ive given birth to the population of somalia

or it seems like that!

aariz drinks mashallah 5 oz of milk at each feeding time.. whilst drinking he falls asleep but continues drinking until the milk is out… we put him to bed.. he will sleep for 15 mins MAX..and then start to get up by sucking on his hands .. thats ok cuz its meant to be conforting for a baby and doesnt mean its hungry.. but then will start the crazy chewing and sucking and licking.. i stroke his cheek and he goes for the finger like a bhooka bengali.. this happens after every single feed! he falls asleep just fine but doesnt sleep it out at all.. call it a power nap… after getting up, he will still be sleepy cuz he will cry with his eyes closed and u can tell he just wants to go back but first, wants some more milk! ive tried giving him a pacifier or some water.. but nopes.. milk it has to be.. i tried it today and he mashallah drank another oz .. it had only been 15 mins since he had a 5 oz feed!
chalo fine, he drank 6 oz.. u would think he would be full right? another 15 mins pass and he repeats the hungry act and starts wailing until i dont give him more milk! thats just crazy cuz he should not be having so much!

i know he cant drink 6oz in one feed cuz he only drinks 3 oz easily, the remaining 2 oz we havta coax him to drink cuz we know he will be hungry.

what do i do or what am i doing wrong! my doc is of no help and i cant fidn anything online .. 5 oz feed every 3 hours is perfect for a 2 month old… but it doesnt seem to be working on him

ive tried giving him 4 oz every 2 hours just so he doesnt havta wait so long .. but that hasnt worked veyr well either.. if it were upto him, he would want 3 oz every hour!

i just cant understand how a 2 month old can seroiusly STILL be hungry after a 5 oz feed.. not just one time.. but after every single feed!

HELP!

Re: ive given birth to the population of somalia

he’s growing … I bet you he’s going to be really tall!! My son would lick his hands like anything too … awwww, they grow so fast!!! Maybe that’s just his eating style? Each baby is different. If 3 oz every hour works for him, then work with that. He’s a growing baby, and I know they become starved when they are having growth spurts (at 3 and 6 weeks and then again at 3 months and 6 months). I know a mother who advised me to wait until he screams with hunger, and then he’ll drink up all the milk … but I never did that. He usually wanted 6 oz every 3 hours … and yes, he drank a lot more for his age than other normal babies. That’s why I think your son is going to be tall. Also explains why he leaks.

He would scream like anything when the milk would finish and we would go through this routine every single time … it’s like he would forget and go into shock, like, where did my milk go!!! LOL

As long as he’s pooing and peeing the right amount, I wouldn’t worry too much.

I don’t know, maybe someone else can advise you better. :flower1:

see mehnz.. i wouldnt mind the 3 oz every hour, the routine is the same. first off it was 2 oz every hour but that clearly was not cutting it so then we upped it to 3 oz and still he was hungry.. so i htought ok follow the books.. and give 5 oz every 3 hours.. oh my god he went ballistic.. he wanted a feeding gap of max 1.5 hours so i wait until 2 hours have lapsed cuz i just feel thats way too soon for a feed… and even now after a 5 oz feed its still not enuff! im giving serious thought to upping it to 6 oz.. the doctor just says, go with the flow.. erm okay.. :rolleyes:

he drinks 3 oz wonderfully and then the last 2 oz are a struggle.. erm ok! if u were so damn hungry then why not finish the bottle in one go!!

ive tried leaving the reamining 2 oz to when he wants it.. which is usually after 15 mins.. so he drinks 3 oz in 15 mins and then the reamining 2 in 15 mins.. in 30 mins his feed is over.. he falls asleep… but after 15 mins he is up again wanting more… irkh..

its like if ure so hungry then why not drink the friggin 5 oz in one go! im starting to think thats his feeding style? take breaks in between a single feed?

i took growth spurt into account but if it were upto him, he would be strapped under a friggin cow drinking milk the whole friggin day!
but ya.. i think he takes after daddy. down with giants i say!

Khawa, about the pacifiers, have you tried different kinds? Kanzah only likes a certain kind of pacifier. I am just trying to grasp at straws here.

WoW - my daughter was the other way around, she was like better give the milk to someone else, i dont want it ... it was hard to feed her properly as she would take less than the adviced on the milk.. but thank God she is healthy and properly grown ... maybe its just a phase that your boy has, maybe boys just drink more. I also think its because ur husband is so big and tall he will take after him, did u ask your MIL if she had the same kind trouble with too much feeding as u are having now ?

Sorry Khawateen but i just laughed out loud re your second post about baby being strapped to the cow! Haha!

Wow.. mashallah what a baby - wants more and more! You are lucky as some babies dont even drink so much milk. I am 6 months into my pregnancy and dont know anything about feeding etc...how much to feed....eeekkkkkkkkk! I plan to breastfeed inshallah so hope inshallah everything goes ok!

But regarding your son - sorry i dont have any advice - just thought i'd say i find your posts funny! The joys of motherhood eh Alhumdullilah!

ira: ive tried diff pacifiers.. he simply spits them out and they land like a swear word at my feet.. sorta like take that u kanjoos aurat and give me milk

saadia: whlst aariz took a lot of habits from his dad.. the eating bit he didnt.. as a baby my husband was on and off his moms boob in 15 mins. so mil cant help there either.

i think i need to just give what he wants though with some kinda schedule. i think he just wants 3 oz ever 1.5 hours which i dont like cuz he should be drinking 4 or 5 oz every 3 hours or even 2.5 hours. was thinking i would do that, so maybe i need to stick to the new shedule and give aariz time to get used to it

HEY! so ive been reading up on it and it never struck me that his bottle nipple is the mothers nipple imitation style which we bought when he was having latching on issues!!

so stupid.. was searching for answers online and it hit me that i have to move up on the nipple flow chart from newborn to 2 month old.. cuz right now he has to really suck hard just like a baby would when being breastfed.. meaning he sucks hard for the first 5 mins and only takes in like a half oz... lots of air bubbles must get in too meaing he fills up with air and thinks he is full after the 2 oz mark... once he lets gas out he gets hungry again not lnog after being fed..

man its like i hit the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.. lets see if it works!

omg :omg: I love your title!!!

and i love your style of writing very funny

try to wind him halfway through his feed, this way he wont be full of air, and will actually get the milk he needs, and will give mummy a welcome break.

i can so sense your frustration in this post....these little monkeys really test our patience...bless them

i do wind him. after every oz and he takes great manly burps... doesnt seem to aid the fast drinkin though.. thanks for understanding :)

i try to stay positive and not go crazy and thus put a funny twist on things.. but sometimes its just hell.

and the nipple idea failed miserably... he chokedand gagged .. even though i put him pretty upright. maybe i can get a medium flow nipple.. damn these kids and their trial and error method raising!

This discussion reminds me of this little girl

She might eat more than other 2 yrs old but I also think that the mother exaggerated.

when i read the title, i knew it had to be your creative mind at work.

well bachi ki health sai tou nahi lagta kai she eats 20 chapatis:hayaa:

^ she is so damn adorable - all i kept thinking was "mashallah mashallah"...I just want to grab her and give her cuddle..

a friend of mine has the same kind of thing with her little fella who is 2 months old. she uses this attachment insider the bottle which controls the flow of milk so that he doesn't get all gassy afterwards. i'll find out from her what its called but she had the same issue for the first month with lots of feedings, lots of the time. the bottle seems to have eased it a bit.

THose bottles are probably Dr Browns…I used them for my son who had reflux and gas…heres a link for you

Dr.Browns

mama.. how did the bottles work out for ure son? aariz doesnt thankfully have acid reflux but the kid needs major burping after every oz, or he stops drinking until he does burp thus taking forever to feed him. though at nights he is just so deep in sleep that he doesnt even burp (but then he doesnt drink taht much at nights).

The bottles worked very nicely for the gas. No help with the reflux. But he also liked the nipple which was great because I tried so many different ones before we finally tried dr browns. I got a set of them, it came with small and large bottles and nipples with 3 different sized flow openings.