ISNA’s Eid Decision Misled Muslims

Eid al-Fitr on the Last Day of Ramadan

ISNA until 10:00pm on November 2 has been proclaiming:

All Muslim astronomical consultants are unanimous that with 

NAKED EYE it is IMPOSSIBLE to see it (Shawwal moon)

anywhere in North America.

At 10:00 pm ISNA declared:

Tomorrow, Thursday 3 Nov 2005 CE is the first day

of Shawwal (Eid al-Fitr)

How did this miracle happened?

Please read what the witnesses themselves WROTE to ISNA:

In Phoenix Arizona… out of a large group… ONE witness saw Hilal at 5:42 (four minutes after the sunset) for a few seconds until about 5:41pm (??). (The moon appeared 7-2 on a clock??)…One other brother … was able to see it…Our Imam saw it at first sight but was not certain of his sighting.” (The full report is given below).

This is how ISNA made an IMPOSSIBLE into “Possible”, and millions of Muslims in N. America missed the last day of Ramadan.

Obviously, ISNA Fiqh Council and its experts proved again that they are NOT COMPETENT to decide Ramadan and Eidain dates. They also bear the responsibility of all those Muslims who did not fast on the last day of Ramadan.

10:00 pm EST, 02 Nov 2005 CE

The Fiqh Council of North America, after consultation with its astronomical consultants, who related the credible moon sighting reports, declares tomorrow, Thursday 3 Nov 2005 CE as the first (1st) day of Shawwal (Eid-ul-Fitr). This conclusion was arrived at in accordance with the current Fiqh Council guidelines. Eid Mubarak!

10:00 pm EST, 02 Nov 2005 CE

The following is the Hilal Sighting Report from Phoenix, AZ.

Assalam Alaykum Dr. Durrani,

Here is the report as requested.

Along with large group of brothers, we arrived at the sighting place shortly before sunset. Mashallah we observed a beautiful sunset on a very clear skies. at about 5:38pm. There horizon is very clear at the sighting place.

At about 5:42pm I saw the very very thin, illusive Hilal, to the left of the position where the sun had just set – spanning the distance from the seven o’clock and two o’clock hand of an analog clock. The Hilal’s elevation was less than one finger width. The Hilal was indeed very very thin and illusive as such continuous observation of it was limited to few seconds. I was only able to continually observe it until about 5:41pm.

One other brother with the group, Brother ----- was able to see it at the point it was first sighted. Our imam saw it at first sight but because of it’s illusive nature was not certain of his sighting.

I did not observe the hilal setting as it had become illusive once again just as it neared the horizon.

5:05 pm EST, 02 Nov 2005 CE

The following is reported as a FALSE sighting to ensure that others also do not mistake it as a “Hilal”.

At approximately 5:00 pm from my location I noticed the contrail (condensation trail) of a jet aeroplane about 20 degrees to the North (right) of the Sun and about four (4) finger widths (6 degrees) above the horizon. It seemed to go down and to the right.

It looked nearly like a straight line inclined from the top left to the bottom right. The inclination of the line was at about 30 degrees to the vertical. The end closer to the horizon was brighter than the top left end of the contrail.

Clearly, this was NOT the Hilal of Shawwal 1426 AH.

Posted: 10:03 PM - 02/11/2005
Shawwal (Eidul Fitr 1426) Announcement
There have been no valid confirmed reports of hilal/ moon sighting anywhere in North America. The Hilal Committee of Toronto & Vicinity announces that the month of Ramadan will complete its cycle of 30 days and the 1st of Shawwal (Eid ul Fitr) will be on Friday corresponding November 04, 2005.

We wish a blessed Eid Mubarak to all, including the congregation of 71 Masjids and Islamic organizations who are part of the Hilal Committee of GTA, Canada.

The Hilal Committee personnel (scholars and astronomy professionals) spoke directly to all those who claimed to see the crescent in cities across North America and the frail reports did not meet the sharee/religious principles to declare the commencement of the new lunar month. The alleged sighting reports also went against all professional astronomical data & calculations.

Please note that according to Fiqh when the horizon is clear, then it is necessary for a multitude of people to give testimony for eye witnessing the new moon.
(www.moonsighting.net)

This is a sad story about a happy occasion after fasting for so many days and it ends up this way. The Ummah is divided on a happy occasion. When the ulema will wake up and provide a clear cut direction based on sunnah and scientific facts. So that we will all celebrate at same time in North America.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed

Re: ISNA’s Eid Decision Misled Muslims

uncle tom let science n tech guide u through .. MOON DID SHOW UP AT CERTAIN TIME for certain amout of time .. PEOPLE HAVE SEEN IT TOO. its not the people have been mislead its some black sheeps have been left behind for GOOD.

p/s: i think all muslimz shud follow ISNA and the ones who refuse to shudnt be provided any open space to pray the next day. that'd serve them good. y all arabic people celebrate eid at the same day .. y ONLY DESI GOT SHALLOW RARES ???

No point in this thread.

Eat lot of 'Sheer' and 'Siwyaan'.

rasheed its sad....

but u know its also a risk to have fasted on eid without being sure it REALLY isnt eid..... u know the deal with fasting on eid being haraam....

^ and missing your last roza?

ISNA isn't reliant anymore. There sources for the past years have been very weak, and credibility questioned numerous times.

When Jamiya-ullema of Canada, Crescent Observation Int'l, and Hilaal committee of North America said no moon was sighted and eid is on friday.

Why did only ONE council say its on Thursday, at the very last minute?

As for the arabs. Its fajr in Mecca. So shudn't you be praying your fajr here too?

Even though its maghrib time here..

May Allah swt, guide us all ameen.

crescent i didnt know that only ONE council suggested eid on thursday…

regardless …my family is celebrating it today…but alot of people i know did it on thursday…

I don't know when the global 'muslim' community will enter the 21st century. The US Naval Observatory and hundreds of other scientific institutions can calculate with 100% accuracy when the new moon is coming. Yet our mullahs choose to stand around looking for the moon.

[2:189] They ask you about the phases of the moon! Say, "They provide a timing device for the people, and determine the time of Hajj." It is not righteous to beat around the bush;* righteousness is attained by upholding the commandments and by being straightforward. You shall observe GOD, that you may succeed.

God refers to the sun and the moon repeatedly as calculating and navigating devices. Again, God has given us the sun, the moon, the hearing, the eyesight, and the brains to figure these things out, and even tough the entire world relies on the calculable aspects of the sun and the moon, the muslim community is still standing outside at 4 in the morning trying to sight the moon, jeez!!!

Whatever. Science said the moon would not be observable because of angling issues, but that its still there. So technically Thursday is Eid anyway, and we should have known that many many many days ahead of time.

But if our leaders want to inconvenience everyone in a world where we really can’t afford “Thursday or Friday, one of the two days, there will be chutti, but we don’t know when”…then let them go for it. :k: Its not like the Ummah is faring all that well anyway.

And you know the funny thing...we think that just because the Prophet would use his naked eye, then we must also...

With the scientific tools available, there is no excuse to use the naked eye anymore for precise data...

So we're actually hanging onto the principle: Seeing is believing...

Yet, we believe in an invisible God.

Rasheed sahib, it isn’t ISNA’s fault if MOONSIGHTING.com is at fault, pay a visit to a kafir website for moon sighting calculation:

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneDay.html

These are the people who send rockets/visitors to moon and other planets in our universe, they can’t do it without accurate calculations.

Is moonsighting.com run by ISNA people?

Does the global 'muslim' community trust their alarm clock in the morning when it goes off at 6:00 Am or do they go outside and make sure the sun is rising before they believe it is in fact morning? No, on a daily basis they trust science, for meetings, for flights, for appointments. But they refuse to trust science when it comes to Ramadan, just doesn't make any sense.

^^ there u go and actually the moon was sightable for a limited duration.

CRECENT: yea u made alota sence sweety ... u sure u dont need a nap now ? lol who even said uve gota follow arabs ? i was just tryna point on their unity .. how they all agree upon unlike desi MOLVIZ .. i think they shud come up with a new pannel of molviz who can actually determine eid and chand raat and we can name them ** HALWA KA JALWA MOLVIZ of NORTH AMERICA ** lol

kewl ! thnx for the link .. it says 3 % of the moon was visible but someother site i read only 2% of the moon was visible … is it a big diff or i m just xegerating ?

BWAAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

captain i didnt quite understand your point??? did u say that ISNA relied on moonsighting.com which is a kafir website??:confused:

^^ holly shnizzle .. thats the hilarious thing ive heard the whole day .. actualy i woke up like 50 minz ago but still lmao ...... dang it ! where yall come up with such cute and thoughtful ideas yooo ? lol

shweeeety: u know most of these islamic sites run on KAFIR main frames ... OMG !! that means all the muslim asking question and relying over a KAFIR provided URL .... OHHH miiii gouuuude lol

Shweetu, it looked like Mr Rasheed took Moonsighting.com as some authority on calculating moon-sighting and cited it as "reference" which contradicted with ISNA's decision of "moon sighted".... ISNA also perhaps looks at moonsighting.com and said on their website that "IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE WITH NAKE EYE", but turns out that someone was able to see the moon hence casting doubt on moonsighting.com, now look at the kafir website link I provided (US Naval) which shows that some % of moon was visible on Nov 2 (means Eid on 3rd Nov).

the link provides visibility from each city, I’m not sure if the other site you are talking about told 3% for the exact city (?)

^^ oh!!! thanks for the explanation.
im a bit slow this morning...