I can understand that feeling, but it's also unfair to treat hijabis like they have to be absolutely perfect. They are humans struggling, just like the rest of us. Sometimes they do things right, sometimes they don't. I do understand that for some it seems disrespectful to the idea of modest dress that hijab entails.
I know people who objected to hijabis dancing even when it was all girls. They complained why the gathering had been made all girls just so these hijabis can dance? But why not? They want to have fun and celebrate, just like everyone else.
when u c hijabi girlz/girlz who cover head with looser scarf.....dancing at weddings with girlz in a pre-planned dance or just even spontaneously but mainly when its planned?
Did we c the same pic? I thought the exact same thing... no comments though :@:
I can understand that feeling, but it's also unfair to treat hijabis like they have to be absolutely perfect. They are humans struggling, just like the rest of us. Sometimes they do things right, sometimes they don't. I do understand that for some it seems disrespectful to the idea of modest dress that hijab entails.
I know people who objected to hijabis dancing even when it was all girls. They complained why the gathering had been made all girls just so these hijabis can dance? But why not? They want to have fun and celebrate, just like everyone else.
I agree with Sahar's comment. I must admit, my 1st year in college was my 1st encounter with 'hijabis' and I was almost afraid of em, meaning I wasn't used to being around them or any muslims for that matter. But as I got to know some, you learn to look past hijab. Mashallah at least they are trying to be better, even that 1st step. And agreed they are humans too and want to have fun as well, it doesnt mean you put hijab on and automatically all temptations of life are out the door....
Hopefully they find the right direction, and pray Allah guides us as well in right direction, and give us strength not to look at other's faults....
atleast she is doing the farz (wearing the hijab) whereas the other girls are not even doing that so atleast shes got one part right... but obviously she shouldnt becos it doesnt go with the 'image' but i think people shouldn't judge, its better to praise the good & ignore the bad
it's also unfair to treat hijabis like they have to be absolutely perfect. They are humans struggling, just like the rest of us. Sometimes they do things right, sometimes they don't. I do understand that for some it seems disrespectful to the idea of modest dress that hijab entails.
Well said. JazakAllah Khair.
I am not sure about this one. Did any of the prophets, relatives or companions of the prophet (saw) performed or encouraged dancing when the gathering consisted of the people of respective genders. Like men dancing in gathering of all men and women dancing in gathering of women only ? Dancing did exist in those times. Any sources anyone ?
p.s. Please don't take it as a criticism, I am only curious to learn the answer to this doubt.
Well I find this thread pretty crazy. Means what is the point in bashing some one, if he/she is doing a good deed. If dancing is bad then it is bad equally for both Hijabi and Non-Hijabi. If there will be Gunnah then its gona be equal too.
So just grow up and for a change start looking at the positive side of a picture too.
hijabi's shouldn't be forbidden from having fun but at the same time, being a hijabi, they do imply that they are a little more stricter with islam than the average girl. so it is awkward to see a full fledge dance performance by a hijabi. ofcourse every person does good and bad things and you can't expect a hijabi to become an aalima, but dancing in front of men in public could have been avoided.
You know if a woman is wearing a scarf loosely, but does not have her head all covered.. does that even count as “hijab”? Just something that I’m wondering about as I was reading some of the posts..
Also I agree with Sahar02.. it’s not fair to expect hijabis to be perfect but yeah at the same time it’s kinda hard not to feel a little weird when looking at one dancing in public.. doesn’t matter if the dance was planned or not lol
Its weird because we think since they are hijabi they are perfect Muslims when thats hardly the case.
If you are gonna bring up a questions then whats up with all the muslim girls dancing? Whats up with all these muslim girls talking to guys? Wearing behuda clothes?
Sub I will find a hadeeth and post it here inshAllah.
I dont think it is weird if a hijabi is dancing at a girls party .. I would say its normal. I think my "problem" starts when the hijabis start acting holier than everyone else and points fingers at other without looking at themselves .. Otherwise what they do or dont is nothing that bothers me .. cuz at the end of the day Allah is the only one who can judge .. and a piece of clothes on the head doesnt change much for me
Some times I feel that people tend to be hard/harsh on hijabis. Alright they are wearing the hijab, so they **have **to be better muslim than the rest of us? Doesnt the same rule/law work for us too even if we dont wear hijab? Arent we suppose to not dance in mixed gatherings? Arent we suppose to wear proper clothes and not smoke? Why special rules for hijabis? Doesnt make sense to me ...