places. Even though those wives and children would inshaAllah be living with them forever in Heaven, but their sacrifices resulted in our families being Muslim today, which of course we take for granted more than any other blessing in life.
When I wanted to leave for 4 months in Jamaat, my wife was Alhamdulillah convinced. She agreed that if today we bear a bit of "Judai" for the sake of learning and spreading the teachings of the Prophet (saw), Allah would inshaAllah rewards us by keeping us together in the life after death (which is forever). But today if we don't make this minor sacrifice for contributing, learning and spreading the DEEN of Allah, we don't know if Allah (Swt) would allow us to meet in the life after death.
The mutual love in the hearts of a couple is in the control of Allah (swt), HE can increase it or decrease it no matter how long one stays away or with ones wife. Even though I myself don't know, my wife thinks that I have changed a lot and love her a lot more, care about her a lot more after spending 4 months in jamaat. She really enjoyed the love letters I wrote to her and still preserves it. In fact she wants me to go again for sometime so that I write those letters again when I miss her. Every single day I spent with the Jamaat, I learned a lot about the Prophets ways of loving and respecting ones wife, parents,...etc. I never heard anyone say bad things about non-Muslims or other Muslim sects. Being the first person ever in three generations of my family (nearly 80 years) to initiate this step, I found these people to be very close to the lives of the Prophet and his companions than any other group I joined in quest of truth, over the years...
Although I don't know why everybody and their brother is jumping in to defend what the Submission man said, I will still say what I said in my first post here, huqooq-ul-ibaad holds precedence over attending a 4 day gathering. I do respect the desire to learn more about youre religion, but leaving your family behind against their will, that doesn't sit well with me. A quick example I can think of is of the sahabi who was en route to jihad and was returned home by prophet muhammad bpuh to take care of his old ailing parents (mother?). To each their own man, if it sits well with your wife, nothing like it.
^ So, its all well if the guy secures permission from his family?
My friend said that he is going to 3 days for Jamaat. I know that someone thinks its "brainwash" and someone thinks its for good. I dont know almost anything about Jamaat so could someone tell me what that basically is and is it for good? And do u think my friend will change after that..?
When he comes back, make sure you take off the suicide belt or any other explosive material from him.
Tablighi Jamaat only believes in preaching to non practicing Muslims to bring them back to right path and make sure that they are exemplary Muslims . They believe that if we are all exemplary Muslims others will follow automatically.
They do not believe in any kind of armed resistance or armed Jihad against anybody. Some even go to the extent of declaring Moulana Ilyas who started tablighi jamaat was frangion ka agent ( British agent).
I have been to quiet a few jamaats when I was young. This is how the schedule goes. Wake up for Fajr. After fajr give the 6 numbers. eat breakfast. sleep for an hour wake up read some quran or meet with the group and read hadiths from fazl-e-amal (sp). after that read on your own pray or go to sleep. This keeps going on for the whole day. Then after asr or maghrib go to people's houses and tell them to come to the masjid and listen to us talk to them about Islam.
I have a few problems with the way it's done. First of all, they don't care how young you are (as long as you are baligh) then they will make you stand up in front of everyone and make an announcement that "we are here for a limited time in this world and we have a job to do" If you are young everyone is like "o mashallah he's soo good at such a young age." But you have no idea what you are talking about. They made me do the 6 numbers. I have no idea what those six numbers mean.
They also say that you have to do at least 3 days per month, 40 days every year and 3 months in your lifetime. The process is the same from day 1 till day whatever. You don't learn anything new really. To become a better muslim you could invest that time learning a juz or 2 or reading authentic hadiths from Bukhari and not pretend that you care about islam and not be forced into it.
Could it be that she is actually happy that this self-imposing guy is not around ? :P
I have no idea...it did not sound like it from her attitude. She kept saying "my husband can go, I do not mind and I will be here when he comes home. He isnt doing anything wrong and my priority is Allah swt". There were some women who did not like the idea of being left alone but she defended TJ tooth and nail.
I havent seen any crazy TJs to be honest aside from one. He was a bit loony (he would get all the guys to go workout in case they were called for jihad) but I think it had more to do with his aggressive nature than TJ.
They also say that you have to do at least 3 days per month, 40 days every year and 3 months in your lifetime. The process is the same from day 1 till day whatever. You don't learn anything new really. To become a better muslim you could invest that time learning a juz or 2 or reading authentic hadiths from Bukhari and not pretend that you care about islam and not be forced into it.
that's the problem i have with the way they do things here. If you talk to them and try to discuss a religious issue by reasoning they will tell you to come to the mosque and sit for a 40-day chilla instead... what about debate, discussion, current religious issues, answers to questions that arise in young minds about religion etc.