I did istikhara a few days back.i didn’t get the clear results..i read at alot of places to follow your heart..at first i started going far from him but after messaging him that its all done..now everyday i feel guilty of my discion
and its making me mad.. Plz help what should i do?
Re: istikhara
Put your trust on Allah..stay away from prohibitions..n you will inshaAllah find best after that
may Allah grant you good Ameen
istikhara
Yeah i do :) i try being more closer to Allah,make dua for peace of mind .. And yeah Allah is the best planner <3
remember that istiKhaara is NOT a litmus test and that you follow your heart whichever way it leans to. by doing istiKhaara. you basically ask Allah to put His blessings [Khair] in whatever you decide and in no way you make Allah to fulfill your desires.
but, before all that one must be in good books of Allah [or at least a real intention to be so] by becoming a good practicing Muslim/Muslimah.
istikhara
Kkf yeah i started offering prayers and alhamdulillah i m still praying and asking for HIS help..i always feel so lonely and i feel i have no peace of mind and burst into tears..life seems so hard but i know Allah will make ways and yeah i have put my trust in HIM.So,that i could be a true muslim..May Allah help me :( plz pray
Ameen to all duas,
Peace Tpervaiz,
Messaged whom? Are you talking about a person?
istikhara
I was in a relationship.Wanted to know if he was ok for me or not? Or can i marry him? So did istikhara but now i have decided leaving him :) its all ok..My family will not accept it that is y i can't stay in it :)
Peace Tpervaiz,
I didn’t meant to get full answer from u, u could answer me simply by saying ‘yes/no’.
Anyhow
for your detailed answer. Reason of my question is that I don’t know what is ‘istikhara’ and may be I had forgotten about it if I ever came to know. Will u help me here to tell me what is ‘istikhara’ backing up with authentic source from Holy Qura’n and/or Hadith. ![]()
istikhara
Sure!
"Istikhara" means to seek goodness from Allah (Exalted is He), meaning when one intends to do an important task they do istikhara before the task. The one who does the istikhara is as if they request Allah Almighty that, O the Knower of Unseen (Exalted is He) guide me if this task is better for me or not?According to Bukhari, Volume 2, Book 21, Number 263:
Narrated Jabir bin 'Abdullah :The Prophet (Sallal Laho Alaihi Wasallam) used to teach us the way of doing Istikhara, in all matters as he taught us the Suras of the Quran. He said, "If anyone of you thinks of doing any job he should offer a two Rakat prayer other than the compulsory ones and recite a dua..that is dua for istikhara..
If in the dream one sees whiteness (means any thing white in color, for example: milk, white paper, white sky, white clothes, white light etc.) or greenness (means any thing green in color, for example: grass, plants, trees, green clothes, green light etc.) then understand that this task is better and if one sees redness (means any thing red in color, for example: blood, red clothing, red fruit, red light etc.) or blackness (means any thing black in color, for example: black water, black light, black clothings, black sky, black wall etc. ) then understand it is bad and avoid it.
If do not remember any dream or do not see any colors then follow your heart. Whatever intention grows stronger in your heart regarding your targated work follow it after seven days of Istakhara.
Peace Tpervaiz,
Khair & :lkk:
There is no doubt about the authenticity of hadith. However, I disagree with the interpretation/method, as quoted below. Will study more about this and then going to pass comments.
istikhara
Hmm when i did istikhara i saw nothing clearly..So i stopped thinking about it..And then asked Allah for help with a clear mind..And making supplication all the time,after prayer..although it is still difficult to forget but i feel much better..And a main purpose of it is to know Allah's content also so that u decide what is better for you :)..I explained watever i knew..
Peace Tpervaiz,
What I meant there are lots of methods are connected with this hadith, like I heard some says one must do 'istikhara' only on Thursday, Friday and Saturday', some others says do it continuously for seven days, some says you'll see different types of colors, or signs in your dreams and u have to catch (recognize) them etc., etc.,
The most simple thing I heard related to that is if your heart is tumbling and you do 'Istikhara', your heart will stop tumbling and will be in peace condition, which means as 'positive' and to do that thing. But in case of it is not in peace, then that thing one shouldn't do.
Still, I'm looking for what Ulama said about this hadith.
^ sometimes you will see situation get worst even...nothing seems positive thats also show us theres nothing good in decision and vice versa...just after istikhara decision you take...you have to be very consistent and relaxation about your decision no matter what comes after that...its indeed better for you...the decision consist of istikhara and as well as suggesstion from pious person or ulema or mufti...
as far as i know istikhara is a dua..n one asking goodness and protection from Allah..its not you are asking suggestion from Allah
Allah knows best..
may Allah grant us goodness and may we take right decision Ameen
This. I second that and :lkk:
Ameen.
istikhara
I heard that if you do istikhara u need to sleep on the place u offer nafal.. :/ but when i did,i didn't sleep there ..i tried to relax my mind and do it so i could feel better and yes! I feel better now.. :) i also read about it online..i found different things on different pages but then i tried doing it for 7 days and just stop thinking much ..:)
Peace Tpervaiz,
The following three hadith found in 'Sahih Bukhari'. I agree with Tahurra that is the basically a dua.
Book 'Oneness, Uniqueness of Allah (Tawheed) Hadith No. 487.
Narrated Jabir bin Abdullah: As-Salami: Allah's Apostle used to teach his companions to perform the prayer of Istikhara for each and every matter just as he used to teach them the Suras from the Quran He used to say, "If anyone of you intends to do some thing, he should offer a two rakat prayer other than the compulsory prayers, and after finishing it, he should say: O Allah! I consult You, for You have all knowledge, and appeal to You to support me with Your Power and ask for Your Bounty, for You are able to do things while I am not, and You know while I do not; and You are the Knower of the Unseen. O Allah If You know It this matter (name your matter) is good for me both at present and in the future, (or in my religion), in my this life and in the Hereafter, then fulfill it for me and make it easy for me, and then bestow Your Blessings on me in that matter. O Allah! If You know that this matter is not good for me in my religion, in my this life and in my coming Hereafter (or at present or in the future), then divert me from it and choose for me what is good wherever it may be, and make me be pleased with it." (See Hadith No. 391, Vol. 8)*
Book 'Prayer at Night (Tahajjud)' Hadith No. 263 (as you quoted earlier)
Narrated Jabir bin 'Abdullah : The Prophet (p.b.u.h) used to teach us the way of doing **Istikhara**** (*Istikhara* means to ask Allah to guide one to the right sort of action concerning any job or a deed), in all matters as he taught us the Suras of the Quran. He said, "If anyone of you thinks of doing any job he should offer a two Rakat prayer other than the compulsory ones and say (after the prayer): -- '*Allahumma inni astakhiruka bi'ilmika, Wa astaqdiruka bi-qudratika, Wa as'alaka min fadlika al-'azlm Fa-innaka taqdiru Wala aqdiru, Wa ta'lamu Wala a'lamu, Wa anta 'allamu l-ghuyub. Allahumma, in kunta ta'lam anna hadha-l-amra Khairun li fi dini wa ma'ashi wa'aqibati amri (or 'ajili amri wa'ajilihi) Faqdirhu wa yas-sirhu li thumma barik li Fihi, Wa in kunta ta'lamu anna hadha-lamra shar-run li fi dini wa ma'ashi wa'aqibati amri (or fi'ajili amri wa ajilihi) Fasrifhu anni was-rifni anhu. Waqdir li al-khaira haithu kana Thumma ardini bihi.' (O Allah! I ask guidance from Your knowledge, And Power from Your Might and I ask for Your great blessings. You are capable and I am not. You know and I do not and You know the unseen. O Allah! If You know that this job is good for my religion and my subsistence and in my Hereafter--(or said: If it is better for my present and later needs)--Then You ordain it for me and make it easy for me to get, And then bless me in it, and if You know that this job is harmful to me In my religion and subsistence and in the Hereafter--(or said: If it is worse for my present and later needs)--Then keep it away from me and let me be away from it. And ordain for me whatever is good for me, And make me satisfied with it). The Prophet added that then the person should name (mention) his need.
and Book 'Invocations' Hadith 391**.
Narrated Jabir: The Prophet used to teach us the** Istikhara**** for each and every matter as he used to teach us the Suras from the Holy Qur'an. (He used to say), "If anyone of you intends to do something, he should offer a two-Rak'at prayer other than the obligatory prayer, and then say: *'Allahumma inni astakhiruka bi'ilmika, wa astaqdiruka biqudratika, wa as'aluka min fadlika-l-'azim, fa innaka taqdiru wala aqdiru, wa ta'lamu wala a'lamu, wa anta'allamu-l-ghuyub. Allahumma in kunta ta'lamu anna hadha-lamra khairun li fi dini wa ma'ashi wa 'aqibati amri (or said, fi 'ajili amri wa ajilihi) fa-qdurhu li, Wa in junta ta'lamu anna ha-dha-l-amra sharrun li fi dini wa ma'ashi wa 'aqibati amri (or said, fi ajili amri wa ajilihi) fasrifhu 'anni was-rifni 'anhu wa aqdur li alkhaira haithu kana, thumma Raddani bihi," Then he should mention his matter (need)*.
*** *In the Book 'Prayers (Salat) Hadith No. 391', Ibn Abbas narrated: 'When the Prophet PBUH entered the Ka'ba, he invoked Allah in each and every side of it and did not pray till he came out of it, and offered a two-Rak'at prayer facing the Ka'ba and said, "This is the Qibla".
The above last hadith is a type of example about how to do 'Istikhara'*. *Almighty Allah knows best.
if you do istikhara continuously for seven days things get clear.
either every thing becomes right or everything goes wrong.
i have done it myself.
don't rely on dreams we cannot interpret dreams properly , but the situation changes from good to bad or bad to best .
Peace Iraj,
If you sharing your personal experience then there are many who did the istikhar only for few hours and things got cleared/uncleared for them.
I think I haven't came across any source where it is mentioned to do it for seven days. :)
The First Act for your duas to be Accepted is to become a 5 times Daily Namaazi. Salah is key to everything, agar 5 waqt ki namaz nahi to chaaeye Caror ha Caror nawafil istikharay bana karta rahay .. there will be no fruit.. First step is Salah and as brother here said .. to become a practicing Muslim. One cant just turn to Allah when they want something in return and expect it.. but rather one needs to be in continuous subservience to Allah at all times.
And again, Whatever one asks from Allah, it will come in 4 stages:
1. It will be granted right away
2. granted after a period of time
3. granted after death
4. not granted at all.
Now the one thing to note is.. If its in your best interest to have that thing/desire then Allah will grant it and if not then dont be complaining, why because there is a Higher being at work who knows that something isnt for you. So saying didnt get 'the clear result' ..isnt really a faith in Allah but rather need to ask yourself are you worthy of it and if you are then like i mentioned the above 4 things. One is bound to happen.
remember that istiKhaara is NOT a litmus test and that you follow your heart whichever way it leans to. by doing istiKhaara. you basically ask Allah to put His blessings [Khair] in whatever you decide and in no way you make Allah to fulfill your desires.
but, before all that one must be in good books of Allah [or at least a real intention to be so] by becoming a good practicing Muslim/Muslimah.
Peace Iraj,
If you sharing your personal experience then there are many who did the istikhar only for few hours and things got cleared/uncleared for them.
I think I haven't came across any source where it is mentioned to do it for seven days. :)
i have a book called fuqri wazaif . and on pg no 475 it says in some ahadees and rawayat hy. but the hadees no or detail is not given,
personal experience es liya bataya that it will work