It really happens, Muslims are not welcome in Delhi

India’s democracy is supposedly secular but the reality on the ground is very different or so it appears

This is what landlords in Delhi think of renting out property to muslims. It is a clear no no..

agar urban supposedly educated class kee yeh soch hai, forget about rural india where things must surely be even worse

Re: It really happens, Muslims are not welcome in Delhi

^thats most unfortunate video and shameful for indians.how can an indian behave in such manner with a humanbeing?

Did you guys really view the video in full before making these comments? let me point out some highlights:

1) the video clearly talks about this difficulty that some muslims face is a new & recent thing and shows is a the result of terrorism etc that have been committed in the name of Islam and the resultant unease people have developed. you have the terrorists to thank for this - don't blame India, urban or rural for it. Atleast view the video you are posting yourself!

2) the video also clearly proves that it is not just Hindu landlords but Christians and others as well that have developed this unease about muslims. ask yourself why

3) the video analyzes that this unease is not just in India but in many other countries as well

Let me ask you: Why do you think is that people world over regardless of their own religion or nationality, have developed such prejudice over muslims?

I am proud that non-muslims and muslims in India are able to surface and discuss this problem openly and fearlessly.

1. Terrorism is very very briefly discussed. Infact, they discussed incidents where landlords would not even rent houses to Christians. Unease is mostly because of Muslims being considered 'uncultured' or 'unsophisticated'.

1. Because they think Muslims are not 'advanced' or 'cultured' enough. Burqa is not a good thing to have around your neighbourhood.

2. Unease in many other countries for not Muslims particularly but for ethnic or religious minorities in general.

Yes, I do appreciate atleast the discussion which revolved around 'aggressive Hinduism' rather than 'Islamic terrorism'. Your prejudiced interpretation has spoiled my appreciation for 'open mindedness' which was displayed by the two gentlemen in the video.

values of india ? what a joke.

they killed 105 muslims in Kashmir in a couple of weeks

and now this:

terrorism was mentioned as a reason, it was not discussed.

did you miss the part where the Christian landlord also says no to the muslim seeker?

and yes, even if you know only a little bit about Delhi and Mubai, you will know that burqas are very very common - millions wear them and it is a non -issue.

On your #3 - really? so in the US you don't think the mosque issue is not a 'about muslim' issue but a minorities issue? that is new!

yeah you'll be disappointed because eveyone doesn't conform to your interpretations?

1. So your first point is baseless. A passing mention in a 22 minute video and you make that the sole issue?

2. Christian Landlord again did not object to Muslims because of terrorism but because people of the locality do not want Muslims there.

3. Please point out in the video where they discuss specifically Muslims being targeted in other countries.

You are harping only on one thing again and again which was as you said 'only mentioned, not discussed'. The reasons discussed at length were the Hindu people being too protective of their religion and culture, a perception that Muslims are unsophisticated enough for their locality, a perception of false 'modernism' with the urban middle class society, discrimination against minorities in other countries and Indian legal system not capable of providing relief against such discrimination.

On terrorism - huh? I said it is only mentioned, not discussed. When did I make it the sole issue?

On #2 - Hindus want to be with Hindus, Christians want to be with Christians and Muslims want to be with Muslims - there are Hindu, Christian & Muslim localities aplenty as well as numerous mixed localities - what part of this is a surprise to you? Birds of a feather tend to flock together!

On #3: listen to 12:26 to 12:52

On the last para - listen to 11:30 to 12:10.

Nonsense!

Even if Muslims were not welcome in Delhi theres not a fat lot Indians who oppose Islam can really do about it Delhi is surrounded by Islamic icons, they might as well demolish the lot if they want... but they would not dare to do so would be to demolish their own icons and they know it.

This hatred is not doing anybody any good.

It's why we have trouble like terrorism.

Takethat Sixer, your post #3 is highlighting the fact that Muslims are projected as violent, and that's the reason for all the issues discussed in the video and that's where you are making it a sole issue.

12:26 to 12:52 --- how media (wrongly) projects Muslims as terrorist, not that Muslims are violent.
11:30 to 12:10 -- how politicians use religious sentiments of communities for inciting hatred and gaining political points.

Neither of the above have anything to do with Muslim community as a culprit. Both of them emphasize that there is an anti-Muslim sentiment in India and that is not based on any reasonable grounds.

Why are you asking us to 'ask yourself why'? Why not ask your media, your political leaders and your community leaders?

^ because India has more mulsims than I think just one other country in the world, more even than Pakistan. We never had any special 'muslim' problme until 9/11 and spate of terrorist attacks.

There are Hindu building societies, there are mulsim bldg socities and Chrsitian etc etc and there are equal or more don't care who societies. The Muslims themselves, as do Hindus, Christians etc - many want to just stick to their particular kind ...and many don't mind mixing.

So if instead of going to a building building society where only muslims live, a Hindu or Christian will have the same problem of rejection! But of they go to a mixed building, it won't be an issue.

Don't stereotype Muslims as terrorist. What percentage of more than one Billion population of Muslims do you think are terrorists?

That is why Pakistan was created in 1947 and now Kashmir are crying for their independence. This is purely hindu racism againt Muslims, be condemned by sane population of India rather than justifying this nonsense.

Please have some sense for knowledge before you shoot your words..

Islam is the official religion of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, which has a population of about 174,578,558.[1]](Islam in Pakistan - Wikipedia)

Islam is second-most practiced religion in the Republic of India after Hinduism, with more than 13.4% of the country’s population (over 138,000,000 as per 2001 census.[2]](Islam in India - Wikipedia)[1]](Islam in India - Wikipedia)

Source: Wikipedia

Whereas the total population of India is 1,139,964,932 (Source: World Bank, World Development Indicators)

Now do India has more Muslims than Pakistan?

You are saying about going to mixed society. You yourself know such societies are representing not even 5% of whole India. We are talking about majority here, and the fact it there is a lot of racism in many on Hindus than other religion in India. This is not only first example Hindus did the same with Sikh and their religion!

Its better for you to have biscuits with milk and go to sleep than discussing it any further as you have NO idea what you are talking about.

India cannot deal with minorities is it a secualr state or a hindu state?

we hear of masscres of christians and muslims on a regular basis it is not something new.

Muslims are the lowest class in the caste system of india they are discriminated against and now to call all of them as terrorists is poor excuse for what has been happening for many decades.

Why are you comparing the Indian 2001 number with the Pakistani 2010 number? get the right numbers and if I am wrong so be it - the point is we have a huge muslim population in India and for all the noise made about Pakistan ‘honoring’ all religions, the minority population in Pakistan has dwindled whereas in India it hasn’t.

And where did you get the figure that the mixed building societies are less than 5%? you just made up didn’t you? why are you so desperate that you make up numbers like this?

I can understand your frustration to want to prove me wrong but truth is not on your side, so you will never be able to.

**Accorsding to IslamicWeb (Population of Muslims around the world) there were over 133M muslims in India and 125M muslims in Pakistan, circa 1998. **Population of Muslims around the world. Only Indonesia had more muslims than India then.

If Pakistan can go from 125M to 165M in 12 years, don’t you think Indian muslims could too, go from 133M to pretty close to or more than that?

when and where did I stereotype? I said we have a huge muslim population in India and we never had any problem specifically discriminating muslims or landlords being afraid of renting to muslims.

Remember - in many places muslims won't rent to other religions as well - it is just the way people are - birds of same feather.

People like you inflame the rhetoric and and just hope that you can create a divide in India. Your evil schemes have not worked and will not work. In fact they have all backfired on you and you're witness to the state of Pakistan at the hands of the terrorists!

^^ LOL the video speak itself and you are trying to make just some random comments for the current fact of Muslims in Kashmir and Gujrat happening, although there are many to state but these two are from current era! Its fact and facts don’t need any Aristotle to proof its reliability.

Well I also stated about massacre done my Hindus against Sikhs in your own country.

An about population facts, if you know better then get better statistics regarding Muslims in Pakistan and India regarding population size with source!

Oh well you edited and added the facts about population.. Can you just tell me where on the website its written 1998? its 1971. Lets assume you say its 1998. So you mean in 1998 the total population of india was 952,107,694 and in 2008 it has increased to only 1,139,964,932 which means in 10 years only 187,857,238 people have increased? where as the population growth rate is 1.407% (2010 est.) From 187,857,238 if you add almost half of it then you surpasses the current Muslims population in Pakistan. So you mean the birthrate by Indian Muslims is 50% of the total increase? Come on yaar be real!!

Oh BTW as you are discussing about the fairness you can read from another “international” source regarding Muslim’s of India
http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1862650,00.html

but i've heard there are apartment complexes owned by muslims that are exclusively for muslims in delhi too, hindus aren't allowed to buy housing there

if a muslim owns a company he might want to only give another muslim bro the opportunity rather than a hindu based on his name. reverse discrimination happens too and this kind of crap happens in india.

not at all condoning the behavior in the videos but desi society isn't exactly squeaky clean in terms of discrimination/prejudice/bigotry. white people totally pale in comparision

in india there's all kinds of discrimination and i'm sure in pakistan too, but not all make it to youtube like these videos

^^ majority of it?

sikh riots were state sponsored